IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

16 Pages V  « < 8 9 10 11 12 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
WMPTSE, WMP plug-in allows extended tag support
MaB_fr
post Jun 5 2006, 13:37
Post #226





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 30-October 05
Member No.: 25458



QUOTE (Greenbeast @ Jun 4 2006, 14:39) *
well i got it working again

don't know how, but i added music by 'adding a folder' rather than 'searching my computer' and it seems to work now

thanks for you help/interest again though


For documentation....
(boring if you're not interested in WMP/WMPTSE internals).

As WMPTSE is a hack and depends on the behaviour of WMP to get a "new file added" events, it can happen that some notification are silently passed. In fact, the plug-in API document a "single threaded" requirement for us, little plug-ins.
Then, the flood of "added files" events can't always be handled within a "call's time" and i choose to process it with a "last file" politic (optimizing the browsing then) to avoid too long processing time...
Then the trick is, sometime, before i even get the "n-th file added" event, some "n+1-th file added" has got into the library, and the "n-th file added" is simply skipped.

With the help of 'adding a folder' command, you're right to observe that every files get in. It's because after all "Search in computer" is finished, the missing files will be notified again to WMPTSE (the good part in WMP music folder).

So as an advice to every WMPTSE users : use "Adding a folder" as much as possible.
First you get a smooth add, because WMPTSE is not "flooded" with add-events.
Then you get (in time) all your files in the library, even the just-added/ripped/downloaded one.

In case of emergency, don't forget the "Refresh Now !" button.

Bests...

MaB_fr
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
John Lockwood
post Jun 5 2006, 16:42
Post #227





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31014



QUOTE (grommet @ Jun 1 2006, 03:43) *
John Lockwood, AIFF is more than Lossless. It's completely uncompressed. smile.gif Let's use Lossless for formats that actually achieve some compression. (And as you probably know, this format has little consumer tagging support outside of iTunes... at least on mainstream Windows applications.)

Anyway, the open source Firefly Media Server (formerly mt-daapd) for SoundBridge will transcode FLAC, ALAC, etc. for complete Lossless playback. It will also do WMA Lossless soon, for the Windows release only.

(Don't expect native ALAC decoding on SoundBridge anytime soon... since Roku has an existing business relationship with Apple, skirting legalities by using reverse engineered ALAC code probably won't happen.)


Disk space is cheap and plentiful so I would be happy enough to use an uncompressed format. I don't want to have to maintain two music libraries in two different formats. The best solution so far is to use AAC which is supported by everything (including thanks to WMPTSE tags in WMP), AIFF is also supported by everything for playback but not by WMP for tags.

FLAC = No iTunes = No iPod (bad)
ALAC = iTunes = iPod (good)
ALAC = No WMP = No MCE + No SoundBridge (very bad)
APE = No iTunes = No iPod (bad)
Ogg = iTunes (Mac only) = No iPod (bad)
AIFF = iTunes = iPod (good)
AIFF + No Tags = No WMP = No MCE (bad)
WAV = No Cover Art (bad)
AAC = iTunes = iPod (good)
AAC + Tags = WMP = MCE + SoundBridge (very good)

A hypothetical
AIFF + Tags = iTunes = iPod + WMP = MCE + SoundBridge (mega fantastic)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
John Lockwood
post Jun 16 2006, 02:37
Post #228





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31014



I have WMPTSE 1.0.1 installed. Immediately after installing it, I find that WMP 10 is playing 1 track (of an album), then playing a fraction of a second of the next track - skipping and then moving on to the track after that. Effectively it is like playing every other track.

I have done a roll back to prior installing WMPTSE 1.0.1 and the problem goes away, reinstall it and the problem is back.

The tracks are all m4a format.

This post has been edited by John Lockwood: Jun 16 2006, 07:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MaB_fr
post Jun 16 2006, 18:13
Post #229





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 30-October 05
Member No.: 25458



QUOTE (John Lockwood @ Jun 16 2006, 02:37) *
I have WMPTSE 1.0.1 installed. Immediately after installing it, I find that WMP 10 is playing 1 track (of an album), then playing a fraction of a second of the next track - skipping and then moving on to the track after that. Effectively it is like playing every other track.

I have done a roll back to prior installing WMPTSE 1.0.1 and the problem goes away, reinstall it and the problem is back.

The tracks are all m4a format.


Hi,

There's no reason why WMPTSE should be responsible for that.
WMPTSE only deals with MetaData, there's no call to ANY function in direct or indirect link with sound playing.
In fact, in the case of MPEG4, WMPTSE can only read metadata, not even modify your files.

So, this could be a problem with the directshow codec, or a strange random bug somewhere.
Could you please try to disable (not to roll back) WMPTSE (Tools->Plug-in->WMPTSE [must be unchecked if disabled]). And try again.

If it does work without WMPTSE, we would go on the bug localisation phase.

Thank you for the report.

MaB_fr
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
John Lockwood
post Jun 17 2006, 02:05
Post #230





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31014



QUOTE (MaB_fr @ Jun 16 2006, 18:13) *
QUOTE (John Lockwood @ Jun 16 2006, 02:37) *

I have WMPTSE 1.0.1 installed. Immediately after installing it, I find that WMP 10 is playing 1 track (of an album), then playing a fraction of a second of the next track - skipping and then moving on to the track after that. Effectively it is like playing every other track.

I have done a roll back to prior installing WMPTSE 1.0.1 and the problem goes away, reinstall it and the problem is back.

The tracks are all m4a format.


Hi,

There's no reason why WMPTSE should be responsible for that.
WMPTSE only deals with MetaData, there's no call to ANY function in direct or indirect link with sound playing.
In fact, in the case of MPEG4, WMPTSE can only read metadata, not even modify your files.

So, this could be a problem with the directshow codec, or a strange random bug somewhere.
Could you please try to disable (not to roll back) WMPTSE (Tools->Plug-in->WMPTSE [must be unchecked if disabled]). And try again.

If it does work without WMPTSE, we would go on the bug localisation phase.

Thank you for the report.

MaB_fr


The problem remains if I merely turn off WMPTSE or even use Add/Remove Programs. Only a System Restore Point gets rid of it. I have now discovered it is linked to a DirectShow filter (for AAC playback), if I disable this filter and use a different one (CoreAAC) then WMP will play the tracks consecutively with WMPTSE installed. If on the other hand I have this directshow filter enabled without WMPTSE having been installed then WMP also plays the tracks consecutively. It is only when both are installed and active that the problem starts. I am wondering if this directshow filter might be a bit slower parsing a m4a file and the additional time to process the file caused by WMPTSE as well might result in a total time to process that trips up WMP. What are your thoughts?

It would make more sense if simple turning off or uninstalling WMPTSE removed the problem just as uninstalling this DirectShow filter does. Its almost as if installing WMPTSE makes some permanent change to WMP.

PS. I really need this other directshow filter in preference to for example CoreAAC as IT CAN ALSO PLAY APPLE LOSSLESS!!!

This post has been edited by John Lockwood: Jun 17 2006, 02:10
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MaB_fr
post Jun 17 2006, 12:07
Post #231





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 30-October 05
Member No.: 25458



QUOTE (John Lockwood @ Jun 17 2006, 02:05) *
The problem remains if I merely turn off WMPTSE or even use Add/Remove Programs. Only a System Restore Point gets rid of it. I have now discovered it is linked to a DirectShow filter (for AAC playback), if I disable this filter and use a different one (CoreAAC) then WMP will play the tracks consecutively with WMPTSE installed. If on the other hand I have this directshow filter enabled without WMPTSE having been installed then WMP also plays the tracks consecutively. It is only when both are installed and active that the problem starts. I am wondering if this directshow filter might be a bit slower parsing a m4a file and the additional time to process the file caused by WMPTSE as well might result in a total time to process that trips up WMP. What are your thoughts?

It would make more sense if simple turning off or uninstalling WMPTSE removed the problem just as uninstalling this DirectShow filter does. Its almost as if installing WMPTSE makes some permanent change to WMP.

PS. I really need this other directshow filter in preference to for example CoreAAC as IT CAN ALSO PLAY APPLE LOSSLESS!!!


Ok.

We must have a thread syncro or message handling problem...MS prefered single threaded plug-in, we pay the price.

But, you can limit the activity of WMPTSE with the "Auto-refresh" option checkboxes. In your case, i would advise to uncheck the "When browsing Media Library" button... You loose the ability to get metadata when WMP watch for a folder, but you divide the amount of processing by a large margin.

In every case, your playing problem should appear only the first time you add the file. WMPTSE will not refresh metadata without some event fired. Then, i can see no reason why the second time you play the file, it won't work.

I will investigate to find some way to workaround this problem (if it's possible). But i encourage you to report to the problematic directshow codec developper. There's no reason why it couldn't work where others do...

Please report here any advancement, and thank you for raising this problem.

MaB_fr

P.S. : i can see you are near to get your Apple Lossless support !!! smile.gif that's good !

This post has been edited by MaB_fr: Jun 17 2006, 12:10
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MaB_fr
post Jun 20 2006, 23:57
Post #232





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 30-October 05
Member No.: 25458



QUOTE (John Lockwood @ Jun 17 2006, 02:05) *
The problem remains ...


Hum, i am not able to locate any reason why WMPTSE could behave like this.

Can you divulge the name of the directshow codec you're using ? It would allow me to attempt to reproduce it...

Thanks in advance.

MaB_fr
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
John Lockwood
post Jun 21 2006, 20:07
Post #233





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31014



QUOTE (MaB_fr @ Jun 20 2006, 23:57) *
QUOTE (John Lockwood @ Jun 17 2006, 02:05) *


The problem remains ...


Hum, i am not able to locate any reason why WMPTSE could behave like this.

Can you divulge the name of the directshow codec you're using ? It would allow me to attempt to reproduce it...

Thanks in advance.

MaB_fr


I have sent you a PM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Erstam
post Aug 18 2006, 19:04
Post #234





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 18-August 06
Member No.: 34195



WMPTSE & WMP11 - Tag support does not work

Hello everbody,

I installed WMPTSE for my WMP11. I can add *.mpc-files to the media library, WMP11 plays them fine, but unfortunately I'm not able to read or edit the tags. When I open the extended tag editor, all fields are greyed out.

Has anyone made WMP11's tag editor work with musepack files or made WMP11 correctly read the tags from suc files?

Any help is appreciated!

Erstam

This post has been edited by Erstam: Aug 18 2006, 19:04
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
grommet
post Aug 18 2006, 21:32
Post #235





Group: Members
Posts: 377
Joined: 1-April 05
From: California
Member No.: 21106



QUOTE (Erstam @ Aug 18 2006, 11:04) *
WMPTSE & WMP11 - Tag support does not work

Hello everbody,

I installed WMPTSE for my WMP11. I can add *.mpc-files to the media library, WMP11 plays them fine, but unfortunately I'm not able to read or edit the tags. When I open the extended tag editor, all fields are greyed out.

Has anyone made WMP11's tag editor work with musepack files or made WMP11 correctly read the tags from suc files?
As mentioned earlier in this thread, there are some problems with WMP 11. Some have had luck with registering the DLL manually, but I think some issues still persist.

Also, the WMP advanced tag editor will never work with WMPTSE; only the "normal" library tagging UI features will be active.

This post has been edited by grommet: Aug 18 2006, 21:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MaB_fr
post Aug 31 2006, 10:09
Post #236





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 30-October 05
Member No.: 25458



Hi everyone,

1.1 is out.


I've corrected a big mistake in the "new" install process which cause the plug-in not to register.

Should now work.

Some minor correction on FLAC support also.

Enjoy it :

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/wmptage....1.msi?download


MaB_fr

This post has been edited by MaB_fr: Aug 31 2006, 10:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MaB_fr
post Sep 5 2006, 12:20
Post #237





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 30-October 05
Member No.: 25458



Hello,


I'd like to know how many WMPTSE users are using WMP11.

It seems that MS as listen to plug-in developpers complaint (at least what i needed to stop "hack" WMP).

I would like to know if WMPTSE users are interested by a specific WMP11 plug-in (it should perform better and integrate easier in WMP).

What do you think ?


MaB_fr

P.S. : i'm asking because i'm always frightened by the lock-in option made by MS on the transcode part (they even add a Convert Policy object and forbid to convert to anything except for ASF and WMA...) and in other WMP sync/burn process. I don't want my plug-in to particpate to the lock-in policy (as you understand, i completely disagree with this policy smile.gif).

P.S. II : ...maybe someday, they'll understand that users always prefer freedom in the long term...(which would mean Winamp, VLC, QCD and others in their case)...As alternative are free, i can't understand why they don't get it (in a non-free environnement, lock-in works, but there's plenty of free players, so...)

This post has been edited by MaB_fr: Sep 5 2006, 12:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
julien_32
post Sep 5 2006, 13:10
Post #238





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 30-June 03
Member No.: 7486



me, me, me

really, I think a plugin can be a real good thing
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MaB_fr
post Sep 5 2006, 22:46
Post #239





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 30-October 05
Member No.: 25458



QUOTE (julien_32 @ Sep 5 2006, 13:10) *
me, me, me

really, I think a plugin can be a real good thing

that's one...

{but it seems you aren't using it already...}
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
equalrightsforwe...
post Sep 6 2006, 00:14
Post #240





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 8-January 06
Member No.: 26960



i'm using it, along with the current version of wmptse - have been since beta 1. no real complaints about how the tag extender works with it, but if you think a dedicated wmp11 version will work better, i'm all for it biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
grommet
post Sep 6 2006, 00:39
Post #241





Group: Members
Posts: 377
Joined: 1-April 05
From: California
Member No.: 21106



Yes, I'm very interested in a "less hacked" WMPTSE solution for WMP 11... it's actually a good product and scales well. If it could somehow integrate into the shell eventually (Vista, etc.), even better.

We had harsh feedback to Microsoft to make everything as modular as possible. Obviously, they didn't listen to transcoding lock-in feedback... (I assume this means nobody can make a clean "iPod" plug-in solution with transcoding -- for non-DRM content... and we're stuck wth marginal hacks like XPlay 2? If it was made possible, that would be an excellent plug-in the masses could appreciate: WMP 11 working cleanly with "de facto" iPod.) At least they listened to some things.

(Side note: It's also a shame the integrated UPnP AV server will be stuck with MP3, WMA & WAV... at least I don't think there is a way to extend it or add transcoding ability.)

This post has been edited by grommet: Sep 6 2006, 03:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
joetheman74
post Sep 9 2006, 00:53
Post #242





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 9-September 06
Member No.: 34968



I was hoping someone could help? I'm using WMP11 Beta 2 and WMPTSE. It doesn't read metadata from .m4a or .aac. I haven't found answers searching for hours.


I have already tried to un-install/re-install, tried both 1.01 and 1.1 and have tried to register both dll's manually. Tried encoding files with Itunes, nero and dbpoweramp.


Any other suggestions?

This post has been edited by joetheman74: Sep 9 2006, 01:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MaB_fr
post Sep 9 2006, 17:21
Post #243





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 30-October 05
Member No.: 25458



QUOTE (joetheman74 @ Sep 9 2006, 00:53) *
I was hoping someone could help? I'm using WMP11 Beta 2 and WMPTSE. It doesn't read metadata from .m4a or .aac. I haven't found answers searching for hours.


I have already tried to un-install/re-install, tried both 1.01 and 1.1 and have tried to register both dll's manually. Tried encoding files with Itunes, nero and dbpoweramp.


Any other suggestions?


First you ought to check a few important things before we submit a bug report :

1) WMPTSE does NOT support any kind of DRM
2) WMPTSE does NOT support ID3v2 tags or any other non-MPEG4/APEv2/Vorbis tagging

Then after ensuring that none of the above is in conflict, we could have a bug.
The MPEG4 support of WMPTSE has been tested only for a June 2006 iTunes compatibility (if i do remember correctly it was a 5.4 version or so...) so it may happen that Apple changed things since then.

If your files are not DRMed, i suppose they are not copyrighted or at least can be freely distributed. In that case, i would need you to send me a sample file (one who's a problem for WMPTSE).

In the other case, i'm afraid i couldn't do anything. As long as i'm not allowed to have one problematic file and debug it myself, i can only publish the WMPTSE 1.1 source and encourage you to debug it yourself...

Any other information you could have can help if you think so.

MaB_fr

This post has been edited by MaB_fr: Sep 9 2006, 17:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
John Lockwood
post Sep 10 2006, 00:14
Post #244





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31014



QUOTE (MaB_fr @ Sep 9 2006, 17:21) *
QUOTE (joetheman74 @ Sep 9 2006, 00:53) *

I was hoping someone could help? I'm using WMP11 Beta 2 and WMPTSE. It doesn't read metadata from .m4a or .aac. I haven't found answers searching for hours.


I have already tried to un-install/re-install, tried both 1.01 and 1.1 and have tried to register both dll's manually. Tried encoding files with Itunes, nero and dbpoweramp.


Any other suggestions?


The MPEG4 support of WMPTSE has been tested only for a June 2006 iTunes compatibility (if i do remember correctly it was a 5.4 version or so...) so it may happen that Apple changed things since then.
MaB_fr


I can confirm that WMPTSE 1.01 works fine with MPEG4 files produced by iTunes 6.0.5 (I am using WMP 10).

It is worth noting that sometimes it is not enough to just install WMPTSE, sometimes you also have to turn the plugin on in WMP itself as well.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
John Lockwood
post Sep 12 2006, 23:33
Post #245





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31014



iTunes 7 has been launched today and has a whole bunch of new features, several of which have not been picked up by the press or reviewers as yet.

One of these is that iTunes now appears to support an "Album Artist" tag just like WMP (one of the few good ideas from Microsoft). [Another is that iTunes can now burn Audio CDs with CD-Text included.]

Would WMPTSE be able to read this "Album Artist" tag in AAC MPEG4 files produced by iTunes 7?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
grommet
post Sep 13 2006, 07:40
Post #246





Group: Members
Posts: 377
Joined: 1-April 05
From: California
Member No.: 21106



iTunes 7 uses the aART atom in M4A files for Album Artst. WMPTSE already had support for this. iTunes just never did until now...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
joetheman74
post Sep 15 2006, 01:28
Post #247





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 9-September 06
Member No.: 34968



Just in case anyone else has the problem I had (see 5 posts back) Giving the songs a star rating caused the tag data to be read. Wierd.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MaB_fr
post Sep 15 2006, 12:11
Post #248





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 30-October 05
Member No.: 25458



QUOTE (joetheman74 @ Sep 15 2006, 01:28) *
Just in case anyone else has the problem I had (see 5 posts back) Giving the songs a star rating caused the tag data to be read. Wierd.

Can you give more details ? What do you mean by "caused the tag data to be read".

MaB_fr
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
John Lockwood
post Sep 15 2006, 17:56
Post #249





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31014



QUOTE (grommet @ Sep 13 2006, 07:40) *
iTunes 7 uses the aART atom in M4A files for Album Artst. WMPTSE already had support for this. iTunes just never did until now...


That's great all I have to do now is buy another CD to try it out with.

For what its worth, Apple's current implementation of the Album Artist tag is not yet as good as in WMP. You cannot browse via this tag (only via the Artist tag) and even if you sort via the Album Artist tag, iTunes still will not correctly group tracks of a multi-artist album together (the only sort method that does group the tracks properly is by Album name).

However its addition should now make it easier to share tracks with WMP. There is already a utility to auto-fill this tag for existing empty occurrences (this will save a lot of work for initially setting up your library, but you would then have to manually edit the few cases that the Artist is not the same as the Album Artist).

See http://www.wmwiki.com/wiki/index.php?title=ITSfv for a utility for Windows
and http://ilari.scheinin.fidisk.fi/itunes7helperscripts/ for an AppleScript for Mac OS X
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
joetheman74
post Sep 17 2006, 05:30
Post #250





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 9-September 06
Member No.: 34968



QUOTE (MaB_fr @ Sep 15 2006, 06:11) *
QUOTE (joetheman74 @ Sep 15 2006, 01:28) *

Just in case anyone else has the problem I had (see 5 posts back) Giving the songs a star rating caused the tag data to be read. Wierd.

Can you give more details ? What do you mean by "caused the tag data to be read".

MaB_fr


I for no particular reason decided to set a star rating to one of my .m4a files in wmp11. The file along with 600 or so others were under "unknown" in my media library. When I applied the star rating the file immediately vanished from in front of me. I decided to look for the song under it's Artist and Title hoping that the tag data had been read. Amazingly it had. It was all there. I then highlighted the remaining files and rated them all 3 stars. In a woosh my tag data was being read and the media library started jumping all over the alphabet as my screen jumped around for about 60 seconds. Is this enough detail? biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

16 Pages V  « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 20:31