IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_sid, Emulates the sound chips of Commodore's CBM-II, Commodore 64, C128
migero
post Jun 29 2010, 17:14
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 16-April 10
Member No.: 79923



hi
is there any chance for stereo ?
and if not why its so hard to do
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jun 29 2010, 21:04
Post #52





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



It already does stereo for MUS/STR file pairs. It is impossible to detect if a SID file will be stereo without actually running it first.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alvaro84
post Jul 19 2010, 22:36
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 33830



Hi! Do you plan to incorporate reSIDfp and/or filterpatches that can be heard in sidplay2.5? blush.gif
They sound somewhat different (often better) to the reSID inside foo_sid. reSIDfp should probably optional then, it's pretty slow.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jul 20 2010, 07:00
Post #54





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I have switched over to sidplay-residfp, and you're right, it is slower. Although not slow enough to really warrant a troublesome dual-emulator plug-in. (I don't think the version of libsidplay in this library will work with the regular version of ReSID, considering the interface differences.)

Incidentally, I tried switching to this emulator the last time it was posted to this topic, and failed. The one thing I left out of my implementation was calling the ReSID filter() function with a null sid_filter_t pointer to reset the filter to the default parameters. Otherwise, the filter runs like crazy and slows the whole process down to a crawl.

I also modified the ReSID convolve() function to use SSE when it's detected using CPUID, rather than when it's compiled in. Although I don't expect anyone without SSE will enjoy the alternative anyway.

(A few SID files I tested turn out to render at about 11x realtime on my Core 2 Duo E8500. Compared to the 60x of the mainline sidplay2/ReSID.)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
edwardar
post Jul 20 2010, 22:26
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 15139



Thanks so much for switching to residfp - I just tried it and it sounds fantastic!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arthur
post Jul 22 2010, 14:47
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 17-April 06
Member No.: 29668



Hi Kode,
Again, excellent work on the plugin, agreeing with the last poster that ReSidFP is a welcome addition. I also have sidplay/w 2.5 and while it runs, it's painfully slow here on this 2006, toshiba laptop. Certainly gives you a noticeable lag. Any chance you could implement manual, control of sid chip type, and/or filter type? sidplay 2.5 has a bunch of different 6581 filter curves.

thanks,
Arthur.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jul 23 2010, 01:10
Post #57





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Where is this sidplay 2.5? All I can find is some Mac based player which is based on even older versions of libsidplay and resid than I was using before residfp.

I see a directory called fc-curves bundled with sidplay-residfp, but I don't see any way to use those curves with the library.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arthur
post Jul 23 2010, 08:54
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 17-April 06
Member No.: 29668



Hi, I know this won't help you much in terms of implementing things, but, here's the sidplay 2.5 I mentioned. http://noname.c64.org/csdb/release/download.php?id=95771
And, I had to just cringe internally when I found out the authors now maintaining the new residfp in, <gasp> java? java! Anyway, I'm done.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jul 23 2010, 20:33
Post #59





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Arthur @ Jul 23 2010, 00:54) *
And, I had to just cringe internally when I found out the authors now maintaining the new residfp in, <gasp> java? java! Anyway, I'm done.

Actually, he appears to be maintaining both projects simultaneously. All of the C++ library is maintained in the SourceForge repository for sidplay-residfp, while I haven't checked where the java library is kept. The news log on the SourceForge page shows the last change was committed 44 days ago.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Jan 30 2011, 19:56
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



hello kode54,
is there a chance to make your plugin as portable as foobar is?
so the used database isnt stored as x:\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid\Songlengths.txt (which will not work if driveletter changes)
but in <plugin_dir>\Songlengths.txt (or something ...)
cheers and thanks for the plugin! gives me good music smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 31 2011, 01:30
Post #61





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I'll add checking so that if you set the song lengths database relative to the component folder, it will store it as such.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gorkha
post Jan 31 2011, 06:56
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 31-January 11
Member No.: 87800



foo_sid seems to disregard all settings in portable mode (at least it worked fine last time I installed it in multi user mode)
songlength is loaded but not applied.
default songlengths are also ignored.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Jan 31 2011, 12:08
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



QUOTE (gorkha @ Jan 31 2011, 05:56) *
songlength is loaded but not applied. default songlengths are also ignored.
oh yes. this, i can confirm. also if the path is correct. forgot to mention that in my request.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 2 2011, 07:53
Post #64





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I've implemented relative path support, currently it will store tokens for component path, profile path, and player path, in that order. You will need to reconfigure it to tokenize the current path location.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Feb 2 2011, 18:32
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



wow,
that was fast :-)

i put
STIL.txt
and
Songlengths.txt

into the foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid\ folder,

browsed to that folder and chosed Songlengths.txt.

inside foobar2000 your plugin showed:

<component path>\Songlengths.txt

and said: "Status: 39626 entries loaded."

so far, so good.


after quiting foobar and copying it to my NAS (UNC path \\server\foobar\...), a subst'ed driveletter (S:\ from D:\foobar...) and a local drive (C:\foobar...):

your plugin did not load the file, if foobar was started from a local drive.

your plugin did not load the file, if foobar was started from a subst'ed drive.

your plugin did not load the file, if foobar was started from a UNC path.

so, in all cases, the file wasnt loaded, as before.

when i browsed manually to the file again, your plugin said:
"C:\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid\Songlengths.txt"
"Status: 39626 entries loaded."

is there anything, what i'm doing wrong?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 2 2011, 23:36
Post #66





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Are you sure both installations are using the same component? The path is stored with the exact token you see in the dialog, and if it isn't tokenizing the path you specify, then it doesn't match the current configuration.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Feb 3 2011, 00:13
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



QUOTE (kode54 @ Feb 2 2011, 22:36) *
Are you sure both installations are using the same component? The path is stored with the exact token you see in the dialog, and if it isn't tokenizing the path you specify, then it doesn't match the current configuration.


both installations? i only have one. i just copied this installation (with the 1.20 version of you fine extension) to different paths/drives.
now, after i did some other things (restartet foobar some times, listen to music and played around...), i took a look at the config of your program and i see:

Path: <component path>\Songlengths.txt

Status: not loaded.

The files Songlenght.txt is still in that folder as before.

is there anything, i can provide you with to give you more info?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 3 2011, 08:56
Post #68





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I updated it to fix the relative path support for the profile folder, but I also uploaded a build with debug notices here. It will dump the base paths it uses to the console, as well as the final path it attempts to open the database from, to the console. Trigger a database load attempt by playing a SID file to see it in action. It will reveal what's going wrong between your two installations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Feb 3 2011, 12:29
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



great, thanks. i downloaded and installed the version with the log.

btw: question:
if realize, that i update via the "get updates" button in foobar, my files (songlenght, stil, etc...) inside your plugin folder foo_sid are deleted. i not 100% sure, but i remember, that, while installing ohter plugins, no files (i.e. extended config files or notes.txt i created) were deleted.



after foobar restarted, i browsed to the songlenghts.txt file.
you plugin showed:
Path: <component path>\Songlengths.txt
Status: not loaded.

the console says:
CODE
[12:01:46] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:46] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:01:46] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:46] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:46] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:01:46] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:46] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:46] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:01:46] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:46] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:46] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:01:46] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:48] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:48] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:01:48] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:48] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:48] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:01:48] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:48] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:01:48] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:01:48] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:05] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:05] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:02:05] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:15] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:15] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:02:15] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:15] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:15] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:02:15] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:15] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:15] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:02:15] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:15] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:15] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:02:15] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:24] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:24] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:02:24] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:24] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:24] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:02:24] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:24] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:02:24] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:02:24] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000


then i restarted foobar.
your plugin then showed:
Path: <component path>\Songlengths.txt
Status: not loaded.

i then played a SID
and the your plugin showed:
Path: <component path>\Songlengths.txt
Status: 39626 entries loaded.

the log said:
CODE
[12:08:49] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:08:49] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:08:49] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:08:50] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:08:50] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:08:50] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:08:50] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:08:50] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:08:50] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:08:50] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:08:50] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:08:50] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:08:50] Player path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:08:50] Component path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:08:50] Profile path: E:\tc\portable\foobar2000
[12:08:56] foo_upnp: loaded Media Library tree in 59.532s


so i guess, the problem was, that i assumed, your plugin would load the files *before* playing a sid.

everything, i described in my last post, works now.

thank you very much and sorry for the bothering.

EDIT: another question: will you "debug" version automaticly update if a newer version is available, or do i have to install the "official" version?

This post has been edited by fuffi: Feb 3 2011, 12:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Feb 3 2011, 15:50
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



QUOTE (musikdusche @ Aug 23 2009, 14:16) *
QUOTE (fuffi @ Nov 8 2008, 16:15) *
could it be possible to have the field COPYRIGHT shown in the DATE field? (something like a redirection of meta fields)

i'd like to see the date of a playing sid and if it has a field like "COPYRIGHT = 1993 Lamex"
it would be cool to redirect this info (maybe with some regEx...) to another field, like DATE.


@fuffi: Wouldnt it be possible to play around with the string-manipulation-functions listed in the document above to get your date-field?

Quite a long time passed, but i finally made it :-)

in ColumnUI, i set up the Comment-column with this display-script:
CODE
$if($stricmp($ext(%filename_ext%),SID),$if([%COPYRIGHT%],$trim($substr([%COPYRIGHT%],5,$len([%COPYRIGHT%]))),---),[%COMMENT%])
and
this data-script:
CODE
$if($stricmp($ext(%filename_ext%),SID),$if([%COPYRIGHT%],$cut([%COPYRIGHT%],4),----),[%DATE%])

which both will now, if the file has an extension "SID", split the %COPYRIGHT% field into the DATE part and a COMMENT part.



this looks ok to me :-) and i ignore such special cases like "1970-71" ...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 3 2011, 15:55
Post #71





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Fixed and uploaded in the usual place. Debug version is in the same place as I linked above. You should be seeing "Attempting to use song length database: <path>" when you attempt to play SID files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Feb 3 2011, 16:20
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



QUOTE (kode54 @ Feb 3 2011, 15:55) *
Fixed and uploaded in the usual place. Debug version is in the same place as I linked above. You should be seeing "Attempting to use song length database: <path>" when you attempt to play SID files.

question:
if realize, that i update via the "get updates" button in foobar, my files (songlenght, stil, etc...) inside your plugin folder foo_sid are deleted. i not 100% sure, but i remember, that, while installing ohter plugins, no files (i.e. extended config files or notes.txt i created) were deleted.
is this from your plugin or from foobar?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 3 2011, 16:27
Post #73





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



This is from foobar2000 itself. If you want to keep your song lengths database across updates, store it in a folder inside the profile or application folder, not the component folder. (I shouldn't have made an escape for the component folder, since updating will delete it anyway.)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Feb 4 2011, 12:10
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



QUOTE (kode54 @ Feb 3 2011, 15:55) *
Fixed and uploaded in the usual place. Debug version is in the same place as I linked above. You should be seeing "Attempting to use song length database: <path>" when you attempt to play SID files.

thank you. great.

just a little thing:
some (sadly not all) plugins identify themselfs to the user with <pluginname>: in the console. so the user knows from which plugin a message came from.

QUOTE
[12:03:03] iPod manager: Listening for Apple mobile devices.
[12:03:03] Player path: U:\foobar2000
[12:03:03] Component path: U:\foobar2000\user-components\foo_sid
[12:03:03] Profile path: U:\foobar2000
[12:03:03] Attempting to use song length database: U:\foobar2000\user-configuration\foo_sid_data\Songlengths.txt
[12:03:05] Audioscrobbler: Track is not in Media Library - not submitting to Audioscrobbler.
[12:03:06] foo_upnp: created 301755 path registry entries in 38.875s
[12:03:11] Player path: U:\foobar2000
[12:03:11] Component path: U:\user-components\foo_sid

if you could add that info too, that would be great, because, i'm old and in 5 weeks i completely have forgotten about this thread and the messages, but i'm looking into that console every time i use foobar :-)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 4 2011, 14:55
Post #75





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



The debugging information is only there to help you figure out why this isn't working between your different systems. It's not there for regular use. Once you find the problem, you should replace the installation with the version from the official components repository, which has no such debugging notices.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 19:11