IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

12 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
CoverDownloader, Walmart+Amazon so far
parive3
post Jun 5 2006, 10:46
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 22-June 04
Member No.: 14831



Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yatahaze
post Jun 9 2006, 03:36
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 13-March 05
Member No.: 20590



This is a great tool, I have so much use for it.

The only issues I can find with it are:
- The amazon script pops up an error when there are no results, but there are real results from the other scripts.
- The thumbnails window is too small, I only can see 2 columns worth of covers, 5 would be nice.. or if it remembered.
- Would be nice to have the dos prompt window minimized.
- The cover downloader should close after it's finished downloading.

Hope to see some updates... Good work biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
david_dl
post Jun 9 2006, 06:00
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 604
Joined: 17-December 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 26461



QUOTE (yatahaze @ Jun 9 2006, 15:36) *
This is a great tool, I have so much use for it.

The only issues I can find with it are:
- The amazon script pops up an error when there are no results, but there are real results from the other scripts.
- The thumbnails window is too small, I only can see 2 columns worth of covers, 5 would be nice.. or if it remembered.
- Would be nice to have the dos prompt window minimized.
- The cover downloader should close after it's finished downloading.

Hope to see some updates... Good work biggrin.gif


Hi. I have a complete rewrite under way, it has a few issues that need sorting out, but it should be out today or tomorrow. Along with all the features listed above it has a 'preview' feature where you can see a particular cover in full before choosing to save it.

However it uses .NET 2.0, and although it is still slightly slower than the old version, .NET 2 really is nothing like .NET 1 in terms of speed, once the framework has been loaded (the first time you run it) its not noticeably slower than native code.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
david_dl
post Jun 9 2006, 10:00
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 604
Joined: 17-December 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 26461



New version uploaded, see first post.

Sorry, I accidently deleted the old version 1 scripts from that post, but I still have them on my harddrive, and i'll upload v2 versions tomorrow.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krazy
post Jun 9 2006, 11:55
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 493
Joined: 3-June 03
Member No.: 6981



Oh man! David, this rocks!! Thankyou! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chaser
post Jun 9 2006, 12:56
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 404
Joined: 30-August 04
From: Germany, Bavaria
Member No.: 16641



David, thank you for your ongoing development!

edit:
a small remark:
What do you think of putting the existing coverart on top of all found covers?

edit2:
# Buy.com and Rateyourmusic report "0x0" inside the tooltip. Is this because of not beeing able to determine the size of the coverat?
# Click on a coverart to save it. Then press the same coverart again, while it's beeing saved. Error pops up. I don't post a screenshot now, since it's reproducable for me
# Are you intending on adding a checkbox "Close after retrieving coverart" (or alternativly offer a commandlineswitch)

edit3:
# changing "Thumbnailsize" takes affect after a restart. The borders are redrawn in the new size. However the coverart isn't refreshed and resized!

edit4:
# Errordescription inside the attached image


- all for now -
smile.gif

This post has been edited by Chaser: Jun 9 2006, 13:15
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
david_dl
post Jun 10 2006, 03:43
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 604
Joined: 17-December 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 26461



QUOTE (Chaser @ Jun 10 2006, 00:56) *
David, thank you for your ongoing development!

edit:
a small remark:
What do you think of putting the existing coverart on top of all found covers?


How do you mean, like a side-by-side comparison?

QUOTE (Chaser @ Jun 10 2006, 00:56) *
edit2:
# Buy.com and Rateyourmusic report "0x0" inside the tooltip. Is this because of not beeing able to determine the size of the coverat?

Yes. There is no reliable way to know the size of their covers without downloading the full-size image
QUOTE (Chaser @ Jun 10 2006, 00:56) *
# Click on a coverart to save it. Then press the same coverart again, while it's beeing saved. Error pops up. I don't post a screenshot now, since it's reproducable for me

Hmm, I've got to think about what to do about that. I think the Error message is quite self-explanatory to most people, but maybe there could be a prompt whether to cancel downloading and begin downloading the newly selected art
QUOTE (Chaser @ Jun 10 2006, 00:56) *
# Are you intending on adding a checkbox "Close after retrieving coverart" (or alternativly offer a commandlineswitch)

Done. Sorry, this slipped my mind last time/

QUOTE (Chaser @ Jun 10 2006, 00:56) *
edit3:
# changing "Thumbnailsize" takes affect after a restart. The borders are redrawn in the new size. However the coverart isn't refreshed and resized!

Fixed also
QUOTE (Chaser @ Jun 10 2006, 00:56) *
edit4:
# Errordescription inside the attached image


- all for now -
smile.gif


Hmm, the Buy.com script is not the best, it can sometimes return many unrelated results and sometimes gives 404 Not Found errors. I might have a look at it when I have some time, but don't forget the scripts are quite easy to edit, so if you think you know what you're doing have a fiddle. The language used is IronPython and you have access to the whole of the .NET Framework, using the 'import' command.

Please download the new version of the application, I've updated the first post.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
parive3
post Jun 10 2006, 10:11
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 22-June 04
Member No.: 14831



Nice Update

But is it possible to implement these features:
You had the dimension of the images in you earlier version can you please put this back.

Since the loading time of it is slow, can you make it use the existing instance of Coverart if its already opened. Than creating another instance of the application.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chaser
post Jun 10 2006, 11:52
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 404
Joined: 30-August 04
From: Germany, Bavaria
Member No.: 16641



QUOTE
How do you mean, like a side-by-side comparison?

No. I meant, that right now first the different results of the different scripts are shown. (always devided by ________). After that the existing cover is displayed. I just propose to turn this around, so that the existing cover is shown in first place, if it exists. The way I propose, the user can easily see, if he already has an existing cover (and on addition which quality it has (i.e. middleclick).
Was I clearer now?

QUOTE
I think the Error message is quite self-explanatory to most people, but maybe there could be a prompt whether to cancel downloading and begin downloading the newly selected art

Well. I guess I would do the two following things:
a) If it's the same cover: Do nothing and continue downloading
b) It it's a different cover: Stop old coverdownload and start new download without any message poping up. (You might use the logbox on the bottom of the screen)


I will test your new version later today! Thank you for the quick fixes!


edit:
smile.gif It looks really good, the way it is now! And concerning my first quote in this post: You have already changed this?! Haven't you?

This post has been edited by Chaser: Jun 10 2006, 13:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Neural_Overload
post Jun 15 2006, 03:39
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 6-May 06
Member No.: 30467



What version is the screenshot in the first post?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chaser
post Jun 15 2006, 16:46
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 404
Joined: 30-August 04
From: Germany, Bavaria
Member No.: 16641



It is the new betaversion. It works smoothly for me!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drake
post Jun 18 2006, 02:34
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 11-June 06
Member No.: 31727



how do i set permissions on the \folder.jpg original image to let me overwrite it when using this program?

right now i'm getting "System.UnauthorizedAccessException: Access to the path [...] is denied. At System.IO.__Error.WinIOError" etc. (if you need more details, i can post the full message)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
david_dl
post Jun 18 2006, 06:42
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 604
Joined: 17-December 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 26461



I think that is caused by .NET's garbage collection not closing the handle for the preview for a while, I'll investigate it some time (maybe next weekend, this one has been rather, uh, rough)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Neural_Overload
post Jun 18 2006, 10:15
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 6-May 06
Member No.: 30467



QUOTE (Chaser @ Jun 15 2006, 08:46) *
It is the new betaversion. It works smoothly for me!

Is the beta listed on the first page? If not, where can i get it?

This post has been edited by Neural_Overload: Jun 18 2006, 10:16
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chaser
post Jun 18 2006, 10:52
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 404
Joined: 30-August 04
From: Germany, Bavaria
Member No.: 16641



Yes it is linked in the first post ("Experimental").
Here is the link to the attached file: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....pe=post&id=2280
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bachi-Bouzouk
post Jun 18 2006, 17:53
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 591
Joined: 3-May 05
From: Dijon, France
Member No.: 21852



Really great component, It works well for me except the error pop up when two double click at the same time (already descripted by Chaser)

I used AlbumArtAggregator, I think I will use only your component now wink.gif

(By the way, it is quite slow to open, I don't know if you can change this)

edit
I have added a part about your program in my manual:
http://eolindel.free.fr/foobar0.9/albumart.shtml

This post has been edited by Bachi-Bouzouk: Jun 18 2006, 23:26


--------------------
Foobar 0.9.X manual - http://eolindel.free.fr/foobar0.9/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
david_dl
post Jun 19 2006, 06:56
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 604
Joined: 17-December 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 26461



QUOTE (Bachi-Bouzouk @ Jun 19 2006, 05:53) *
I used AlbumArtAggregator, I think I will use only your component now wink.gif

(By the way, it is quite slow to open, I don't know if you can change this)


Hmm yea, this is the aim of the next version. It will feature a 'queue', where multiple searches can be handled by the same instance, and further search requests from foobar will be added to the queue.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yatahaze
post Jun 19 2006, 07:03
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 13-March 05
Member No.: 20590



I really like the new version. A couple requests:

- Load time is a bit slow, can it get faster? Or maybe I'm being too picky...
- The spacing between thumbnails is way too wide. Can hardly fit that many albums on my screen even though its huge.
- The buy.com script always returns about 10 to 15 results that have nothing to do with what I searched for, and they're the same ones on every search I do for any album. I think they are all from a "top albums" section or something. They just look like popular albums. It would be nice if that was fixed as well, because it kind of gets in the way, especially when buy.com shows up first on the list.

Otherwise, this is a big improvement, keep up the good work.. I use this all the time biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yatahaze: Jun 19 2006, 07:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
david_dl
post Jun 19 2006, 07:19
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 604
Joined: 17-December 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 26461



QUOTE (yatahaze @ Jun 19 2006, 19:03) *
I really like the new version. A couple requests:

- Load time is a bit slow, can it get faster? Or maybe I'm being too picky...

Problem noted, see my post above
QUOTE
- The spacing between thumbnails is way too wide. Can hardly fit that many albums on my screen even though its huge.

It's much more compact on windows 2000 (no grouping).
I'll add an option to turn this on/off and to reduce whitespace between thumbs.
QUOTE
- The buy.com script always returns about 10 to 15 results that have nothing to do with what I searched for, and they're the same ones on every search I do for any album. I think they are all from a "top albums" section or something. They just look like popular albums. It would be nice if that was fixed as well, because it kind of gets in the way, especially when buy.com shows up first on the list.

Problem noted. I'll do some more digging through the buy.com HTML source. BTW the order of the groups is based on the script filenames, I've renamed my buy.com script to www.buy.com.py so it's at the end.


Edit: screwed up the quotes

This post has been edited by david_dl: Jun 19 2006, 07:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yatahaze
post Jun 19 2006, 07:44
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 13-March 05
Member No.: 20590



So will it be possible to keep the gaps minimal but still keep the grouping of scripts?

Also, is it possible to include the artist name underneath the album name for the results? It would be easier to pick out the results that are wrong that way. When I think about it, if that were possible, why would it even show an album by an artist other than what I searched for?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
KarnEvil9
post Jun 19 2006, 16:58
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 149
Joined: 16-June 05
Member No.: 22774



Great program! This has really made accumulating album art much easier. Thanks. smile.gif

I do have a couple suggestions, though:

1. When you tab from Artist to Album, could you highlight the present text in the Album field, so you can easily overwrite it?

2. When selecting a path, it would be nice if folder.jpg (or perhaps last used filename) was the default, so you don't have to type it in each time.

Oh yeah, one more thing, how about an icon? wink.gif

Thanks again!


--------------------
My Last.fm Profile: http://www.last.fm/user/_Tarkus_/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bachi-Bouzouk
post Jun 19 2006, 18:44
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 591
Joined: 3-May 05
From: Dijon, France
Member No.: 21852



Minor request: be able to get the URL adress of the picture to be able to show covers easily on forums (right click or option)


--------------------
Foobar 0.9.X manual - http://eolindel.free.fr/foobar0.9/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
david_dl
post Jun 20 2006, 06:41
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 604
Joined: 17-December 05
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 26461



QUOTE (yatahaze @ Jun 19 2006, 19:44) *
So will it be possible to keep the gaps minimal but still keep the grouping of scripts?

Also, is it possible to include the artist name underneath the album name for the results? It would be easier to pick out the results that are wrong that way. When I think about it, if that were possible, why would it even show an album by an artist other than what I searched for?


I'll play around with some layouts for the next version.

QUOTE (KarnEvil9 @ Jun 20 2006, 04:58) *
Great program! This has really made accumulating album art much easier. Thanks. smile.gif

I do have a couple suggestions, though:

1. When you tab from Artist to Album, could you highlight the present text in the Album field, so you can easily overwrite it?

2. When selecting a path, it would be nice if folder.jpg (or perhaps last used filename) was the default, so you don't have to type it in each time.

Oh yeah, one more thing, how about an icon? wink.gif

Thanks again!


I'll keep these requests in mind too wink.gif

QUOTE (Bachi-Bouzouk @ Jun 20 2006, 06:44) *
Minor request: be able to get the URL adress of the picture to be able to show covers easily on forums (right click or option)


Sure, that's a good idea.

Attached is an updated version of Buy.py which shouldn't return those vague results.

Grr, server won't accept .py. I've zipped it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Neural_Overload
post Jun 20 2006, 08:31
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 6-May 06
Member No.: 30467



I love the cover art downloader but I have one request: The ability to view two different covers side by side so you can compare them and hopefully pick the better of the two.

Edit: I have another request: Have the dimensions of the art listed below the thumbnail.

Edit2: It appears that the new buy.com script gives this error on every search.


This post has been edited by Neural_Overload: Jun 20 2006, 08:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yatahaze
post Jun 21 2006, 07:52
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 13-March 05
Member No.: 20590



Is it possible for the text or something to be highlighted on the album if it matches the exact album name that I searched for?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

12 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th December 2014 - 13:01