IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC 1.1.4, smaller, faster, better
funkyblue
post Mar 7 2007, 23:30
Post #101





Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 28-November 01
From: South Australia
Member No.: 555



Howdy,
When will the Windows Installer be updated?
It has been ages since released and still 1.1.3 is up!
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Mar 7 2007, 23:44
Post #102


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



I know, sorry about that. the last word I had from Mike is that he's still having problems getting DLLs registered on vista.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
w1L50n
post Mar 8 2007, 01:13
Post #103





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 29-November 06
Member No.: 38188



I dLoaded the 1.1.4 zip file, unzipped it, opened the bin directory. I copied the 4 .exe files to the same place in the installed flac 1.1.3 version (renamed the existing extensions to .113 first) and did the same with the .dll to the Winamp/Plugins directory.

It seemed to work (although I am having some weirdlies with Winamp now, but I upped it to 5.33 after).

Is this how to get v1.1.4 without the installer? Anything else need to be done?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
benski
post Mar 8 2007, 03:17
Post #104


Winamp Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 17-July 05
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 23375



QUOTE (w1L50n @ Mar 7 2007, 19:13) *
I dLoaded the 1.1.4 zip file, unzipped it, opened the bin directory. I copied the 4 .exe files to the same place in the installed flac 1.1.3 version (renamed the existing extensions to .113 first) and did the same with the .dll to the Winamp/Plugins directory.

It seemed to work (although I am having some weirdlies with Winamp now, but I upped it to 5.33 after).

Is this how to get v1.1.4 without the installer? Anything else need to be done?


Put in your Program Files\Winamp folder: (or provide your own libFLAC.dll)
http://stashbox.org/14137/libFLAC.dll

Put in your Program Files\Winamp\Plugins folder:
http://stashbox.org/14138/in_flac.dll

This will be included in 5.34
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
w1L50n
post Mar 8 2007, 04:23
Post #105





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 29-November 06
Member No.: 38188



Put them in and checked real quick......seems to have fixed 'er up!

For anybody else, my Winamp problem was that is wouldn't seem to add the .flac files (only the mp3) per album folder. Manually adding got them in, but with limited info; it seemed to read from file names rather than tag info...wasn't good anyway.

All seems well now.......thanks much benski!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ZnOOZer
post Mar 11 2007, 15:54
Post #106





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-May 06
Member No.: 31109



QUOTE (benski @ Mar 8 2007, 03:17) *
Put in your Program Files\Winamp folder: (or provide your own libFLAC.dll)
http://stashbox.org/14137/libFLAC.dll

Put in your Program Files\Winamp\Plugins folder:
http://stashbox.org/14138/in_flac.dll

This will be included in 5.34

I've just installed this one. Got a problem tho. Winamp crash every time I try to pause a flac file.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DJ-Egg
post Mar 11 2007, 16:34
Post #107





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 105



QUOTE (ZnOOZer @ Mar 11 2007, 14:54) *
QUOTE (benski @ Mar 8 2007, 03:17) *

Put in your Program Files\Winamp folder: (or provide your own libFLAC.dll)
http://stashbox.org/14137/libFLAC.dll

Put in your Program Files\Winamp\Plugins folder:
http://stashbox.org/14138/in_flac.dll

This will be included in 5.34

I've just installed this one. Got a problem tho. Winamp crash every time I try to pause a flac file.

Yup, is an old bug which has since been fixed in the latest version of the in_flac 2.0 plugin.

I'm not sure whether Benski will post the updated plugin here or not,
or whether you're just going to have to wait for 5.34.

There's also been a few other changes made to the plugin since then, eg.
FLAC Info Editor: Genre drop-down uses genres.txt, tabbing order fixed, columns rearranged, etc.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pietje
post Mar 11 2007, 17:52
Post #108





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 11-March 07
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 41383



QUOTE (ZnOOZer @ Mar 11 2007, 15:54) *
I've just installed this one. Got a problem tho. Winamp crash every time I try to pause a flac file.


I also found this bug.

Besides that, it also seems that flac files are not loudness adjusted according to their replay gain values when I use this 1.1.4 plugin. My mp3's are all adjusted fine but flac files aren't.
To test this I manually adjusted the replay gain value for a file (in fb2k) to -15 dB, but it still sounds awfully loud compared to my mp3 files. Strangely though, the file info box correctly shows the replaygain value to be -15 dB. Using the 1.1.2e plugin it all works normally.

Piet
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
funkyblue
post Mar 11 2007, 23:48
Post #109





Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 28-November 01
From: South Australia
Member No.: 555



Still no installer?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
benski
post Mar 12 2007, 18:20
Post #110


Winamp Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 17-July 05
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 23375



Update for the Winamp plugin:

I apologize for the previous bugs - we're still in a QA/Beta cycle.

Copy this to your Program Files\Winamp folder (note: no change in this file from previous version a few posts up)
http://stashbox.org/14137/libFLAC.dll

Copy this to your Program Files\Winamp\Plugins
http://stashbox.org/14467/in_flac.dll

thanks guys
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pietje
post Mar 12 2007, 20:26
Post #111





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 11-March 07
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 41383



Thanks benski for the quick fix. This new version fixes both the pause-bug and the replaygain issue.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ZnOOZer
post Mar 12 2007, 22:14
Post #112





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-May 06
Member No.: 31109



Thanks for the update benksi! Pausing works like a charm now :-)

Found another problem now. When I start a song and goes to the middle or the end of it by clicking the slider sometimes strange things happen. The slider can sometimes jump back to the middle of the song and sometimes it jumps to the very end of the song so it looks like the song is ended (but it's still playing.. and showing positive time counting up instead of negative counting down) blink.gif

Maybe a bit dizzy writing but it's late and I hope you get it tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DJ-Egg
post Mar 13 2007, 22:44
Post #113





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 105



QUOTE (ZnOOZer @ Mar 12 2007, 21:14) *
Found another problem now. When I start a song and goes to the middle or the end of it by clicking the slider sometimes strange things happen. The slider can sometimes jump back to the middle of the song and sometimes it jumps to the very end of the song so it looks like the song is ended (but it's still playing.. and showing positive time counting up instead of negative counting down)

Strange. No-one can reproduce this. Are you maybe using some 3rd-party output plugin (eg. out_ks or out_asio)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
emtee
post Mar 13 2007, 22:48
Post #114





Group: Members
Posts: 198
Joined: 18-October 02
Member No.: 3569



The official winamp flac plugin also doesn't properly works with Last.fm or Albumlist. I think it has something to do with only partial tag support.

This post has been edited by emtee: Mar 13 2007, 22:48
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
benski
post Mar 14 2007, 00:14
Post #115


Winamp Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 17-July 05
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 23375



QUOTE (emtee @ Mar 13 2007, 16:48) *
The official winamp flac plugin also doesn't properly works with Last.fm or Albumlist. I think it has something to do with only partial tag support.


By "official winamp flac plugin" do you mean that one that comes with the FLAC distribution, or the one that comes with the Winamp installer (5.33 and up)?

The plugin that comes with FLAC should only be used for older (2.x) versions of Winamp.

Josh: can we get in_flac dropped from the FLAC installer? Starting with Winamp 5.34, users can 'upgrade' FLAC simply by copying a new libFLAC.dll into Program Files\Winamp (unless the FLAC API changes again)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
emtee
post Mar 14 2007, 00:54
Post #116





Group: Members
Posts: 198
Joined: 18-October 02
Member No.: 3569



QUOTE (benski @ Mar 13 2007, 23:14) *
By "official winamp flac plugin" do you mean that one that comes with the FLAC distribution, or the one that comes with the Winamp installer (5.33 and up)?

I mean Nullsoft FLAC Decoder v1.1.2e, included in Winamp 5.33.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ZnOOZer
post Mar 14 2007, 11:02
Post #117





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-May 06
Member No.: 31109



QUOTE (DJ-Egg @ Mar 13 2007, 22:44) *
QUOTE (ZnOOZer @ Mar 12 2007, 21:14) *

Found another problem now. When I start a song and goes to the middle or the end of it by clicking the slider sometimes strange things happen. The slider can sometimes jump back to the middle of the song and sometimes it jumps to the very end of the song so it looks like the song is ended (but it's still playing.. and showing positive time counting up instead of negative counting down)

Strange. No-one can reproduce this. Are you maybe using some 3rd-party output plugin (eg. out_ks or out_asio)?

Could be. I know I've used another output plugin before but not sure what I'm using now. Will try to disable some plugins when I get home in 6 hours or so.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DJ-Egg
post Mar 14 2007, 16:55
Post #118





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 105



QUOTE (emtee @ Mar 13 2007, 23:54) *
QUOTE (benski @ Mar 13 2007, 23:14) *

By "official winamp flac plugin" do you mean that one that comes with the FLAC distribution, or the one that comes with the Winamp installer (5.33 and up)?

I mean Nullsoft FLAC Decoder v1.1.2e, included in Winamp 5.33.

The official Nullsoft plugin is now in_flac 2.0 (based on FLAC 1.1.4),
as included with Winamp 5.34 Beta

Now supports Extended Fields (Album Artist, Composer, Disc#, Publisher, Encoded)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
emtee
post Mar 14 2007, 19:12
Post #119





Group: Members
Posts: 198
Joined: 18-October 02
Member No.: 3569



QUOTE (DJ-Egg @ Mar 14 2007, 15:55) *
QUOTE (emtee @ Mar 13 2007, 23:54) *

QUOTE (benski @ Mar 13 2007, 23:14) *

By "official winamp flac plugin" do you mean that one that comes with the FLAC distribution, or the one that comes with the Winamp installer (5.33 and up)?

I mean Nullsoft FLAC Decoder v1.1.2e, included in Winamp 5.33.

The official Nullsoft plugin is now in_flac 2.0 (based on FLAC 1.1.4),
as included with Winamp 5.34 Beta

Now supports Extended Fields (Album Artist, Composer, Disc#, Publisher, Encoded)

Hi, I've just tried the new version. I'm afraid both problems still persist: Albumlist is unable to retrieve metadata from files (such as the album name, album lenght, etc), and last.fm client doesn't detect winamp is playing.
However, I noticed that while last.fm only has problems with flac files, detecting every mp3 file, albumlist is still unable to retrieve metadata from mp3 files. It was working fine previously, so my guess is that something changed in the 5.33 release.
I can try with other formats to see if the problems still occur, if you require.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
benski
post Mar 14 2007, 19:19
Post #120


Winamp Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 17-July 05
From: Brooklyn, NY
Member No.: 23375



QUOTE (emtee @ Mar 14 2007, 13:12) *
Hi, I've just tried the new version. I'm afraid both problems still persist: Albumlist is unable to retrieve metadata from files (such as the album name, album lenght, etc), and last.fm client doesn't detect winamp is playing.
However, I noticed that while last.fm only has problems with flac files, detecting every mp3 file, albumlist is still unable to retrieve metadata from mp3 files. It was working fine previously, so my guess is that something changed in the 5.33 release.
I can try with other formats to see if the problems still occur, if you require.


My guess is that they're not getting metadata the "proper" way. I'll look at the albumlist code (pretty sure it's open source) and see what's going on.

This post has been edited by benski: Mar 14 2007, 19:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
blm07
post Mar 14 2007, 20:09
Post #121





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 3389



I'm using the new Winamp beta with FLAC 2.0 plugin. When I put FLAC files in the playlist, and Winamp reads the tags (FLAC file info), it shows the entire directory and filename instead of what is in the artist / title field and time.


--------------------
Cyberdyne Systems - Making you a better person through technology.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DJ-Egg
post Mar 15 2007, 01:20
Post #122





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 105



QUOTE (blm07 @ Mar 14 2007, 19:09) *
I'm using the new Winamp beta with FLAC 2.0 plugin. When I put FLAC files in the playlist, and Winamp reads the tags (FLAC file info), it shows the entire directory and filename instead of what is in the artist / title field and time.
Yup, it's listed under the Known Issues section of the 5.34 Beta thread on the Winamp forums.

Basically, it means that you've disabled Advanced Title Formatting in Winamp > Prefs > Titles

(the beta bug being that this causes the full path & filename to be displayed, instead of just the filename).

To fix it, enable ATF and set a suitable ATF string, eg.

[%artist% - ]$if2(%title%,$filepart(%filename%))

[%artist% - ][%album% - ][$num(%track%,2) - ]$if2(%title%,$filepart(%filename%))

$filepart(%filename%)

or whatever

This post has been edited by DJ-Egg: Mar 15 2007, 02:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
blm07
post Mar 15 2007, 02:16
Post #123





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 3389



QUOTE (DJ-Egg @ Mar 14 2007, 20:20) *
Yup, it's listed under the Known Issues section of the 5.34 Beta thread on the Winamp forums.

Basically, it means that you've disabled Advanced Title Formatting in Winamp > Prefs > Titles

(the beta bug being that this causes the full path & filename to be displayed, instead of just the filename).

To fix it, enable ATF and set a suitable ATF string, eg.

[%artist% - ]$if2(%title%,$filepart(%filename%))

[%artist% - ][%album% - ][$num(%track%,2) - ]$if2(%title%,$filepart(%filename%))

$filepart(%filename%)

or whatever


Didn't think to look in that area, I checked tech support and bug reports though (a few hours ago). Thanks, looks like its already going to be fixed by next version.

This post has been edited by blm07: Mar 15 2007, 02:17


--------------------
Cyberdyne Systems - Making you a better person through technology.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Mar 15 2007, 06:42
Post #124


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



QUOTE (benski @ Mar 13 2007, 18:14) *
Josh: can we get in_flac dropped from the FLAC installer? Starting with Winamp 5.34, users can 'upgrade' FLAC simply by copying a new libFLAC.dll into Program Files\Winamp (unless the FLAC API changes again)

yeah, I asked that Mike keep it out for flac-1.1.4. I would prefer it not be in there anymore.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ZnOOZer
post Mar 15 2007, 20:49
Post #125





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-May 06
Member No.: 31109



QUOTE (ZnOOZer @ Mar 14 2007, 11:02) *
QUOTE (DJ-Egg @ Mar 13 2007, 22:44) *

QUOTE (ZnOOZer @ Mar 12 2007, 21:14) *

Found another problem now. When I start a song and goes to the middle or the end of it by clicking the slider sometimes strange things happen. The slider can sometimes jump back to the middle of the song and sometimes it jumps to the very end of the song so it looks like the song is ended (but it's still playing.. and showing positive time counting up instead of negative counting down)

Strange. No-one can reproduce this. Are you maybe using some 3rd-party output plugin (eg. out_ks or out_asio)?

Could be. I know I've used another output plugin before but not sure what I'm using now. Will try to disable some plugins when I get home in 6 hours or so.

A bit more then 6 hours, I know, but now I finally got some time over tongue.gif

Anyway, I used the Directsound output plugin. I've now also tried with the waveout plugin but the same problem there. I also disabled many other plugins that's not standard, but no luck there either. Have tested with many different flac files too.
I recorded a video so it should be a bit easier to see the problem:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp0CK6wO1t8

As you can see it's slow and a bit strange acting overall. One thing you should take a look at is that when I play a file twice in a row it runs perfect the second time. My guess is that there's some king of buffering problem, what do you think?
I also went back to 1.1.2 again to remember what that was like and I saw no signs of delays with the seek bar there.

Hope this info is to some help. I'm glad to help you more if you got any other idea of what could cause the problem smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 17:21