IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_xm, Listen to XM Radio through Foobar
FrozenSpoon
post Mar 6 2006, 08:01
Post #1





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



foo_xm lets you listen to XM Radio Online through Foobar2000. I originally wrote this because XM Radio Online didn't work in Windows 2000 unless I installed WMP9. Maybe it'll be useful to others too.

You can download it over on my site. You'll need to have a subscription to the XM service. Simply enter your user information into the configuration and add channels by using the syntax xm://47

Let me know if it's useful or if there are problems.

This post has been edited by FrozenSpoon: Aug 2 2008, 20:18
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post Mar 9 2006, 18:32
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



I really really hate to update something that has just been released. But, I feel like the updates I've made in the last few days are what the orginal version should have been.

Changes are:
- Fixed pause/un-pause requirement for proper operation
- Fixed random buffer overrun during login
- Delayed Perl init until more certain URL is XM channel
- Improved handling of dynamic song data
- Other small improvements
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spaceships
post Mar 9 2006, 19:22
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 149
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 13926



great plugin idea
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ZhuGeLiang
post Mar 10 2006, 15:32
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 5-January 03
Member No.: 4424



I signed up for a free 3 day trial at http://xmro.xmradio.com/ . Seems to be working great so far. Thanks for making this great plugin.

P.S. Does XM Radio Online stream anything higher than 64Kbps?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post Mar 10 2006, 21:50
Post #5





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



I know what you mean, the 64kbs is atrocious but there isn’t anything higher. I keep hoping they’re going to raise it to 128kbs, but they’re going to have to lock down the security on the stream so people don’t transcode 128kbs wma files of music for free (they’d be the same quality of the $1/track DRMed files).

On another note, made a very small update today (didn’t bump the version #) to automatically relogin after inactivity.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zig
post Apr 8 2006, 03:42
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-February 05
From: Michigan, USA
Member No.: 19797



I was wondering if it's possible to get the 0.9 version at all? I don't use prettypop so it doesn't matter much to me if there's a problem with that. As an xm subscriber I think this is a pretty cool idea for a component, but can't really give feedback because I don't have 0.8 installed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post Apr 8 2006, 05:14
Post #7





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



Sure, I'll release it in the next 24 hours. I wasn't under the impression anyone else was using it or waiting for it smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post Apr 9 2006, 01:00
Post #8





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



Updated for 0.9.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nerrad
post Apr 9 2006, 02:07
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 21-September 04
Member No.: 17183



Hmmm.....
What about one for Sirius? sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zig
post Apr 9 2006, 03:59
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-February 05
From: Michigan, USA
Member No.: 19797



Cool, thanks. Working great so far.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post Apr 9 2006, 20:30
Post #11





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



QUOTE (nerrad @ Apr 8 2006, 09:07 PM) *
Hmmm.....
What about one for Sirius? sad.gif

Certainly possible. But, so few people use foo_xm and I don't have Sirius... makes it a little tough to justify spending time on it.

Then again, the basic framework would be the same, so I may get around to it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zig
post Apr 10 2006, 15:49
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-February 05
From: Michigan, USA
Member No.: 19797



I'm not sure if this would also be a similar project, but I think it would be cool to have something like this for Last.fm radio. The nice thing about that is it's a 128kbps stream, and it's free. Unfortunately their proprietary player kinda sucks so I don't get much use out of it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jarsonic
post Apr 10 2006, 16:09
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 30-September 01
From: C-ville, VA
Member No.: 83



Yeah, in the same vein as a last.fm plugin, a pandora plugin would be quite awesome, too. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zig
post Apr 18 2006, 00:21
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-February 05
From: Michigan, USA
Member No.: 19797



XM added some new channels today and I'm getting crashes when I try to listen to those channels. "XM 17 U.S. Country","XM 26 Flight 26","XM 30 XM Hitlist","XM 34 enLighten","XM 68 The Heat","XM 78 Escape","XM 91 Viva"

This post has been edited by zig: Apr 18 2006, 00:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post Apr 21 2006, 00:11
Post #15





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



Updated to 1.0.3. I've updated the internal channel list. Also, the plugin will no longer crash when the server reports it is busy (it will automatically try the backup servers it is told to use, channels should always start on the first try).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
anticrust
post Jun 14 2006, 16:08
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 9-June 04
Member No.: 14565



First off, GREAT plugin!! The web based player from XM is crap.
Can you add an option to automatically change the playback order to "Repeat (track)" while a XM channel is playing. If it's set to anything else, foobar moves to the next track/station if the connection gets reset or an auto logout occurs.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post Jul 2 2006, 22:02
Post #17





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



Indeed, lately XM's service has been having stupid network problems that show off various problems with my implementation...
1) Sometimes XM's connection hits the fan and you start getting static because foo_xm doesn't rebuffer very well.
2) foo_xm should try to reconnect on disconnect (foo_xm is actually immune to the timeout disconnect, but sometimes the connection dies due to other network issues).
and 3) Every so often an XM server sits on a request for about 30 seconds before telling us it's too busy. This makes Foobar appear locked up when really if you wait a minute foo_xm finally tries the 2nd or 3rd servers.

I'll be fixing these sooner or later since even though these problems are kinda rare it's starting to bug me when they do happen. A Sirius version is looking more likely at some point... since it looks like I'll have to move to that service.

This post has been edited by FrozenSpoon: Jul 2 2006, 22:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
The Bishop
post Jul 3 2006, 05:57
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-April 06
Member No.: 29193



Thanks again for the great plugin! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
anticrust
post Aug 31 2006, 17:54
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 9-June 04
Member No.: 14565



This is for anyone using foo_xm with foo_uie_albumart (Both great plug-ins by the way!).

Add these lines to your sources:
--$if($strcmp($left(%path%,5),xm$char(58)$char(47)$char(47)),images\xm_logos\%filename%.*,)
--$if($strcmp($left(%path%,5),xm$char(58)$char(47)$char(47)),images\xm_logos\default.*,)

You can download the logo pack from my site.
http://www.revnull.com/download.php?file=xm_logos.rar

Example Image: Here

Edit: Sorry about the HUGE image biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by anticrust: Aug 31 2006, 19:15
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
The Bishop
post Aug 31 2006, 18:16
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-April 06
Member No.: 29193



Awesome!! Thanks for this! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
anticrust
post Aug 31 2006, 19:17
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 9-June 04
Member No.: 14565



No problem. I use foo_xm for hours a day. I just though it should interact with the other plug-ins a bit more.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nightfishing
post Oct 19 2006, 04:34
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 292
Joined: 4-February 06
Member No.: 27549



I lose the xm-channel-album-art as soon as foobar loads a song from any station.

The art appears correctly when I first load foobar, but as soon as it connects and retrieves artist/song info from XM, I lose the image.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cub4life78
post Oct 31 2006, 02:45
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 8-January 03
Member No.: 4476



Killer plugin thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
anticrust
post Jan 11 2007, 23:15
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 9-June 04
Member No.: 14565



Will this plug in be updated to include new stations or channel name changes? Maybe add a channel mapping file so the end user can update channel names/number them selves.

I love this plug in and use it EVERY day! Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FrozenSpoon
post Jan 12 2007, 00:51
Post #25





Group: Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: 13-February 05
From: United States
Member No.: 19802



QUOTE (anticrust @ Jan 11 2007, 17:15) *
Will this plug in be updated to include new stations or channel name changes?
Oops, thanks for letting me know. XM doesn't send me channel updates in the mail like they use to! I will try to update the plugin soon.
QUOTE (anticrust @ Jan 11 2007, 17:15) *
Maybe add a channel mapping file so the end user can update channel names/number them selves.
Well, ideally the plugin would update itself, but that's a little more complex than I'm interested in doing. There isn't anything to stop you from using xm://somenumber until I fix the names up though.

I've been using the plugin less nowadays, so thanks for letting me know about any problems. Glad it is useful.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 07:44