IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
[POLL]Which is your choice(waveOut/DirectSound)?
[POLL]Which is your choice(waveOut/DirectSound)?
You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Total Votes: 108
Guests cannot vote 
pack27
post Jan 3 2003, 04:37
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 1-January 03
From: China
Member No.: 4341



Please write down your reason and system.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
thomaspf
post Jan 3 2003, 04:50
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 29-December 02
From: USA
Member No.: 4308



On W2K or Windows XP both waveOut and DirectSound are inadequate since they both route the PCM samples via kmixer which modifies them in the process.

Your best bet is using a sound card with ASIO drivers or wait for kernel streaming!

Cheers

Thomas

This post has been edited by thomaspf: Jan 3 2003, 04:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sachankara
post Jan 3 2003, 05:01
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 336
Joined: 27-December 01
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 780



I have no favourite since they are both resampled in the end. So I don't think it matters too much... dry.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TrNSZ
post Jan 3 2003, 06:26
Post #4





Group: Developer
Posts: 717
Joined: 25-September 01
Member No.: 20



It seems DirectSound uses less CPU. :-/

XP and Extigy.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xenion
post Jan 3 2003, 06:44
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1042
Joined: 23-May 02
From: DE
Member No.: 2107



QUOTE (TrNSZ @ Jan 3 2003 - 06:26 AM)
It seems DirectSound uses less CPU. :-/

XP and Extigy.

i use extigy too

do u resample?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 3 2003, 06:58
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



DirectSound, Windows XP SP1 with Sound Blaster Live! 5.1, kX drivers v 5.10.0.3528. Reason being that it is the faster option and preferred default for NT5 systems.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kotrtim
post Jan 3 2003, 07:17
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 4-December 02
Member No.: 3989



QUOTE (Sachankara @ Jan 2 2003 - 08:01 PM)
I have no favourite since they are both resampled in the end. So I don't think it matters too much... dry.gif

Yup, I had this problem too, resample, hey anyone knows how to disable the resample switch or something..........

My Creative SBPCI seems to be converting all output to 48 kHz!
Casusing troubles!
Loss some fidelity and now I'm searching for resampler DSP for winamp!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
QHOBBES 2.0
post Jan 3 2003, 08:47
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 190
Joined: 21-December 02
From: </html>
Member No.: 4186



On my system (WinXP home, ShitBlaster Dead! 5.1 w/ shitty Polk Audio 5.1 systme) if i use wave_out it only plays only front speakers and bass seems weeker over subwoofer, so i use directsound. wtf is ASIO drivers?


--------------------
"We will restore chaos"-Bush on Iraq
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RIV@NVX
post Jan 3 2003, 14:15
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 574
Joined: 15-December 02
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 4090



QUOTE (QHOBBES 2.0 @ Jan 2 2003 - 11:47 PM)
On my system (WinXP home, ShitBlaster Dead! 5.1 w/ shitty Polk Audio 5.1 systme) if i use wave_out it only plays only front speakers and bass seems weeker over subwoofer, so i use directsound. wtf is ASIO drivers?

ASIO - Audio Stream Input Output. A multi-channel audio transfer protocol developed by Steinberg.

I use Audigy SB0092 + Inspire 5300, kX 3528, XP SP1 and prefer DirectSound (less processor usage).
I don't resample, leaving it to HW.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Somebody
post Jan 3 2003, 15:02
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 107



DirecSound because it is Windows 2000 and it handles DirectSound better, no resampling.

This post has been edited by Somebody: Jan 3 2003, 15:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Uosdwis R. Dewoh
post Jan 3 2003, 15:09
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 148
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 70



waveOut on WinXP because my soundcard (Digital Audio Labs CardDeluxe) has poor drivers. DirectSound output sounds like 4 bit/11kHz and there doesn't appear to be any settings I can change to make it better. Patiently waiting for WDM driver. rolleyes.gif The card has ASIO support, but FB2k doesn't, right?

-- Uosdwis
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WaldoMonster
post Jan 3 2003, 15:23
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 234
Joined: 18-September 02
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 3392



DirectSound because it plays perfectly gapless.
If you have a good soundcard than you have the option to select "Wave S/PDIF", this way the kmixer is not used.
Or use the ASIO plug-in if your card supports it.


--------------------
netjukebox - the flexible media share
http://www.netjukebox.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
KikeG
post Jan 3 2003, 15:32
Post #13


WinABX developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1578
Joined: 1-October 01
Member No.: 137



QUOTE
If you have a good soundcard than you have the option to select "Wave S/PDIF", this way the kmixer is not used.


Kmixer effect will happen also in SPDIF outputs. Selecting SPDIF you bypass soundcard D/A converters, but the data that arrives to your external converters will be the same that would get into your soundcard converters using the regular analog output.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Daffy
post Jan 3 2003, 15:33
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 30-September 01
From: North Carolina
Member No.: 114



QUOTE (WaldoMonster @ Jan 3 2003 - 09:23 AM)
If you have a good soundcard than you have the option to select "Wave S/PDIF", this way the kmixer is not used.

Where do you find the option to do this? Is it in the soundcard drivers settings or in WXP settings somewhere? What do you consider a "good" soundcard that has this option?

BTW....I have a Turtle Beach Santa Cruz and seems to sound OK to me. I can't tell the difference between waveout or directsound.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wizard
post Jan 3 2003, 15:39
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 346
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 102



DirectSound. It's perfect for my W2K and SB PCI 128 smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
chicoselfs
post Jan 3 2003, 15:53
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 145
Joined: 27-August 02
From: Portugal
Member No.: 3208



Direct Sound, i have Win2k with the normal creative drivers for my soundblaster 5.1, don't know if this soundboard supports Asio, i use Direct Sound because of the less usage


--------------------
Made in Portugal
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pack27
post Jan 3 2003, 16:11
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 1-January 03
From: China
Member No.: 4341



On my soundcard(Diamond S100/ess1167 driver/win xp) I feel waveOut is clearer then DirectSound. And I don't know why DirectSound is the default setting in fb2k. So that I post this poll. Now I know it, may be DirectSound is better at most soundcard.



Thanks wink.gif

This post has been edited by pack27: Jan 3 2003, 16:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RIV@NVX
post Jan 3 2003, 16:25
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 574
Joined: 15-December 02
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 4090



QUOTE (pack27 @ Jan 3 2003 - 07:11 AM)
And I don't know why DirectSound is the default setting in fb2k. So that I post this poll. Now I know it, may be DirectSound is better at most soundcard.



Thanks wink.gif

It is beacause Win2k/XP has very good DirectSound implemenation, which uses less CPU than waveOut.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bigahoona
post Jan 3 2003, 18:59
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 3-January 03
Member No.: 4395



I’m using foobar (which is the most "audiophile" player known to me) on my ape and mpc files via direct sound output on my XP machine with a terratex EWX 24/96 soundcard. I indeed agree that the cpu usage is a little bit lower compared to wave out (0% against 0-1% ; athlon 1800XP), but I’m wondering if the direct sound is the best choice with my soundcard since it’s a full 24 bit card with good D/A converters and allows sampling rate up to 96 kHz. Further this card does not have any kind of internal (hardware) mixing mode.
So my question is should I use direct out (it “goes” to the wave analog driver; checked in the Dxdiag - box) or wave out (than I can choose for the wave analog or wave S/PDIF) ?
I hope that some of you have any suggestions….. rolleyes.gif


PS. specs. XP (athlon 1700XP, 512 ddr), EWX 24/96, marantz 80mkII, monitor audio Studio 2 SE
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JakeLM
post Jan 3 2003, 19:59
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 17-August 02
Member No.: 3091



and....how can i use the ASIO plugin in foobar2000 ???

i have just downloaded this plugin but i think it's only fow winamp2..... or not??

thanks ... rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by JakeLM: Jan 3 2003, 20:04


--------------------
www.jakelm.it
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Messer
post Jan 3 2003, 20:31
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 568
Joined: 6-May 02
From: Warsaw / Poland
Member No.: 1977



QUOTE (WaldoMonster @ Jan 3 2003 - 04:23 PM)
Or use the ASIO plug-in if your card supports it.

Yeah, but this is Foobar forum, not W****p dry.gif Any volunteers to implement foo_asio.dll? laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JakeLM
post Jan 3 2003, 20:40
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 17-August 02
Member No.: 3091



QUOTE (Messer @ Jan 3 2003 - 07:31 PM)
QUOTE (WaldoMonster @ Jan 3 2003 - 04:23 PM)
Or use the ASIO plug-in if your card supports it.

Yeah, but this is Foobar forum, not W****p dry.gif Any volunteers to implement foo_asio.dll? laugh.gif

ah ok...so i have understood well ....this plugin is only for w*****p and not for foobar2000.... i havent clear why post it here...... blink.gif


--------------------
www.jakelm.it
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WaldoMonster
post Jan 3 2003, 20:51
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 234
Joined: 18-September 02
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 3392



QUOTE (JakeLM @ Jan 3 2003 - 08:40 PM)
QUOTE (Messer @ Jan 3 2003 - 07:31 PM)
QUOTE (WaldoMonster @ Jan 3 2003 - 04:23 PM)
Or use the ASIO plug-in if your card supports it.

Yeah, but this is Foobar forum, not W****p dry.gif Any volunteers to implement foo_asio.dll? laugh.gif

ah ok...so i have understood well ....this plugin is only for w*****p and not for foobar2000.... i havent clear why post it here...... blink.gif

Sorry, My mistake.


--------------------
netjukebox - the flexible media share
http://www.netjukebox.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RIV@NVX
post Jan 4 2003, 11:55
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 574
Joined: 15-December 02
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 4090



QUOTE (Messer @ Jan 3 2003 - 11:31 AM)
QUOTE (WaldoMonster @ Jan 3 2003 - 04:23 PM)
Or use the ASIO plug-in if your card supports it.

Yeah, but this is Foobar forum, not W****p dry.gif Any volunteers to implement foo_asio.dll? laugh.gif

Not sure if it can be made for fb2k too, maybe someone should e-mail Otachan, the plugin autor (he makes plugins for various players, why wouldn't he do the same for fb2k)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jasper
post Jan 4 2003, 13:35
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 9-July 02
Member No.: 2536



WaveOut doesn't work on my system, so DirectSound would be better for me. But it would be even better if ASIO would be supported.
I use XP (Pro) with a soundblaster live value and a TerraTec EWS88 MT.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 01:12