IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Disable reset playlist on file double-click.
partogi
post Sep 14 2013, 13:18
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 14-September 13
Member No.: 110098



Hello, I'm new here. I'm using foobar2000 v1.2.9 on Windows 8 Pro x64.

Whenever I double click a music file from a folder, it automatically sent into currently active playlist tab, resetting the whole playlist into that single file. How to avoid this from happening? I don't like having to reassemble the playlist from scratch again.

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kjllmeplz
post Sep 14 2013, 13:59
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 7-January 13
Member No.: 105671



Open Preferences. Go to Shell Intergration, tick : Always send new files to Playlist. You can set the name of the playlist or leave it blank. OK. Done! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kjllmeplz: Sep 14 2013, 13:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Sep 14 2013, 14:04
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 3327
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (partogi @ Sep 14 2013, 16:18) *
I don't like having to reassemble the playlist from scratch again.


Also you can use menu Edit > Undo
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Sep 14 2013, 14:05
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



OK, this really needs to go in the official FAQ.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
partogi
post Sep 14 2013, 14:29
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 14-September 13
Member No.: 110098



QUOTE (kjllmeplz @ Sep 14 2013, 19:59) *
Open Preferences. Go to Shell Intergration, tick : Always send new files to Playlist. You can set the name of the playlist or leave it blank. OK. Done! biggrin.gif



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Sep 14 2013, 20:04) *
QUOTE (partogi @ Sep 14 2013, 16:18) *
I don't like having to reassemble the playlist from scratch again.


Also you can use menu Edit > Undo

You guys rock! Thank you very much!

QUOTE (db1989 @ Sep 14 2013, 20:05) *
OK, this really needs to go in the official FAQ.

Did you mean it's already explained in the official FAQ? I'm so sorry! I haven't read that yet! crying.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Sep 14 2013, 14:43
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (partogi @ Sep 14 2013, 14:29) *
QUOTE (db1989 @ Sep 14 2013, 20:05) *
OK, this really needs to go in the official FAQ.
Did you mean it's already explained in the official FAQ? I'm so sorry! I haven't read that yet! crying.gif
No, itís not your fault. This is not yet in the FAQ but really needs to be since we get so many people asking it. I canít blame them as individuals much because there are a number of different ways to phrase the question, especially to a new user who might not know all the foobar2000-specific terminology, meaning the past threads might not be easy to find while searching before asking, as everyone should do. tongue.gif Having the question in the FAQ would, I hope, ameliorate the number of threads we get asking the same question, assuming a significant proportion of users would check there in the first instance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
partogi
post Sep 14 2013, 14:58
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 14-September 13
Member No.: 110098



Oh, I see. Thanks.

Foobar2000 is awesome by the way. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EpicForever
post Sep 14 2013, 15:23
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 706
Joined: 14-September 11
From: Szczecin, PL
Member No.: 93712



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Sep 14 2013, 15:04) *
QUOTE (partogi @ Sep 14 2013, 16:18) *
I don't like having to reassemble the playlist from scratch again.


Also you can use menu Edit > Undo


...or simply just press "Ctrl+Z" at the same time...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Sep 14 2013, 16:22
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1286
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



QUOTE (db1989 @ Sep 14 2013, 15:43) *
This is not yet in the FAQ but really needs to be since we get so many people asking it.


Why not change foobar's default behaviour? It's a weird and surprising thing to happen, and it won't be fixed by adding a sentence to the help file, as far as I can see.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Sep 14 2013, 16:23
Post #10





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (EpicForever @ Sep 14 2013, 15:23) *
QUOTE (lvqcl @ Sep 14 2013, 15:04) *
Also you can use menu Edit > Undo
...or simply just press "Ctrl+Z" at the same time...
Yes, they both do the same thing, but you mean instead, not simultaneously. tongue.gif

QUOTE (dhromed @ Sep 14 2013, 16:22) *
QUOTE (db1989 @ Sep 14 2013, 15:43) *
This is not yet in the FAQ but really needs to be since we get so many people asking it.
Why not change foobar's default behaviour? It's a weird and surprising thing to happen, and it won't be fixed by adding a sentence to the help file, as far as I can see.
This is true. Making enqueue the default out-of-the-box would solve this a lot better than adding something to the documentation and hoping everyone reads it. I guess we can hereby lodge a formal request? (Again?)

This post has been edited by db1989: Sep 14 2013, 16:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EpicForever
post Sep 15 2013, 08:00
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 706
Joined: 14-September 11
From: Szczecin, PL
Member No.: 93712



@db1989 - I meant "Control" and "Z" keys at the same time wink.gif

@dhromed - I would be very surprised If doubleclick on file doesn't changed the actual played track. I have learned that normal thing in all Windows apps is that doubleclick simply opens the file in registered app. Not enqueue but simply opens - starts processing/displaying etc. file contents. Sometimes in new window/new app instance but quite often in the same window, replacing old content. That was very often situation for me, that I was digging through my directories, then I found some nice track and I simply doubleclicked on it and I required that whatever plays now will be simply discarded and this track will be playing. This is exactly how it worked in Winamp, at least in v 2.92 and some 3.x that I used before I started using foobar. And even in WMP from at least first Win XP release. I can't understand who or what have caused that people desire different behavior? Do all their apps work different when doubleclicking on HDD files? iTunes works like that or what? Personally I use iTunes only as a webshop interface and it is a pain the... I can't figure out how this ... works. Besides the fact that this is "brilliant" idea to install local app dedicated to use just webshop... I always thought that "webshop" means "shop available through web browser". But all these things brought together may suggest that I am dumb (probably foo_dumb) and I know nothing about PC apps and web.

When I finished writing it some serious idea came to my mind and I think this should be discussed officially. Maybe foobar installer should have an additional mode like "configure everything right away" where all things, that come back like boomerang on forums will be shown to user with some short explanation and he/she will have possibility to knowingly decide how foobar will work?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Sep 15 2013, 10:28
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1286
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



QUOTE (EpicForever @ Sep 15 2013, 09:00) *
@dhromed - I would be very surprised If doubleclick on file doesn't changed the actual played track. [...] I can't understand who or what have caused that people desire different behavior?


I agree, that's way I didn't say that. wink.gif
Double-clicking on a file in explorer should ultimately result in playing that file, but right now, the user's current hand-crafted playlist is nuked, which you'll agree is always undesirabe behaviour.

If there was a "from explorer" playlist (or something*), you could serve your use case as well, that is, the one where you're browsing with Explorer, double clicking random things.

The feature is kinda sorta there with the "Send incoming files to" option, but clearly it's not streamlined/defaulted enough to prevent these threads.

QUOTE
Maybe foobar installer should have an additional mode like "configure everything right away" where all things, that come back like boomerang on forums will be shown to user with some short explanation and he/she will have possibility to knowingly decide how foobar will work?


I think that is an application needs that, it has failed in the UI department.

*) I'm just here to point out problems**, not offer exact implementations

**) which comes off as a negative nancy, but I criticise because I care smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EpicForever
post Sep 15 2013, 20:19
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 706
Joined: 14-September 11
From: Szczecin, PL
Member No.: 93712



"Send incoming files to" ? I found "Always send files to playlist" option under "Shell integration".

BTW - I understood that you suggest changing foobar's defaults because you think that current behavior is improper. But I see that it was suggestion made from statistical point of view smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Sep 15 2013, 21:11
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1286
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



QUOTE (EpicForever @ Sep 15 2013, 21:19) *
"Send incoming files to" ? I found "Always send files to playlist" option under "Shell integration".

Ahem. That'll teach me not to look up the exact wording of an option. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 10:20