Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
Question about batch processing
3mdk5
post Aug 11 2004, 21:12
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 16202

Hi. This may seem like a silly question, but I'm new to the whole FLAC thing. I've been using it to decode files I d/l, but not to encode. Now I've done my research and am ready to switch from SHN to FLAC. HOWEVER, I wish to change the options that the standard front-end employs. I can get everything to work from the DOS command line, except the standard "*.wav". In other words, using flac -P 4096 -etc -etc *.wav does NOT work. Is there a way to use the command line (or change the output of the front-end) for a batch of files, without having to type in the name of each individual file?

Thanks for the help,

Matt
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k.m.krebs
post Aug 11 2004, 21:35
Post #2

Member No.: 3145

Flac's CLI doesn't support wildcards at the moment. You'll have to rely on the old standby:
for %1 in (*.wav) do flac -etc %1

--------------------
k.m.krebs \ 833-45: http://833-45.net
+Quote Post
3mdk5
post Aug 11 2004, 23:25
Post #3

Member No.: 16202

Thanks for the help, it worked. Although, it changes the output names to all capitals. Any way to fix that?

Follow-up question:
The frontend creates a batch file in DOS to process the files that looks like this:

@echo off
C:
cd "C:\PROGRAM FILES\FLAC"
win2dos go.bat
flac --delete-input-file -V -5 "F:\Audio Files\Filet01.wav"
echo -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
flac --delete-input-file -V -5 "F:\Audio Files\Filet02.wav"
echo -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How do I create a similar file using the command line you suggested? [for %1 in (*.wav) do flac -V -5 %1] I've tried many ways, but must be missing something. Or maybe I'm just tired...

Thanks again!
+Quote Post
Triza
post Aug 12 2004, 01:32
Post #4

Member No.: 9867