IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  « < 4 5 6  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_dsp_fsurround, a new surround processor for foobar2000 0.9.x
tony_almeida
post Oct 13 2011, 22:18
Post #126





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 13-October 11
Member No.: 94325



thank you so much.
i think your plugin is best to use with dolby headphone wrapper.
i hope you update the final version.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chibisteven
post Nov 22 2011, 00:10
Post #127





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 29-July 11
Member No.: 92633



Bug report. I also like to add more information and correct a typo mistake.

Hmmm. Options for exact rear-phase reproduction of the sound like earlier versions would be nice (I don't know if it's technically right though). And the beta has issues that I found don't exist in a earlier version. Like in the beta according to research shows that setting the rear seperation effects the front left's volume in terms of what is stired towards it. The left side of the sound is always louder in mono rear encoded in Prologic II comes out with the left rear being louder (which can be seen in Foobar2000's peak level meter).

I would recommend adding a volume control for older computers with crappy soundcards that clip when above 0db on Foobar2000 meters. I used to own such a machine. AC'97 and Windows XP and Compaq systems seem to have this issue. Though clipping is not issue with my newer computer, it still shows up in sound dumps using the DSP.

Here's the older version that seems not to have the issue:
http://uploading.com/files/4c415b84/older%2Bversion.zip/

Can't tell exactly what version it is.

This post has been edited by Chibisteven: Nov 22 2011, 00:52
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Nov 22 2011, 19:26
Post #128





Group: Members
Posts: 921
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



QUOTE (Chibisteven @ Nov 22 2011, 01:10) *
[..] older computers with crappy soundcards that clip when above 0db on Foobar2000 meters.

As a general clipping prevention I suggest to always put foobar's "Advanced Limiter" at the end of your DSP chain. Clipping prevention is all it does.

This post has been edited by GeSomeone: Nov 25 2011, 18:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
torturesauce
post Jan 25 2012, 14:47
Post #129





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 8-February 10
Member No.: 77981



Hey, guys. Is it possible to use this plugin to upmix 5.1 music to 7.1 speakers? I selected "7.1 surround" in the Speaker Configuration option, but I still get 5.1 sound.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
flanger216
post Jan 29 2012, 22:48
Post #130





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 7-February 09
Member No.: 66720



This could be the best upmixer out there, if not for one thing:

I have two sources to test upmixers --- "Giant Steps" by Coltrane and "Ege Bamyasi" by CAN. The first is useful because it has a dry, intimate mix with almost no ambiance. The second is useful because it's the opposite, an active mix with an extremely open soundstage and multiple (often panning) sources. Basically, an ideal upmixer would do very little to the Coltrane ablum but would be fairly aggressive with the CAN album.

Every upmixer I've previously tried (PLII Music Mode, DTS:NEO Music, Channel Mixer, ATSurround, VI Suite) practically ruins the Coltrane album. Almost all of the front signal is dumped into the rears, making for a flat, artificial soundstage that extends directly to the sides, as if one were listening through bad headphones. That is, Coltrane sounds like he's blowing his sax next to your left ear while the drummer is sitting directly to your right --- surely not the mixer's intention. Only 'VI Suite' is acceptable, and only if the 'rear ambience' controls are turned down to 25% or less.

CAN, however, works great with all the upmixers --- in fact, it behaves almost identically no matter what upmixer I use. I'm half-convinced that CAN's albums were intentionally mixed for surround-sound processing.

Unfortunately, if you set VI Suite to 25% ambience (as mentioned above, to make it play nicely with Coltrane), it doesn't fully expose the rear information in the CAN album. Only the default settings (with ambience at 75%) works properly. But, of course, this screws up the Coltrane album. In other words, I could find no DSP that correctly works on all material with one setup.

Then I stumbled across freesurround. If you feed it the Coltrane album, almost nothing comes out of the rear channels --- just the faintest reverb off the cymbals. Perfect! I've never heard it sound better. Conversely, the CAN album is opened up even more, to the point that it's practically indistinguishable from a discrete 5.1 mix. So far so good; I was hopeful I'd found the perfect upmixer.

There's only one problem, and it's a big one. On some sources, particularly classical recordings, freesurround is unusable. The rear channels sound like soup of phased artifacts, as if a few frequencies from the front channels had been put in an echo chamber (I believe a poster above me mentioned this, albeit in an unhelpful manner). I've tried fiddling with all the parameters, but nothing affects it. Is this just a fundamental caveat of how freesurround does its processing --- that some sources are simply incompatible? Or is there some other setting or tweak that might help? If this one issue could be neutralized, this plugin would be tremendous.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
flanger216
post Jan 31 2012, 21:52
Post #131





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 7-February 09
Member No.: 66720



After messing around some more, it seems the 'phase' errors only occur with older classical material that was recorded live to analog tape. So I think I answered my own question --- freesurround doesn't play nicely with material that has tape warble or was improperly coupled in the analog mix. Not too surprising, and other techniques, particularly VI Suite, work well with these problematic analog sources. So there's still no one-size-fits-all upmixer, but nothing beats freesurround with a good source.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
flanger216
post Feb 17 2012, 03:02
Post #132





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 7-February 09
Member No.: 66720



QUOTE (flanger216 @ Jan 31 2012, 22:52) *
After messing around some more, it seems the 'phase' errors only occur with older classical material that was recorded live to analog tape. So I think I answered my own question --- freesurround doesn't play nicely with material that has tape warble or was improperly coupled in the analog mix. Not too surprising, and other techniques, particularly VI Suite, work well with these problematic analog sources. So there's still no one-size-fits-all upmixer, but nothing beats freesurround with a good source.


Unfortunately I have to contradict myself --- almost all vanilla-stereo sources exhibit phase-artifacting, occasionally so badly that it affects overall pitch. Am eagerly awaiting a new version, because this DSP shows a lot of promise.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Feb 23 2012, 11:19
Post #133





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



I'm trying to convert some stereo sitcoms into 5.1 (mostly to put dialogue in the center channel).

Seems to work pretty well with this component, except during the intro music, I get no drums in the fronts. Is it possible to restore those with some tweaks to the settings, or is that just the way it is?


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chibisteven
post Jun 18 2012, 22:33
Post #134





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 29-July 11
Member No.: 92633



Is this project still alive? Just wondering the status.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pro_optimizer
post Jul 6 2012, 09:57
Post #135





Group: Developer
Posts: 99
Joined: 6-June 06
Member No.: 31515



So after a long pause I finally got to work on it a bit yesterday (July 4th, yay!). There were two people who independently confirmed that the sound field appeared to be rotated about 10 degrees to the left -- and you were right about this. Thanks for helping me track this down, it's fixed now. This also affected the accuracy of the steering somewhat, which should now be better than ever before (assuming I got it right this time wink.gif ).

The other change since the previous beta (0.8.1) addresses crash that was reported by Rollin. I believe that this is caused when some 3rd party library (boost.serialization) is used by multiple plugins in different versions. I changed the way in which it is linked to fix it (but we'll see if that solves it).

By the way @odyssey, I think there's the foo_dsp_centercut component just for this purpose. But sitcoms in addition often put the crowd in the surrounds -- so that's another reason to give it the full surround treatment.

The updated dll is attached to the initial post.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
flyingsaucer
post Oct 7 2012, 10:16
Post #136





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 3-October 12
Member No.: 103592



Hi! MAN!! thank you a lots for your job could you create a VST version of your FOOBAR DSP??


Thank you in advance for your anser



Best Regards
Tony
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pro_optimizer
post Oct 12 2012, 17:11
Post #137





Group: Developer
Posts: 99
Joined: 6-June 06
Member No.: 31515



QUOTE (flyingsaucer @ Oct 7 2012, 11:16) *
Hi! MAN!! thank you a lots for your job could you create a VST version of your FOOBAR DSP??


Thank you in advance for your anser



Best Regards
Tony


Hi flyingsaucer -- yes, I might do that at some point, although I'm currently quite busy at work (as always...) so currently don't have much time.
But note that you can always use foobar's transcoding features to do offline DSP processing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
delta67
post Apr 8 2013, 08:48
Post #138





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 4-April 13
Member No.: 107511



Thanks very much for the GREAT plugin.
Ur DPLII wrapper doesn't work for me !!

This post has been edited by delta67: Apr 8 2013, 08:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pro_optimizer
post May 31 2013, 21:33
Post #139





Group: Developer
Posts: 99
Joined: 6-June 06
Member No.: 31515



Released the source code for version 0.9.0 (GPL), it's attached to the first post.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ome.ga
post Jul 18 2013, 16:03
Post #140





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-July 13
Member No.: 109173



Thank you for your huge work. Please, create a DirectShow version
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ome.ga
post Jul 19 2013, 20:07
Post #141





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-July 13
Member No.: 109173



QUOTE (ome.ga @ Jul 18 2013, 17:03) *
Thank you for your huge work. Please, create a DirectShow version

Excuse, DirectX version
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Deathcrow
post Sep 6 2013, 14:24
Post #142





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 11-January 05
Member No.: 18994



Maybe I'm just retarded, but I'm experiencing a pretty significant high frequency cutoff when looking at the spectrum while using FreeSurround in 5.1 (surround) mode. Peaks in the 20k range disappear completely and sounds in the 14k range seem to be significantly dampened.

Is this expected/intended behavior? To make sure that it isn't a problem with my 5.1 setup I tried the "Channel Mixer" (foo_channel_mixer) plugin in upmix mode, which doesn't appear to do this.

Edit: Ok, nevermind. After taking a closer look I'm pretty sure it's just caused by the FreeSurround volume being lower over all frequencies.

This post has been edited by Deathcrow: Sep 6 2013, 15:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
continous
post Sep 18 2013, 23:17
Post #143





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 23-July 13
Member No.: 109228



So, is development on this stalled indefinitely?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  « < 4 5 6
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 04:17