IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
From APE to FLAC, can I do it directly?, Transcoding
Bajunid
post Feb 19 2007, 15:14
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 1-February 07
Member No.: 40205



Hi,

I stumbled upon foobar about two weeks ago and I never looked back. So thanks.

Okay, back to my real issue.

I have several cue+ape files that I want to transcode or re-encode it to FLAC as I just got a new hardware that support FLAC.

Now I know that I can use the "convert to" option in foobar. My question is that Should I transcode from APE straight to FLAC of do I need to use the Monkey's Audio program to decode the cue+ape file back to wav then use FLAC to encode the Wave file.

Help is very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Remedial Sound
post Feb 19 2007, 15:50
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 508
Joined: 5-January 06
From: Dublin
Member No.: 26898



You can (and should) convert directly from .ape to .flac in foobar! smile.gif

You're probably already aware of these, but if not...

1. foobar doesn't have Monkey's Audio decoding support out of the box, so you need to install the optional component available here.

2. you need to have flac.exe on you system, and configure the Converter to point to this file (along with any other command line options you see fit).

HTH,
RS

This post has been edited by Remedial Sound: Feb 19 2007, 15:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bajunid
post Feb 19 2007, 15:57
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 1-February 07
Member No.: 40205



Thanks a lot RS,

That saved me a lot of time and effort.

Thanks again.

FYI,

I've already have APE component and I'm downloading the new FLAC 1.1.4. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Bajunid: Feb 19 2007, 15:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
scthom
post Feb 20 2007, 06:02
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16-August 05
From: Gilbert, AZ
Member No.: 23926



Technically speaking, it's not a direct conversion, in that fb2k still expands the ape to wav and feeds it to the flac encoder. It just never hits the hard drive as wav.

A direct conversion would be feeding the ape directly to flac encoder without wav in between.

You probably knew that, and the result is the same.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zane
post Feb 20 2007, 08:17
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 17-January 07
Member No.: 39754



QUOTE (Bajunid @ Feb 19 2007, 09:14) *
I have several cue+ape files that I want to transcode or re-encode it to FLAC as I just got a new hardware that support FLAC.

FYI... dBpowerAMP also converts .ape to .flac. Quick and painless.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bajunid
post Feb 20 2007, 14:07
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 1-February 07
Member No.: 40205



@ scthom

Thank for the info..Now I can finally uninstall that Monkeys Audio converter....never really liked it...with the monkeys and all...

@Zane

I never tried dbpoweramp....don't really have the 'dough' to spend... smile.gif

Thank you very much for the info guys.... I'm really learning a lot from this forum...

Thank you.

This post has been edited by Bajunid: Feb 20 2007, 14:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eli
post Feb 20 2007, 16:19
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1056
Joined: 16-October 03
Member No.: 9337



The file converter part of dbpoweramp is free


--------------------
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=21072
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
z-x
post Mar 17 2007, 12:53
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 15-February 07
Member No.: 40652



And what about Easy CD-DA Extractor. Is it the same as in Foobar?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2014 - 02:23