IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
How is lossless compression possible using non-rectangular windows?, [was “Question about windowing”/TOS #6]
evoj2
post Nov 17 2013, 01:41
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 112261

Hello.

I'm studying how FLAC works, although my question is valid for any lossless codec.

I wonder how may a codec be lossless if the original signal is multiplied by a window which is not rectangular.

I think this operation will modify the stream that we don't want to change.

I know a rectangular window has a terrible spectral response (sinc, with many lobes), but, what's the problem? We don't want to disturb the audio stream, and by multiplying by something different to 1, we will.

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
C.R.Helmrich
post Nov 17 2013, 02:24
Post #2

Group: Developer
Member No.: 64012

QUOTE (evoj2 @ Nov 17 2013, 02:41) *
I wonder how may a codec be lossless if the original signal is multiplied by a window which is not rectangular.

I thought in FLAC the signal is only windowed for the LPC filter computation, but a rectangular window is used for framing and coding?

In HD-AAC (SLS), where overlapping integer time-frequency transformation is used, the windows satisfy certain constraints, which allow perfect signal reconstruction in the absence of signal quantization (which of course is what we aim for in lossless coding).

Chris

This post has been edited by C.R.Helmrich: Nov 17 2013, 02:25

--------------------
If I don't reply to your reply, it means I agree with you.
+Quote Post
evoj2
post Nov 17 2013, 03:02
Post #3

QUOTE (C.R.Helmrich @ Nov 17 2013, 02:24) *
QUOTE (evoj2 @ Nov 17 2013, 02:41) *

I thought in FLAC the signal is only windowed for the LPC filter computation, but a rectangular window is used for framing and coding?

Thanks for answering.

It seems that I was confused.