IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Lame 3.97 b2 - huge difference between -V2 and -V3?
tsioc
post Apr 20 2006, 05:26
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 72
Joined: 14-November 03
Member No.: 9830



I'm using FB2k and Lame 3.97 b2 to encode several files to see if I can tell much of a difference(I'm looking to use lower bitrates to save space without a noticeable drop in quality), and something seems wrong.

When I use -V4 the bitrates seem to average around 150 or so, with -V3 it's around 160-165, and with -V2 it jumps up to 225 (these are average bitrates for 7 files from 7 different albums). Why the huge difference in bitrates between V2 and V3? Is there any VBR setting that will give me bitrates somewhere between those 2?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
outscape
post Apr 20 2006, 05:44
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 374
Joined: 29-September 01
From: Toronto
Member No.: 30



-v3 is between the former preset medium and preset standard so there's really nothing else in between. just decide if the quality loss is worth it or not.


--------------------
Be healthy, be kind, grow rich and prosper
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Shade[ST]
post Apr 20 2006, 05:52
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1189
Joined: 19-May 05
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 22144



QUOTE (outscape @ Apr 20 2006, 12:44 AM) *
-v3 is between the former preset medium and preset standard so there's really nothing else in between. just decide if the quality loss is worth it or not.

It's not really quality loss. Look up / search on sfb21 bloating
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tsioc
post Apr 20 2006, 06:19
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 72
Joined: 14-November 03
Member No.: 9830



QUOTE
' date='Apr 19 2006, 09:52 PM' post='384320']
QUOTE (outscape @ Apr 20 2006, 12:44 AM) *

-v3 is between the former preset medium and preset standard so there's really nothing else in between. just decide if the quality loss is worth it or not.

It's not really quality loss. Look up / search on sfb21 bloating



Thanks!! I added -Y and now -V2 is giving me the bitrates I was aiming for and so far I can't ABX with the accuracy I getting before(I guess that means I'm finally getting older). Of course I'll try a few more times, but so far so good.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jojo
post Apr 21 2006, 04:24
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1361
Joined: 25-November 02
Member No.: 3873



QUOTE (tsioc @ Apr 19 2006, 09:26 PM) *
When I use -V4 the bitrates seem to average around 150 or so, with -V3 it's around 160-165, and with -V2 it jumps up to 225 (these are average bitrates for 7 files from 7 different albums).

that's strange. I encode my files using Lame 3.97b2 and -V2 --vbr-new and I get an average bitrate of ~190kbps. I've just looked at 200 files from many different albums, genres and release dates...


--------------------
--alt-presets are there for a reason! These other switches DO NOT work better than it, trust me on this.
LAME + Joint Stereo doesn't destroy 'Stereo'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
outscape
post Apr 21 2006, 05:22
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 374
Joined: 29-September 01
From: Toronto
Member No.: 30



QUOTE
' date='Apr 20 2006, 12:52 AM' post='384320']
QUOTE (outscape @ Apr 20 2006, 12:44 AM) *

-v3 is between the former preset medium and preset standard so there's really nothing else in between. just decide if the quality loss is worth it or not.

It's not really quality loss. Look up / search on sfb21 bloating

well preset medium was not really designed to be transparent. if one can't hear a difference with sfb21 enabled then by all means use it. but for those with good ears not coding anything over 16 kHz would amount to quality loss.

This post has been edited by outscape: Apr 21 2006, 05:23


--------------------
Be healthy, be kind, grow rich and prosper
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Shade[ST]
post Apr 21 2006, 05:30
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1189
Joined: 19-May 05
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 22144



-Y is not a 16kHz lowpass. Read the topic I linked.

Also, note : -V 3 is not, and never was, --preset medium
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
timcupery
post May 2 2006, 13:17
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 780
Joined: 19-December 01
From: Tar Heel country
Member No.: 683



@tsioc: I (and many others) would recommend "aiming" for a certain uality level, not bitrate level. That's the whole point of variable bitrate, btw. That said, I go by bitrate (partly) sometimes - read on.

The reason for the bloat with moving from -V3 to -V2 is that -V2 makes a big jump in the high-frequencies that it tries to encode. With most music, thsi doesn't bump up bitrate a lot. But with music full of high-frequency transients (e.g., heavy metal) the bitrate will often balloon. For stuff like this, I usually will encode at -V3 because *that* much bitrate gain isn't worth it to me for frequencies that I've never been able to ABX anyway.

Finally: -V4 used to be called --preset medium.


--------------------
God kills a kitten every time you encode with CBR 320
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k.eight.a
post May 18 2006, 01:13
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 434
Joined: 31-October 03
From: Europe, CZ
Member No.: 9571



@ tsioc: As it was above said the problem lies in sfb21 bloating.
I recommend you to check out this table: Presets, bitrates and lowpass of V value wink.gif
It explains it all. smile.gif All in all the setting in-between the -V3 and -V2 is my favourite: -V 2 --vbr-new -Y tongue.gif


--------------------
Sorry for my poor English, I'm trying to get better... ;)
"The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled, was convincing the world he didn't exist."
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
outscape
post Jun 15 2006, 04:55
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 374
Joined: 29-September 01
From: Toronto
Member No.: 30



QUOTE
' date='Apr 21 2006, 00:30' post='384624']
-Y is not a 16kHz lowpass. Read the topic I linked.

Also, note : -V 3 is not, and never was, --preset medium

mmya yeah thanks but i already said that..

"-v3 is between the former preset medium and preset standard so there's really nothing else in between"


--------------------
Be healthy, be kind, grow rich and prosper
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ShowsOn
post Jun 15 2006, 13:59
Post #11





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 369
Joined: 28-June 02
From: South Australia, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 2421



I've wondered if it would be possible to make a setting between -V5 and -V4. There is a big jump from a target of about 130 Kbps to 165 Kbps, Something around 140 Kbps or 150 Kbps target would be useful I think. Is this possible, or do the frame sizes just make it too difficult to target somewhere between 140 and 150 Kbps?

For my MP3s I use -V3 --vbr-new. I was going to use -V2 --vbr-new, but I find that -V4 --vbr-new is good enough for me, and I just use -V3 --vbr-new as a bit of insurance.


--------------------
www.petitiononline.com/RHCPWBCD/petition.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skelly831
post Jun 15 2006, 14:43
Post #12





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 782
Joined: 11-April 05
From: México
Member No.: 21361



QUOTE (ShowsOn @ Jun 15 2006, 05:59) *
I've wondered if it would be possible to make a setting between -V5 and -V4. There is a big jump from a target of about 130 Kbps to 165 Kbps, Something around 140 Kbps or 150 Kbps target would be useful I think. Is this possible, or do the frame sizes just make it too difficult to target somewhere between 140 and 150 Kbps?

For my MP3s I use -V3 --vbr-new. I was going to use -V2 --vbr-new, but I find that -V4 --vbr-new is good enough for me, and I just use -V3 --vbr-new as a bit of insurance.

Try -V 5 --vbr-new with 3.98a4, it produces higher bitrates per -V setting than previous versions because of the --strictly-enforce-ISO switch that is now default. I get around ~150kbps with that setting.


--------------------
we was young an' full of beans
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ShowsOn
post Jun 15 2006, 15:39
Post #13





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 369
Joined: 28-June 02
From: South Australia, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 2421



QUOTE (skelly831 @ Jun 15 2006, 22:43) *
Try -V 5 --vbr-new with 3.98a4, it produces higher bitrates per -V setting than previous versions because of the --strictly-enforce-ISO switch that is now default. I get around ~150kbps with that setting.

I didn't realise they had been tweaking this in recent alphas, thanks for pointing it out.


--------------------
www.petitiononline.com/RHCPWBCD/petition.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2014 - 06:11