IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

56 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_uie_single_column_playlist, single column playlist viewer
terrestrial
post Aug 29 2006, 03:40
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 24-July 06
Member No.: 33259



I have made a plugin that displays the playlist in a single column with "headers", which I find useful for creating a narrower and smaller layout.



This is a beta so user beware. Download

For documentation, please refer to the wiki. (thanks to FofR, and the other contributors).

Requires:

MS Visual C++ 2005 Runtime Library
GDI+ - only needed for Windows 2000

This post has been edited by terrestrial: Nov 21 2006, 03:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vonmeth
post Aug 29 2006, 04:42
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 93
Joined: 30-March 06
Member No.: 29018



Oooo, great idea. =)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
year98
post Aug 29 2006, 04:46
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 16-March 05
Member No.: 20683



It's good idea... But It doesn't work for me.

Please example code...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
terrestrial
post Aug 29 2006, 04:54
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 24-July 06
Member No.: 33259



there were supposed to be some defaults loaded, but I guess not. I've edited the first post with what I use.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
year98
post Aug 29 2006, 05:05
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 16-March 05
Member No.: 20683



It's not working as ever... sad.gif
Only shows black line(and blue, red)
And edge style is always "none"...
I'm windows 2000. Does it work with only XP?

This post has been edited by year98: Aug 29 2006, 05:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
terrestrial
post Aug 29 2006, 05:08
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 24-July 06
Member No.: 33259



did you set the "row height"? maybe restart after that?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
year98
post Aug 29 2006, 05:13
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 16-March 05
Member No.: 20683



Yes, I changed row height, but result was same. line thickness was changed. Restarting is same too.
Sorry to bother you and my poor English.
And Good luck!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vonmeth
post Aug 29 2006, 05:29
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 93
Joined: 30-March 06
Member No.: 29018



Try changing the height to 40, and I'm sure something will pop up.

Edit: And for some odd reason, 16 height doesn't work for me. I had to use 18. blink.gif Odd

This post has been edited by vonmeth: Aug 29 2006, 05:34
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
year98
post Aug 29 2006, 05:39
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 16-March 05
Member No.: 20683



Oh, thx it works...^^
Then, why edge style is always "none"?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
terrestrial
post Aug 29 2006, 05:47
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 24-July 06
Member No.: 33259



edge style isn't implemented yet.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anas
post Aug 29 2006, 07:43
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 466
Joined: 9-May 05
From: Deutschland
Member No.: 21968



Thanks, I like it. Looks very promising! I also have a feature request: Grouping by multiple fields e.g. first by %artist% and then by %album% which would result in an header for each artist and one for each album.

EDIT: and configurable header height would be great also biggrin.gif

EDIT2: Found a bug also:
Shortcuts seem not to work - I have 'P' set as shortcut for Properties when I use it the selection jumps up to the header and that's it. But when I open the properties window manually and close it and then press 'P' instantly it works as expected.

This post has been edited by Anas: Aug 29 2006, 08:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
unknownllama
post Aug 29 2006, 08:25
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 25-February 06
Member No.: 28063



Great Plugin!
Perfect for my new mini foobar setup
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Strictly4me
post Aug 29 2006, 09:05
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 308
Joined: 17-December 04
From: Vienna, Austria
Member No.: 18729



Perfect for my sidebarconfig! - Thanks. wub.gif

((((( Strictly4me )))))
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FofR
post Aug 29 2006, 10:26
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 348
Joined: 6-August 05
From: UK
Member No.: 23747



Are those album headers tracks?


--------------------
http://fofr.trivialbeing.net | http://fooblog2000.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Aug 29 2006, 10:50
Post #15





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4484
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



Some first (negative) impressions:
  • The playlist view only allows a single instance, but uses a popup configuration window.
  • The aforementionted configuration window is modal.
  • Except for the font chooser, the configuration window does not contain any hint about the special functions that are used/required to configure the playlist view.
  • The initial defaults after installing the component come up blank here. Changes in row height in this state only took effect after resizing the playlist view.
  • The component uses its own custom color code format. It is not possible to use the existing color code generation and manipulation functions provided by foobar2000 itself ($rgb, $hsl, $blend).
  • No focus rectangle for the active item. I really don't care, if this can be achieved using some formatting code; I don't want to have to read through the documentation to get something as simple as that.
Don't get me wrong, I really like the idea of being able to group playlist items. I just think that there are currently too many (unnecessary) obstacles for people who just want a grouped playlist view that works out of the box and is easy to configure. The current version is geared too much toward advanced formatting script users. Some good, simple defaults and a way to select a default font and text color without using formatting script could do a lot here.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Aug 29 2006, 11:34
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 1344
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Great idea, will try it.

I really like the grouping feature.

foosion, I hava a plugin for 0.8x that I think you did, foo_coruscate.
I really liked that one. Hope to see it for 0.9 some day =)

This post has been edited by Andreasvb: Aug 29 2006, 11:42


--------------------
Windows 8.1u3 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.6
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Hamallainen
post Aug 29 2006, 12:37
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 229
Joined: 1-April 04
Member No.: 13171



Hi,
Thanks a lot, really good idea smile.gif
that's very promising.

one little suggestion : when we click on an album header , i think it would be better if it could automatically select the whole album instead of only the first track.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vlada
post Aug 29 2006, 20:14
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 401
Joined: 7-January 04
Member No.: 11023



How can I display it? I don't see it anywhere in Columns UI panels.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vonmeth
post Aug 29 2006, 21:49
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 93
Joined: 30-March 06
Member No.: 29018



I am encountering the same problem with the ctrl+p not bringing up preferences.

QUOTE (vlada @ Aug 29 2006, 13:14) *
How can I display it? I don't see it anywhere in Columns UI panels.


It is under playlist views.

Edit: And that is inside the layout tab under Columns UI.

QUOTE (FofR @ Aug 29 2006, 03:26) *
Are those album headers tracks?


No.

To add to foosions feature requests:

1. Being able to change the selection color.

2. Ability to make basically mini columns for the item and group display. Maybe this is possible, but as of now, I don't know how. If that isn't clear, I mean, basically for each thing (like track number, track name, and track length) to have its own static width. I think this might be possible with some regular code formats that one can use in trackinfo (paddng and cut?), but the ablity to possibly create specific boxes (possibly just like the current columns_ui?) would make setting it up far, far easier.

3. Ability to display album art (or any sort of picture) inside the group/item (mainly group) display.

4. "No focus rectangle for the active item. I really don't care, if this can be achieved using some formatting code; I don't want to have to read through the documentation to get something as simple as that." I would also add the ability to change anything, including font, what is displayed, how it is displayed, the works biggrin.gif


Sorry, I'm sure you are already working on some (as it is still in beta as you mentioned), if not all, of these, but having a list of requested features should be helpful.

Thanks once again!

This post has been edited by vonmeth: Aug 29 2006, 21:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skelly831
post Aug 29 2006, 23:44
Post #20





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 782
Joined: 11-April 05
From: México
Member No.: 21361



Thanks terrestrial, I can see this plugin becoming very popular! I like it a lot!!


--------------------
we was young an' full of beans
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vonmeth
post Aug 30 2006, 01:26
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 93
Joined: 30-March 06
Member No.: 29018



"No focus rectangle for the active item. I really don't care, if this can be achieved using some formatting code; I don't want to have to read through the documentation to get something as simple as that."

For the ones wishing to achieve this for the time being, till something simplier is put in, just use the following code.

CODE
$if(%isplaying%,$drawrect(0,0,0,0,brushcolor-113-122-134 pencolor-255-255-255),)


I like the drawrect syntax.
Could use it later (or now, havn't messed with it enough to see) to help display when a song is missing a certain tag field, display hotness, rating, etc.

Edit: Er, maybe a bug. When useing that coding I supplied, it leaves the focus rectangle after the song is done or changed to another. Only way to get rid of it (as far as I can tell) is by selecting and then deselecting it.

Edit2:

Something I whipped up real fast.

CODE
$if(%isplaying%,$drawrect(6,0,21,0,brushcolor-113-122-134 pencolor-255-255-255),$drawrect(0,0,0,0,brushcolor-null pencolor-null))
$if(%isplaying%,$drawrect(235,0,45,0,brushcolor-113-122-134 pencolor-255-255-255),$drawrect(0,0,0,0,brushcolor-null pencolor-null))

$padding(10,0)
$font(ocr a extended,7,,255-255-255)
$align(left,center)%tracknumber%$align(right,center)$font(dicotmedium,7,,241-241-243)%title%    $pad_right($font(gulimche,6,,241-241-243){$font(ge inspira small caps,7,,241-241-243)%length%$font(gulimche,5,,241-241-243)'}',10)


This post has been edited by vonmeth: Aug 30 2006, 01:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mazy
post Aug 30 2006, 03:14
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 680
Joined: 11-July 03
From: Brno, Czech Rep.
Member No.: 7705



i really like this plugin, quick try with it:



alternating colors for rows:




btw i have realized that one can specify glow color, glow intensity etc.

terrestrial, thank you for this! i would like you to solve foosion's remarks, $hsl and colors are essential to me + it would be nice if it could handle selection color in the standard way of many foobar's plugins and places.

requests:
  • provide us with some group-related info (summary tags) - like number of group items, group length (time), group size (in bytes), group average bitrate etc. maybe even function to test whether given tag varies among group items (like %artist% - for properly detecting variable artists albums). it could be just few of them, or general functions like $group_sum(tag) and $group_varies(tag).
  • separate height for group display and item display. if it could change the height from the formatting, that would be great (so we could have more detailed group display when there's additional information available and less detailed when not).
  • i'm sure people would like to be able to display album art for example as background under group items or draw rectangle over all of them etc. imho some sort of "group items display" supplementing item and group display would be nice ...
  • vertical padding in $padding has to be negative to pad content from the border into the rectangle. that's not consistent with the horizontal padding and coordinates ...


This post has been edited by mazy: Aug 30 2006, 03:49


--------------------
info about my tag guesser script for foo_lua (preview version available):
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?showtopic=16987
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skelly831
post Aug 30 2006, 03:57
Post #23





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 782
Joined: 11-April 05
From: México
Member No.: 21361



QUOTE (mazy @ Aug 29 2006, 19:14) *
i really like this plugin, quick try with it:

You sir, are a genius.


--------------------
we was young an' full of beans
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mazy
post Aug 30 2006, 03:59
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 680
Joined: 11-July 03
From: Brno, Czech Rep.
Member No.: 7705



skelly831, thanks, but it's terrestrial who made this great plugin wink.gif


--------------------
info about my tag guesser script for foo_lua (preview version available):
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?showtopic=16987
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
4nt1
post Aug 30 2006, 06:40
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 494
Joined: 3-January 05
Member No.: 18811



terrestrial please listen to foosion, he knows what he is talking about... the more we can integrate the components the better

this is a good component but can get alot better smile.gif keep it up
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

56 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd December 2014 - 05:56