IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Burning Offset Corrected, What programs?
funkyblue
post Jul 17 2004, 01:20
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 28-November 01
From: South Australia
Member No.: 555



Howdy,
I am looking at burning software that will burn "offset" corrected.
Basically I have been ripping with the writing offset added onto the read offset, so when I burn I get a proper copy with offsets set.

This is now an issue as I have a new burner with diffrent write offsets

What I want to do now, is to have all my cd's read offset corrected without the write offset added, so that the original rips are 100% corrected.

Now what I need is a program, that when I burn, I can enter the write "offset" somewhere in the program so that it burns with 100% corrected offsets.

I am using my Plextor PX-712A.

I know EAC can burn "offset" corrected, but it's a horribile program to work with when it comes to burning discs.

Can NERO write offset corrected? If not what other programs are there?

Cheers and Thanks,
Burgerings

P.S Please don't tell me, not to worry about offsets, i want to!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
M
post Jul 17 2004, 01:50
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 964
Joined: 29-December 01
Member No.: 830



To date, I know of no other program able to support write offsets. A year ago someone asked Jörg Schilling whether this could be implemented in the CDRTools suite:
QUOTE
>From: "David Williams" <david_h_williams@hotmail.com>

>First of all, I would like extend my profound thanks to Mr. Schilling for
>creating, and making freely available, a simply outstanding program.

>My question is in regards to possible future development, and if the ability
>to set read and write offsets is planned.  If it is not, I would like to go
>on record as being one user who would be very interested in these features.

This is a question you need to ask Heiko...

Jörg

EMail:joerg@schily.isdn.cs.tu-berlin.de (home) Jörg Schilling D-13353 Berlin
       js@cs.tu-berlin.de  (uni)  If you don't have iso-8859-1
       schilling@fokus.fraunhofer.de (work) chars I am J"org Schilling
URL:  http://www.fokus.fraunhofer.de/usr/schilling ftp://ftp.berlios.de/pub/schily

... but so far there has been no further comment on the possibility of adding this feature. If you are among those interested, feel free to write Jörg and express your opinion (just remember to also thank him for his work, and above all be polite!).

- M.

Edit: Forgot to close the quote.

This post has been edited by M: Jul 17 2004, 01:52
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
funkyblue
post Jul 17 2004, 02:09
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 28-November 01
From: South Australia
Member No.: 555



Howdy,
MMM, Thats no good...
I wonder if the developer of Burrrn would be interested in implimenting write offset correction? Or any other developer of software...
IWhat do people do to get around this?
Cheers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mmortal03
post Jul 17 2004, 02:27
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 601
Joined: 19-July 02
From: USA
Member No.: 2667



QUOTE (burgerings @ Jul 16 2004, 08:09 PM)
Howdy,
MMM, Thats no good...
I wonder if the developer of Burrrn would be interested in implimenting write offset correction? Or any other developer of software...
IWhat do people do to get around this?
Cheers
*


The next version of Burrrn will have it:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....ndpost&p=223432


--------------------
WARNING: Changing of advanced parameters might degrade sound quality. Modify them only if you are expirienced in audio compression!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tec9SD
post Jul 17 2004, 03:05
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 21-June 03
From: S. East, U.S.
Member No.: 7317



No, Nero does not.
PlexTools burns 0± offset, IIRC.
It seems like there was at least one more but my mind is cloudy.
All Plextors that I know of use -30 Write Offset, if you were using a Plextor before.
It's really better not to use combined offset for archiving, as it appears you've seen.
tec
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
funkyblue
post Jul 18 2004, 14:36
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 28-November 01
From: South Australia
Member No.: 555



WOW! That will be GREAT when Burrn support write offsets...Can't wait..smile.gif
is there an ETA?
Cheers,
Burgerings

This post has been edited by burgerings: Jul 18 2004, 14:38
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Never_Again
post Jul 18 2004, 16:51
Post #7





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 698
Joined: 31-March 04
From: NYC
Member No.: 13152



PlexToolsPro applies both the read and the write offsets automatically, at least with Premium and PX-712.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
castlerock12000
post Jul 31 2004, 15:43
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 26-July 04
Member No.: 15784



Hi, I have the Plextor 712A as well. This drive has a +ve read offset of +30 and a -ve write offset of -30. So, the combined offset is 0. Thus, if you read and write not using any offsets at all, then your clone will be exactly the same offset as the original.

But, if you want to store un-offseted rips, then you will need to set EAC to +30 and apply -30 to your writer.

Hope this helps.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
precisionist
post Aug 13 2004, 20:03
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 739
Joined: 16-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 11279



QUOTE
This drive has a +ve read offset of +30 and a -ve write offset of -30.

Ah, you mean your writer has a read and write offset of both -30 samples and a read and write offset correction of both +30 samples. EAC is inconsistent in using the correction/actual values. Look in this post of mine.
I wonder if it's normal (or necessary ?) that a writer's write offset is the same like its read offset. I haven't seen mentioned different offsets so far.


--------------------
I know that I know nothing. But how can I then know that ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pio2001
post Aug 16 2004, 20:04
Post #10


Moderator


Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3936
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 73



Have you ??
Most burners have different read and write offset. Browse http://www.offsetbase.eac-audio.de/offset-en.php
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
funkyblue
post Nov 3 2004, 22:56
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 28-November 01
From: South Australia
Member No.: 555



Any more news on Burrn Supporting this much needed feature?
Cheers,
Burgerings
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
batagy
post Nov 22 2004, 15:24
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 26-October 04
Member No.: 17847



Hi!

I found a little command line tool, which is able to modify an offset of a wav file on the hard disk. If a burner doesn't support write offset, we can modify the offset before burning. Name: Fix Wav Offset. Link:
http://www.lameb.fsnet.co.uk/
It's included in the Lameb distribution file. It requires Perl for Windows.

Has anybody any experiences with this tool?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
funkyblue
post Dec 29 2005, 13:54
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 28-November 01
From: South Australia
Member No.: 555



Anyone know of any programs lately that allow you to set the write offset smile.gif
Cheers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DARcode
post Dec 29 2005, 14:38
Post #14





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 682
Joined: 10-January 05
From: Italy
Member No.: 18968



QUOTE (burgerings @ Dec 29 2005, 02:54 PM)
Anyone know of any programs lately that allow you to set the write offset smile.gif
Cheers
*

EAC + CDRDAO package ("Writer" tab of the "Drive Options..."):
http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/eac6.html


--------------------
WavPack 4.70.0 -b384hx6cmv/qaac 2.43 -V 100
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
funkyblue
post Dec 29 2005, 15:22
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 28-November 01
From: South Australia
Member No.: 555



QUOTE (DARcode @ Dec 29 2005, 10:38 PM)
QUOTE (burgerings @ Dec 29 2005, 02:54 PM)
Anyone know of any programs lately that allow you to set the write offset smile.gif
Cheers
*

EAC + CDRDAO package ("Writer" tab of the "Drive Options..."):
http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/eac6.html
*



Yes, I know this..I want a simple program like Burrn or BurnAtOnce to be able to do it..EAC is hard to use..Have a read of this thread smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rutra80
post Dec 29 2005, 21:49
Post #16





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 810
Joined: 12-September 03
Member No.: 8821



To make things clear, setting a write offset can be implemented in two ways:
1. By over-writing given number of samples to lead-in or lead-out
2. By shifting audio data by a number of samples before burning (so you lose some samples at the beginning or end of the disc)
Unfortunately EAC (+CDRDAO) does the 2nd thing, so it's only a half-solution which you can do by hand in any decent audio editor. Some versions ago it supported over-writing on some Teac drives, but AFAIK it is disabled in the newer versions.
More details in this topic.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Dec 30 2005, 06:22
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



QUOTE (rutra80 @ Dec 29 2005, 09:49 PM)
To make things clear, setting a write offset can be implemented in two ways:
1. By over-writing given number of samples to lead-in or lead-out
2. By shifting audio data by a number of samples before burning (so you lose some samples at the beginning or end of the disc)

Write offset correction is about shifting the audio data burned to disc, and over-writing is just an added element to this. Also you can't over-write into the lead-out without shifting the audio data...
QUOTE
Unfortunately EAC (+CDRDAO) does the 2nd thing, so it's only a half-solution which you can do by hand in any decent audio editor. Some versions ago it supported over-writing on some Teac drives, but AFAIK it is disabled in the newer versions.
More details in this topic.
*

EAC's internal writing routines has over-writing into the lead-out enabled for : Teac 56-600, 56-400 and 58. When using cdrdao as writing engine in EAC, then over-writing isn't possible...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sasho
post Feb 12 2006, 17:15
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 21-June 05
Member No.: 22878



QUOTE (mmortal03 @ Jul 16 2004, 07:27 PM)
QUOTE (burgerings @ Jul 16 2004, 08:09 PM)
Howdy,
MMM, Thats no good...
I wonder if the developer of Burrrn would be interested in implimenting write offset correction? Or any other developer of software...
IWhat do people do to get around this?
Cheers
*


The next version of Burrrn will have it:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....ndpost&p=223432
*




I do have 1.14 b2 and don't know where to adjust the write offset
would you help me
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Feb 13 2006, 03:33
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



Gambit has offset corrected writing on his todo list for Burrrn v1.14 Final.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Moitah
post Feb 13 2006, 19:47
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 5-June 02
From: Virginia Beach, VA
Member No.: 2227



WAV Tools can offset WAVs so you can burn with whatever you want.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sasho
post Feb 14 2006, 20:26
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 21-June 05
Member No.: 22878



are there to this moment other programs exept eac which do write with offset correction
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
valnar
post May 17 2006, 15:27
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 100
Joined: 31-December 02
Member No.: 4330



QUOTE (Martin H @ Feb 12 2006, 18:33) *
Gambit has offset corrected writing on his todo list for Burrrn v1.14 Final.


Any news on this?

Robert
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 15:12