IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Any quality loss decoding MP3 to CD?, Was: Simple question (I think) [TOS#6]
swayzak
post Feb 3 2007, 13:49
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



Forgive me for my ignorance here...

Is there any perceivable quality difference between an mp3 file (say, Lame extreme compression) and then the same file converted to cda track (ie. expanded 10x) ?

thanks

swayzak
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Feb 3 2007, 13:51
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Unless your MP3 playback mechanism or decoder are flawed, no.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Feb 3 2007, 13:54
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



QUOTE (dv1989 @ Feb 3 2007, 06:51) *
Unless your MP3 playback mechanism or decoder are flawed, no.


thankyou

So now I just need to get an mp3 playing car stereo instead having to burn the bloody mp3s to cda cd's..... mad.gif

The stereo in my Honda Accord is quite nice though, and is integral to the dash / display unit....just doesn't play mp3 discs sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Firon
post Feb 3 2007, 19:21
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 830
Joined: 3-November 05
Member No.: 25526



Edit: ugh, can't read.

This post has been edited by Firon: Feb 3 2007, 19:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
evereux
post Feb 3 2007, 19:31
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 907
Joined: 9-February 02
From: Cheshire, UK
Member No.: 1296



QUOTE (Firon @ Feb 3 2007, 18:21) *
On a few problem tracks, sure. On 99.9% of real music? Probably not.

What is your definition of problem track? A broken MP3?


--------------------
daefeatures.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Feb 3 2007, 19:40
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 3391
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



QUOTE (Firon @ Feb 3 2007, 14:21) *
QUOTE (dv1989 @ Feb 3 2007, 08:51) *

Unless your MP3 playback mechanism or decoder are flawed, no.

On a few problem tracks, sure. On 99.9% of real music? Probably not.


He was asking about any difference between an MP3 and a CD burned from the MP3, not between the MP3 and the original CD.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Firon
post Feb 3 2007, 19:41
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 830
Joined: 3-November 05
Member No.: 25526



Ugh, nevermind what I said, my brain is broken today.

To answer the correct question, no, there shouldn't be any difference at all. You might have slight gaps that weren't there before (depending on what you used to decode the MP3), but that's about it.

This post has been edited by Firon: Feb 3 2007, 19:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
aLii
post Feb 3 2007, 23:59
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 8-April 06
Member No.: 29276



QUOTE (Firon @ Feb 3 2007, 19:41) *
You might have slight gaps that weren't there before (depending on what you used to decode the MP3), but that's about it.

If you burn with iTunes7 and set the gap between tracks to 0s (default is 2s) it should burn gapless CDAs perfectly

This post has been edited by aLii: Feb 3 2007, 23:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Firon
post Feb 4 2007, 00:13
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 830
Joined: 3-November 05
Member No.: 25526



I meant gaps resulting from a decoder that doesn't use the enc_delay and enc_padding flags properly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin F.
post Feb 4 2007, 10:15
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 15-July 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 32930



What happens if the MP3 file's sample count isn't a multiple of 588? Will there be a gap?


--------------------
FLAC.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Firon
post Feb 4 2007, 20:16
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 830
Joined: 3-November 05
Member No.: 25526



If it supports enc_delay and enc_padding properly (such as foobar2000), there will be no gap. The length should be exactly the same.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin F.
post Feb 5 2007, 01:11
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 15-July 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 32930



But won't there be a gap because CDDA has sectors with 588 samples (1/75 sec)? I don't know if CDDA has a way to specify the exact length


--------------------
FLAC.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Feb 5 2007, 01:27
Post #13





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Not all MP3 files come from CDDA.

Either way, there isn't a "standard" way to store gapless information within MP3 files. However, as Firon said, LAME and compatible decoders can store and use such information. As such, they will store all samples (well, the corresponding psycho-acoustically compressed equivalents!) of the source audio - whether it is from a CD or not.

Anyway, 588 samples is surely not noticable . . . although I'm sure there'll be some exceptional case to prove me wrong. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th August 2014 - 20:22