IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
audio volume low :(
LauraQ
post Apr 14 2014, 21:07
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 24-January 14
Member No.: 114189



Hi smile.gif

I'm converting my CDs using the latest Lame and using this string

-b 320 --id3v2-only --pad-id3v2 --ta "%artist%" --tt "%title%" --tl "%albumtitle%" --ty "%year%" --tn "%tracknr2%" --tg "%genre%" %source%

but the mp3s are often generated with the sound down, What setting I must change to increase the volume? I using EAC

Thanks! happy.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
markanini
post Apr 14 2014, 21:21
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 550
Joined: 22-December 03
From: Malmö, Sweden
Member No.: 10615



Should be same levels as input. Did you try a different player?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Apr 14 2014, 21:44
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3405
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



If you compare the mp3 against the wav file from which it was encoded, do the volumes match?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
[JAZ]
post Apr 14 2014, 22:08
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1783
Joined: 24-June 02
From: Catalunya(Spain)
Member No.: 2383



If it still is the case (which i haven't verified), LAME applies a very small attenuation to the signal when encoding in CBR, concretely a multiply of 0.97, which equates to -0.25dB.
I doubt you hear this difference, so I will comment on the most probable reasons:


* You have somehow applied replaygain/R128/whatever (which you didn't say) and the player supports it. AFAIK, neither LAME nor EAC do this automatically.
* If the difference in volume is not constant, it might be that either the player, or Windows is applying a dynamics compressor. If it is based on peak, it is probable that peaks of the MP3 file are higher than those in the CD, causing a reduction in the volume.
* Your player uses different audio paths/equalizers/DSP effects depending on the audio source. For example, old versions of Winamp had a different equalizer for MP3 files than for the rest of the files. I think that there is a similar thing with Windows Media Player, where not all sound types use the DSP effects.
* You use different players to play the files, and they use different audio paths (different sound driver, different volume settings, etc...) This is relevant because in some settings and drivers, the master gain cannot be controlled.
* You compare how the CD sounds played out directly with a hardware player versus the output of your PC/mobile/laptop/tablet/whatever. This wouldn't be a fair comparison.
* You use a (rare?) player that understands replaygain information inside the LAME tag.
* You use the analog output of the CD-ROM (Does this still exist nowadays?)

This post has been edited by [JAZ]: Apr 14 2014, 22:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Apr 14 2014, 22:16
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 3405
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



QUOTE ([JAZ] @ Apr 14 2014, 17:08) *

If it still is the case (which i haven't verified), LAME applies a very small attenuation to the signal when encoding in CBR, concretely a multiply of 0.97, which equates to -0.25dB.

I'm pretty certain that this is only done at lower bitrates, in which case it would not apply to the -b 320 files in question.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LauraQ
post Apr 14 2014, 22:17
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 24-January 14
Member No.: 114189



QUOTE (markanini @ Apr 14 2014, 22:21) *
Should be same levels as input. Did you try a different player?


No, I have only a player, is a Samsung TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH S222A ATA I think it was a good quality player
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Apr 14 2014, 22:18
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4963
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (LauraQ @ Apr 14 2014, 17:17) *
QUOTE (markanini @ Apr 14 2014, 22:21) *
Should be same levels as input. Did you try a different player?


No, I have only a player, is a Samsung TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH S222A ATA I think it was a good quality player


Thats a CDROM drive, not an a music playing application.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LauraQ
post Apr 14 2014, 22:23
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 24-January 14
Member No.: 114189



QUOTE ([JAZ] @ Apr 14 2014, 23:08) *

If it still is the case (which i haven't verified), LAME applies a very small attenuation to the signal when encoding in CBR, concretely a multiply of 0.97, which equates to -0.25dB.
I doubt you hear this difference, so I will comment on the most probable reasons:


* You have somehow applied replaygain/R128/whatever (which you didn't say) and the player supports it. AFAIK, neither LAME nor EAC do this automatically.
* If the difference in volume is not constant, it might be that either the player, or Windows is applying a dynamics compressor. If it is based on peak, it is probable that peaks of the MP3 file are higher than those in the CD, causing a reduction in the volume.
* Your player uses different audio paths/equalizers/DSP effects depending on the audio source. For example, old versions of Winamp had a different equalizer for MP3 files than for the rest of the files. I think that there is a similar thing with Windows Media Player, where not all sound types use the DSP effects.
* You use different players to play the files, and they use different audio paths (different sound driver, different volume settings, etc...) This is relevant because in some settings and drivers, the master gain cannot be controlled.
* You compare how the CD sounds played out directly with a hardware player versus the output of your PC/mobile/laptop/tablet/whatever. This wouldn't be a fair comparison.
* You use a (rare?) player that understands replaygain information inside the LAME tag.
* You use the analog output of the CD-ROM (Does this still exist nowadays?)


However, the sound is always low with all the CDs that I checked out, I think it's a problem or the player or how I configured EAC.
Is there any setting in EAC that may affect the volume level?

What should I put in place of b-320 to see if the problem is?

for Saratoga:
Yes, I use the cdrom drive for extract the mp3, I have only it smile.gif

This post has been edited by LauraQ: Apr 14 2014, 22:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Apr 14 2014, 22:25
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4963
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (LauraQ @ Apr 14 2014, 17:23) *
However, the sound is always low with all the CDs that I checked out, I think it's a problem or the player or how I configured EAC.


This is what you have to tell us. Try playing the files in a different application. Try ripping directly to .WAV. See if either of those fixes the problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LauraQ
post Apr 14 2014, 22:27
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 24-January 14
Member No.: 114189



QUOTE (saratoga @ Apr 14 2014, 23:25) *
QUOTE (LauraQ @ Apr 14 2014, 17:23) *
However, the sound is always low with all the CDs that I checked out, I think it's a problem or the player or how I configured EAC.


This is what you have to tell us. Try playing the files in a different application. Try ripping directly to .WAV. See if either of those fixes the problem.


Can you tell me exactly what I must do, I did not understand
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
includemeout
post Apr 14 2014, 23:35
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 282
Joined: 16-December 09
From: Maringá, Brazil
Member No.: 76067



QUOTE (saratoga @ Apr 14 2014, 18:18) *
QUOTE (LauraQ @ Apr 14 2014, 17:17) *

No, I have only a player, is a Samsung TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH S222A ATA I think it was a good quality player


Thats a CDROM drive, not an a music playing application.

Oh lor... I mean, you'll quit calling it a "player" perhaps sooner than you think: as you churn out more CD tracks into MP3, it's your computer who will probably be doing most of your music playing from now on.


--------------------
Listen to the music, not the media.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Juha
post Apr 15 2014, 09:55
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 14-February 07
From: EU-FIN
Member No.: 40610



QUOTE (LauraQ @ Apr 14 2014, 23:07) *
Hi smile.gif I'm converting my CDs using the latest Lame and using this string -b 320 --id3v2-only --pad-id3v2 --ta "%artist%" --tt "%title%" --tl "%albumtitle%" --ty "%year%" --tn "%tracknr2%" --tg "%genre%" %source% but the mp3s are often generated with the sound down, What setting I must change to increase the volume? I using EAC Thanks! happy.gif


I would start by checking the output level of my playback software (you know, knobs pointing to southeast).

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LauraQ
post Apr 15 2014, 18:39
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 24-January 14
Member No.: 114189



in the control panel of my sound card volume level is set to high
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rick.hughes
post Apr 15 2014, 21:57
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 16-February 07
Member No.: 40679



QUOTE (LauraQ @ Apr 15 2014, 13:39) *
in the control panel of my sound card volume level is set to high

There are potentially many places where volume can be controlled and we are only guessing unless you give us a lot more specific details about your hardware and software.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nastea
post Apr 16 2014, 04:08
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 30-July 12
Member No.: 101867



Check your volume controls, there's often a master volume, a "wave" output volume, and the appliccation you're using for playback (I just read it's Winamp) also has it's own output volume that may have been put down (accidentally).

Another thing I can think of is: there might be a headphone plugged in while you are thinking you're listening to computer-speakers. I feel a bit stupid to mention this, but you never know. biggrin.gif

Hope you find the problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LauraQ
post Apr 16 2014, 07:26
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 24-January 14
Member No.: 114189



QUOTE (rick.hughes @ Apr 15 2014, 22:57) *
QUOTE (LauraQ @ Apr 15 2014, 13:39) *
in the control panel of my sound card volume level is set to high

There are potentially many places where volume can be controlled and we are only guessing unless you give us a lot more specific details about your hardware and software.


motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P55-UD4 with soundcard integrated
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LauraQ
post Apr 16 2014, 07:28
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 24-January 14
Member No.: 114189



QUOTE (nastea @ Apr 16 2014, 05:08) *
Check your volume controls, there's often a master volume, a "wave" output volume, and the appliccation you're using for playback (I just read it's Winamp) also has it's own output volume that may have been put down (accidentally).

Another thing I can think of is: there might be a headphone plugged in while you are thinking you're listening to computer-speakers. I feel a bit stupid to mention this, but you never know. biggrin.gif

Hope you find the problem.


thanks but no headphone and all the level are up happy.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Juha
post Apr 16 2014, 12:13
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 14-February 07
From: EU-FIN
Member No.: 40610



QUOTE
motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P55-UD4 with soundcard integrated


Do you have the software for integrated soundcard installed?

To check the levels you can use software from http://dr.loudness-war.info/

Behind the Link -button there's a software which you can use for to check the files. Bring the log file data here.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LauraQ
post Apr 21 2014, 11:21
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 24-January 14
Member No.: 114189



QUOTE (Juha @ Apr 16 2014, 13:13) *
QUOTE
motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P55-UD4 with soundcard integrated


Do you have the software for integrated soundcard installed?

To check the levels you can use software from http://dr.loudness-war.info/

Behind the Link -button there's a software which you can use for to check the files. Bring the log file data here.


I don't have the software, where I can find it? Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Juha
post Apr 21 2014, 14:25
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 14-February 07
From: EU-FIN
Member No.: 40610



QUOTE (LauraQ @ Apr 21 2014, 13:21) *
I don't have the software, where I can find it? Thanks


http://www.gigabyte.com/support-downloads/...-downloads.aspx




Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LauraQ
post Apr 21 2014, 16:36
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 24-January 14
Member No.: 114189



I have find the page but no software for Win 8.1

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-p...161&dl=1#dl

sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fluzzknock
post Apr 22 2014, 02:16
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 18-April 14
Member No.: 115570



QUOTE (LauraQ @ Apr 21 2014, 11:36) *
I have find the page but no software for Win 8.1

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-p...161&dl=1#dl

sad.gif


There is a page under EAC > EAC Options... called "Normalize." Make sure "Normalize" setting is OFF (no check-mark).

Which software player are you using to play CD? Which software player are you using to play mp3 file?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Apr 22 2014, 13:47
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 3405
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



QUOTE (fluzzknock @ Apr 21 2014, 21:16) *
There is a page under EAC > EAC Options... called "Normalize." Make sure "Normalize" setting is OFF (no check-mark).

That would never make the volume softer, only louder.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DVDdoug
post Apr 22 2014, 23:35
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 2592
Joined: 24-August 07
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 46454



Laura,

I'm pretty sure you've misdiagnosed the problem... For some reason, CDs are playing louder than MP3s (and probably WAVs). I don't know why... you haven't told us what player software you are using or if you are using the same application for playing CDs and MP3s.

I don't think you have a problem with ripping or LAME-MP3 encoding.


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rick.hughes
post Apr 23 2014, 13:16
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 16-February 07
Member No.: 40679



Laura,

There are some mp3 samples in this post. Download them and play them the same way you play your own rips. See if the volume is low on them also. That will tell you if you're having a problem with creating mp3 files or (more likely) a problem with playing them.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 08:22