IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC 1.1.4, smaller, faster, better
Egor
post Feb 25 2007, 08:54
Post #76





Group: Members
Posts: 826
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 17374



QUOTE (wraithdu @ Feb 25 2007, 07:31) *
Does the coverter have this bug if the custom setting is NOT used? IE if you just choose FLAC from the built in settings?

Yes, but it can hardly be called a bug, just a minor annoyance if you dislike unnecessary seekpoints. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Egor: Feb 25 2007, 08:56
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cartman_Sr
post Feb 25 2007, 09:40
Post #77





Group: Members
Posts: 112
Joined: 9-February 06
From: Edmonton, Alberta
Member No.: 27644



QUOTE (Martin H @ Feb 24 2007, 19:08) *
The four de-facto RG tags isn't shown in fb2k's "Properties" dialog, but fb2k still parses them and lists the gain and peak values in the "Properties" section of the "Properties" dialog. FLAC's ReplayGain implementation also sets a "REPLAYGAIN_REFERENCE_LOUDNESS" tag in addition to the four de-factor RG tags and since fb2k dosen't recognice that tag as being a RG tag, then that tag is also listed among the other non-RG tags in the "Metadata" section of the "Properties" dialog.


Actually this is a problem that I've been wrestling with for the past year, not just with the new release of flac. I don't understand why fb2k doesn't just read the flac replaygain tags. Is there a way to change the way fb2k parses and uses tags in flac files? Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kritip
post Feb 25 2007, 11:05
Post #78





Group: Members
Posts: 528
Joined: 15-January 02
From: Warwickshire -- England
Member No.: 1036



Seeing as though Linux can handle the wildcard expansion and FLAC can takes its own format as input, I'm looking at running a simple command line to run through my entire directory structure, but can't find out how to make the command recursive.

Any clues how to do this easily people, I have about 350GB of FLAC's I'd like to convert to 1.1.4 -8

Cheers,

Kristian
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
A_Man_Eating_Duc...
post Feb 25 2007, 11:10
Post #79





Group: Members
Posts: 932
Joined: 21-December 01
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 705



EDIT: Whoops, misread your post, your using Linux not Windows

This post has been edited by A_Man_Eating_Duck: Feb 25 2007, 11:12


--------------------
Who are you and how did you get in here ?
I'm a locksmith, I'm a locksmith.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MClemo
post Feb 25 2007, 11:59
Post #80





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 5-December 06
Member No.: 38391



QUOTE (kritip @ Feb 25 2007, 11:05) *
Seeing as though Linux can handle the wildcard expansion and FLAC can takes its own format as input, I'm looking at running a simple command line to run through my entire directory structure, but can't find out how to make the command recursive.

Any clues how to do this easily people, I have about 350GB of FLAC's I'd like to convert to 1.1.4 -8


CODE
find /path/to/flacs -name '*.flac' -print0 | xargs -0 flac --verify --best --force


Have fun!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kritip
post Feb 25 2007, 13:35
Post #81





Group: Members
Posts: 528
Joined: 15-January 02
From: Warwickshire -- England
Member No.: 1036



Cheers, I shall give it a go in the next few days biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
goodnews
post Feb 25 2007, 15:55
Post #82





Group: Banned
Posts: 232
Joined: 20-January 06
Member No.: 27228



I know a lot of people have asked in this thead and elsewhere why the FLAC home page had not yet been updated to reflect the FLAC 1.1.4 release (the reason being explained already by Josh).

Well I am happy to report that today the FLAC home page got its 1.1.4 update:

http://flac.sourceforge.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jkauff
post Feb 25 2007, 15:59
Post #83





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 162
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Doylestown, PA
Member No.: 145



QUOTE (goodnews @ Feb 25 2007, 14:55) *
I know a lot of people have asked in this thead and elsewhere why the FLAC home page had not yet been updated to reflect the FLAC 1.1.4 release (the reason being explained already by Josh).

Well I am happy to report that today the FLAC home page got its 1.1.4 update:

http://flac.sourceforge.net

Unfortunately, the download link (at least for the Windows installer) is still 1.1.3b.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wraithdu
post Feb 25 2007, 19:06
Post #84





Group: Members
Posts: 382
Joined: 20-December 06
Member No.: 38861



QUOTE (Martin H @ Feb 24 2007, 20:08) *
The four de-facto RG tags isn't shown in fb2k's "Properties" dialog, but fb2k still parses them and lists the gain and peak values in the "Properties" section of the "Properties" dialog. FLAC's ReplayGain implementation also sets a "REPLAYGAIN_REFERENCE_LOUDNESS" tag in addition to the four de-factor RG tags and since fb2k dosen't recognice that tag as being a RG tag, then that tag is also listed among the other non-RG tags in the "Metadata" section of the "Properties" dialog.

Well that's the thing. The four RG tags that fb2k usually shows in the 'Properties' tab of the 'Properties' dialog are missing. That's what doesn't make sense. The REFERENCE tag is in the metadata section, but no actual RG tags are present anywhere that I can see. Remember this is flac 1.1.4. I think everything was OK with 1.1.3 when I tested it out.

NOTE: Mp3tag sees the 4 actual RG tags in the 'Extended Tag' info. Why not fb2k then?

This post has been edited by wraithdu: Feb 25 2007, 19:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Feb 25 2007, 19:34
Post #85





Group: Developer
Posts: 1441
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



The improvement in encoding speed over version 1.1.3 is impressive, but wavpack -hh is still over two times faster than flac --best, and compresses better (478 MiB vs. 491 MiB for Daft Punk's Homework, which is almost 74 minutes long) Why is FLAC still getting so much more attention by software & hardware developers than WavPack?


--------------------
See my profile for measurements, tools and recommendations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WarChild
post Feb 25 2007, 20:38
Post #86





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 1-October 01
Member No.: 155



QUOTE (skamp @ Feb 25 2007, 18:34) *
Why is FLAC still getting so much more attention by software & hardware developers than WavPack?


Cross platform and seamlessly handles aiff's come first to mind
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Feb 25 2007, 20:41
Post #87


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



(almost twice as fast at encoding, not decoding. flac -8 decodes twice as fast as wavpack -hh on x86.)

I don't know about software, but for hardware, it's because of the other things that are more important in that segment, like decode speed, library, momentum. besides, those speeds are on x86 which is irrelevant to consumer electronics.

Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Feb 25 2007, 20:56
Post #88


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



QUOTE (jkauff @ Feb 25 2007, 09:59) *
Unfortunately, the download link (at least for the Windows installer) is still 1.1.3b.

I'll check with Mike on this...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Feb 26 2007, 01:19
Post #89





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



QUOTE (wraithdu @ Feb 25 2007, 19:06) *
Well that's the thing. The four RG tags that fb2k usually shows in the 'Properties' tab of the 'Properties' dialog are missing. That's what doesn't make sense. The REFERENCE tag is in the metadata section, but no actual RG tags are present anywhere that I can see. Remember this is flac 1.1.4. I think everything was OK with 1.1.3 when I tested it out.

NOTE: Mp3tag sees the 4 actual RG tags in the 'Extended Tag' info. Why not fb2k then?

There's something wrong on your end, then. I have just tested it out by running the following command-lines with flac.exe v1.14 and metaflac.exe v1.14 :
CODE
flac --replay-gain test.wav

fb2k v0.9.4.2 parses the four de-facto RG tags correctly and displays the gain and peak values under : Properties > "Properties".
CODE
metaflac --remove-replay-gain test.flac
metaflac --add-replay-gain test.flac

fb2k v0.9.4.2 parses the four de-facto RG tags correctly and displays the gain and peak values under : Properties > "Properties".

If you are running "metaflac --add-replay-gain filename.flac" on files allready loaded into a fb2k playlist, then fb2k will only parse the newly created RG tags when selecting : Tagging > "Reload info from files".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wraithdu
post Feb 26 2007, 01:44
Post #90





Group: Members
Posts: 382
Joined: 20-December 06
Member No.: 38861



I'm not using metaflac at the moment. I'll do some more testing, but I've already tried two runs with REACT2 in image mode and the RG tags are not being read by fb2k. As I said, they appear in mp3tag so this is strange.

Maybe it's something to do with REACT2 and embedding a cuesheet in the flac file? Martin, can you try an image run with REACT2 if you have it with the options to add RG (not apply it) and embed the cuesheet?

EDIT: I confirmed your procedure above works. So it seems it must be something with the embedded cuesheet. Let me know if you get a chance to test it.

This post has been edited by wraithdu: Feb 26 2007, 02:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Feb 26 2007, 02:58
Post #91





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



@wraithdu

Please forgive me for saying that you where wrong in my previous post. I had just gone to bed and i was thinking about your issue, and then it hit me that you wheren't talking about track files but about images with embedded cuesheet and that in that case, then you where absolutely right in what you've said, so i immidiately jumped out of my bed and turned on my PC, to retract my previous statement smile.gif I can now also see by your "Edit" section, that you also thinks that it's about the embedded cuesheet, and in which you are perfectly correct in.

The problem is that fb2k dosen't parse those RG tags when they are defined on an image file with embedded cuesheet. Of course, then track gain couldn't work in this way either, but as atleast album gain would work perfectly, then i wrote a post on the fb2k forum about this issue about 2 month ago, but unfortunetly i didn't get a responce from one of the fb2k developers. The only solution you then have to get your images album gained with REACT and which fb2k also will pick up, is then to setup your react.ini file to run WaveGain.exe on the image and then to let REACT add REM comments to the embedded cuesheet with the RG info, and this will fb2k parse correctly.

Again, sorry for saying that you where wrong before, my friend and i hope that you will please accept my apology for this smile.gif

CU, Martin.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wraithdu
post Feb 26 2007, 03:19
Post #92





Group: Members
Posts: 382
Joined: 20-December 06
Member No.: 38861



No offense taken at all Martin smile.gif

I realise that problems like these are so system/config dependent that people are likely to have different test results. In this case I RG scan my resulting flac image with fb2k so as to have track and album gain tags. In the end I'm just glad to know what the issues was. Thanks for taking the time.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Feb 26 2007, 17:56
Post #93





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



Thank's wraithdu smile.gif and you are very welcome smile.gif

CU, Martin.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DickxLaurent
post Feb 26 2007, 22:56
Post #94





Group: Members
Posts: 144
Joined: 7-April 04
From: Florida
Member No.: 13283



Just want to say a big thanks to Josh for all FLAC development, past and present.


--------------------
"The way we see our world is better than yours."
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
goodnews
post Mar 1 2007, 01:23
Post #95





Group: Banned
Posts: 232
Joined: 20-January 06
Member No.: 27228



Just wanted people to know that a new version of the free VUPlayer was out as of today that now supports this new FLAC 1.1.4 version. More info at the thread here:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=53093
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jerethi
post Mar 3 2007, 07:22
Post #96





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 12-January 02
Member No.: 996



I've noticed that playback with the in_flac.dll that comes with Winamp 5.33, which uses 1.1.2e libraries I believe, sounds different than with 1.1.4 in_flac plugin. The best way for me to describe the difference is that when I playback .flac files with the 1.1.4 plugin, it sounds as though the equalizer in Winamp is turned off, whereas with the 1.1.2e in_flac, the equalizer settings apply (which makes it sound better on my speakers). Am I missing something here?


--------------------
http://www.assortmentstoday.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
benski
post Mar 3 2007, 07:40
Post #97


Winamp Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 17-July 05
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 23375



QUOTE (Jerethi @ Mar 3 2007, 01:22) *
I've noticed that playback with the in_flac.dll that comes with Winamp 5.33, which uses 1.1.2e libraries I believe, sounds different than with 1.1.4 in_flac plugin. The best way for me to describe the difference is that when I playback .flac files with the 1.1.4 plugin, it sounds as though the equalizer in Winamp is turned off, whereas with the 1.1.2e in_flac, the equalizer settings apply (which makes it sound better on my speakers). Am I missing something here?


There is an official Winamp FLAC 1.1.4-based decoder plugin forthcoming.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
j7n
post Mar 3 2007, 18:00
Post #98





Group: Members
Posts: 813
Joined: 26-April 04
Member No.: 13720



A plugin does not need to be 'official' for the EQ to function. Jerethi, why can't you tell for sure if equalizing is performed? Just raise some bands and check the difference.

I'm using the old 1.0beta6a built on 2003-05-06 and the EQ works.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Mar 3 2007, 18:11
Post #99


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



if a decoding plugin has to do something special (I'm not sure why) to make the equalizer work, the reference plugin is not doing it.

Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Teknojnky
post Mar 7 2007, 07:39
Post #100





Group: Members
Posts: 335
Joined: 12-April 06
Member No.: 29453



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Feb 20 2007, 18:39) *
QUOTE (Teknojnky @ Feb 16 2007, 18:27) *
is this a bug?
...
I thought for sure that 1.1.4 alpha was able to force encode through this problem but maybe I'm wrong.

no, this came up before somewhere else and I gave the long explanation. anyway id3 on flac files is going to get less and less support as time goes on.



Sorry for the late reply, but...

If this is not bug, why does flac -t not return an error, but trying to re-encode it fails?

IMO, if flac won't re-encode it, then flac test should fail.

I will have to dig up and re-read the long explaination, but I don't quite understand why even if flac does not support id3 metadata writing/updating/etc, it still should not fail to decode/re-encode because of it.

In any case, if id3 tags will continue to fail re-encodes in the future, then at least please make test fail as well so they are consistent results.


--------------------
Last.FM Nodes for your library @ http://build.last.fm/item/356
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 11:49