IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

17 Pages V  « < 12 13 14 15 16 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Homebrew CMI 8738 drivers
RIV@NVX
post Sep 28 2008, 13:05
Post #326





Group: Members
Posts: 574
Joined: 15-December 02
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 4090



Isn't this card too different from C-Media's solutions?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BEEMB
post Oct 6 2008, 14:13
Post #327





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 18-September 08
Member No.: 58426



QUOTE (DAK.Eidolon @ Jun 23 2008, 18:21) *
Thanks for your answer wich makes perfect sense to me, at least.
Of course, during my initial test and setups, and conforming myself to the indications of your site, I paid attention to the position of the wave slider in the window mixer, making sure it was at its max. Technically, I don't think any other application, out of mediaportal, has access to the soundcard. Now the details you were kind enough to provide would explain why I can't hear any objective difference between mediaportal's plain player, mediaportal's player with Asio4All and mediaportal configured to use Foobar with kernel streaming plugin. I guess I finally have bitperfect playback after all (my holly Graal), wich should not be surprising because the whole thing sounds astounding, and even better than my expensive so-callled audiophile CD-Player. Thanks to you, it's finally a dream comes true, and I can have fast access to .ape, .flac and wavepack files, just using a remote, with a sound that is pure blissness. Bye-bye CD boxes, shelves, and dust...
Your driver really made my musical life such an enjoyable experience, I can't thank you enough for that.

Take care

My setup, if anyone cares :

Win XP (32)
Mediaportal (using the stock Bass player) (Free)
Windows Mediacenter Remote (25 Euros)
GForce visualisation plugin (Free demo version)
Terratec Aureon 5.1 PCI (18 Euros)
Dogbert's CMIDriver-1.2.0-bin-x86 (Free)
Optical wire (20 Euros)
Derek Shek II Non OS DAC (check "Sigtone" on Ebay, this is a bomb) (238 Euros)
Pathos Classic One MKII hybrid amp
BC Acoustique Act 02 speakers


Interesting post. I'm trying to achieve the same - use a Media Player that can achieve a bit perfect output.

So you're saying above, that Media Portal can utilise these drivers and output bit perfect sound ? Really. ..

Right - I'm going to buy your soundcard and install away if thats the case.

I'm using Vista, not XP ... so, can I get this working using this ?

What about BluRay etc ? Can I utilise the driver for stereo sound too ?

Interesting stuff this. ... not sure whether to bypass my PC's sound entirely using an Aiport Express - which works in a Mac like way and should pass the sound into my external DAC perfectly, or take this route.

Hoping for a response...

Is the card you have recommended for use with this driver ?

Many thanks for any responses.

Excellent work Dogber !
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BEEMB
post Oct 6 2008, 21:42
Post #328





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 18-September 08
Member No.: 58426



I'm obviously quite late coming to this.

Just following up on my post from above ..


When using Vista Media Centre I assume its still not possible to get a bit perfect output even using these drivers ? Any way around this or does it have to be MediaPortal and not Media Centre .. ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dogbert
post Oct 13 2008, 11:58
Post #329





Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 5-October 03
Member No.: 9165



QUOTE
I'm using Vista, not XP ... so, can I get this working using this ?

The service which handles all audio stuff in Vista alters the sound stream regardless whether there's actually a reason for that or not, and hence it isn't bitperfect. Subsequently, your audio player needs support for either kernel streaming, ASIO (you need to have an ASIO->KS wrapper installed for that) or WASAPI / exclusive access.

QUOTE
Is the card you have recommended for use with this driver ?

There's a list of devices on my page - you are free to choose a card which serves your needs best in terms of availability, ports and physical size.

QUOTE (BEEMB @ Oct 6 2008, 22:42) *
When using Vista Media Centre I assume its still not possible to get a bit perfect output even using these drivers ?

as far as I know, there aren't such plugins for Vista's Media Center.


--------------------
http://code.google.com/p/cmediadrivers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Doujinshi
post Dec 16 2008, 01:25
Post #330





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-December 08
Member No.: 64554



Thank you for great work on this driver smile.gif

I bought this card for its SPDIF input to connect my Playstation 2 and maybe xbox 360 later

i cant get Dolby Prologic 2 to decode on all channels from SPDIF, also an option to make regular stereo input to play on all channels would be nice smile.gif

ALso the SPDIF input volume doesnt seem to move in windows mixer wink.gif

I hope you will consider this smile.gif

This post has been edited by Doujinshi: Dec 16 2008, 01:28
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Useless Warrior
post Dec 19 2008, 01:56
Post #331





Group: Members
Posts: 83
Joined: 8-April 07
Member No.: 42314



This may be a stupid question but does this driver support the CMI8770 found in the HT striker?

I know its not listed but some of these chipsets are essentially the same with different names, didn't know if the 8770 was on of them.

Also, why no svn on the google code page?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dogbert
post Dec 19 2008, 10:47
Post #332





Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 5-October 03
Member No.: 9165



QUOTE
I bought this card for its SPDIF input to connect my Playstation 2 and maybe xbox 360 later

Usually, this is a bad idea because the driver model introduces some delay during the decoding process which is very annoying. I had a report of someone who managed to get this working with reasonable performance by generating a custom filter graph (GraphEdit).

QUOTE
i cant get Dolby Prologic 2 to decode on all channels from SPDIF, also an option to make regular stereo input to play on all channels would be nice smile.gif

Sound processing isn't done in the driver on purpose, so the application has to generate such a stream. There are various plugins for player software such as winamp etc. which implement such functionality.


QUOTE
This may be a stupid question but does this driver support the CMI8770 found in the HT striker?

The chip is almost identical to the 8768 with the exception of some register which enables the dolby encoder in the official driver, so yes. You'll lose the dolby real-time encoder though.

QUOTE
I know its not listed

it *is* listed on the "supported devices" page.

QUOTE
Also, why no svn on the google code page?

Too lazy to set it up... Besides, I'm the only developer so there isn't really a necessity for having a repo.


--------------------
http://code.google.com/p/cmediadrivers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Useless Warrior
post Dec 19 2008, 16:22
Post #333





Group: Members
Posts: 83
Joined: 8-April 07
Member No.: 42314



QUOTE (Dogbert @ Dec 19 2008, 04:47) *
QUOTE
This may be a stupid question but does this driver support the CMI8770 found in the HT striker?

The chip is almost identical to the 8768 with the exception of some register which enables the dolby encoder in the official driver, so yes. You'll lose the dolby real-time encoder though.

Neat, I will have to give it a try.

QUOTE (Dogbert @ Dec 19 2008, 04:47) *
QUOTE
I know its not listed

it *is* listed on the "supported devices" page.

Ah, I was looking at the FAQ and I only saw the chipsets. Sorry about that.

QUOTE (Dogbert @ Dec 19 2008, 04:47) *
QUOTE
Also, why no svn on the google code page?

Too lazy to set it up... Besides, I'm the only developer so there isn't really a necessity for having a repo.


The way you worded this makes it sound like you don't have local source control, you are using it locally right?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
boybergamo76
post Jan 2 2009, 21:02
Post #334





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 27-August 08
Member No.: 57578



Please i really hope that someone can help me.I have a ps3 and a trust sc-5250.I can have dolby digital decoded in ps3 games trough this card if i use ac3 filter and graph edit ? I have already made some attempts and was given me only white noise.Please help!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin275
post Jan 4 2009, 17:28
Post #335





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-January 09
Member No.: 65186



Hello,

I am currently using a Terratec Aureon 5.1 USB MK II audio device and tried to install this driver here.

But it doesn't want to work with Vista Home Premium 32 Bit.

The automatical driver installation fails and after the manual driver update the is always the problem no. 10 saying that the driver could not be loaded.

I'm using this external USB audio adapter with my Samsung R510 laptop, which has got a Realtek audio device onboard. Should I try to uninstall the Realtek driver to solve my driver issue?

Thanks in advance for your help! It would be great if somebody could help me!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dogbert
post Jan 4 2009, 18:23
Post #336





Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 5-October 03
Member No.: 9165



as mentioned in the FAQ, your device is incompatible with the driver.


--------------------
http://code.google.com/p/cmediadrivers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin275
post Jan 4 2009, 18:33
Post #337





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-January 09
Member No.: 65186



QUOTE (Dogbert @ Jan 4 2009, 18:23) *
as mentioned in the FAQ, your device is incompatible with the driver.


Oh no - what a pitty! So I spent almost 40 bucks for nothing.. ohmy.gif

But thanks anyway for your quick reply. You're doing a good job!

Any recommendations for an alternative for me?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dogbert
post Jan 4 2009, 18:56
Post #338





Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 5-October 03
Member No.: 9165



QUOTE (Martin275 @ Jan 4 2009, 18:33) *
Any recommendations for an alternative for me?


Since you're a limited to USB, the m-audio transit is a good choice for a bitperfect audio interface. The adapter requires manually changing the sample rate to match the playback material which is tedious.


--------------------
http://code.google.com/p/cmediadrivers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin275
post Jan 4 2009, 19:39
Post #339





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-January 09
Member No.: 65186



QUOTE (Dogbert @ Jan 4 2009, 18:56) *
QUOTE (Martin275 @ Jan 4 2009, 18:33) *
Any recommendations for an alternative for me?


Since you're a limited to USB, the m-audio transit is a good choice for a bitperfect audio interface. The adapter requires manually changing the sample rate to match the playback material which is tedious.


Thank you, but m-audio transit usb is far from being cheap..

I focussed something like this, but I'm not quite sure if it passes through spdif-signals flawlessy?!

This post has been edited by Martin275: Jan 4 2009, 19:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
PatchWorKs
post Jan 6 2009, 11:00
Post #340





Group: Members
Posts: 498
Joined: 2-October 01
Member No.: 168



Dunno in can help, BTW:
QUOTE
This project was registered on SourceForge.net on Nov 26, 2008, and is described by the project team as follows:
QUOTE
Windows USB audio driver source for EMU CA0188- and CA0189-Based external audio devices. Existing products include EMU 0202 USB, EMU 0404 USB, and TrackerPre.


Welcome to the EMU/Creative Windows USB audio drivers:
QUOTE ("finaddic @ 2008-12-12 20:41")
The code published here is accessible using Subversion (SVN). The following is the URL to use for checking out the code

https://zaudiodriverwin.svn.sourceforge.net...driverwin/trunk

Once checked out, you can build the code using Microsoft's WDK tools as described in the readme file in the project source itself.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ludmil
post Jan 11 2009, 10:23
Post #341





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 11-January 09
Member No.: 65428



OK, I installed it on XP64 bit

First, the Audio Control control panel shows only (Stereo 2.0) available channels.
Second, the MPU401 is not working (MPU401 Address: 0000)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dogbert
post Jan 11 2009, 10:44
Post #342





Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 5-October 03
Member No.: 9165



QUOTE (Ludmil @ Jan 11 2009, 10:23) *
First, the Audio Control control panel shows only (Stereo 2.0) available channels.

and what it is supposed to show?
there is a plethora of cmedia chips and it's hard if not impossible to determine their capabilities, so the number of channels is chosen conservatively. what chip revision do you have?

QUOTE
Second, the MPU401 is not working (MPU401 Address: 0000)

that's disabled because it caused reproducible lock-ups on some systems with a specific motherboard chipset.

This post has been edited by Dogbert: Jan 11 2009, 11:22


--------------------
http://code.google.com/p/cmediadrivers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
McMusic
post Jan 15 2009, 22:36
Post #343





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 10-February 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 51187



Hi Dogbert!

First of all congratulations and thank you for the fantastic driver you have programed!

I have a question concerning WaveRT. What are the differences between the WaveRT and the non-WaveRT version of your driver? Is WaveRT somehow superior to the "standard driver"?

I'm currently running Windows Vista Ultimate x64 with the WaveRT driver. I'm just curious on the differences between the two driver alternatives.

Thank you so far!

Regards
McMusic
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dogbert
post Jan 17 2009, 11:29
Post #344





Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 5-October 03
Member No.: 9165



WaveRT is an alternative model for audio drivers: an intermediate buffer between the application and the soundcard which has been used in previous models (WavePCI, WaveCyclic) is omitted, and an application can have direct access to the buffer which the soundcard's DMA engine uses for getting/storing the samples.
This permits lower delay times and it is also somewhat advantageous in terms of CPU usage.


--------------------
http://code.google.com/p/cmediadrivers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
McMusic
post Jan 17 2009, 21:32
Post #345





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 10-February 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 51187



Thank you Dogbert for the explanation! beer.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
brittonc
post Jan 22 2009, 17:44
Post #346





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 22-January 09
Member No.: 65868



Hi Dogbert,

After spending way too long trying to get SPDIF from my Creative X-Fi card to my amp I came across one of your posts in AVForums, which led me to your site. I purchased a c-media based card (value 8-channel with optical out...8768 chip), did a fresh install of Vista and installed your drivers (v1.2.3). However....I am still not getting any sound from my amp.

I recently had an Asus motherboard and was using the onboard sound via coax spfid and it worked without a problem. I have just upgraded and changed to an Intel board. The onboard sound didn't have spdif out which is why tried the X-Fi again. After finding your site I thought my prayers had been answered with a cheap c-media card but I'm still stuck.

I've made sure the card is set to SPFID out. I'm using the Arcsoft TotalMedia Theatre to play films (which is set to audio SPDIF out) and media player for music.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? I upgraded to be able to play HD-DVD/Blu ray and at the mo can't use my HTPC as there's no audio!

Thanks.


EDIT: Think I've fixed it! Knew it was something I had done. I forgot to disable the onboard sound in BIOS (don't I feel stupid! lol!). Thanks for the drivers...it works great!! NOw my £10 value sound card is doing what my £70 X-Fi couldn't!!

This post has been edited by brittonc: Jan 22 2009, 18:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
brittonc
post Jan 23 2009, 23:56
Post #347





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 22-January 09
Member No.: 65868



OK....I've been watching HD-DVD's, Blu ray's and some video from HDD. At some point watching all of them the video as suddenly slowed right down and I've lost audio. I closed the programs I was using (TotalMedia Theatre and WMP11) and although the video starts playing normally again I have no audio.

I have just rebooted the PC and now have no audio at all...not even system sounds. Anyone got any ideas?

This post has been edited by brittonc: Jan 23 2009, 23:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jace112
post Feb 11 2009, 23:32
Post #348





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 4-May 02
Member No.: 1965



Hi

I use your amazing drivers with Windows 7. I'm also using Asio4All with foobar.

Only using SPDIF output (toslink). Analog output is disable as you can see.

Can you tell me what the 2 outputs in the asio4all control panel are?



By the way, I managed to play 24 bits / 48 kHz music files (wavpack) and 24 / 96 DTS files. Does that mean that your driver is now 24 bits compatible ? How can I make sure that there is no change in the resolution, frequency when playing the file?

Format : WavPack
File size : 21.7 MiB
Duration : 3mn 43s
Overall bit rate : 815 Kbps
Format : WavPack
Format profile : 4.06
Duration : 3mn 43s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 815 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Resolution : 24 bits

Compression ratio : 2.826
Stream size : 21.7 MiB (100%)
Encoding settings : -h -hh


BTW: THANKS AGAIN smile.gif


--------------------
j@ce deHodossy
"ici tout n'est qu'ordre et beauté, luxe, calme et volupté"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dogbert
post Feb 13 2009, 10:23
Post #349





Group: Members
Posts: 162
Joined: 5-October 03
Member No.: 9165



One output interface is for the analog ports and the other one for the digital ports. The digital port is necessary for AC3/dts passthrough, but since this is only an artificial construction to work around some issues with the multimedia API of Windows Vista/7, it doesn't matter what output you choose in ASIO4ALL - both interfaces are handled almost identically by the driver.


--------------------
http://code.google.com/p/cmediadrivers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MarkusL
post Feb 21 2009, 18:55
Post #350





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 21-February 09
Member No.: 67234



Don't know if this is old news, but I just tried it and was rather surprised: Bit-perfect playback also works with the official C-Media drivers! When playing "dts_the_other_side_44khz.wav" my receiver (Denon 1908) detects DTS and plays on all speakers.

I'm using a Terratec 7.1 with CMI8768+, driver "Windows XP/2000,8.17.33,2009-01-09" from the C-Media homepage. Used max Volume, foobar player set to 16bit output, soundcard set to 44.1khz output.

Edit: Sorry, just realized that this has already been posted before...

This post has been edited by MarkusL: Feb 21 2009, 19:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

17 Pages V  « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th December 2014 - 06:03