IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
AAC in AVI container, (+ war on extending avi capabilities)
Todesengel
post Nov 13 2003, 09:50
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 3-September 03
Member No.: 8658



please tell me someone - how can I warp AAC files into AVI container? I can use MP4 but I want to try AVI. Maybe VirtualDubMod can do it? I know it can manage AC3, OGG and MP3.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
menno
post Nov 13 2003, 09:52
Post #2


Nero MPEG4 developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1218
Joined: 11-October 01
From: LA
Member No.: 267



You need a working AAC ACM codec for that I think. I say working, cause there exists one, but it doesn't really work in it's current shape.

Menno
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChristianHJW
post Nov 13 2003, 23:12
Post #3


Matroska developer


Group: Members
Posts: 922
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 74



AAC in AVI is possible in principal, but to be 100% AVI spec compliant it needed to be CBR ( Constant Bitrate ). Of course, maybe the same hack as with VBR MP3 in AVI would work, but then you cant use an ACM codec anymore but have to hardcode AAC support into the AVI writing app, like VirtualdubMod. Cyrius, the main dev of it, has no intention do so he once told me ....


--------------------
Support matroska - the bestest vapourware project ! http://www.matroska.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kl33per
post Nov 14 2003, 09:20
Post #4


A/V Moderator


Group: Members
Posts: 841
Joined: 9-June 03
From: Brisbane, AUS
Member No.: 7078



QUOTE (ChristianHJW @ Nov 14 2003, 08:12 AM)
AAC in AVI is possible in principal, but to be 100% AVI spec compliant it needed to be CBR ( Constant Bitrate ). Of course, maybe the same hack as with VBR MP3 in AVI would work, but then you cant use an ACM codec anymore but have to hardcode AAC support into the AVI writing app, like VirtualdubMod. Cyrius, the main dev of it, has no intention do so he once told me ....

And now that we have the beautiful, wonderful, and extensible Matroska, we really don't have much need for it.


--------------------
www.sessions.com.au - Sessions Entertainment
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
danchr
post Nov 15 2003, 14:20
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 487
Joined: 6-April 03
From: Århus, Denmark
Member No.: 5861



QUOTE (kl33per @ Nov 14 2003, 09:20 AM)
And now that we have the beautiful, wonderful, and extensible Matroska, we really don't have much need for it.

Or the variation:

And now that we have the beautiful, wonderful, and extensible MP4, we really don't have much need for it.

You'll even be conforming to an ISO standard smile.gif If you don't want to use MPEG-4 or H.263 video, you can try the MOV file format.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wkwai
post Nov 22 2003, 09:57
Post #6


MPEG4 AAC developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 398
Joined: 1-June 03
Member No.: 6943



Do you need to register with Microsoft if you are going to use AAC within the AVI container? Do you need some kind of Microsoft Development Tool Kits to develope an ACM codec?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NumLOCK
post Nov 22 2003, 10:26
Post #7


Neutrino G-RSA developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 852
Joined: 8-May 02
From: Geneva
Member No.: 2002



QUOTE (wkwai @ Nov 22 2003, 09:57 AM)
Do you need to register with Microsoft if you are going to use AAC within the AVI container? Do you need some kind of Microsoft Development Tool Kits to develope an ACM codec?

I guess you'd need Visual C++, an open-source ACM audio codec (LAME's ?), some patience and lots of motivation.

About Microsoft: they consider AVI as an obsolete format, and they don't support or help independant developers (because they don't need nor like them). So don't expect much from them.

Good luck !


--------------------
Try Leeloo Chat at http://leeloo.webhop.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wkwai
post Nov 22 2003, 11:03
Post #8


MPEG4 AAC developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 398
Joined: 1-June 03
Member No.: 6943



Ahhh... I remembered that in my former company.. we had to hire a Master Degree person just to crack the windows 95 AVI driver because there is No documentation by Microsoft.. Something like "Windows 95 Hacked"..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChristianHJW
post Nov 23 2003, 00:03
Post #9


Matroska developer


Group: Members
Posts: 922
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 74



QUOTE (NumLOCK @ Nov 22 2003, 09:26 AM)
About Microsoft: they consider AVI as an obsolete format, and they don't support or help independant developers (because they don't need nor like them). So don't expect much from them.

I just hope nody will really think about making an AAC ACM codec.

The Indians have/had a saying i was told :

'Once you recognize you are riding a dead horse, leave it behind and get a new one ...'

wink.gif .....


--------------------
Support matroska - the bestest vapourware project ! http://www.matroska.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alexnoe
post Dec 3 2003, 16:46
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 83
Joined: 22-May 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 6757



If AAC has constant frame duration, then the MP3 hack would work, but according to the specs I have, AAC can have variable frame duration...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
menno
post Dec 3 2003, 16:50
Post #11


Nero MPEG4 developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1218
Joined: 11-October 01
From: LA
Member No.: 267



QUOTE (alexnoe @ Dec 3 2003, 04:46 PM)
If AAC has constant frame duration, then the MP3 hack would work, but according to the specs I have, AAC can have variable frame duration...

It has constant frame duration. The frame duration can only change from file to file, not in a file.

Menno
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alexnoe
post Dec 3 2003, 16:55
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 83
Joined: 22-May 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 6757



Ah! So it is similar to DTS. I yet want to see a DTS file with variable frame duration tongue.gif

Then it is possible to hack it into AVI
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChristianHJW
post Dec 3 2003, 17:02
Post #13


Matroska developer


Group: Members
Posts: 922
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 74



QUOTE (alexnoe @ Dec 3 2003, 03:55 PM)
Then it is possible to hack it into AVI

ohmy.gif ohmy.gif BEWARE !!!!! ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

If that happens, i immediately quit my job on Vdub Support Forums, sorry Avery Lee sad.gif ..... ohmy.gif we have enough people coming there asking why this and that doesnt work in Vdub, AAC audio in AVI would certainly be the final thing to make me leave there ph34r.gif !

Of course, before alexnoe will kick my ass now, this is not a limitation of AVI, but of the VfW/VCM API and Vdub tongue.gif ....


--------------------
Support matroska - the bestest vapourware project ! http://www.matroska.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Dec 3 2003, 17:12
Post #14


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



Good lord... >_<


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Linkin
post Dec 3 2003, 18:41
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 257
Joined: 9-May 02
From: Germany
Member No.: 2009



why not just use another container before hacking avi?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Dec 3 2003, 18:43
Post #16


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



Maybe because AVI is the most widely used and supported container... ?


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alexnoe
post Dec 3 2003, 18:51
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 83
Joined: 22-May 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 6757



Hacking it is fun! That's all! Who would ever have though that you can not only put SSA into AVI, but that even splitting/joining files, even if the styles differ, would work out biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bonzi
post Dec 3 2003, 19:11
Post #18


A/V Moderator


Group: Members
Posts: 278
Joined: 22-February 03
Member No.: 5132



Hehe, Nic once made a program which put aac into wav so you could mux it into avi, it used to be available on rarewares but I can't find it there anymore. It was called Nic's crappy beta IIRC. It didn't work all that well either.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Dec 3 2003, 19:17
Post #19


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (Bonzi @ Dec 3 2003, 04:11 PM)
Hehe, Nic once made a program which put aac into wav so you could mux it into avi, it used to be available on rarewares but I can't find it there anymore.  It was called Nic's crappy beta IIRC.  It didn't work all that well either.

Well, Nic did that so that AAC could be played on DirectShow. That's the reason of the hackish WAV wrapping.

I deleted it because nowadays there are more elegant ways of loading AAC in dshow (wrapping in MP4 or using the AAC parser filter). Also, his directshow filter was based on FAAD1, which is slower and less featureful than faad2 (used in CoreAAC).

Regards;

Roberto.


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
razor1000
post Dec 3 2003, 20:24
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-December 01
Member No.: 774



In the other thread I started on this topic Latexxx notes that the AAC parser filter isn't working. Is he correct?

It seems like he might just be missing a filter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DAvenger
post Dec 3 2003, 20:30
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 252
Joined: 15-May 03
From: Bratislava, SK
Member No.: 6640



I wonder why Nic named it "crappy beta" laugh.gif


--------------------
Reklama na internete - http://www.consultone.sk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sergelac
post Dec 3 2003, 20:32
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 19-November 03
From: Québec
Member No.: 9923



QUOTE (razor1000 @ Dec 3 2003, 02:24 PM)
In the other thread I started on this topic Latexxx notes that the AAC parser filter isn't working. Is he correct?

It seems like he might just be missing a filter.

i have the same result than Latexxx
but the AAC parser filter is working for playback


--------------------
Worms Armageddon Maps & Schemes : http://sergelac.cjb.cc/maps/maps.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Latexxx
post Dec 3 2003, 21:00
Post #23


A/V Moderator


Group: Members
Posts: 858
Joined: 12-May 03
From: Finland
Member No.: 6557



The muxing issue isn't aac source filter's fault it is the avi muxer's fault. There just isn't currently any way to mux aac to avi. Just like ChristianHJW earlier said:
QUOTE
AAC in AVI is possible in principal, but to be 100% AVI spec compliant it needed to be CBR ( Constant Bitrate ). Of course, maybe the same hack as with VBR MP3 in AVI would work, but then you cant use an ACM codec anymore but have to hardcode AAC support into the AVI writing app, like VirtualdubMod. Cyrius, the main dev of it, has no intention do so he once told me ....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alexnoe
post Dec 6 2003, 20:13
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 83
Joined: 22-May 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 6757



There is. I did it a few minutes ago. I just need to try with multichannel AACs now, and have to find a way to read AAC from AVI back (which will be total crap, since it requires to be read binary, like an MP3 stream, but lacks proper stream headers, once the ADTS headers are striped).

If I don't encounter problems, i'll soon release AVI-Mux GUI 1.15.4 with AAC support, for AVI and MKV output

Of course, I also need to check if the VBR hack works reliably...

This post has been edited by alexnoe: Dec 6 2003, 20:14
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
menno
post Dec 6 2003, 20:27
Post #25


Nero MPEG4 developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1218
Joined: 11-October 01
From: LA
Member No.: 267



QUOTE (alexnoe @ Dec 6 2003, 08:13 PM)
There is. I did it a few minutes ago. I just need to try with multichannel AACs now, and have to find a way to read AAC from AVI back (which will be total crap, since it requires  to be read binary, like an MP3 stream, but lacks proper stream headers, once the ADTS headers are striped).

When I wrote my ACM AAC codec, I just left the ADTS headers. Solved a lot of problems smile.gif

Menno
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 03:46