IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
AAC in AVI?
razor1000
post Dec 2 2003, 20:41
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-December 01
Member No.: 774



I would like to put an AAC audio track into an AVI, but I'm having trouble.

I know that I need a WAV wrapper for it, but I can't seem to find a tool new enough to be certain that it won't lose sync.

I found a copy of Nic's AAC2WAV from his "crappy beta" release, but he notes that it will lose sync with the video (because it doesn't use AAC parser?)

I've installed the latest CoreAAC DShow filters, but they don't play AAC without a wrapper.

Putting AAC inside an MP4 with video works, but I don't want to use MP4 if I can avoid it.

I would like to provide my content to viewers with the smallest amount of codec/filter installation possible, and I would very much like them to be able to use the default media player (WMP).

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Latexxx
post Dec 2 2003, 20:57
Post #2


A/V Moderator


Group: Members
Posts: 858
Joined: 12-May 03
From: Finland
Member No.: 6557



It isn't possible to put aac to avi without some hacks which nobody has made (and will never make). The easiest way is to use Matroska.

Ps. You should have posted this to Digital Audio/Video - Container formats section.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
razor1000
post Dec 2 2003, 21:26
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-December 01
Member No.: 774



I didn't realize that group existed.

Can someone move this thread there?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Dec 2 2003, 21:31
Post #4


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (razor1000 @ Dec 2 2003, 05:41 PM)
I've installed the latest CoreAAC DShow filters, but they don't play AAC without a wrapper.

You don't need a wrapper. Use the AAC parser directshow filter

http://rarewares.hydrogenaudio.org/files/a.../aac_parser.zip


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
razor1000
post Dec 2 2003, 21:38
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-December 01
Member No.: 774



QUOTE
You don't need a wrapper. Use the AAC parser directshow filter

So, how do I get it in an AVI without a WAV wrapper?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Dec 2 2003, 21:42
Post #6


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (razor1000 @ Dec 2 2003, 06:38 PM)
So, how do I get it in an AVI without a WAV wrapper?

With graphedit. Do some research


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
razor1000
post Dec 2 2003, 22:24
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-December 01
Member No.: 774



I have done LOTS of research and come up pretty empty. Most of the documentation is either obsolete or independent of other efforts. While I am quite saavy, it has been difficult to put it all together.

Places like doom9 and digital-digest exist because people want to know how to do this stuff without having to research from scratch.

Unfortunately nobody has done a HOWTO or FAQ on this. At least not one that I have found.

This post has been edited by razor1000: Dec 2 2003, 22:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sergelac
post Dec 2 2003, 22:25
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 19-November 03
From: Québec
Member No.: 9923



*EDIT*

This post has been edited by sergelac: Dec 2 2003, 22:27


--------------------
Worms Armageddon Maps & Schemes : http://sergelac.cjb.cc/maps/maps.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Latexxx
post Dec 3 2003, 20:10
Post #9


A/V Moderator


Group: Members
Posts: 858
Joined: 12-May 03
From: Finland
Member No.: 6557



The method described by rjamorim doesn't work. Below is an image showing the method and its problem which is more than the image can show you. You can find more information on Graphedit from Doom9's guides. This topic is now closed because of its similarity to the other one in this same forum.
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th November 2014 - 07:40