IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

16 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Game Emu Player (foo_gep) by kode54, Was “Game Emu Player” subt. “feature request” / Now a catch-all thread
Pulstar
post Feb 4 2010, 13:46
Post #101





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 26-January 10
Member No.: 77550



What I do is that I extract compressed chiptune archives when using them with Foobar2000. I'm curious too why can't Foobar handle VGZ and RSN.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ManiacDC
post Feb 4 2010, 22:06
Post #102





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 12-November 08
Member No.: 62248



QUOTE (Pulstar @ Feb 4 2010, 07:46) *
What I do is that I extract compressed chiptune archives when using them with Foobar2000. I'm curious too why can't Foobar handle VGZ and RSN.

It's possible to hex edit foo_unpack.dll to open RSN files. Just replace all instances of RAR with RSN (watch out you don't replace part of the word "library", iirc that was in there).

This post has been edited by ManiacDC: Feb 4 2010, 22:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 5 2010, 08:49
Post #103





Group: Admin
Posts: 4691
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



foo_gep already supports .RSN as of version 1.66. All it requires is that you also have foo_unpack installed. If it is not working, then I'll be glad to look at whatever .RSN files you're having problems with.

I've already tested adding .RSN files to the playlist using the Open Files dialog, dragging a .RSN file from an Explorer window onto a playlist, and also double-clicking an associated .RSN file. All work fine. Are you sure you have an up-to-date version of foo_gep installed, and also foo_unpack? It does require both to work.

Oh, and modifying foo_unpack by replacing instances of "rar" with "rsn" may even be broken in combination with the .RSN support already implemented in foo_gep, so don't do that.

I may have fixed a problem that would affect anyone saving RSN files with non-lowercase extensions to a case-sensitive file system, or at least if Windows is configured to use case-sensitive paths on such filesystems.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ManiacDC
post Feb 5 2010, 11:21
Post #104





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 12-November 08
Member No.: 62248



QUOTE (kode54 @ Feb 5 2010, 02:49) *
foo_gep already supports .RSN as of version 1.66. All it requires is that you also have foo_unpack installed. If it is not working, then I'll be glad to look at whatever .RSN files you're having problems with.

I've already tested adding .RSN files to the playlist using the Open Files dialog, dragging a .RSN file from an Explorer window onto a playlist, and also double-clicking an associated .RSN file. All work fine. Are you sure you have an up-to-date version of foo_gep installed, and also foo_unpack? It does require both to work.

Oh, and modifying foo_unpack by replacing instances of "rar" with "rsn" may even be broken in combination with the .RSN support already implemented in foo_gep, so don't do that.

I may have fixed a problem that would affect anyone saving RSN files with non-lowercase extensions to a case-sensitive file system, or at least if Windows is configured to use case-sensitive paths on such filesystems.

I modified foo_unpack to support RSN a long time ago, before 1.66 was out. I didn't know you added support. Fortunately I haven't had any problems that I'm aware of.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 5 2010, 12:27
Post #105





Group: Admin
Posts: 4691
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Other than losing .RAR support. Oh, and foo_unpack tends to get replaced every time you reinstall foobar2000, unless you specifically tell the installer not to install it. Better to ditch the hacks now, as they're no longer necessary.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ManiacDC
post Feb 5 2010, 17:07
Post #106





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 12-November 08
Member No.: 62248



QUOTE (kode54 @ Feb 5 2010, 06:27) *
Other than losing .RAR support. Oh, and foo_unpack tends to get replaced every time you reinstall foobar2000, unless you specifically tell the installer not to install it. Better to ditch the hacks now, as they're no longer necessary.

I did, but to deal with the above said issues you simply can rename foo_unpack.dll to foo_unrsn.dll or the like wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jarsonic
post Feb 5 2010, 18:08
Post #107





Group: Members
Posts: 201
Joined: 30-September 01
From: C-ville, VA
Member No.: 83



So, essentially, you can either hexedit foo_unpack.dll and rename it to something else to keep it from getting overwritten, in the process losing the ability to open .rar files, or you can simply add foo_gep.dll to your components folder and everything works wonderfully.

Yeah, y'all can choose which one seems easier. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ManiacDC
post Feb 5 2010, 22:25
Post #108





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 12-November 08
Member No.: 62248



QUOTE (jarsonic @ Feb 5 2010, 12:08) *
So, essentially, you can either hexedit foo_unpack.dll and rename it to something else to keep it from getting overwritten, in the process losing the ability to open .rar files, or you can simply add foo_gep.dll to your components folder and everything works wonderfully.

Yeah, y'all can choose which one seems easier. tongue.gif

Like I said, to deal with the above... ie you could (since it's pointless to do this now) open rar, zip, and rsn, all at once rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rubix
post Feb 6 2010, 03:06
Post #109





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 24-April 03
Member No.: 6154



not sure why rsn doesn't work, but here is my components+versions.

my rsn files are all from snesmusic dot org. not sure if snes music is legal to dl or not. so i will remove this part if so. smile.gif

This post has been edited by rubix: Feb 6 2010, 03:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 6 2010, 08:40
Post #110





Group: Admin
Posts: 4691
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



foo_gep is now v1.9, try that first.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kaminari
post Feb 6 2010, 11:10
Post #111





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43124



Hi Kode,

Do you know if Game_Music_Emu supports HES ADPCM? Your plugin is not compatible with some HES rips like Cyber City OEDO 808 featuring ADPCM samples, which I suspect is down to GME not emulating the Oki MSM5205.


--------------------
Kaminarimon HES Music Archive
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pulstar
post Feb 6 2010, 14:16
Post #112





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 26-January 10
Member No.: 77550



Interesting. i've been using GEP for ripping PCE music for a while now. What games do you know of that use samples?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zilog Jones
post Feb 6 2010, 22:59
Post #113





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 29-April 07
Member No.: 43028



I've noticed that KSS files from games that use the "SCC+" chip (or "enhanced SCC", there's no official name but it's an SCC with more memory and different addressing) do not play correctly in GEP. I suspect it's trying to play them like standard SCC audio. I used to use MSXplug for Winamp which plays them correctly (it could auto-detect if they were SCC or SCC+); I don't know what else does.

SCC+ games are Snatcher, SD Snatcher and the Konami Games Collection series (IIRC some titles in these support it, like Gradius/Nemesis).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 7 2010, 08:40
Post #114





Group: Admin
Posts: 4691
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Kaminari @ Feb 6 2010, 02:10) *
Do you know if Game_Music_Emu supports HES ADPCM?

You are correct, it does not support ADPCM yet. I am working on this, but I need some working rips that use ADPCM. For instance, the rip of Fiend Hunter never clears the interrupt disable flag, so it never plays anything. And even when the interrupt disable flag is cleared manually through debugging, it never writes any sample data to the ADPCM memory, so it produces garbage.

QUOTE (Zilog Jones @ Feb 6 2010, 13:59) *
I've noticed that KSS files from games that use the "SCC+" chip (or "enhanced SCC", there's no official name but it's an SCC with more memory and different addressing) do not play correctly in GEP.

Support is largely untested and doesn't work with most rips for some reason.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zilog Jones
post Feb 7 2010, 14:32
Post #115





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 29-April 07
Member No.: 43028



All the other KSS rips I have seem to work OK now (IIRC support used to be a lot more broken a few years ago) - OPLL (MSX-Music), PSG and standard SCC - only DAC (mostly just used for voice samples) and SCC+ don't.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 7 2010, 17:03
Post #116





Group: Admin
Posts: 4691
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I'm listening to (a) Snatcher KSS file right now. Although I don't have a M3U to go with it, it seems to be a fully functioning rip, if you can get past all the dozens of sound effects.

Okay, I take it back, several of the tracks sound strange and/or broken. I'm not exactly sure what's causing it. Something such as SCC vs SCC+ differences should be causing total failure on improper implementation, not this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kaminari
post Feb 7 2010, 19:21
Post #117





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43124



HES rips which I remember using ADPCM are:

Cyber City OEDO 808
Cychorider
Dragon Slayer (Eiyu Densetsu 1)
Fiend Hunter
Pastel Lime
Star Parodier

You can get them at Kingshriek's place. NEZplug++ plays them correctly.

@Pulstar

Which games did you rip? I'd certainly be interested in listening to them.


--------------------
Kaminarimon HES Music Archive
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 7 2010, 21:33
Post #118





Group: Admin
Posts: 4691
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I've implemented ADPCM support, and verified that it works with all of those rips. (I was looking here, which has broken Fiend Hunter and Pastel Lime rips.)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kaminari
post Feb 7 2010, 23:56
Post #119





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43124



That's my old site... which I haven't touched for some time. Rips should be identical, but maybe Kingshriek has updated his files in the meantime. I will have to check my archives. Thanks for the heads up.

Just gave a quick try to your latest build before calling it a night. ADPCM sounds great so far :) Thanks for your support.


--------------------
Kaminarimon HES Music Archive
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cutter
post Feb 8 2010, 12:35
Post #120





Group: Members
Posts: 272
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 10152



kode54, this Genesis track is playing weirdly with the latest foo_gep. It was playing nicely with a previous version of the component, but sorry, I don't know which version of your component introduced the change. The "good" track is dated march 2009.
Ref (VGZ)
Good Bad

This post has been edited by Cutter: Feb 8 2010, 12:42
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SmartOne
post Feb 9 2010, 00:46
Post #121





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 19-April 09
Member No.: 69083



I think blargg is working on a permanent fix.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 9 2010, 04:25
Post #122





Group: Admin
Posts: 4691
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I uploaded version 1.92, which fixes a problem with LFO handling (something was shifting a table index by 7 bits instead of 8, so something was going twice as fast) and also to the internal timer handling. (Not sure if this had anything to do with it.)

Some SSG-EG VGMs such as Bubba 'n' Stix "The Spaceport" will sound much better now, with envelope repeats no longer running twice as fast as they should.

This also fixes that "Night Mission" track from Red Zone. Yay for Jesper Kyd.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SmartOne
post Feb 9 2010, 04:46
Post #123





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 19-April 09
Member No.: 69083



Thank you! There's an irregularity with Fusion on Toejam and Earl's "Funkotronic Beat." The last note of the bass riff right at the beginning is detuned or something.

Probably the same issue with Vectorman "Options."

This post has been edited by SmartOne: Feb 9 2010, 05:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cutter
post Feb 9 2010, 06:06
Post #124





Group: Members
Posts: 272
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 10152



Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 9 2010, 11:36
Post #125





Group: Admin
Posts: 4691
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



And now, version 1.93, with GYM/VGM DAC panning support.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

16 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 19:02