IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

21 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Nero Releases FREE Reference Quality MPEG-4 Audio Encoder, Nero Releases Command Line MPEG-4 & 3GPP AAC Solution
Garf
post May 4 2006, 18:38
Post #51


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4881
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (edekba @ May 4 2006, 07:26 PM) *
QUOTE

BTW. Using 2-pass with VBR makes no sense smile.gif VBR will just use how many bits it needs.


Yeah i guess i was caught up in the moment and thinking video VBR. (2 pass VBR using xvid/divx etc) heheh


Those "video VBR" are really ABR modes. (Of course, ABR is a kind of VBR...)

QUOTE
edit...

Hmmm using single pass created an audio file of 132kbps while a 2pass was 127kbps. Both sound the same to me ... just curious ...


It should probably just give an error when you try that, because I really have no idea what happens in this case, and it's certainly untested, so I'd strongly recommend not to do it smile.gif


QUOTE (Dzamburu @ May 4 2006, 07:19 PM) *
what is minimum bitrate for 5.1 encoding


66kbps

-q 0.12

If you try lower quality levels, you'll get an errror. Hmm, I think I'll change this so the lowest is really -q 0.0 too.

This post has been edited by Garf: May 4 2006, 18:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AtaqueEG
post May 4 2006, 18:53
Post #52





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1336
Joined: 18-November 01
From: Celaya, Guanajuato
Member No.: 478



QUOTE (Ivan Dimkovic @ May 4 2006, 09:13 AM) *
* Crystal Clear, Award Winning Sound Quality at every compression ratio and bit rate!
http://www.nero.com/nerodigital/eng/Nero_Digital_Audio.html


Hmm, what awards?

Can't download. Any mirrors?

And please, pretty please: could we have a "recommended settings"?

And maybe some more info on command line usage for foobar and EAC?


--------------------
I'm the one in the picture, sitting on a giant cabbage in Mexico, circa 1978.
Reseņas de Rock en Espaņol: www.estadogeneral.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 4 2006, 18:58
Post #53


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4881
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE
Can't download. Any mirrors?


The server is alive. Problem must be at your end.

QUOTE
And please, pretty please: could we have a "recommended settings"?


I would have no idea what would be supposed to go in such a thread.

QUOTE
And maybe some more info on command line usage for foobar and EAC?


What more info do you need?

This post has been edited by Garf: May 4 2006, 19:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ozmosis82
post May 4 2006, 19:01
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 26-March 06
From: Edmonton, Canada
Member No.: 28860



QUOTE (Garf @ May 4 2006, 12:22 PM) *
You can use fractional values.

BTW. Using 2-pass with VBR makes no sense smile.gif VBR will just use how many bits it needs.


QUOTE (edekba @ May 4 2006, 12:26 PM) *
Hmmm using single pass created an audio file of 132kbps while a 2pass was 127kbps. Both sound the same to me ... just curious ...


I was experimenting with 2-pass vs single pass, and I noticed similar results. I had quality set to 0.6, and encoded Thursday's "A City by the Light Divided." Single pass came out around 74.4MB, with a bitrate ~224, whereas 2-pass came to 70.7MB with a bitrate of ~215. Interestingly enough, that's exactly the bitrate I was looking for. Almost every other album I've done w/2-pass averages ~215kbps.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ssjkakaroto
post May 4 2006, 19:13
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 203
Joined: 22-May 02
Member No.: 2096



i've have waited a long time for the aac encoder to be separated from Nero and now it finally happened, and best of all for FREE w00t.gif

thx to all that made this possible!


--------------------
Allegari nihil et allegatum non probare, paria sunt.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AtaqueEG
post May 4 2006, 19:16
Post #56





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1336
Joined: 18-November 01
From: Celaya, Guanajuato
Member No.: 478



QUOTE (Garf @ May 4 2006, 12:58 PM) *
The server is alive. Problem must be at your end.

Nope. Never had any problems downloading from Nero servers (I usually get Nero updates on the first day). Could it be overcrowded?
That is why I asked for mirrors.

QUOTE
I would have no idea what would be supposed to go in such a thread.
(...)
What more info do you need?

Rough translation of q values to bitrates. Just having naming the presets won't do.

You know, like the lame V settings table.

And I feel-- and I'm sure I'm not the only one-- that

QUOTE
-ignorelength : Ignores length signaled by WAV headers of input file.
Useful for certain frontends using stdin.

is not clear enough.

This post has been edited by AtaqueEG: May 4 2006, 19:17


--------------------
I'm the one in the picture, sitting on a giant cabbage in Mexico, circa 1978.
Reseņas de Rock en Espaņol: www.estadogeneral.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MuncherOfSpleens
post May 4 2006, 19:19
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 25-October 05
From: Florida
Member No.: 25360



I'm assuming that the -q setting is to be used exactly like in oggenc, except the number is divided by 10? That seems to be about the equivalent.

Though overall I am quite impressed (and happy to finally have access to this encoder), I do have one complaint. The encoder gives no indication of progress. Once you hit enter it just sits there for a seemingly random period of time while it's encoding. Showing the percentage of completion would keep me from thinking that it isn't working. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 4 2006, 19:24
Post #58


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4881
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (MuncherOfSpleens @ May 4 2006, 08:19 PM) *
I'm assuming that the -q setting is to be used exactly like in oggenc, except the number is divided by 10? That seems to be about the equivalent.

Though overall I am quite impressed (and happy to finally have access to this encoder), I do have one complaint. The encoder gives no indication of progress. Once you hit enter it just sits there for a seemingly random period of time while it's encoding. Showing the percentage of completion would keep me from thinking that it isn't working. wink.gif


Maybe not really the answer you wanted, but this can be handled by the frontend (foobar2000 will show progress, for example).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 4 2006, 19:41
Post #59


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4881
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (AtaqueEG @ May 4 2006, 08:16 PM) *
QUOTE (Garf @ May 4 2006, 12:58 PM) *

The server is alive. Problem must be at your end.

Nope. Never had any problems downloading from Nero servers (I usually get Nero updates on the first day). Could it be overcrowded?
That is why I asked for mirrors.


No, as I already said, the server is alive.

QUOTE
Rough translation of q values to bitrates. Just having naming the presets won't do.

You know, like the lame V settings table.

And I feel-- and I'm sure I'm not the only one-- that


http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=44283
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AtaqueEG
post May 4 2006, 19:44
Post #60





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1336
Joined: 18-November 01
From: Celaya, Guanajuato
Member No.: 478



QUOTE (Garf @ May 4 2006, 01:41 PM) *


Thank you so very much.

Still no luck downloading, though.


--------------------
I'm the one in the picture, sitting on a giant cabbage in Mexico, circa 1978.
Reseņas de Rock en Espaņol: www.estadogeneral.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
senab
post May 4 2006, 19:45
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 247
Joined: 4-August 05
From: Birmingham, UK
Member No.: 23690



Great stuff lads.

Been needing a good quality gapless AAC CLI encoder for a while now.
Tested out a couple of files and they all seem to be encoding at roughly 8.5x (1.4g Celeron laptop).

Liking the quality aswell of ~100kbits aswell. I'll post some ABX logs in a minute but I'm finding it very hard to hear a difference...

Here's the ABX report:

CODE
foo_abx 1.3 report
foobar2000 v0.9.1
2006/05/04 19:46:49

File A: C:\Documents and Settings\Chris\Desktop\Alone Tonight.m4a
File B: F:\Music\Above & Beyond\Tri-State\09. Above & Beyond - Alone Tonight.flac

19:46:49 : Test started.
19:48:44 : 01/01 50.0%
19:49:05 : 01/02 75.0%
19:50:19 : 01/03 87.5%
19:51:27 : 02/04 68.8%
19:52:29 : 02/05 81.3%
19:53:31 : 03/06 65.6%
19:54:22 : 03/07 77.3%
19:54:56 : 03/08 85.5%
19:55:16 : 03/09 91.0%
19:55:58 : 04/10 82.8%
19:57:30 : Test finished.

----------
Total: 4/10 (82.8%)


This post has been edited by senab: May 4 2006, 19:53


--------------------
::.. www.senab.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
brumal
post May 4 2006, 19:56
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 2-January 05
Member No.: 18765



Works wonderfully on my P4. Many thanks to the Nero MP4 devs for this and taking the time to be a part of this community. wink.gif biggrin.gif


--------------------
http://www.last.fm/user/brumal666/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Niphlod
post May 4 2006, 20:14
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 7-April 06
Member No.: 29266



perhaps bittorrent sources will resolve the problem, also here, ftp6 doesn't respond


--------------------
An interested Niph :D
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
br0adband
post May 4 2006, 20:47
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 10-June 02
Member No.: 2269



Thanks to Ivan and the whole Nero team for this release and their support of the community.

My question is related to tags: right now it doesn't seem like any tag info is being transferred and I'm not sure if that's a problem with my setup or I'm using the wrong command line parameters.

I'm using foobar2k 0.8.3, with the Nero encoder just released today and the command line I've settled on for testing at this point is one posted earlier in this thread:

q 0.425 -if - -of %d

Saw the suggestion about the fractional amounts and that 0.425 being approximately 128Kbps or so, which is just fine with me for my iPod. The FLAC files that I'm using as source material are fully tagged and the files are named Artist - Album - Track - Title.flac, so again I'm not sure where the issue lies.

My guess it I'm just missing something in the parameters, or perhaps the tags aren't going to transfer. If anyone can offer a solution or advice on this I'd greatly appreciate it. I've got 100GB of FLAC files that would fit nicely onto my 30GB Video iPod as m4a files. smile.gif

Have fun, always...
bb


--------------------
The difference between genius and stupidity?

Genius has limits.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ivan Dimkovic
post May 4 2006, 20:49
Post #65


Nero MPEG4 developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1466
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 8



AMD problem has been solved, but it will take until tomorrow for the new version to be uploaded.

Apologise for the inconvinience caused to our AMD users.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MuncherOfSpleens
post May 4 2006, 20:56
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 25-October 05
From: Florida
Member No.: 25360



QUOTE (Niphlod @ May 4 2006, 03:14 PM) *
perhaps bittorrent sources will resolve the problem, also here, ftp6 doesn't respond

Edit: Illegal link removed.

This post has been edited by Garf: May 4 2006, 21:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ozmosis82
post May 4 2006, 20:58
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 26-March 06
From: Edmonton, Canada
Member No.: 28860



QUOTE (br0adband @ May 4 2006, 02:47 PM) *
My question is related to tags: right now it doesn't seem like any tag info is being transferred and I'm not sure if that's a problem with my setup or I'm using the wrong command line parameters.

I'm using foobar2k 0.8.3, with the Nero encoder just released today and the command line I've settled on for testing at this point is one posted earlier in this thread:

q 0.425 -if - -of %d

Saw the suggestion about the fractional amounts and that 0.425 being approximately 128Kbps or so, which is just fine with me for my iPod. The FLAC files that I'm using as source material are fully tagged and the files are named Artist - Album - Track - Title.flac, so again I'm not sure where the issue lies.

My guess it I'm just missing something in the parameters, or perhaps the tags aren't going to transfer. If anyone can offer a solution or advice on this I'd greatly appreciate it. I've got 100GB of FLAC files that would fit nicely onto my 30GB Video iPod as m4a files. smile.gif



I'm using foobar 0.9.1's converter with FLACs and everything's tagging okay for me. My parameters differ slightly from yours, only due to the quality I've chosen (0.525)

I generally use Mp3tag to tag my FLACs. I doubt whatever you use (if any different) should cause the problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
askoff
post May 4 2006, 20:58
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 445
Joined: 23-December 02
Member No.: 4214



Thanks Nero Audio team. This is a realy nice surprise indeed. You guys are amazing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 4 2006, 20:59
Post #69


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4881
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (br0adband @ May 4 2006, 09:47 PM) *
Thanks to Ivan and the whole Nero team for this release and their support of the community.

My question is related to tags: right now it doesn't seem like any tag info is being transferred and I'm not sure if that's a problem with my setup or I'm using the wrong command line parameters.

I'm using foobar2k 0.8.3, with the Nero encoder just released today and the command line I've settled on for testing at this point is one posted earlier in this thread:

q 0.425 -if - -of %d

Saw the suggestion about the fractional amounts and that 0.425 being approximately 128Kbps or so, which is just fine with me for my iPod. The FLAC files that I'm using as source material are fully tagged and the files are named Artist - Album - Track - Title.flac, so again I'm not sure where the issue lies.

My guess it I'm just missing something in the parameters, or perhaps the tags aren't going to transfer. If anyone can offer a solution or advice on this I'd greatly appreciate it. I've got 100GB of FLAC files that would fit nicely onto my 30GB Video iPod as m4a files. smile.gif

Have fun, always...
bb


Can you try with foobar2000 0.9? I wouldn't know why 0.8.3 doesn't work, but I know for sure 0.9 will because it was tested smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ivan Dimkovic
post May 4 2006, 21:03
Post #70


Nero MPEG4 developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1466
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 8



Actually, the bug was not AMD-related, but related to CPUs without SSE2 - so latest Intel and AMD chips were not affected by this bug.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MuncherOfSpleens
post May 4 2006, 21:05
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 25-October 05
From: Florida
Member No.: 25360



Sorry. I didn't know it was illegal. I'll take the torrent down.

This post has been edited by MuncherOfSpleens: May 4 2006, 21:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ozmosis82
post May 4 2006, 21:05
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 26-March 06
From: Edmonton, Canada
Member No.: 28860



Is there a change log for Nero's AAC encoder? Just to see the different versions and what work was done/bugs fixed and that sort of thing? I tried searching HA, but couldn't find anything.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halb27
post May 4 2006, 21:06
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 2424
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



QUOTE (AtaqueEG @ May 4 2006, 08:44 PM) *
....
Still no luck downloading, though.

I couldn't download with my browser too (guess however I have a general ftp problem with my browser).
I had no problem downloading with a specific ftp file transfer tool (FTP-Commander).

This post has been edited by halb27: May 4 2006, 21:07


--------------------
lame3100m -V1 --insane-factor 0.75
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ivan Dimkovic
post May 4 2006, 21:07
Post #74


Nero MPEG4 developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1466
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 8



QUOTE
Is there a change log for Nero's AAC encoder? Just to see the different versions and what work was done/bugs fixed and that sort of thing? I tried searching HA, but couldn't find anything.


Starting from the command-line version, we will maintain a changelog for every revision.

And, yes - expect regular revision and updates wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 4 2006, 21:08
Post #75


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4881
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (ozmosis82 @ May 4 2006, 10:05 PM) *
Is there a change log for Nero's AAC encoder? Just to see the different versions and what work was done/bugs fixed and that sort of thing? I tried searching HA, but couldn't find anything.


We don't have any changelog (yet)[1], however, you can find some discussion in the Nero 7.2 thread. Several bugs which are discussed there are fixed in this encoder.

[1] It would generally look like:
1) Quality improved
2) Bugs fixed
3) Made it faster

going into more detail is tricky because it might reveal our secret sauce smile.gif But we'll see what we can do.

This post has been edited by Garf: May 4 2006, 21:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

21 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 09:01