IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
old FLAC to new FLAC 1.1.4
Zoom
post Feb 17 2007, 04:32
Post #26





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 263
Joined: 23-February 04
From: United States
Member No.: 12219



QUOTE (the irf @ Feb 16 2007, 20:09) *
I can run it, and do the task but I have a few questions about it.
1. It's set up for 1.1.3, I do not know if something has changed in 1.1.4 that can affect the output files.
2. Except the highest compression ratio is anything else changed ?

To answer your first question, nothing has changed in the 1.1.4 version of FLAC that will negatively effect the batch file that Synthetic Soul created. The second question, I'm not completely certain what you are asking. If you are asking if anything besides the highest compression ratio has changed in FLAC 1.1.4, you can view the changelog here: http://flac.cvs.sourceforge.net/*checkout*.../changelog.html.

(offtopic)
@ jcoalson
I have and would recommend the fish book (O'Reilly Bash Book) to anyone who wants to learn the Bash shell. I learned bash scripting etc. on UNIX, but I still go back to the fish book for reference occasionally.
(/offtopic)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wraithdu
post Feb 17 2007, 04:41
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 382
Joined: 20-December 06
Member No.: 38861



Why don't you try OmniEncoder? It's a nice simple frontend. Drag and drop your main directory to the window, set up the encoding options (bare necessity defaults only are available, which is what you want), and use the option to mirror your directory structure to the new location.

Version 1.3 still has flac 1.1.3, so just replace flac.exe and metaflac.exe with the new 1.1.4 versions from the flac homepage. Omni just uses default settings, so there should be no problems.

HA thread - http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=51093

For your earlier question about creating just directory structure, you can use xcopy to do this (included in your windows installation). Say your music is located in C:\music\ and you want to mirror your directory structure to D:\music\, at a command prompt type -

xcopy C:\music\*.* D:\music\*.* /T /E

/E will copy empty directories as well. If you don't want that, leave it out of the commandline. Type xcopy /? for a list of all available commands. Hope this helps!

This post has been edited by wraithdu: Feb 17 2007, 04:38
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
goodnews
post Feb 17 2007, 05:02
Post #28





Group: Banned
Posts: 232
Joined: 20-January 06
Member No.: 27228



QUOTE (wraithdu @ Feb 16 2007, 20:41) *
Version 1.3 still has flac 1.1.3, so just replace flac.exe and metaflac.exe with the new 1.1.4 versions from the flac homepage. Omni just uses default settings, so there should be no problems.

HA thread - http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=51093

Looking forward to a new FLAC 1.1.4 version of OmniEncoder! Remember that not all users here know how to replace files in the OmniEncoder distro. But thanks for pointing this user to OmniEncoder.

This post has been edited by goodnews: Feb 17 2007, 05:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wraithdu
post Feb 17 2007, 05:10
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 382
Joined: 20-December 06
Member No.: 38861



To be a little more specific, flac.exe and metaflac.exe are located in the main OmniEncoder directory, wherever you choose to install it. Download the new version of flac 1.1.4 -

http://umn.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/...c-1.1.4-win.zip

Open the archive and extract flac.exe and metaflac.exe from the 'bin' directory to your Omni directory. Answer yes to overwrite the files. No bubbles no troubles wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Feb 17 2007, 09:10
Post #30





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



QUOTE (the irf @ Feb 17 2007, 01:09) *
I can run it, and do the task but I have a few questions about it.

1. It's set up for 1.1.3, I do not know if something has changed in 1.1.4 that can affect the output files.
2. Except the highest compression ratio is anything else changed ?
1. No. If you are using FlacGetV with the script to check the version (it doesn't sound like you need to) then you would need to ensure the config uses SET flacVersion=114. The version I uploaded recently already states that.

2. You can just amend SET flacOptions=-8 to SET flacOptions=-5 or SET flacOptions= (nothing after the equal sign) to use default compression. Nothing else is specifically changed.

If you don't need all the safety aspects of my flac-113 script and you just want to re-encode from one drive to another you could just use:

CODE
FOR /R X:\ %%G IN (*.flac) DO FLAC -o "Y:%%~pnxG" "%%G"

If you copy the above code into a text file and save it with a .bat extension you can double click it and it will re-encode any FLAC file on drive X: to drive Y: using the exact same folder structure. Be warned though: any file that is corrupt, or confuses FLAC.EXE, will not be re-encoded, so you run the risk of losing files if you don't compare the directories afterward. The benefit of the flac-113 script is that it can recognise some issues and will report all files that failed re-encoding after the whole process has completed.


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 17 2007, 10:52
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Feb 16 2007, 20:54) *
you can reencode in place with a simple script that finds all flac files and then reencodes them one at a time. in bash it's just

CODE
find /top/level/directory -name '*.flac' -exec flac -5Vf {} \;


I am hesitant to add functionality like this that is so easily accomplished with scripts.

Josh



Synthetic Soul, thanx I understand that smile.gif

But this Josh said, is it just few steps?
If so, can anyone tell me how rolleyes.gif

Same as what Synthetic Soul told me? unsure.gif


Thanx a lot wraithdu

I knew about OmniEncoder and how to change flac exe etc... in the program directory.
But I never knew it has the option to mirror a directory.

About xcopy, I never knew it does that.
Is it possible to include smaller files?

This post has been edited by the irf: Feb 17 2007, 11:01
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 17 2007, 11:20
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



Tried OmniEncoder now, for 10 mins nothing happens

I did copy FLAC 1.1.4 (flac.exe and metaflac.exe) to the installed directory.
Mirror the directory to E:\ but nothing happens for +10 min, not even the directory is created.

Gonna try Synthetic Soul tip now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Feb 17 2007, 11:25
Post #33


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1747
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



isnt there flac -f option that should just rewrite old files in 1.1.4 (with a nice batch file)? (then just copy things in 2nd step)


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 17 2007, 11:36
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



here is what I get with the bat file unsure.gif
It worked, but only on 1 flac file that already was encoed with FLAC 1.1.4
297GB free space tongue.gif



06 One Million Miles Away.flac: ERROR initializing encoder
init_status = FLAC__STREAM_ENCODER_INIT_STATUS_E
NCODER_ERROR
state = FLAC__STREAM_ENCODER_IO_ERROR

An error occurred opening the output file; it is likely that the output
directory does not exist or is not writable, the output file already exists and
is not writable, or the disk is full.

This post has been edited by the irf: Feb 17 2007, 11:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 17 2007, 11:56
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



xcopy.exe D:\ E:\ /T /E

worked perfectly to copy the directories.

thanx wraithdu


Also what Synthetic Soul suggested, works.
But only if the directories are created.

ignore the error!


Thanx everyone!

This post has been edited by the irf: Feb 17 2007, 12:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
PatchWorKs
post Feb 17 2007, 13:15
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 498
Joined: 2-October 01
Member No.: 168



QUOTE (gottkaiser @ Feb 16 2007, 14:31) *
The re-encode batch file is very helpful. The tools is discussed here.


Unfortunally it won't work with my ogg-flac collection... crying.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mugen
post Feb 17 2007, 14:08
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 28-January 07
Member No.: 40083



Is there any appreciable benefit to re-encoding files encoded with an old version with FLAC 1.1.4? I tested with several albums encoded late in 2004, and found that the difference was on the order of several MB - not exactly earth shattering percentages.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Feb 17 2007, 16:04
Post #38


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



depends on your material, someone else reported 6% gain.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wraithdu
post Feb 17 2007, 16:54
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 382
Joined: 20-December 06
Member No.: 38861



QUOTE (the irf @ Feb 17 2007, 04:20) *
Tried OmniEncoder now, for 10 mins nothing happens

I did copy FLAC 1.1.4 (flac.exe and metaflac.exe) to the installed directory.
Mirror the directory to E:\ but nothing happens for +10 min, not even the directory is created.

Gonna try Synthetic Soul tip now.

Did you get a progress bar that said 'Decoding Tracks'? I think that Omni decodes all files to WAVs in your temp directory before creating any directory structure or encoding. Watch your temp directory for activity. This seems a little silly, as you could run out of disk space very easily. Maybe I'll make a request to the developer to do this one file at a time.

Anyways, this is probably why after 10 minutes you saw no activity.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 17 2007, 17:13
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



Maybe, but it's a little silly to not have the output directory as temp directory.
Have my windows temp set on partition D:

what Synthetic Soul suggested is done, all converted.

But now I am left wondering how to move all cue, log etc... files.

Is there a way for this to or do I have to do it manually?

Edit:
Actually it did not solve everything.
Have 4078 FLAC files in the old directory, and 3932 in the new

How can I compare?


Edit 2:
Comparing now with WinMerge
http://winmerge.org/

This post has been edited by the irf: Feb 17 2007, 18:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wraithdu
post Feb 17 2007, 18:22
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 382
Joined: 20-December 06
Member No.: 38861



That would be a question for SS, as I think he said his batch file checks and reports errors.

I tested something with Omni this morning, and I'm having other problems as well, so it's better you used the batch file (or foobar if you want to set it all up).

As far as copying log files, etc., it's basically the same process with xcopy as creating the directory structure. Say you have folder.jpg in each album directory for album art, then using your example before you'd type -

xcopy D:\*folder.jpg E:\*.* /S

the * will search for folder.jpg in all directories below D:\
/S copies all subdirectories to keep structure (similar to /t above but actually copies files)
you can add on /F to show full paths of files copied
/L will just show you all the files that will be copied, without actually copying anything (useful to make sure you have the right command line and it finds all your files)

You can substitute anything for *folder.jpg, like *.cue to copy all cue sheets.

This post has been edited by wraithdu: Feb 17 2007, 18:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wraithdu
post Feb 17 2007, 18:40
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 382
Joined: 20-December 06
Member No.: 38861



QUOTE (the irf @ Feb 17 2007, 10:13) *
Edit 2:
Comparing now with WinMerge
http://winmerge.org/

That's a sweet program. I wish I'd found that last week...
Tip - set file compare to Size only. It'll go a lot faster searching through your directories.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 17 2007, 18:46
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



ok

I used xcopy.exe D:\*.cue E:\ /S
for log and cue files


Edit:
WinMerge can do this just perfectly
Thanx a lot wraithdu!

This post has been edited by the irf: Feb 17 2007, 20:34
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wraithdu
post Feb 17 2007, 23:47
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 382
Joined: 20-December 06
Member No.: 38861



Yeah, I kinda realised after posting, that WinMerge has the ability to copy missing files both ways between the directories. Well it's good to know how to do it both ways, especially if you want to batch the whole process.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jamesbaud
post Feb 19 2007, 06:23
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 107
Joined: 15-December 03
Member No.: 10468



With the recent release of FLAC 1.1.4, I'm sure a lot of people are having to deal with transcoding their old files. I personally find dbpoweramp R12 batch converter very useful for this purpose, as I too am a GUI kind of person. It can be set to mirror the old directory structure in the way you suggest. However, only the Reference edition has this feature. Also, since the FLAC codec for this edition is still at 1.1.3, you'll need to use the CLI codec to configure 1.1.4's FLAC.exe, so you'll need some familiarity with the command line ;-)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 02:39