IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

ID3 TAG and windows coloumns, Automatic correct ID3 with EAC and FLAC
The Two Channel ...
post Oct 28 2006, 21:20
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 6-September 06
Member No.: 34870



I don't know if this is the right topic - in FLAC -, but since .flac convertion is what I am doing right now so...

Thanks to all help to a newbi on this forum. Finally my EAC/dmc/FLAC convertion works the way I will. It creates correct catalogues in windows and and it gives me the filename I want. And the quality I want.

My next question is about ID3 TAG:
I want to be able to sort my .flac files under the different names in the different windows columns. And I beieve that this info is extracted from the ID3 TAG?
The windows columns I wants are:
Name/Type/Title/Artist/album name/year/genre
I've got a copy of some .mp3 files that have this information the way I want
(from WMediaplayer?)

Any way to get this done automatically with EAC /dmd configuration /flac 1.1.2?

Thanks for good ideas
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Egor
post Oct 29 2006, 10:58
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 826
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 17374



AFAIK, dBpowerAMP supports that. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
The Two Channel ...
post Oct 29 2006, 11:24
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 6-September 06
Member No.: 34870



SOrry if i dont express myself correct. I thought it was ID3tag that could give Windows what's needed to show information under the different Windows coloumns.

But, anyway you understand what I want so hopefully someone can explain it.
I have installed EAC, I have installed dbpowerampmc (free edition) and I have installed flac 1.1.2
I convert my CD music thru EAC and compress it with flac. The filename and the location of the flacfiles are correct.

BUT, sometimes I put a lot of music in one windows catalogue, and there - somtimes - I want to sort this music on the different columns in Windows:
Name/Type/Title/Artist/album name/year/genre

in the dBpowerAMP settings I have marked the checkbox for "Audio Information Columns"

Grateful if somebody tells me if and how it's possible.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by The Two Channel Amplifier: Oct 29 2006, 11:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Egor
post Oct 29 2006, 11:35
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 826
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 17374



QUOTE (The Two Channel Amplifier @ Oct 29 2006, 17:24) *
BUT, sometimes I put a lot of music in one windows catalogue, and there - somtimes - I want to sort this music on the different columns in Windows:
Name/Type/Title/Artist/album name/year/genre

in the dBpowerAMP settings I have marked the checkbox for "Audio Information Columns"

Hmm, if you want to sort, you need to select "detailed view" and click on the corresponding column title.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
The Two Channel ...
post Oct 29 2006, 13:05
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 6-September 06
Member No.: 34870



QUOTE (Egor @ Oct 29 2006, 12:35) *
QUOTE (The Two Channel Amplifier @ Oct 29 2006, 17:24) *
BUT, sometimes I put a lot of music in one windows catalogue, and there - somtimes - I want to sort this music on the different columns in Windows:
Name/Type/Title/Artist/album name/year/genre

in the dBpowerAMP settings I have marked the checkbox for "Audio Information Columns"

Hmm, if you want to sort, you need to select "detailed view" and click on the corresponding column title.


I've done that, I have all the columns i the Windows bar, but there are no information in them.
The only columns I have information in is name, size and type..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Junon
post Oct 29 2006, 14:10
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 520
Joined: 27-August 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 34518



QUOTE (The Two Channel Amplifier @ Oct 29 2006, 13:05) *
I've done that, I have all the columns i the Windows bar, but there are no information in them.
The only columns I have information in is name, size and type..


If you mean the Windows Explorer with "Windows bar", I'm sorry to say that it can only display ID3 up to v2.3 and Windows Media tags. FLAC uses Vorbis comments which can only be read by most software audio players and very few hardware ones. Windows itself will most certainly never be able to display the tags of open source formats, since these are unwanted competitors to commercially used formats, especially to Microsoft's own Windows Media Audio.

Besides, checking the "Add ID3 tag" option in EAC won't help you in FLAC's case. You can't enforce it being added to this codec.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bhoar
post Oct 29 2006, 16:36
Post #7





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 612
Joined: 31-May 06
Member No.: 31326



QUOTE (Junon @ Oct 29 2006, 09:10) *
Windows itself will most certainly never be able to display the tags of open source formats, since these are unwanted competitors to commercially used formats, especially to Microsoft's own Windows Media Audio.


Not quite: explorer.exe allows for third-party add-ons for several things, including columns.

Edit: heh, such as dbpoweramp!

-brendan

This post has been edited by bhoar: Oct 29 2006, 16:36


--------------------
Hacking CD Robots & Autoloaders: http://hyperdiscs.pbwiki.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st August 2014 - 12:57