IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

FLAC support unicode?
TaichiOrange
post Sep 9 2006, 10:31
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 15-August 06
Member No.: 34062



I am a newer for FLAC. I am using FLAC to convert wave files into flac. But if the filename or directory contians Chinese, the tools told me "Error: can not open input file F:\audio\---------------".

FLAC does not support UNICODE? I need to re-complile the FLAC project?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
MiSP
post Sep 22 2007, 08:06
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 161
Joined: 1-December 06
Member No.: 38270



Is lack of Unicode support still a problem using Vista?

This post has been edited by MiSP: Sep 22 2007, 08:18
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Egor
post Sep 22 2007, 08:28
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 826
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 17374



QUOTE (MiSP @ Sep 22 2007, 14:06) *
Is lack of Unicode support still a problem using Vista?

Yes.

Try the workaround mentioned above, or use foobar2000 - it has full Unicode support and some compatibility tricks for commandline encoders like flac.exe.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MiSP
post Sep 22 2007, 15:57
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 161
Joined: 1-December 06
Member No.: 38270



QUOTE (Egor @ Sep 22 2007, 09:28) *
Try the workaround mentioned above, or use foobar2000 - it has full Unicode support and some compatibility tricks for commandline encoders like flac.exe.

I use the following script found here on the forums (with slight modifications) for recoding FLAC files to the newest version installed:

CODE
@echo off
set encoder="C:\Program Files\FLAC\flac.exe"
for /r "." %%d in (.) do (cd %%d & for %%f in (*.flac) do %encoder% --best -V -f "%%f")


What I'm after, is making this script also work with unicode names (currently I get the "invalid argument" error). I'll try the workaround described above.

Can foobar easily recode all of the FLAC files in my music library fully automatically, just like this script can?

Edit: Tested, didn't work. I made a flac.cmd containing exactly what is described above (except for the path), and I used the script above using flac.cmd instead of flac.exe. I got the following error:

CODE
ERROR: for encoding a raw file you must specify a value for --endian, --sign, --channels, --bps, and --sample-rate
Type "flac" for a usage summary or "flac --help" for all options


Edit #2: I can't help thinking that the two scripts must be merged. Can someone do this for me? I have little knowledge of such scripting... I want the settings and the recursive functionality of the script I mentioned, and the unicode support of the workaround script.

This post has been edited by MiSP: Sep 22 2007, 16:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st August 2014 - 07:49