IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Flac Has A 2gb Size Limit?
Cyaneyes
post Feb 7 2005, 19:44
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 297
Joined: 21-September 03
Member No.: 8934



Does FLAC have a 2GB limit to file size? I'm trying to compress a 5.5 hour radio show and flac 1.1.2 reports an error when the output file reaches 2GB.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amano
post Feb 7 2005, 20:03
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 1-December 02
Member No.: 3949



Maybe it is a limitation of your file system?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cyaneyes
post Feb 7 2005, 20:11
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 297
Joined: 21-September 03
Member No.: 8934



Don't see why that would be. The original WAV is about 3.5GB. I'm on XP, SP2.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
grav
post Feb 7 2005, 21:31
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 28-April 04
Member No.: 13772



QUOTE (Cyaneyes @ Feb 7 2005, 11:11 AM)
Don't see why that would be.  The original WAV is about 3.5GB.  I'm on XP, SP2.
*


XP supports several file systems. Most people use NTFS, some FAT32 (if you've upgraded from Win98), but both these support files > 2 GB.
So I don't think it's File System related either.

File Systems Overview (Microsoft.com)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rompel
post Feb 7 2005, 21:59
Post #5





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 37
Joined: 3-November 02
From: California
Member No.: 3678



Just a wild guess, but does it still fail with --no-seektable?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Feb 8 2005, 01:42
Post #6


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



the FLAC format does not have a size limit but command-line flac currently only supports up to 2GB. it's on the list of TODOs to fix.

Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amano
post Feb 8 2005, 02:01
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 1-December 02
Member No.: 3949



OK. Then this riddle is solved now.

I didn't know that you have WIndows XP but for Fat16 (Win95/98/Me) the file limit is indeed 2GB (at least these files are not accessible).

So it is a commandline FLAC problem now.

This post has been edited by amano: Feb 8 2005, 02:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Feb 8 2005, 02:31
Post #8


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (amano @ Feb 7 2005, 11:01 PM)
for Fat16 (Win95/98/Me) the file limit is indeed 2GB (at least these files are not accessible).
*


Of course they are not accessible. They don't exist. The partition size limit for FAT16 is 2Gb smile.gif

Now, for FAT32 (used in Win95SR2, Win98 and WinME), which has a partition size limit of 2TB, the file size limit is 4Gb.

Edit: more info: http://www.ntfs.com/ntfs_vs_fat.htm

This post has been edited by rjamorim: Feb 8 2005, 02:33


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cyaneyes
post Feb 8 2005, 15:51
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 297
Joined: 21-September 03
Member No.: 8934



Thanks for the clarification, Josh..

FWIW, other lossless codecs failed on this as well. Monkey's (command line and GUI) refused to encode, WavPack got about 10% through and then spit back an error. OptimFROG worked fine.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th September 2014 - 13:28