IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
lame3100m - a constraint vbr variant
halb27
post Nov 17 2013, 11:41
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2480
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



There was a bug in 3100l when it was called without options (or with option '--longhelp' or similar), that is when it was not about real encoding.
Lame3100m is a bug fix for this.

There are also some minor tweaks, the most important of which is giving no accuracy bias any more to loud spots in the music.
It is not expected however that these changes produce essential audible differences compared to version 3100l.

Lame3100m can be downloaded from here.

This post has been edited by halb27: Nov 17 2013, 11:43


--------------------
lame3100m -V1 --insane-factor 0.75
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LedHed8
post Nov 17 2013, 21:43
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 1-June 13
Member No.: 108428



Thanks for the continued development halb27. I've been unable to get the --frameAnalysis command to work while encoding with foobar. Does anyone have any ideas as to what I might be doing wrong? Am I missing an additional foo component? The encodings are fine when I add the command, but I am not getting any analytical outputs. I've placed the command before and after the Vx quality parameter with no result. Thank you in advance for the help. LedHed8
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
goa pride
post Nov 17 2013, 22:29
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 13-January 12
Member No.: 96416



QUOTE (LedHed8 @ Nov 17 2013, 21:43) *
Thanks for the continued development halb27. I've been unable to get the --frameAnalysis command to work while encoding with foobar. Does anyone have any ideas as to what I might be doing wrong? Am I missing an additional foo component? The encodings are fine when I add the command, but I am not getting any analytical outputs. I've placed the command before and after the Vx quality parameter with no result. Thank you in advance for the help. LedHed8

where is lame_enc.dll ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LedHed8
post Nov 17 2013, 22:37
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 1-June 13
Member No.: 108428



It's located in a separate codecs folder. Let me guess? I need to put it inside the foobar folder?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Nov 17 2013, 22:43
Post #5





Group: Developer
Posts: 3723
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



foobar2000 doesn't use lame_enc.dll. And AFAIK it simply ignores everything that an encoder prints to stdout.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LedHed8
post Nov 17 2013, 22:57
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 1-June 13
Member No.: 108428



Doh! ohmy.gif That's right. Forget that foobar grabs lame.exe. Thanks for the help lvqcl and goa pride!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halb27
post Nov 17 2013, 23:14
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2480
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



--frameAnalysis requires lame3100m to be invoked from the cmd prompt.


--------------------
lame3100m -V1 --insane-factor 0.75
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LedHed8
post Nov 17 2013, 23:38
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 1-June 13
Member No.: 108428



Thank you halb27.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
o-l-a-v
post Apr 8 2015, 19:12
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 145
Joined: 18-July 12
From: Norway
Member No.: 101545



Hi! Sorry for bumping up an old thread. But I can't seem to get the encoder to work together with foobar.
"-S --noreplaygain -V0 - %d" works.
"-S --noreplaygain -V0+ - %d" does not. Why?
Conversion failed: The encoder has terminated prematurely with code 1 (0x00000001); please re-check parameters

I'm going to upload some mp3's to deezer, so I was thinking: Why not get as good quality as possible? Deezer streams 320kbps mp3 anyways. Although I probably don't hear any difference at V3

Edit: Ok, found out that Vn+ has been fased out. Instead this should work:
-S --noreplaygain -V0 --cbvr 0 - %d
But it does still gives me error.

Edit2. Derp. Found it all out..
-S --noreplaygain -V0 --cvbr 0 - %d.. not -S --noreplaygain -V0 --cbvr 0 - %d smile.gif All good!

This post has been edited by o-l-a-v: Apr 8 2015, 19:42
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
polemon
post Jul 27 2015, 21:32
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 168
Joined: 1-April 09
Member No.: 68578



I still find it very difficult to find the latest development trunk of LAME. The SF site goes only up to version 3.99.5.
I don't even remember where I've downloaded the 3.100a2 sources from. Why are they so difficult to find?

There are a few git repos, mirroring what's on the SF site, but no development trunk, either.

Is there a reason why this is, or am I doing something wrong?


--------------------
-EOF-
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Jul 28 2015, 04:19
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 5555
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (polemon @ Jul 27 2015, 16:32) *
I still find it very difficult to find the latest development trunk of LAME. The SF site goes only up to version 3.99.5.


I assume you're referring to the download page? You can get the latest code by clicking on the "Code" page instead:

http://sourceforge.net/p/lame/code/

Alternatively, there are mirrors on github if you prefer using git to cvs.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
polemon
post Aug 1 2015, 09:00
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 168
Joined: 1-April 09
Member No.: 68578



QUOTE (saratoga @ Jul 28 2015, 05:19) *
QUOTE (polemon @ Jul 27 2015, 16:32) *
I still find it very difficult to find the latest development trunk of LAME. The SF site goes only up to version 3.99.5.


I assume you're referring to the download page? You can get the latest code by clicking on the "Code" page instead:

http://sourceforge.net/p/lame/code/

Alternatively, there are mirrors on github if you prefer using git to cvs.

I've recently found an older post of mine, where I asked pretty much the same thing, someone suggested me http://lame.cvs.sourceforge.net/viewvc/lame/lame/ and then the link to download it as a Tarball at the bottom.

Turns out, the last few days, SF was down, or at least the code repos were unavailable.

In recent years, SF became increasingly difficult to use. I find github much more intuitive, and easier to use, but that just might be me. I try to avoid SF as much as possible by now...

Which of the git mirrors would you suggest?


--------------------
-EOF-
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th August 2015 - 10:56