IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Ripping Question - 2 drives
vanhalen26
post Oct 2 2005, 22:22
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-October 05
Member No.: 24832



As I dutifully rip my 400 + CD collection, I have a question re: running two instances of EAC so I can rip two discs at a time (as I have two CD-ROMs in my computer) ... will I have ripping / encoding errors if I run EAC x 2 at the same time. I spot checked a couple MP3s that were produced concurrently, and they seem fine (but I haven't listened that close).

Thanks for the thoughts.

K.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
precisionist
post Oct 2 2005, 23:56
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 739
Joined: 16-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 11279



Should be possible, although I don't recommend it.
Don't start the second EAC while the first one is ripping, and don't access from the second EAC that drive that the frist one currently uses (and vice versa, of course). This would cause the two EACs to block each other.
Have enough system capacities - memory, processor speed and hard disk speed.
Keep in mind that the speed limiting factor may not be the single drive but your slow hard disk etc.

ps: I often have two EAC processes working at the same time, but only one of them is ripping.
pps: Try starting the exactly same executable twice, but you'll probably need two EAC installations (mine are different versions).

@mods: I think this topic rather belongs to the CD hardware/software forum.


--------------------
I know that I know nothing. But how can I then know that ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kritip
post Oct 3 2005, 00:26
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 531
Joined: 15-January 02
From: Warwickshire -- England
Member No.: 1036



Ripped 400+ disc using 2 EAC's in seperate folders and both at once. All seemed to be absolutly fine!

Kristian
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MugFunky
post Oct 3 2005, 08:32
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 493
Joined: 28-December 03
From: Melbourne, Aus
Member No.: 10767



one speed issue could be caused by having both drives on the same cable, but this might only affect reading and writing rather than just reading (haven't tried ripping CDs with 2 drives before, though i have done it with DVDs with some success).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 12:42