IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Adding a seektable to FLAC files
jarvolt
post Jun 21 2006, 18:26
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 4-April 06
Member No.: 29185



I've been using Foobar2000 to encode stuff to FLAC files for awhile, but a seektable isn't created, meaning I can't FF and RW in Rockbox. How do I batch edit a bunch of FLAC files and give them a seek table? I've tried using metaflac.exe in the command prompt but was not so successful. Is there a way I can edit in a seek table and set an interval *easily* without re-encoding?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Freaky
post Jun 21 2006, 20:05
Post #2





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 42
Joined: 15-June 03
From: ~Middlesbrough
Member No.: 7196



A quick glance at the metaflac manpage suggests:

CODE
metaflac --add-seekpoint=10s bla.flac


You should be able to use a wildcard (i.e. *.flac) to process multiple files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jarvolt
post Jun 21 2006, 22:12
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 4-April 06
Member No.: 29185



Using a wildcard doesn't seem to do it. I have to manually type in the filenames for it to work. There must be some other way.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madxcream
post Jun 22 2006, 02:03
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 78
Joined: 17-March 05
Member No.: 20691



QUOTE (jarvolt @ Jun 21 2006, 16:12) *
Using a wildcard doesn't seem to do it. I have to manually type in the filenames for it to work. There must be some other way.


Look for the file glob.exe. I know it comes with REACT in the encoders folder. It will use wildcards for you. So using glob.exe would be something like this:

CODE
Glob.exe -v -c metaflac.exe --add-seekpoint=10s *.flac


I've used this same procedure to add album replaygain. Let me know if it works for you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jarvolt
post Jun 22 2006, 02:14
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 4-April 06
Member No.: 29185



Ah, I should have mentioned that I was using Windows; I thought the fact that I was using Foobar gave it away (glob is a Linux command, is it not?). In the end I just took an m3u playlist I created, modified it to add "metaflac --add-seekpoint=5s" before every file name, and made it a batch file. I found the suggestion on the Rockbox forum after some digging; in the end I wondered why I didn't think of it myself.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madxcream
post Jun 22 2006, 02:21
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 78
Joined: 17-March 05
Member No.: 20691



no, the glob.exe I'm talking about is a windows exec file. Glad you found a way to do it though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WhiteHorses
post Dec 8 2006, 08:49
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 5-November 06
Member No.: 37192



CODE
for %%f in (*.flac) do (metaflac.exe --add-seekpoint=10s "%%f")


FYI. Copy this command to a newly created simple empty txt file in the actual folder, then rename it to "something.cmd". That's the way to do.

This post has been edited by WhiteHorses: Dec 8 2006, 08:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Dec 8 2006, 09:15
Post #8





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



...and if you want to handle multiple folders, use the for /r command.

http://www.ss64.com/nt/for_r.html


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pepoluan
post Dec 8 2006, 11:17
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1455
Joined: 22-November 05
From: Jakarta
Member No.: 25929



QUOTE (WhiteHorses @ Dec 8 2006, 14:49) *
CODE
for %%f in (*.flac) do (metaflac.exe --add-seekpoint=10s "%%f")
Use single % sign and you can use that on the command line.


--------------------
Nobody is Perfect.
I am Nobody.

http://pandu.poluan.info
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 01:58