IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_binpack, Create playlists with a maximum length
FrozenSpoon
post May 15 2006, 16:41
Post #1





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



This is a very simple component I wrote but might be useful to others. Basically you select a list of songs and then create playlists from that list with a maximum length.

Why would you want to do this? Here is why I needed it: I've got a list of 200 songs and I want to record those on to CDs to put in a changer. Instead of figuring out what songs are needed to get as close to 80 minutes of audio as possible, I just select my list of songs, select the BinPack option, and then I have 11 playlists that all fit on 80 minute CDs. This allows me to populate the changer very easily, a lot easier than trying to create playlists manually for each CD!

Download here

I might add more functionality later, but this is all I needed at the moment.

This post has been edited by FrozenSpoon: May 15 2006, 16:48
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Digisurfer
post May 15 2006, 17:06
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 371
Joined: 10-August 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 16174



QUOTE (FrozenSpoon @ May 15 2006, 09:41) *
I just select my list of songs, select the BinPack option, and then I have 11 playlists that all fit on 80 minute CDs.

Or 155 playlists if your not careful lol. Great idea and works great. Thanks for the plugin. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post May 16 2006, 06:57
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



QUOTE (Digisurfer @ May 15 2006, 12:06) *
Or 155 playlists if your not careful lol
hehehe, yeah watch out for that. I should probably add a "Are you sure you want to make __ playlists?" dialog in there since apparently there is no way to undo the creation of playlists.

This post has been edited by FrozenSpoon: May 16 2006, 07:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post May 16 2006, 09:56
Post #4





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4409
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



foo_playlist_manager also has a feature to create large amounts of playlists in one step; to counter that, it can also delete a group of playlists in one step. That could come in handy, when you've accidentally spammed foobar2000 with several hundred playlists. smile.gif


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post May 16 2006, 17:35
Post #5





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



Yep, I guess what I meant is that it's not possible to create a standard undo point for playlist creation or deletion. As in, after 100 playlists are created, there is no way a user could just Edit|Undo to get rid of those playlists. Unless I missed something in the SDK, but even the default UI can't undo playlist creation and deletion.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post May 16 2006, 17:48
Post #6





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4409
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



You are right, the undo functionality is limited to the playlist contents.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eido
post May 18 2006, 05:18
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 30-June 03
Member No.: 7489



Thanks for the plugin. It works great.

I hope you don't mind if I throw out a feature request. I'd like to be able to set the number of playlists to be created and then just omit any songs that go over the playlist limit. For example, I'd like to randomize my entire music library and then make three cds from the first 240 minutes of songs in the playlist.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audiomars
post May 18 2006, 09:01
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 16-September 05
From: India
Member No.: 24505



Just wanted to thank you for an eminently usable plugin!! I used to have the same problem creating mix CDs for my car.


--------------------
Reason is immortal, all else mortal
- Pythagoras
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drbeachboy
post May 19 2006, 19:56
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 22-October 04
From: Southern NJ
Member No.: 17776



Hi FrozenSpoon,

Upon placing the plugin in the "components" folder, foobar2000 v0.9.2beta3 will not start up. Does this plugin need .NET 2.0 installed or some other runtime dll?


--------------------
Surf's Up!
"Columnated Ruins Domino"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post May 19 2006, 20:31
Post #10





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



It shouldn't require anything else. I just downloaded 0.9.2 beta3 and it worked fine for me. How will it not start up?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drbeachboy
post May 19 2006, 20:45
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 22-October 04
From: Southern NJ
Member No.: 17776



QUOTE (FrozenSpoon @ May 19 2006, 15:31) *
It shouldn't require anything else. I just downloaded 0.9.2 beta3 and it worked fine for me. How will it not start up?

When I click on the foobar2000 icon, the icon appears in the taskbar tray for a few seconds, and then disappears. In Task Manager, I see foobar2000.exe for few seconds and then foobar2000.exe closes. This is on Windows XP Pro SP2 machine.

Also, foobar will not open to full screen before it closes down. Just the icon in the tray.

Edit: I started removing plugins one at a time, and viola! foo_browser 1.1.7 was the culprit. Once removed, foobar works great with foo_binpack installed.

This post has been edited by drbeachboy: May 19 2006, 20:56


--------------------
Surf's Up!
"Columnated Ruins Domino"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post Oct 25 2008, 21:57
Post #12





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



Uploaded new 1.1.0:
  • Compiled with new SDK so Vista & 0.9.6 work
  • Added option to not sort items. This is non-optimal but sometimes you just don't want them sorted.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mar2zz
post Nov 12 2008, 09:59
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 669
Joined: 5-September 07
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 46810



Nice component, but I really miss a feature. Could you update it to also create playlist based on size, not only time?

When burning mp3 to cd's, for players that read mp3, it would be handy if I could limit a playlist to 700MB/800MB or 4,5GB in case of a mp3 DVD.

If you could implement this feature, you would have a fantastic combo with foo_imgburn!


--------------------
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=whoj6BOSfE4 (foob.fm)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 17:02