IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC 1.1.3 beta1 available
spies
post Oct 11 2006, 15:32
Post #26





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 73
Joined: 20-July 02
From: Foster City, CA
Member No.: 2685



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Oct 11 2006, 00:10) *
yeah, I have not tried building it on my ibook yet so the tests for the assembler must not be up to date.

I think you can get past this problem by deleting line 22818 in configure:

CODE
test "$AS" = "as" && as --version | grep GNU >/dev/null && AS=gas

That change did allow ./configure to finish however make now ends with errors:
CODE
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [flac] Error 1
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make: *** [all] Error 2
I am quickly getting in over my head!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pepoluan
post Oct 11 2006, 15:41
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 1455
Joined: 22-November 05
From: Jakarta
Member No.: 25929



Josh,

What about licensing issues that prevents FLAC from being packaged with WinAmp?


--------------------
Nobody is Perfect.
I am Nobody.

http://pandu.poluan.info
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Oct 11 2006, 16:11
Post #28


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



QUOTE (sshd @ Oct 11 2006, 05:05) *
I get the following warning message on a 192/24/2 wave file created with wvunpack 4.2. Might not be a problem with flac, but thought I should mention it anyway.

options: --lax -P 8192 -b 4608 -m -l 8 -q 0 -r 3,3
02 The Carter Family.wav: WARNING: legacy WAVE file has format type 1 but bits-per-sample=24

I might remove this warning since I think for 24bps all programs write samples the same way.

QUOTE (Speek @ Oct 11 2006, 09:06) *
After installing FLAC 1.1.3 beta1 on Slackware (gcc 3.4.6) I tried recompiling vorbis-tools 1.1.1, but I get this error:
...

yeah, sorry about that, this is due to the api change which collapses the three decoding layers into one. this will remove the need for easyflac.c in vorbis-tools.

I will be going around to the major opensource projects and submitting patches for the latest version while the beta goes on.

QUOTE (ffooky @ Oct 11 2006, 04:30) *
QUOTE (jcoalson @ Oct 11 2006, 08:10) *
yeah, I have not tried building it on my ibook yet so the tests for the assembler must not be up to date.

I think you can get past this problem by deleting line 22818 in configure:

CODE
test "$AS" = "as" && as --version | grep GNU >/dev/null && AS=gas

Doesn't do the trick (on my Intel iMac at least).

bummer, I'll need the output from make where it broke.

QUOTE (spies @ Oct 11 2006, 09:32) *
QUOTE (jcoalson @ Oct 11 2006, 00:10) *
yeah, I have not tried building it on my ibook yet so the tests for the assembler must not be up to date.

I think you can get past this problem by deleting line 22818 in configure:

CODE
test "$AS" = "as" && as --version | grep GNU >/dev/null && AS=gas

That change did allow ./configure to finish however make now ends with errors:
CODE
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [flac] Error 1
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make: *** [all] Error 2
I am quickly getting in over my head!

ok, can you post most more of the output, back up to the first error?

QUOTE (pepoluan @ Oct 11 2006, 09:41) *
Josh,

What about licensing issues that prevents FLAC from being packaged with WinAmp?

QUOTE (probedb @ Oct 11 2006, 06:42) *
Does this include the Winamp plugin, and has this been updated to use the Media Library yet or do I still need to install the patched 1.12 I have?


the necessary code was relicensed to LGPL but there was not enough time to get it into the latest winamp release. the reference plugin does not have ML support but the one coming from winamp will and has all of the features of the reference plugin, so I'm still deciding how much effort to put into maintaining it.

Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ffooky
post Oct 11 2006, 16:30
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 15184



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Oct 11 2006, 16:11) *
QUOTE (ffooky @ Oct 11 2006, 04:30) *
QUOTE (jcoalson @ Oct 11 2006, 08:10) *
yeah, I have not tried building it on my ibook yet so the tests for the assembler must not be up to date.

I think you can get past this problem by deleting line 22818 in configure:

CODE
test "$AS" = "as" && as --version | grep GNU >/dev/null && AS=gas

Doesn't do the trick (on my Intel iMac at least).

bummer, I'll need the output from make where it broke.


sorry, I didn't delete the line properly but now I too get an error at the make stage:
CODE
/usr/bin/libtool: file: .libs/libFLAC.lax/libFLAC-asm.a/cpu_asm.o is not an object file (not allowed in a library)
/usr/bin/libtool: file: .libs/libFLAC.lax/libFLAC-asm.a/fixed_asm.o is not an object file (not allowed in a library)
/usr/bin/libtool: file: .libs/libFLAC.lax/libFLAC-asm.a/lpc_asm.o is not an object file (not allowed in a library)
make[4]: *** [libFLAC.la] Error 1
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make: *** [all] Error 2


Edit:I had a space in the directory name the first time around

This post has been edited by ffooky: Oct 11 2006, 16:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pepoluan
post Oct 11 2006, 16:40
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 1455
Joined: 22-November 05
From: Jakarta
Member No.: 25929



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Oct 11 2006, 22:11) *
QUOTE (pepoluan @ Oct 11 2006, 09:41) *
Josh,

What about licensing issues that prevents FLAC from being packaged with WinAmp?
QUOTE (probedb @ Oct 11 2006, 06:42) *
Does this include the Winamp plugin, and has this been updated to use the Media Library yet or do I still need to install the patched 1.12 I have?
the necessary code was relicensed to LGPL but there was not enough time to get it into the latest winamp release. the reference plugin does not have ML support but the one coming from winamp will and has all of the features of the reference plugin, so I'm still deciding how much effort to put into maintaining it.
Well, since it's been relicensed to LGPL, I think you can kind of 'delegate' maintenance to the Winamp guys. I mean, it's the GPL license that has been binding their hands. smile.gif


--------------------
Nobody is Perfect.
I am Nobody.

http://pandu.poluan.info
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spies
post Oct 11 2006, 17:32
Post #31





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 73
Joined: 20-July 02
From: Foster City, CA
Member No.: 2685



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Oct 11 2006, 08:11) *
ok, can you post most more of the output, back up to the first error?
Sure, I uploaded the output as a text file in a zip document on my web site.
You can get it here. Now where is krmathis when you need him? biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Oct 11 2006, 18:00
Post #32


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



@ffooky: looks like you will have to pass --disable-asm-optimizations to configure until I get it sorted out, sorry.

@spies: oops, to fix:
1. change line 47 of flac-1.1.3-beta1/include/share/replaygain_analysis.h to
CODE
extern Float_t ReplayGainReferenceLoudness; /* in dB SPL, currently == 89.0 */


2. change line 103 of flac-1.1.3-beta1/src/share/replaygain_analysis/replaygain_analysis.c to
CODE
Float_t ReplayGainReferenceLoudness = 89.0; /* in dB SPL */


Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ffooky
post Oct 11 2006, 18:18
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 15184



Thanks Josh, got it rolling now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
iGold
post Oct 11 2006, 18:24
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 139
Joined: 23-December 05
Member No.: 26599



Nice version, good compression bonus and pictures support. Thank you!

Any plans about x86_64 assembler optimization?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spies
post Oct 11 2006, 18:26
Post #35





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 73
Joined: 20-July 02
From: Foster City, CA
Member No.: 2685



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Oct 11 2006, 10:00) *
@spies: oops, to fix:
1. change line 47 of flac-1.1.3-beta1/include/share/replaygain_analysis.h to
CODE
extern Float_t ReplayGainReferenceLoudness; /* in dB SPL, currently == 89.0 */


2. change line 103 of flac-1.1.3-beta1/src/share/replaygain_analysis/replaygain_analysis.c to
CODE
Float_t ReplayGainReferenceLoudness = 89.0; /* in dB SPL */


Josh

Thanks Josh that did it, now on to testing!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Oct 11 2006, 19:33
Post #36





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



Some results for my TAK corpus:

CODE
   |  1.1.2                   |   1.1.3b1
   |  Enc     Dec       Comp  |   Enc    Dec       Comp
===+==========================+========================
-0 |  94x    106x    70.734%  |  91x    104x    70.744%
-5 |  42x     97x    66.279%  |  39x     93x    65.926%
-8 |  10x     95x    66.028%  |   9x     93x    65.621%


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CyberFoxx
post Oct 11 2006, 21:11
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 15-August 02
Member No.: 3062



Heh, from the results that other people have been getting, can't wait till this goes final and is in Gentoo's Portage tree. happy.gif


--------------------
"It's the panties fault! The panties made me a pervert!"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spies
post Oct 12 2006, 00:13
Post #38





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 73
Joined: 20-July 02
From: Foster City, CA
Member No.: 2685



FLAC as an input to FLAC works great! Makes it so easy to convert FLACs to --best.
I am also excited about --picture however I cannot seem to get it to work right.
Can someone post an exact example of their command line that works with --picture?
I tried to follow the example given in metaflac but I was not able to figure it out.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wombat
post Oct 12 2006, 01:02
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 1090
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



I like the new version also but i wonder about the maximum compression.
Josh you talked about 0.1% less compression using -l12 to -l32 in the flake thread. Now flake -12 seems to give clearly better compression than these 0.01% against flac --best. Is there more to expect in the final 1.1.3?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Oct 12 2006, 02:13
Post #40


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



QUOTE (spies @ Oct 11 2006, 18:13) *
FLAC as an input to FLAC works great! Makes it so easy to convert FLACs to --best.
I am also excited about --picture however I cannot seem to get it to work right.
Can someone post an exact example of their command line that works with --picture?
I tried to follow the example given in metaflac but I was not able to figure it out.

what exact command line did you use?

QUOTE (Wombat @ Oct 11 2006, 19:02) *
I like the new version also but i wonder about the maximum compression.
Josh you talked about 0.1% less compression using -l12 to -l32 in the flake thread. Now flake -12 seems to give clearly better compression than these 0.01% against flac --best. Is there more to expect in the final 1.1.3?

I haven't compared against flake, just "flac -8" against "flac -8 -l 32" and the difference is usually for me < 0.1% (not 0.01%) and I haven't seen any comparisons against flake -12, but what is relevant in the context of limiting the predictor order to 12 (in the subset discussion) is to compare similar flake options differing only in 12-vs-32 order. the rest of the difference between flac and flake (padding excluded) would then be attributable to some advantage(s) in flake.

the compression won't improve for final 1.1.3 but I have a several leads for the next release.

Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drbeachboy
post Oct 12 2006, 02:40
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 22-October 04
From: Southern NJ
Member No.: 17776



QUOTE (spies @ Oct 11 2006, 19:13) *
FLAC as an input to FLAC works great! Makes it so easy to convert FLACs to --best.
I am also excited about --picture however I cannot seem to get it to work right.
Can someone post an exact example of their command line that works with --picture?
I tried to follow the example given in metaflac but I was not able to figure it out.

Hi,

This is for metaflac, but if you change --import-picture to --picture this should work fine.
--import-picture "3|image/jpeg|||Your directory\filename.jpg" "filename.flac"

Be sure to use the quotes & piping like so, because it won't work without them. At least it didn't for me.


--------------------
Surf's Up!
"Columnated Ruins Domino"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wombat
post Oct 12 2006, 02:48
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 1090
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Oct 12 2006, 03:13) *
I haven't compared against flake, just "flac -8" against "flac -8 -l 32" and the difference is usually for me < 0.1% (not 0.01%) and I haven't seen any comparisons against flake -12, but what is relevant in the context of limiting the predictor order to 12 (in the subset discussion) is to compare similar flake options differing only in 12-vs-32 order. the rest of the difference between flac and flake (padding excluded) would then be attributable to some advantage(s) in flake.

the compression won't improve for final 1.1.3 but I have a several leads for the next release.

Josh

Thanks for the answer. I don´t consider flake as real alternative cause of the many missing options btw.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spies
post Oct 12 2006, 02:58
Post #43





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 73
Joined: 20-July 02
From: Foster City, CA
Member No.: 2685



QUOTE (drbeachboy @ Oct 11 2006, 18:40) *
Hi,

This is for metaflac, but if you change --import-picture to --picture this should work fine.
--import-picture "3|image/jpeg|||Your directory\filename.jpg" "filename.flac"

Be sure to use the quotes & piping like so, because it won't work without them. At least it didn't for me.
Thanks drbeachboy, that did it!
I swear I tried with quotes but I must have put them in the wrong place.
Now on to more testing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
A_Man_Eating_Duc...
post Oct 12 2006, 08:34
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 940
Joined: 21-December 01
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 705



When you encode with flac using files with long names the flac display goes a little mental. Is there any chance of getting the percent and ratio counters to be put on a new line.

CODE
G:\Lossless Music\Ben Folds Five\1999 - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold M
essner>flac -8 -f " Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Mess
ner.wav"

flac 1.1.3beta1, Copyright © 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2006 Josh Coalson
flac comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free software, and you are
welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions. Type `flac' for details.

options: -P 8192 -b 4608 -m -l 12 -e -q 0 -r 0,6
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 0% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 0% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 0% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 0% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 0% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 0% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 0% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 0% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 0% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav: 1% complet
e, ratio=0.513^C
G:\Lossless Music\Ben Folds Five\1999 - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold M
essner>
So it would be
CODE
flac 1.1.3beta1, Copyright © 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2006  Josh Coalson
flac comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.  This is free software, and you are
welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions.  Type `flac' for details.

options: -P 8192 -b 4608 -m -l 12 -e -q 0 -r 0,6
Ben Folds Five - The Unauthorized Biography Of Reinhold Messner.wav
1% complete, ratio=0.513


This post has been edited by A_Man_Eating_Duck: Oct 12 2006, 08:41


--------------------
Who are you and how did you get in here ?
I'm a locksmith, I'm a locksmith.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Egor
post Oct 12 2006, 09:01
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 826
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 17374



QUOTE (A_Man_Eating_Duck @ Oct 12 2006, 14:34) *
When you encode with flac using files with long names the flac display goes a little mental. Is there any chance of getting the percent and ratio counters to be put on a new line.

Currently, you can avoid this issue by increasing CMD.EXE window:
Start -> Programs -> Accessoires -> Right click on Command prompt -> Properties -> Layout tab -> Increase both "Window:" size values.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Oct 12 2006, 14:40
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 1321
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Oct 11 2006, 16:11) *
the necessary code was relicensed to LGPL but there was not enough time to get it into the latest winamp release. the reference plugin does not have ML support but the one coming from winamp will and has all of the features of the reference plugin, so I'm still deciding how much effort to put into maintaining it.


Excellent thanks for the info smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eloj
post Oct 13 2006, 02:30
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 24-March 02
Member No.: 1614



More recompression results (-8, new files /w 4096 bytes more padding)

Metallica - Fight fire with fire.flac
Org: 34459099
New: 34222080
Dif: -237019

Visa Röster - Delta.flac
Org: 18984287
New: 18787909
Dif: -196378

Adds up.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Paws
post Oct 13 2006, 18:25
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 195
Joined: 3-September 06
Member No.: 34773



I've tested this with flac frontend and works great... Although when i'm in command prompt and type flac, it still shows (flac - Command-line FLAC encoder/decoder version 1.1.2) But after i use frontend and it shows the latest beta version... Anyone know why?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gapetto
post Oct 13 2006, 19:19
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Nashville, TN
Member No.: 21042



QUOTE (Paws @ Oct 13 2006, 12:25) *
I've tested this with flac frontend and works great... Although when i'm in command prompt and type flac, it still shows (flac - Command-line FLAC encoder/decoder version 1.1.2) But after i use frontend and it shows the latest beta version... Anyone know why?

Did you replace the flac.exe and other files in windows/system32 directory? You have to replace those too.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Paws
post Oct 13 2006, 19:30
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 195
Joined: 3-September 06
Member No.: 34773



nope , but i searched and there is on flac.exe in win32 folder but no other files, that i believe belong to it. So i can delete it? and paste the newset beta version in there?
I never deleted anything out of win32folder...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 18:27