IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

13 Pages V  « < 5 6 7 8 9 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_dsp_continuator, crossfading plugin
Cpt. Footure
post Oct 5 2005, 13:10
Post #151





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 12-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 11164



QUOTE (McPhatty @ Sep 17 2005, 08:56 PM)
This appears to be a most powerful and felixible component for foobar. I am a recent convert from Winamp. It's cool to see something so powerful also be so supported- If more developers were like Cpt. Footure, there'd be a lot more killer software out there.

I promise I am not an idiot! headbang.gif

But for the life of me, I cannot get the continuator to crossfade. Crossfade implies that two songs are playing at once, as one ends and the next begins, correct?

Is there any documentation for this?

Are there presets available, or a list of "working" settings so I can test it out?

I have been testing with different continuator settings and a bunch of different mp3's for over an hour- I actually had it fading out at one point (can't figure out how to get back to that point) but still never got it to crossfade.

Any help would really be appreciated!
*
Hi,
currently there's no documentation, but if i will find some time...

Getting Continuator to do crossfading is actually pretty easy (at least from my point of view wink.gif):
use the following settings to overlap two tracks by 20 sec, ie. new track starts 20s before end of old track
mode: crossfade
buffer length: 20000
crossfade length: 20000

now you can configure the fading curves and lengths which are independent from the crossfade length, eg. for a 5s fade-out and a 10s fade-in with linear curves:
fade-out curve: linear
fade-out length: 5000
fade-in curve: linear
fade-in length: 10000

maybe a little 'visualization' will help :
CODE
time ->
-------------------------------------------------------|                       old track
                                            |----------|                       fade-out
                |------------------------------------------------------------  new track
                |--------------------|                                         fade-in
                |--------------------------------------|                       crossfade

bye.


ps: as mentionend above i'm already working on a preset feature
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cpt. Footure
post Oct 5 2005, 13:54
Post #152





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 12-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 11164



QUOTE (Squeller @ Sep 17 2005, 05:54 PM)
Thx Lyx for the quote. But as the plugin pre-reads according to its buffer settings, what does prevent it from deciding from the original material and then performing its fading/not fading action?
*
Hi,
the problem is that you can only pre-read within one track and not across track boundaries. So you have to base your FADE-OUT decision on the material from the current track and you (me) only get to see the new track AFTER the old one has been processed.

Bye.

ps: right now i have decoupled the fade-out / fade-in lengths from the overlap length, before that i could only perform fading within the overlapping period. Maybe i can find a better way to handle it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
iStormy
post Nov 30 2005, 00:41
Post #153





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 8-April 05
Member No.: 21293



[removed]

This post has been edited by iStormy: Apr 28 2009, 23:28
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lyx
post Nov 30 2005, 00:56
Post #154





Group: Members
Posts: 3353
Joined: 6-July 03
From: Sachsen (DE)
Member No.: 7609



Make sure that samplerates are identical - if necessary, add a resampler-DSP before continuator in the DSP-chain.


--------------------
I am arrogant and I can afford it because I deliver.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
iStormy
post Nov 30 2005, 02:59
Post #155





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 8-April 05
Member No.: 21293



[removed]

This post has been edited by iStormy: Apr 28 2009, 23:28
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post Mar 9 2006, 14:19
Post #156





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



foo_dsp_continuator doesn't work on my notebook. It has a freshly installed Windows2000sp4 and a fresh fb2k installation.

If I visit the continuator settings in preferences foobar crashes: "[Microsoft Visual C++ runtime library] Abnormal program termination"

I used the dependency walker to see if all dlls are there. Yes. All modules are found (esp. msvcr71.dll and msvcp71.dll)

I have no idea why it doesn't work.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Melomane
post Apr 1 2006, 00:04
Post #157





Group: Members
Posts: 643
Joined: 13-January 03
From: Marseille
Member No.: 4552



Cpt. Footure, do you want port continuator to 0.9?


--------------------
Music is my first love.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Stuart60611
post Apr 7 2006, 16:56
Post #158





Group: Members
Posts: 384
Joined: 12-June 05
Member No.: 22685



Is anyone working on porting continuator to .9? G-Lite did a great job porting track info and album art pannel. Perhaps somone could solicit his assistance?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Supacon
post Apr 7 2006, 22:27
Post #159





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 543
Joined: 19-March 04
From: Alberta, Canada
Member No.: 12841



I too would love to see this one ported. I may be willing to contribute a small donation or bounty to the one who does it. I'll try to get ahold of Cpt. Footure first, since he's the one whe rightfully deserves it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Stuart60611
post Apr 7 2006, 23:51
Post #160





Group: Members
Posts: 384
Joined: 12-June 05
Member No.: 22685



QUOTE (Supacon @ Apr 7 2006, 04:27 PM) *
I too would love to see this one ported. I may be willing to contribute a small donation or bounty to the one who does it. I'll try to get ahold of Cpt. Footure first, since he's the one whe rightfully deserves it.



I'll add my two cents!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Silversight
post Apr 8 2006, 18:35
Post #161





Group: Members
Posts: 310
Joined: 5-April 06
From: Aachen, Germany
Member No.: 29203



QUOTE (Stuart60611 @ Apr 7 2006, 11:51 PM) *
QUOTE (Supacon @ Apr 7 2006, 04:27 PM) *

I too would love to see this one ported. I may be willing to contribute a small donation or bounty to the one who does it. I'll try to get ahold of Cpt. Footure first, since he's the one whe rightfully deserves it.



I'll add my two cents!

Same here! This is the single one component whose non-existence keeps me from uninstalling foobar2k 0.8.3


--------------------
Nothing is impossible if you don't need to do it yourself.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cpt. Footure
post Apr 9 2006, 09:59
Post #162





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 12-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 11164



Hi guys,
believe me, i'm really willing to port continuator to 0.9, it's just that i don't have time to do it. I don't even know how much work it would be, as i didn't have a look at the 0.9 SDK yet. I already offered to release the source code a (long) while ago but there seemed to be no interest back then. But i think now it's different and i'll upload the sources during this week.

bye.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Stuart60611
post Apr 9 2006, 14:06
Post #163





Group: Members
Posts: 384
Joined: 12-June 05
Member No.: 22685



QUOTE (Cpt. Footure @ Apr 9 2006, 03:59 AM) *
Hi guys,
believe me, i'm really willing to port continuator to 0.9, it's just that i don't have time to do it. I don't even know how much work it would be, as i didn't have a look at the 0.9 SDK yet. I already offered to release the source code a (long) while ago but there seemed to be no interest back then. But i think now it's different and i'll upload the sources during this week.

bye.



Great! Once you upload the source code, I know that there are a lot of people who are interested in porting continuator to .9, and I am sure someone will step up and port it. Thanks and anxiously awaiting the source code.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
G-Lite
post Apr 10 2006, 22:05
Post #164





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 62
Joined: 24-December 05
Member No.: 26611



I didn't know there was a crossfade alternative! And since crossfade hasn't been ported yet, I'd be happy to do this, actually. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Silversight
post Apr 10 2006, 22:36
Post #165





Group: Members
Posts: 310
Joined: 5-April 06
From: Aachen, Germany
Member No.: 29203



QUOTE (G-Lite @ Apr 10 2006, 11:05 PM) *
I didn't know there was a crossfade alternative! And since crossfade hasn't been ported yet, I'd be happy to do this, actually. smile.gif


This is not just an alternative. This is a glimpse of the Holy Grail of crossfading.

And as my beloved Dr. Klahn would say: You have our gratitude!


--------------------
Nothing is impossible if you don't need to do it yourself.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lyx
post Apr 11 2006, 00:08
Post #166





Group: Members
Posts: 3353
Joined: 6-July 03
From: Sachsen (DE)
Member No.: 7609



Go Cpt. Footure & G-Lite! :-)


--------------------
I am arrogant and I can afford it because I deliver.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DeepDose
post Apr 11 2006, 00:13
Post #167





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 3-April 04
Member No.: 13211



This is the last .9 component I'll need....Thanks G-Lite for taking it on!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Supacon
post Apr 11 2006, 02:30
Post #168





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 543
Joined: 19-March 04
From: Alberta, Canada
Member No.: 12841



I would certainly appreciate that G-Lite. That's too bad Cpt. Footure is too busy, but yeah, let me know when it's working and I'll donate something for your efforts.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ears
post Apr 11 2006, 04:12
Post #169





Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 13-October 01
From: alt. 30,000 ft.
Member No.: 284



Capt. Footure & G-lite: while we're at it, would it be possible to port the Direct Sound 2.5 (foo_out_dsound_ex2) as well? I know the good captain mentioned that he simply modified the original dsound 2 output: is that possible again with the new foobar? It's the combo of those two plugs that makes for a truly seamless, musical crossfading environment. I have one small suggestion that maybe could be incorporated: you'll find it near the end of this thread: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index...._out_dsound_ex2

Thanks and good luck.


ears
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Stuart60611
post Apr 11 2006, 04:16
Post #170





Group: Members
Posts: 384
Joined: 12-June 05
Member No.: 22685



[Delete Me]

This post has been edited by Stuart60611: Apr 11 2006, 04:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cpt. Footure
post Apr 11 2006, 08:16
Post #171





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 12-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 11164



Hi guys,
i've uploaded the continuator sources and also the DirectSound 2.5 sources.

Enjoy.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TrNSZ
post Apr 11 2006, 09:20
Post #172





Group: Developer
Posts: 717
Joined: 25-September 01
Member No.: 20



There is no SDK for output plugins available for 0.9 at this time.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Supacon
post Apr 11 2006, 10:44
Post #173





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 543
Joined: 19-March 04
From: Alberta, Canada
Member No.: 12841



Ooh... I actually didn't realize that output in foobar 0.9 didn't have crossfading. I too would like to see that one implemented, but for now, continuator is much more important.

When I use foobar2000 to DJ (playing background music, et al), continuator keeps the music going seamlessly, and the directsound 2 crossfading allows me to switch tracks and stuff in a way that sounds very smooth and natural, as if I were actually crossfading in a mixer.

(So that's my big secret... I use it when I'm too lazy to DJ for real smile.gif )
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
oshah
post Apr 11 2006, 12:51
Post #174





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 24-June 05
Member No.: 22934



Thanks for the sources. A couple of questions.

You seem to make use of XML to write what used to be a xml config file. However, that code doesn't seem to be used anymore. I get the feeling this used to be legacy code. If so, can we remove the entire XML parsing support from the code (and eliminate the need for IE5)?

You use a play_callback object to get notified when a seek occurs, but it no longer seems to be necessary. Is there some debug code that was removed (which needs to know when the track is seeking)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
G-Lite
post Apr 11 2006, 13:22
Post #175





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 62
Joined: 24-December 05
Member No.: 26611



Here's a direct port of the plugin, consider it beta:
http://stephan.kochen.nl/proj/foobar2000.html#continuator

Technical note: taking care of the foobar related stuff was easy, but I encountered some STL errors related to vector iterators. There might be some more I haven't bumped into yet, but the plugin is working in both modes from what I've tested so far. Visual C++ 2005 has gotten alot more strict regarding STL.

This thing is also not using the preset interface yet. But it should work well enough for playback purposes.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

13 Pages V  « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th October 2014 - 02:35