IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Unicode working?
jorgk3
post Aug 30 2013, 22:55
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 30-August 13
Member No.: 109889



Yesterday I installed Foobar and imported my music library.

Sadly files with some Brazilian characters in their name were skipped without a warning. Examples:
06 - Duas horas da manhã.flac
18 - Manhã de carnaval.flac
etc. Accented characters work fine, but ã does not.

Is there special processing for the ã?

Otherwise it's fantastic software.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Aug 30 2013, 23:27
Post #2





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2180
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



The names being what they are is not the problem. I'd suspect the files are either corrupted or they are in some other format than their extension suggests. You could verify the files with flac.exe command line tool or use this frontend to simplify the task. If they are really FLACs and verify ok, a sample would be needed to fix things.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jorgk3
post Aug 31 2013, 00:19
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 30-August 13
Member No.: 109889



Actually, the files were OK. I have the whole album:
30/08/2013 23:03 4,753,239 01 - Prólogo.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 22,965,202 02 - A Paz.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 5,893,519 03 - Folhas secas.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 18,748,941 04 - Retrospecto.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 6,834,163 05 - Corcovado.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 10,480,401 06 - Duas horas da manha.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 23,094,324 07 - Uma valsa em forma de árvore.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 33,458,897 08 - Joanna Francesa.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 13,115,387 09 - Chorando mas se divertindo.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 25,745,936 10 - Loro.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 20,936,488 11 - Ponta de areia.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 4,483,417 12 - Paulicéia.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 20,331,747 13 - Desafinado.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 7,714,745 14 - De frente pro crime.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 18,326,686 15 - Luz do sol.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 5,472,363 16 - Tico-tico no fubá.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 12,636,483 17 - San Vicente.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 10,615,981 18 - Manha de carnaval.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 23,887,266 19 - Pirao de leite.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 2,160,193 20 - Noturno.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 17,330,000 21 - Passaredo.flac
30/08/2013 23:03 2,534,759 22 - Epílogo.flac

There is something funny about the ã. In DOS (DIR command) I get the above, but in explorer it's this:
06 - Duas horas da manhã.flac

This album had another problem: It only had tags for the track, not for the artist and not for the title. After adding those tags, the album now imports completely, albeit, with the DOS file names.

So maybe the original tags were bad. I've overwritten them now. I will dig out the original track from a backup on Sunday.

This post has been edited by jorgk3: Aug 31 2013, 00:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Aug 31 2013, 09:28
Post #4





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2180
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



If tags cause foobar to reject the file it would be great to get a sample. Such a thing should not happen. About the display difference in command prompt vs explorer, the command prompt by default uses bitmap fonts with very limited character set. It does its best to display as much information as possible and replaces special characters with close equivalents. If you switch it to use true type fonts you will be able to see more characters there.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jorgk3
post Sep 1 2013, 19:03
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 30-August 13
Member No.: 109889



Thank your for your answer.

I went back to the backup and looked at the problem again.

Out of the 22 tracks described in the previous post, 3 had complete tags, the other 19 had incomplete tags. Strangely the three tracks with complete tags were the files having the ã in their file name. I'm sorry for the mess, I didn't process this data initially.

Therefore the album was split in half in the album tree, 19 tracks went one way, 3 tracks somewhere else. I didn't spot the correctly tagged tracks, I just noticed that they were missing from the set of the other 19. After fixing all the tags, it all got grouped together.

So I am really sorry about this false alarm. Foobar has picked up everything perfectly based on the tags.

So once again, thank you for the support.

I am very happy with Foobar, I think, as I said, it's excellent software. I left a positive comment here:
http://www.techsupportalert.com/content/be...#comment-110443

This post has been edited by jorgk3: Sep 1 2013, 19:04
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Sep 2 2013, 00:39
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Thanks for the update and the compliments. Let us know if you want the thread closed accordingly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jorgk3
post Sep 7 2013, 07:08
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 30-August 13
Member No.: 109889



I am not sure what you mean by "close the thread". I guess a "closed thread" will not allow new posts.
My problem is solved, in fact, there never was a problem with Foobar, so by all means, take the action you deem fit ;-)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sunrays
post Jan 9 2014, 19:38
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 31-December 13
Member No.: 113678



Hi

Few days ago i upgraded to the latest Foobar Beta version, i think after a pc reboot the unicodes stopped working in the ★ rating column and ► playcount column.. (titles and such are fine)
I went back to foobar v1.3 but it didn't change:

[image removed]

in the script section it shows fine but not in the left column and options tab:

[image removed]


Does anyone know what went wrong here? and how to fix ?

Thanks

EDIT:

OK, i found my answer in this thread:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....=unicode+foobar

Cheers happy.gif

This post has been edited by Sunrays: Jan 9 2014, 20:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 17:27