IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

22 Pages V  « < 5 6 7 8 9 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_scheduler, Plugin for scheduling actions like play, stop, system shutdown/wake up
MrEnergizer
post Jan 18 2007, 12:35
Post #151





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 1-January 05
Member No.: 18757



Thx Andrew for this plugin. I'm impressed biggrin.gif
Mr E
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MItaI
post Jan 20 2007, 20:29
Post #152





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 20-January 07
Member No.: 39848



Andrew, I have found a bug/feature - if I set the scheduler to shut down my computer, it won't do that if the workstation is locked (what happens in 10 min. of inactivity). I have checked that several times, and when the workstation ain't locked, everything is OK. Is it possible to shut down a locked station? If I use "shutdown -s -t 1200" command, for instance, it does shutdown the system.

Also, is it possible to see whether an action has been actually activated?

Anyway, thanks for cool plug-in!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
er0k
post Jan 21 2007, 00:07
Post #153





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-January 06
Member No.: 26915



Hello, very nice plugin. smile.gif

I have a small request: could you add an action to open files?
ie. Add action > Open File... > C:\playlist.m3u or something similar. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
temp1
post Jan 26 2007, 07:11
Post #154





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 23-September 06
Member No.: 35512



thanks for the great plugin wink.gif
add the "Force Shutdown" and "Run Program" function will be nice rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GarethEvans
post Jan 30 2007, 07:32
Post #155





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-August 06
Member No.: 34572



Great plugin, it's the one foobar plugin that I definitely couldn't go without.

One request, however: a "save active playlist" action would be amazing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pepoluan
post Jan 30 2007, 07:37
Post #156





Group: Members
Posts: 1455
Joined: 22-November 05
From: Jakarta
Member No.: 25929



QUOTE (MItaI @ Jan 21 2007, 02:29) *
Also, is it possible to see whether an action has been actually activated?
Yes, this would be nice. For instance, I schedule an action to rescan the library at a certain time every day. But sometimes my brother will turn off the computer before rescan is performed. If there is a field like "Last run", I can easily see whether rescan has been performed or not.


--------------------
Nobody is Perfect.
I am Nobody.

http://pandu.poluan.info
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Galova
post Feb 9 2007, 21:51
Post #157





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 23-May 06
Member No.: 31080



QUOTE
I have a small request: could you add an action to open files?
ie. Add action > Open File... > C:\playlist.m3u or something similar. Thanks!

+1

me too!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seyen
post Feb 11 2007, 09:48
Post #158





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 7-November 06
Member No.: 37296



Hi. I have a problem with the the component. I've set it as an alarm, to ramp up the volume and switch playlists at 7AM, and wake me up, and another one to stop playback at 2AM, when I'm already asleep(computer works all night long). Beforehand, I've tested it and all of the alarms set off. But then when it actually had to work, it didn't, since I woke up at 8AM, and the player was still playing, meaning that neither of the two alarms set off. I've also _checked_ the "Wake up from hibernate/standby" though as far as I know, my computer does not go into either mode at night.
Any ideas?

EDIT: Issue resolved. I should pay more attention to stuff.

This post has been edited by Seyen: Feb 11 2007, 23:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
$char(9836)
post Feb 15 2007, 10:26
Post #159





Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 19-September 06
From: Söderköping
Member No.: 35367



Can someone upload the first "series" of this plug-in, before the GUI change. The thing is that I think that when I switched the old config settings remained so now my computer shutdown every sunday night at 00:00 tongue.gif


--------------------
I just like listening to music
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Matyas
post Feb 15 2007, 14:45
Post #160





Group: Members
Posts: 158
Joined: 8-August 03
From: Bratislava
Member No.: 8242



remove the plugin, and start foobar. It will ask you whether you want to keep the settings of that plugin. Be sure to click no. Afterwards copy the foobar again into the plugins directory and you should be free to go.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Eisprinz
post Feb 15 2007, 18:24
Post #161





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 29-June 03
From: Heidelberg
Member No.: 7461



Sweet plugin so far, but I'm missing a simple feature: Add Action > Pause/Unpause. With the current implementation there's no way to start playback in the middle of a track, which is exactly what you want when you're listening to audiobooks etc. Without knowing anything about plugin development, I'd guess this should be easy enough to implement? Any chance?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jackassbikeco
post Feb 15 2007, 18:42
Post #162





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 27-October 05
Member No.: 25376



This is a very useful awesome plugin, but I really don't like how there is no way to tell if the plugin is running or not. Can a visible panel be added that gives the option of starting or stopping the scheduled events and also showing the time remaining on a scheduled event. I make a sleep timer to shut my music off an hr after I go to sleep, but I have no idea if it is actually running or how far it is into the timer.

Thanks,
Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halabund
post Feb 19 2007, 17:07
Post #163





Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 17-February 07
Member No.: 40705



Feature request:
  • Action that runs an external program
Why do I need this?

I'd like to play a radio station in the morning, but for this the computer must be connected to the internet. On the campus where I live, we need to connect to a VPN to access the internet: I'd set up scheduler to run a script that does this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2Pacalypse
post Feb 19 2007, 18:15
Post #164





Group: Members
Posts: 257
Joined: 27-September 05
Member No.: 24739



QUOTE (halabund @ Feb 19 2007, 16:07) *
Feature request:[list]
[*]Action that runs an external program


I requested a while back to be able to launch foo_run scripts which would allow you to run external apps
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halabund
post Feb 24 2007, 09:05
Post #165





Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 17-February 07
Member No.: 40705



Feature request: An action to turn off "Stop after current" ... I think you understand why.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halabund
post Feb 27 2007, 18:01
Post #166





Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 17-February 07
Member No.: 40705



Bug report:

If I use foo_scheduler for both turning off the computer (using the Hibernate event) and turning it on in the morning (using the Wake up from hibernate/stand-by option), the computer's clock remains stuck at the turn-off time. For example, if it hibernates at 1.00 and wakes up at 1.30, the clock will still show 1.00 at the wake-up time.

This happens only when both shutdown and wake-up are automated. If I turn the machine off manually or don't set a wake-up event, then the problem does not occur.

Could someone test this?

EDIT: Workaround posted here. You need to set a few minutes of delay before hibernation.

This post has been edited by halabund: Mar 29 2007, 08:04
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halabund
post Mar 5 2007, 20:27
Post #167





Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 17-February 07
Member No.: 40705



Bump ... could someone please test this on their computer?

Steps to reproduce the bug:
  • Set an event that hibernates the computer at time x (with x being a convenient time so you don't have to wait very long.)
  • Set another event that starts playback at time x + 5 minutes. Check the Wake up from Hibernate/Standby option.
  • Wait for your computer to hibernate, then wait for it to wake up and check the computer's clock.
The clock should show x+5 minutes, but on my computer it shows x (i.e. the turn-off time).

Please tell me that this is not a problem with my hardware ... sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrew_smolko
post Mar 5 2007, 23:25
Post #168





Group: Developer
Posts: 145
Joined: 28-July 06
Member No.: 33384



QUOTE (halabund @ Mar 5 2007, 22:27) *
Bump ... could someone please test this on their computer?

Steps to reproduce the bug:
  • Set an event that hibernates the computer at time x (with x being a convenient time so you don't have to wait very long.)
  • Set another event that starts playback at time x + 5 minutes. Check the Wake up from Hibernate/Standby option.
  • Wait for your computer to hibernate, then wait for it to wake up and check the computer's clock.
The clock should show x+5 minutes, but on my computer it shows x (i.e. the turn-off time).

Please tell me that this is not a problem with my hardware ... sad.gif


Unable to reproduce. Time is correct.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
er0k
post Mar 5 2007, 23:33
Post #169





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-January 06
Member No.: 26915



QUOTE
I have a small request: could you add an action to open files?
ie. Add action > Open File... > C:\playlist.m3u or something similar. Thanks!


Hey andrew, any chance of this making the next version? biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrew_smolko
post Mar 6 2007, 20:11
Post #170





Group: Developer
Posts: 145
Joined: 28-July 06
Member No.: 33384



QUOTE (er0k @ Mar 6 2007, 01:33) *
Hey andrew, any chance of this making the next version? biggrin.gif

If I find some free time then it's possible. But I don't know when it will happen...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
YoPen
post Mar 9 2007, 14:58
Post #171





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 23-February 07
Member No.: 40898



Good work,but still have incomplete option "add timer".
For example: I want to shutdown my PC after 30 min.Every time I must set up the timer with the clock.It's a so dull.Will be great if the timer is INDEPENDENT without set up the clock,just shutdown after 30,60 or 90min, like the sheduler of v0.83

It's only my opinion!

This post has been edited by YoPen: Mar 9 2007, 15:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrew_smolko
post Mar 9 2007, 20:05
Post #172





Group: Developer
Posts: 145
Joined: 28-July 06
Member No.: 33384



QUOTE (YoPen @ Mar 9 2007, 16:58) *
Good work,but still have incomplete option "add timer".
For example: I want to shutdown my PC after 30 min.Every time I must set up the timer with the clock.It's a so dull.Will be great if the timer is INDEPENDENT without set up the clock,just shutdown after 30,60 or 90min, like the sheduler of v0.83

It's only my opinion!


Create an action list with a desired delay and a shutdown action. Then create a menu item event and assign the action list to it. Now if you want to shutdown in several minutes just use "File/Trigger scheduler event/<your menu item>" menu item. Please read the whole topic before posting requests...

This post has been edited by andrew_smolko: Mar 9 2007, 20:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Melomane
post Mar 21 2007, 12:20
Post #173





Group: Members
Posts: 643
Joined: 13-January 03
From: Marseille
Member No.: 4552



andrew

it is possible to add option to run command line ?

if possible, this can execute all foobar commands and more...

thank you

This post has been edited by Melomane: Mar 21 2007, 12:20


--------------------
Music is my first love.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halabund
post Mar 21 2007, 14:29
Post #174





Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 17-February 07
Member No.: 40705



QUOTE (Melomane @ Mar 21 2007, 12:20) *
it is possible to add option to run command line ?
I'd also like to see this option very much. I need to run a script to connect to the internet (that's how it works in the student hostel), so at the moment I cannot set foobar to play an internet radio station right after turning on the computer (because the connection is dropped when it is turned off).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pepoluan
post Mar 22 2007, 21:04
Post #175





Group: Members
Posts: 1455
Joined: 22-November 05
From: Jakarta
Member No.: 25929



Minor, but...

Andrew, I hope you can edit the first post so that the next time I know when a certain version of Scheduler was released; I keep re-downloading the latest version, heh smile.gif


--------------------
Nobody is Perfect.
I am Nobody.

http://pandu.poluan.info
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

22 Pages V  « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 09:05