IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Foobar2000 0.82 & MKA, Some bugs...
Žom
post Jun 14 2004, 23:59
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 11-January 04
Member No.: 11143



First of all, sorry for my English, I'm French...

I had an original CD.
I extracted it in separated files per track (I get the timecode of each chapter).
Then I reassemble them into single flac file.
I muxed it into a chaptered MKA (with the eventual pb I explained here in French).

PROBLEM 1
The more important problem is that Foobar2000 crashes at the end of the last track (defined by the last chapter) when output method is "DirectSound v1/2", and Windows crashes when output method is "Kernel"...

It chrashed at the end of the last track:
- when playing,
- when replaygaining,
- when transcoding...

I think I know where is the problem:
- my original flac file has 138278196 samples (read in Foobar2000 file properties).
- my mka file has 138281415 samples (3219 more than the flac).
- when I re-extract flac from mka, it has 138278196 samples...
So I think when foobar is reading the 3219 virtual samples, it crashes...

PROBLEM 2
There's another problem:
When I read one track properties (defined by chapters) in the mka, for example, I have 976080 samples, and when I convert it into flac separated file (with flac transport layer), it has 976079 samples, so 1 sample is missing...
Not very much, but after that the album is not lossless!

I think the problem come from round time chapters (read here in French).
- 1/44100 has infinite of numbers after point, so the precision of nanosecond is an approximation...

CODE
+----+ is a sample
|      is a chapter

WHAT HAPPENS :
+----+----+----+----+----+----+----+----+----+  AUDIO STREAM
              |                |                CHAPTERS STREAM
..track1..]    [....track2....]    [..track3..  after cut

WHAT WE WANT TO GET :
+----+----+----+----+----+----+----+----+----+  AUDIO STREAM
              |                |                CHAPTERS STREAM
....track1....][...track2....][....track3.....  after cut


So to resolve the problem, I think Foobar has to consider the approximation of nanosecond, considering the round is by default (6.1 --> 6 ; 6.9 --> 6, not 6.9 --> 7)



That would be great if these bugs can be fixed in futures versions smile.gif

Thanks for your work biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Žom: Jun 15 2004, 11:46
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WarBird
post Jun 15 2004, 07:08
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 167
Joined: 25-December 03
Member No.: 10688



Maybe you'd be interested in reading this.
QUOTE
So: A file created with 0.8.6 works, 0.8.7 itself crashes (mkvmerge), a file created with 0.8.8 crashes foobar?

Try using 0.8.6 for muxing. Should make mka files that play in foobar.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Žom
post Jun 15 2004, 08:17
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 11-January 04
Member No.: 11143



QUOTE (WarBird @ Jun 14 2004, 10:08 PM)
Maybe you'd be interested in reading this.
QUOTE
So: A file created with 0.8.6 works, 0.8.7 itself crashes (mkvmerge), a file created with 0.8.8 crashes foobar?

Try using 0.8.6 for muxing. Should make mka files that play in foobar.

Arf, 0.86 doesn't support tagging @ nanosecond sad.gif(
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Žom
post Jun 15 2004, 09:01
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 11-January 04
Member No.: 11143



The same file MKA doesn't crashes MediaPlayerClassic... So I think the problem come from a Foobar2000 bug sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Žom
post Jun 17 2004, 11:23
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 11-January 04
Member No.: 11143



Is it possible for developpers to fix these bugs?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WarBird
post Jun 17 2004, 11:35
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 167
Joined: 25-December 03
Member No.: 10688



I'm waiting in suspense for the next beta wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Žom
post Jun 24 2004, 12:17
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 11-January 04
Member No.: 11143



Foobar seems to crash at the end only if the muxed stream in mka is flac, it seems to not crash with ogg in mka ...

This post has been edited by Žom: Jun 24 2004, 12:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tiki4
post Jun 24 2004, 17:17
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 30-September 03
Member No.: 9084



Yep, I experienced this as well. It only crashes on files containing FLAC. Well, I think FLAC is the only MKA contained audio format that is not handled by the foo_input_std component. So possibly the bug is not necessarily in foo_matroska but in the FLAC component??

I hope Peter will find the time to look into this, as mkvtoolnix is developing extremely fast and I don't like to stick with an extra version in the future.

tiki4
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Žom
post Jun 24 2004, 17:42
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 11-January 04
Member No.: 11143



QUOTE (tiki4 @ Jun 24 2004, 08:17 AM)
Yep, I experienced this as well. It only crashes on files containing FLAC. Well, I think FLAC is the only MKA contained audio format that is not handled by the foo_input_std component. So possibly the bug is not necessarily in foo_matroska but in the FLAC component??

I hope Peter will find the time to look into this, as mkvtoolnix is developing extremely fast and I don't like to stick with an extra version in the future.

tiki4

smile.gif

I tried to mux a flac encoded with an ogg transport layer, same problem...
And I saw another bug: I can't tag a flac with ogg as transport layer with foobar without crash...

And will the 2nd problem can be corrected? It will be great smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Žom
post Jul 23 2004, 06:35
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 11-January 04
Member No.: 11143



The first pb is half-resolved (foobar doesn't crash anymore) with foo_matroska 0.6.

...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Prodoc
post Jul 23 2004, 15:17
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 241
Joined: 16-October 03
Member No.: 9335



When foobar crashes, do you get an error log? If so, please post it.

[edit]
P.s. you might want to check out this thread as well: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....topic=24096&hl=
[/edit]

This post has been edited by Prodoc: Jul 23 2004, 15:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Žom
post Jul 23 2004, 15:34
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 11-January 04
Member No.: 11143



QUOTE (Prodoc @ Jul 23 2004, 06:17 AM)
When foobar crashes, do you get an error log? If so, please post it.

[edit]
P.s. you might want to check out this thread as well: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....topic=24096&hl=
[/edit]
*

It doesn't crash anymore, with foo_matroska 0.6, but there are bugs in number of samples sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lobuz
post Jul 23 2004, 16:38
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 22-February 03
Member No.: 5130



Anyone tryied TTA (+CUE) in MKA? I have some problems with it. It even doesn't want to play in foobar. Tested on latest "mkvtoolnix-0.9.3-build20040723-1".
"ERROR (foo_matroska) : Matroska: unable to find a "A_TTA1" packet decoder object."

Regards
Lobuz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tiki4
post Jul 26 2004, 08:36
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 30-September 03
Member No.: 9084



@Lobuz:

There is no packet decoder for TTA yet. This is a required feature to decode any format from Matroska in foobar2000. For now only MP2/3, AAC, Vorbis and FLAC are working (maybe also uncompressed PCM, don't know).

Regards,

tiki4

P.S.: Your TTA/MKA files should play in any DirectShow based player with the MatroskaSplitter and TTA DirectShow filters posted here recently.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Žom
post Jul 26 2004, 19:23
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 11-January 04
Member No.: 11143



Same problem with REPLAYGAIN: applying replaygain on mka doesn't make the same results (-8.93dB instead of -8.94dB for example)...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Žom
post Aug 5 2004, 17:41
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 11-January 04
Member No.: 11143



QUOTE (Žom @ Jul 26 2004, 10:23 AM)
Same problem with REPLAYGAIN: applying replaygain on mka doesn't make the same results (-8.93dB instead of -8.94dB for example)...
*

It's because of ms accuracy of seeking...

I'm waiting Mosu to make new mmg smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 14:47