IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_sid, Emulates the sound chips of Commodore's CBM-II, Commodore 64, C128
kode54
post Aug 24 2007, 23:42
Post #26





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I cannot reproduce the subsong length problem, as the copy of that track in my collection doesn't seem to match the database. My file has a hash of 068FBB888935C22A958D305C41E6D3E6 while the database has a hash of a201d88d9c2ca0067f9e93202cfc4a30.

I did reproduce the crashing and corrected the problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
iycgtptyarvg
post Feb 7 2008, 10:38
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-August 07
Member No.: 45863



I just saw there was a new version (2008-01-20). Can you tell us what changed?

PS
Thanks a lot for this plugin... I love it to death


--------------------
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
deus-ex
post Feb 7 2008, 13:01
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 284
Joined: 9-September 04
From: Earth
Member No.: 16882



QUOTE (iycgtptyarvg @ Feb 7 2008, 10:38) *
I just saw there was a new version (2008-01-20). Can you tell us what changed?

See this thread: %samplerate% unknown after jumping to another position, Happens with MIDI, SID, MOD, XM, IT, S3M


--------------------
Best regards
deus-ex (MODLAND admin: ftp://modland.ziphoid.com)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
iycgtptyarvg
post Feb 8 2008, 01:06
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-August 07
Member No.: 45863



QUOTE (deus-ex @ Feb 7 2008, 13:01) *
QUOTE (iycgtptyarvg @ Feb 7 2008, 10:38) *

I just saw there was a new version (2008-01-20). Can you tell us what changed?

See this thread: %samplerate% unknown after jumping to another position, Happens with MIDI, SID, MOD, XM, IT, S3M
Aha, ok. Thanks for the info.


--------------------
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BokanoiD
post Jun 17 2008, 08:41
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-June 08
Member No.: 54463



Kode54,

first of all - thank you very much for this plugin. I've been using it a good while and it works very well.

I noticed something while using Last.fm for a while; a lot of SIDs have many subsongs (such as many game soundtracks), and such SIDs will report the artist correctly but will report their songtitle as album title title. This means that the Last.fm software won't scrobble these tracks because of a missing track title.

It seems a good lot of people that have SIDs scrobbled on last.fm seem to be using your plugin (or one with a similar 'problem') because there don't seem to be many SID game soundtracks scrobbled.

Is this something that's fixable? for example by copying the album title to the track title if none is found?

Thanks very much!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jun 17 2008, 18:47
Post #31





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I have no idea, it reports a "title" field for every track, which should correspond to track title.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BokanoiD
post Jun 18 2008, 07:25
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-June 08
Member No.: 54463



Hello Kode54,

It'll report a title field if a SID has no subsongs.
you could try for example, from HVSC:

c64music/musicians/T/Tel_Jeroen/2400_AD.sid

This tune contains two subsongs. Both subsongs have the following reported fields:

ARTIST: Jeroen Tel / Maniacs of Noise
ALBUM: 2400 AD
COPYRIGHT: 1988 Origin Systems

since the TITLE field is empty, it won't scrobble.

I hope this clarifies what I mean smile.gif
Thank you for the trouble.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jun 18 2008, 19:50
Post #33





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Ah, yes. It adds the title field as "album" when there are multiple subsongs, since there's no place to retrieve individual titles. There is a database for that, but I haven't incorporated support yet.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
casedawg
post Oct 25 2008, 01:56
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 28-December 07
Member No.: 49919



All my sid files only come through the left speaker. Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Oct 25 2008, 02:27
Post #35





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (casedawg @ Oct 24 2008, 17:56) *
All my sid files only come through the left speaker. Any ideas?

Sounds like your drivers don't like mono flagged for front center speaker. Try Convert mono to stereo DSP.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
casedawg
post Oct 25 2008, 23:26
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 28-December 07
Member No.: 49919



That did the trick. Thanks for all your solid chiptune plugs!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mpz
post Nov 2 2008, 05:50
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-November 08
Member No.: 61524



kode54, can I interest you in incorporating the ReSID changes from Antti Lankila's 6581 distortion page to foo_sid? The example files he has recorded with his patch sound just incredible and very, very close to the real C-64. I hear his patch is going to be adopted in the next version of VICE the C-64 emulator as well.

It does have slightly higher system requirements than unpatched ReSID but the improved sound quality is IMHO well worth it.

This post has been edited by mpz: Nov 2 2008, 05:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Nov 2 2008, 07:18
Post #38





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



It will require significant work, since his patches are against 2.1.1, and I'm using CVS code, which is structured somewhat differently.

EDIT: I tried it, it doesn't seem to run fast enough for real-time playback, and attempting to set the sample rate lower than 44100Hz results in crashes. Maybe some other time.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Nov 8 2008, 16:01
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 197
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



hello all, hello kode54,

i used your plugin a long time without configurating it. it worked very well :-) thank you very much!

now, i discovered the preferences page in f2k again, which offers me an database to load.

it took me 2 days trying to find out, what database was meant. i did not saw a hint, nor a documentation, what database to add here, so i tried some files from my HVSC folder.
unfortunately i had choosen STIL.txt and wondered, why the status never changes from "not loaded" to something else which told me, that i made it correctly.
finally, i tried "Songlengths.txt" and pressed load and it worked.
but it took too much time.

so i just suggest, for small minded people like me, because i'm sure, i will forget this, when trying to add a database the next year with a new installation of foobar:

please add just some more text to the preferences page, like:
"put in Songlengths.txt here" or something, so the user knows, what to do 8-)
this would be great.

because, f2k shows an <?> for any artist here, i have thinked, i could load the STIL.txt database to have a fine display for the artist, songname and year. but that wasnt the idea behind the database....

thanks anyway,
cheers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Nov 8 2008, 16:15
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 197
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



hi again,
new post, new question :-)

could it be possible to have the field COPYRIGHT shown in the DATE field? (something like a redirection of meta fields)

i'd like to see the date of a playing sid and if it has a field like "COPYRIGHT = 1993 Lamex"
it would be cool to redirect this info (maybe with some regEx...) to another field, like DATE.

i know, COPYRIGHT (in this simple case) is not just a numerical field, and i could look very sh!tty in some cases, but redirecting fields would be a somewhat improvement for displaying sid information in the playlist window.


also, it would be a good thing, to let the user turn off the display (or maybe let him choose the words/symbol) of "<?>" for an unknown field.
i, pers., like nothing to be shown, if there is nothing, to be displayed.

cheers, and thanks again for such a neat little goodworking component! your work is and was very appreceated.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cutter
post Mar 14 2009, 21:08
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 266
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 10152



Hi kode54,

I have a strange problem when foo_sid is loaded: foobar2000 constantly eats about 90% of CPU power and its memory footprint raises from 15 Mb to over 100Mb in a few minutes, all of this without foobar having ever started playing anything.

I'm using foo_sid dated 2009-02-08 with foobar2000 0.9.4.1 beta 1.

Thanks.


Edit: the problem was caused by foobar reindexing the library after the component having been installed.

This post has been edited by Cutter: Mar 15 2009, 08:34
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
musikdusche
post Aug 23 2009, 14:16
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-August 09
Member No.: 72573



QUOTE (fuffi @ Nov 8 2008, 17:15) *
i'd like to see the date of a playing sid and if it has a field like "COPYRIGHT = 1993 Lamex"
it would be cool to redirect this info (maybe with some regEx...) to another field, like DATE.

I always wondered if there is a way to read out the sid-copyright-field. Thank you for the hint. Putting %copyright% in the statusbar-string does the job. Is this documented anywhere?

In the Help-Docs it isnt listed...
file:///C:/Programme/foobar2000/titleformat_help.html (Adjust url to your local installation)

Edit: @fuffi: Wouldnt it be possible to play around with the string-manipulation-functions listed in the document above to get your date-field?

This post has been edited by musikdusche: Aug 23 2009, 14:18
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuffi
post Sep 3 2009, 15:18
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 197
Joined: 10-February 07
From: kölle an rhein
Member No.: 40490



QUOTE (musikdusche @ Aug 23 2009, 14:16) *
Edit: @fuffi: Wouldnt it be possible to play around with the string-manipulation-functions listed in the document above to get your date-field?

maybe, but i'm a very dumb user who cannot spend 2 weeks trying to have a 4-letter date placed where i like it. :-)
kids want to eat, woman wants new cloths, boss wants almost the rest of my life.
if GUI is heaven, RegEx is hell ;->
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
demalexx
post May 12 2010, 13:39
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-May 10
Member No.: 80582



Hello,

I have a problem with this file. I can open it and then I see many subsongs, they all sorted from 1 to 16. But they sound completely different, end of subsong 1 doesn't match beginning of subsong 2 etc.

I tried other sid player and it plays file ok.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post May 13 2010, 00:57
Post #45





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



The song length database is only accurate to the second, so there will be some inaccuracy in the jumps if those tracks are indeed supposed to transition smoothly. Plus, the fade out length specified is included in the song length. Set the fade out to 0 if you want the songs to end without a fade.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
demalexx
post May 13 2010, 03:47
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-May 10
Member No.: 80582



QUOTE (kode54 @ May 13 2010, 07:57) *
The song length database is only accurate to the second, so there will be some inaccuracy in the jumps if those tracks are indeed supposed to transition smoothly. Plus, the fade out length specified is included in the song length. Set the fade out to 0 if you want the songs to end without a fade.


I played with fade, but still there is no smooth transition. So can't listen to this file sad.gif

Also what I found out - real song duration is ~15 min. But foo_sid found 16 subsongs and all 3 min, so song duration is 16*3=48 mins. If set default song duration to 0:48-0:55 (instead of default 3:00) then subsong transitions become more smoothly, but not ideal.

So, I suppose, there is some issue and foo_sid determines subsongs duration incorrectly...

This post has been edited by demalexx: May 13 2010, 03:56
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post May 13 2010, 11:49
Post #47





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



You need to configure the Song Length Database in Preferences for the component. The tracks you reported have lengths approaching 15 minutes for the first few, gradually getting shorter. And no, they do not transition smoothly, they usually end with a loud noise crash, followed by a second or two of silence.

Open Preferences, navigate to Playback -> Input -> sidplay, click the button with the ..., then navigate to the Songlengths.txt that was bundled with HVSC, in the DOCUMENTS folder.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
demalexx
post May 13 2010, 12:28
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-May 10
Member No.: 80582



QUOTE (kode54 @ May 13 2010, 18:49) *
You need to configure the Song Length Database in Preferences for the component. The tracks you reported have lengths approaching 15 minutes for the first few, gradually getting shorter. And no, they do not transition smoothly, they usually end with a loud noise crash, followed by a second or two of silence.

Open Preferences, navigate to Playback -> Input -> sidplay, click the button with the ..., then navigate to the Songlengths.txt that was bundled with HVSC, in the DOCUMENTS folder.


Yes, songlengths.txt helped, now I can listen to my file smile.gif Also I've knew about HVSC, thanks a lot!

But may I ask a silly question - why other sid players (e.g. Sidplay2) works fine without external songlength.txt, but foo_sid needs it?

Thanks.

This post has been edited by demalexx: May 13 2010, 12:28
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post May 13 2010, 14:39
Post #49





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Sidplay2 does not specify a default length, so it will always play until a song self-terminates. foo_sid defaults to 3 minutes, then skips to the next track.

I don't know why, but I originally made it so when you set it to play forever, it ignores when tracks self-terminate, so they produce silence forever or something. I think I'll change that and push another release.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
demalexx
post May 13 2010, 14:42
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-May 10
Member No.: 80582



QUOTE (kode54 @ May 13 2010, 21:39) *
Sidplay2 does not specify a default length, so it will always play until a song self-terminates. foo_sid defaults to 3 minutes, then skips to the next track.


Ok, thanks smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd October 2014 - 04:05