IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
CD to MP3: pops and clicks, I just can't get it done
yulyo!
post Oct 24 2005, 07:35
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 19-September 05
Member No.: 24567



we are talking about a clippressed cd. do you know what this is? the cd sound ok when you are listening on a stand alone cdplayer or on your cdrom. but when you extract the tracks to your pc the sound is lowder. so, the cd is ok, but when extracting...there is the problem.
you said "Not true." that means YOU HAVE ANOTHER SOLUTION. please let me know what this solution is. as long you are saying that is not true that this is the only solution.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kjoonlee
post Oct 24 2005, 07:38
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 2526
Joined: 25-July 02
From: South Korea
Member No.: 2782



That's not what clipression is. When you rip CD-DA, the volume remains identical. (Unless there's preamp voodoo going on on the CD.)

Alternative solutions would be: trying to see if it's something wrong with the playback chain and/or using Replaygain.


--------------------
http://blacksun.ivyro.net/vorbis/vorbisfaq.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yulyo!
post Oct 24 2005, 07:49
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 19-September 05
Member No.: 24567



ok, than why the cd sound ok on his cd player and wrong on his pc.
maybe our friend could do this. i saw that he have cool edit pro there. load one clipped track. go on the menu, select analize, and from there select "statistics". make a print screen and send the resulted image to us. then we will see if there are clipped samples.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kjoonlee
post Oct 24 2005, 07:51
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 2526
Joined: 25-July 02
From: South Korea
Member No.: 2782



Um, mixer volume set too high, perhaps?

BTW, here's an excellent post on clipping.

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....ndpost&p=336038
QUOTE (Lyx @ Oct 21 2005, 04:44 AM)
QUOTE (Weps @ Oct 20 2005, 03:13 AM)
Hm... yeah, but my 'illusion' was to have exact the same files as on the CD, only not that big.  Yes, I understand MP3 is lossy, but with 'exact' I mean the same length, the same volume, etc.
*

You mix up "how the waveform looks" and "how it sounds like". Lossy means that it tries to sound the same, not look the same. Obviously, in this case the "look" also causes it to sound different. At this point, a clarification may be in order: the waveform does NOT clip during the encoding process.... an mp3 can store higher volume without "clipping" than the source material..... so, the signal will just go *above* 0db..... but when it is DECODED(playback) then the 0db limit kicks in and it clips. Thus, the audiodata in the mp3 itself is not damaged and does not clip...... it only clips when its decoded at 100% gain. Blame the record labels for producing overly loud CDs which ride the limit so constantly that you can do almost no lossy manipulation without going above 0db.

As others mentioned already, the solution is to use mp3gain or replaygain.
*



--------------------
http://blacksun.ivyro.net/vorbis/vorbisfaq.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
A_Man_Eating_Duc...
post Oct 24 2005, 09:35
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 940
Joined: 21-December 01
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 705



why don't you burn some of the poping sounding mp3's to a audio cd and see if they make the same noise on you standalone cd player.

if there is no pop's heard on the cd player then the problem is at your pc's playback


--------------------
Who are you and how did you get in here ?
I'm a locksmith, I'm a locksmith.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yulyo!
post Oct 24 2005, 09:54
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 19-September 05
Member No.: 24567



this guy has a P4 3 ghz. i don't think it's form the pc. but i might be wrong.
you can do what A_Man_Eating_Duck said. and see what's happening
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
daphox
post Oct 24 2005, 10:22
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 9-July 04
Member No.: 15229



Wow, such a long thread for a faulty/incompatible drive. Ah well....

This post has been edited by daphox: Oct 24 2005, 10:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kjoonlee
post Oct 24 2005, 10:23
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 2526
Joined: 25-July 02
From: South Korea
Member No.: 2782



QUOTE (daphox @ Oct 24 2005, 06:22 PM)
Wow, such a long thread for a faulty/incompatible drive. Ah well....
*

Got any facts to back that up?

edit: He's got *two* drives. Are you saying that both are faulty/incompatible? How? Why?

This post has been edited by kjoonlee: Oct 24 2005, 10:44


--------------------
http://blacksun.ivyro.net/vorbis/vorbisfaq.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
user
post Oct 24 2005, 10:24
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 873
Joined: 12-October 01
From: the great wide open
Member No.: 277



it might be soundcard driver/pc issues,
or bad rip ?
or copy protected CD ?

To exclude bad rip, copy following http://www.High-Quality.ch.vu with EAC, your drive correctly configured, try a test & copy extraction, no c2, secure of course. For safety, check green marker "drive cashes audio" in drive settings.
If then you get matching crcs in eac logs, and no errors, then your drive and rip method should be fine, and you really need to search for other reasons.


--------------------
www.High-Quality.ch.vu -- High Quality Audio Archiving Tutorials
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kjoonlee
post Oct 24 2005, 12:44
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 2526
Joined: 25-July 02
From: South Korea
Member No.: 2782



QUOTE (kjoonlee @ Oct 21 2005, 02:54 PM)
If you rip the tracks to .wav files and listen to those, are the pops still there?
*


QUOTE (A_Man_Eating_Duck @ Oct 24 2005, 05:35 PM)
why don't you burn some of the poping sounding mp3's to a audio cd and see if they make the same noise on you standalone cd player.

if there is no pop's heard on the cd player then the problem is at your pc's playback
*

koenimex, you've been offered this advice twice now. Please check if there's something wrong with your playback chain. If you've already checked, please tell us how it went.


--------------------
http://blacksun.ivyro.net/vorbis/vorbisfaq.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alter4
post Oct 24 2005, 13:50
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 14-September 04
From: Belarus, Vitebsk
Member No.: 16992



Is a DMA or PIO mode used by your IDE controller?
In my case in PIO i can't get accurate rip
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
koenimex
post Oct 24 2005, 19:31
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 19-October 05
Member No.: 25217



Now this is weird. Someone posted that I should listen to the MP3s on another computer, so I took a listen at my desktop (where I rip them) first. I heard a click at some point, so I listened to that same spot on my laptop (w/ my headphones on) and the click WAS GONE! So I listened to it on my desktop again, and it appears that the click sometimes disappear when I listen through my desktop-pc.

I didn't rip Morning Glory this time, but Stop All The World Now, by Howie Day

Does this mean that this is probably an issue with my soundcard (and that I wasted your time, by searching in the wrong direction, e.g. the encoding instead playing the audio-files)? At least you guys learned something about my taste of music =).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
A_Man_Eating_Duc...
post Oct 25 2005, 02:32
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 940
Joined: 21-December 01
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 705



look for updated drivers, for both soundcard and chipset.

that may fix your problem


--------------------
Who are you and how did you get in here ?
I'm a locksmith, I'm a locksmith.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dreamliner77
post Oct 25 2005, 06:32
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 2150
Joined: 29-June 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 2427



Try adjusting volume in your playback chain (player output, wave and master in windows mixer, amp, etc.)


--------------------
"You can fight without ever winning, but never win without a fight." Neil Peart 'Resist'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yulyo!
post Oct 25 2005, 18:09
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 19-September 05
Member No.: 24567



what soundacrd do you have? the mb integrated one?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NogginJ
post Oct 25 2005, 18:39
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 150
Joined: 31-August 04
From: Tejas
Member No.: 16661



yea this really sounds like it is your soundcard, your speakers, or even the wires connecting the two. if you want a real oldskool fix try jiggling the wires see what happens.

i have ripped morning glory and it sounds fine.

oasis rule.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
koenimex
post Oct 26 2005, 08:05
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 19-October 05
Member No.: 25217



QUOTE (NogginJ @ Oct 25 2005, 07:39 PM)
yea this really sounds like it is your soundcard, your speakers, or even the wires connecting the two. if you want a real oldskool fix try jiggling the wires see what happens.

i have ripped morning glory and it sounds fine.

oasis rule.
*


I did a check via My Computer > Hardware and it shows me that I have soundcard called SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio. I don't know much about soundcards, but I'll look into replacing the drivers.

I connected my soundcard to my stereoset, using standard anolog wiring. It used to work fine on my old computer.

One question raised during the ripping: As you people have seen, the rip I made from Oasis' Hello (from Morning Glory) shows very high volume levels. I tried every setting in the Windows Volume Mixer to adjust the volume, but I can't get it done. Can anyone help?

Thanks, as I do appreciate ALL the help I get here! You guys rock smile.gif.

This post has been edited by koenimex: Oct 26 2005, 08:05
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kjoonlee
post Oct 26 2005, 08:11
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 2526
Joined: 25-July 02
From: South Korea
Member No.: 2782



Do you mean you connected your computer to a stereo? A hi-fi?

If yes, on the computer's side, did you plug the wires into a hole that says line-out or did you plug them into a hole that says stereo?


--------------------
http://blacksun.ivyro.net/vorbis/vorbisfaq.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
koenimex
post Oct 26 2005, 08:51
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 19-October 05
Member No.: 25217



Yes, a Hi-fi set.

I have 3 holes in my soundcard, One's for my mic (it's pink), one's for my line-out/regular PC speakers (green), and one's for my line-in (blue), where my TV-card is plugged into. I have my speakers connected via the green hole, for regular PC speakers. The pink one is not used.

I checked on Asus website (this soundcard is a on-boardsoundcard). It seems I have the latest drivers installed, unless I upgrade to a Sound Blaster Live! suite, which costs me $19,99.

This post has been edited by koenimex: Oct 26 2005, 09:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yulyo!
post Oct 27 2005, 09:02
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 19-September 05
Member No.: 24567



you can try this.
take one .wav with problems, compress with mp4 or ogg @ low bitrate, so the resulted file won't be very big, and upload the resulted file here.
we'll see if it's from your pc or not.
I had a "SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio" on my Asus MB too. No problems for me. Just that the soundcard sound really really bad.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kjoonlee
post Oct 27 2005, 12:36
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 2526
Joined: 25-July 02
From: South Korea
Member No.: 2782



Don't you have to keep the volume rather low on the computer then?


--------------------
http://blacksun.ivyro.net/vorbis/vorbisfaq.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smz
post Oct 27 2005, 13:17
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 602
Joined: 15-February 04
From: Venezia, Italia
Member No.: 12025



QUOTE (koenimex @ Oct 26 2005, 08:51 AM)
...
I checked on Asus website (this soundcard is a on-boardsoundcard). It seems I have the latest drivers installed, unless I upgrade to a Sound Blaster Live! suite, which costs me $19,99.
*


Is it a P5P800 with SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio? I have it, I use it connected to my HI-FI and I have no problem with that. If I may help somehow, let me know...

Sergio

Edit:

1) I don't have/use the Soundblaster "upgrade"
2) I keep volume at max on the PC

This post has been edited by smz: Oct 27 2005, 13:19


--------------------
Sergio
Revox B150 + (JBL 4301B | Sennheiser HD430)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tahnru
post Oct 27 2005, 14:32
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 325
Joined: 17-October 05
From: United States
Member No.: 25178



QUOTE (koenimex @ Oct 26 2005, 02:05 AM)
One question raised during the ripping: As you people have seen, the rip I made from Oasis' Hello (from Morning Glory) shows very high volume levels. I tried every setting in the Windows Volume Mixer to adjust the volume, but I can't get it done. Can anyone help?

Thanks, as I do appreciate ALL the help I get here! You guys rock :).
*


How are you doing your ripping? Are you using DAE (Digital Audio Extraction) or are you recording the analog feed from your CD-ROM into a WAV file? Or to put it another way, when you rip, do you listen to the whole CD straight through or does it go faster than playing it would?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
koenimex
post Oct 27 2005, 15:45
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 19-October 05
Member No.: 25217



I don't know what I can do about changing something to my soundcard, since I have the latest drivers.

Tahnru: I rip my files using DAE, it goes pretty fast, usually, at least it goes faster then the CD plays.

Like I said before, the clicks appear on different spots, when I play the files, so it looks like they're not caused by ripping (I think). But I'm still looking for a solution to lower the volume when I rip the files. I had a look at RHCP's Give It Away with Cool Edit Pro, and it was almost completely green, if you now what I mean.

I will look into converting a file to ogg or something. I will put it up at megaupload.com or something. Though I doubt it'd make sense, since the clicks and pops don't appear everytime I listen to a song.

We'll keep on searching for a solution smile.gif.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tahnru
post Oct 27 2005, 15:58
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 325
Joined: 17-October 05
From: United States
Member No.: 25178



Koenimix, howdy! I've been thinking and have some stuff you might like to try. First off, if you are using DAE and are not normalizing (that is, adjusting the volume levels of the track during extraction) then you should be getting a more-or-less perfect copy of the track on the CD. To give yourself a higher degree of assurance about the quality of your rip, you might check into EAC with the Accuraterip plugin. I use it myself and am happy with the results.

http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/
http://www.accuraterip.com/

With a perfectly ripped track in hand, my method for dealing with extra-loud tracks has been the same as many around here have suggested: I use Replaygain. Specifically, all of my files are compressed using .FLAC and I use Foobar2000 to Replaygain them. It doesn't reduce the possible annoyance of a track with little dynamic range ( where are the soft and loud spots, this just sounds like noisy stew! ) but it does keep the track in the same relative volume range as the rest of your music. And, replaygain can be applied through Foobar if you decide to transcode to something like MP3 later, so that the resulting file has already been adjusted.

As for your crackling issues, I've had many of those myself. On a laptop, the speakers would crackle whenever I moved the mouse. On an old desktop I had built, the motherboard's chipset had a known defect that made horrible intereference (VIA MVP3, bad for sound and video both), especially whenever the hard drive was accessed. I would recommend trying Accuraterip: if you get a report from Accuraterip after ripping a CD that tells you that all tracks were ripped OK, you can reasonably eliminate your CD drives from the list of things to inspect.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 01:34