IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Strange behaviour with MMJB's Joint Stereo, All frames are actually simple stereo
Sebastian Mares
post Oct 11 2003, 16:18
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3637
Joined: 14-May 03
From: Bad Herrenalb
Member No.: 6613



Hello!

I have just created some MP3 files from an album using MusicMatch Jukebox 8.1 Basic and noticed the following thing: although Joint Stereo was used, all frames use Simple Stereo mode. That is also what EncSpot shows me. There is NO frame using Mid/Side stereo. I have also tried several other albums but I got the same result - only SS frames. Is that a bug?

PS 1: I have encoded at 192 kbps (CBR).
PS 2: I usually use EAC together with LAME 3.90.3 (--alt-preset standard), so don't flame me. biggrin.gif


--------------------
http://listening-tests.hydrogenaudio.org/sebastian/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ff123
post Oct 11 2003, 21:57
Post #2


ABC/HR developer, ff123.net admin


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 1396
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 12



QUOTE (Sebastian Mares @ Oct 11 2003, 07:18 AM)
Hello!

I have just created some MP3 files from an album using MusicMatch Jukebox 8.1 Basic and noticed the following thing: although Joint Stereo was used, all frames use Simple Stereo mode. That is also what EncSpot shows me. There is NO frame using Mid/Side stereo. I have also tried several other albums but I got the same result - only SS frames. Is that a bug?

PS 1: I have encoded at 192 kbps (CBR).
PS 2: I usually use EAC together with LAME 3.90.3 (--alt-preset standard), so don't flame me. biggrin.gif

Yes, Fraunhofer's FastEnc codec uses stereo for bitrates of 160 kbit/s (I think) and up, as reported by Encspot. It's not an Encspot bug, but a FastEnc bug (or feature, if you like).

ff123
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sebastian Mares
post Oct 12 2003, 08:31
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3637
Joined: 14-May 03
From: Bad Herrenalb
Member No.: 6613



QUOTE
It's not an Encspot bug, but a FastEnc bug (or feature, if you like).


Oh, yes... I didn't mean if it is a bug in EncSpot, but in MMJB's encoding engine.

Anyway, why isn't it using stereo entirely? I mean, why does it put "Joint Stereo" in the frame header, rather than "Stereo"?


--------------------
http://listening-tests.hydrogenaudio.org/sebastian/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Joe Bloggs
post Oct 12 2003, 11:17
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 375
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 55



Why aren't you using LAME? tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Old Nick
post Oct 12 2003, 23:09
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 1-September 02
Member No.: 3262



Is it possible to use the codec that comes with MMJB without actually having to use MMJB?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
joto
post Oct 13 2003, 01:44
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 20-September 03
Member No.: 8929



This appears to be normal behavior for FhG codecs, not a bug in MMJB.

Adobe Audition 1.0 gives you a choice of 3 mp3 codecs: (1) "Current - Best Quality", (2) "Legacy - High Quality", and (3) "Legacy - Medium Quality".

With all three at 192 CBR, you get joint stereo with 100% encoded LR.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yourtallness
post Oct 13 2003, 07:36
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 488
Joined: 8-October 02
From: Vrilissia, Athens
Member No.: 3503



QUOTE
Adobe Audition 1.0 gives you a choice of 3 mp3 codecs: (1) "Current - Best Quality", (2) "Legacy - High Quality", and (3) "Legacy - Medium Quality".


I was under the impression that Cool Edit/Adobe Audition uses only fastenc. If
so, why do they give u a choice between 3 codecs?


--------------------
Wanna buy a monkey?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 12:46