IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Daphile - Audiophile Music Server & Player OS
kipeta
post Sep 8 2013, 10:34
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



QUOTE (2Bdecided @ Sep 6 2013, 16:31) *
QUOTE (kipeta @ Aug 12 2013, 12:26) *
"ReplayGain nominally plays at -14 dB relative to full-scale leaving 14 dB of headroom for reproduction of dynamic material"

...

I have used "EBU Recommendation R 128" based loudness calculation (23dB headroom recommended) for my own music library.
I think you have been confused by different units. The EBU R128 -23LUFS target level leaves 5dB more headroom than the 89dB ReplayGain target level, not the extra 9dB that you think it does.

However, whereas EBU R128 is designed to be used with a fixed -23LUFS target, all decent ReplayGain player implementations allow the listener to adjust the target volume, and have an option to avoid clipping, because the original ReplayGain proposal specified these things.

Hence it is trivial to run ReplayGain with the same or even more headroom than EBU R128.
It is also trivial to run ReplayGain with less headroom (as little heaedroom as you want = as loud as you want) while also pushing the headroom up automatically (i.e. the volume down automatically) for tracks and/or albums that need it (= clipping prevention).

You can do these things with some EBU R128 implementations too, especially the ones where EBU R128 is used as a drop-in replacement for the original ReplayGain loudness calculation - but these things originate in the ReplayGain specification, and are not in the EBU R128 specification.

Cheers,
David.

You are absolutely right I confused -23LUFS to dBFS when calculating the headroom. And you are also otherwise right; I don't disagree :-).

The Squeezebox server (i.e. Daphile) unfortunately does not have yet the decent implementation that allows target volume adjustment. EBU R128 was just easier for me at the time when metaflac didn't support HD files and the EBU R128 volume target level is such that I avoided clipping without additional target volume adjustment (checked the whole library).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Sep 8 2013, 11:11
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



QUOTE (kipeta @ Sep 8 2013, 12:34) *
...
The Squeezebox server (i.e. Daphile) unfortunately does not have yet the decent implementation that allows target volume adjustment. EBU R128 was just easier for me at the time when metaflac didn't support HD files and the EBU R128 volume target level is such that I avoided clipping without additional target volume adjustment (checked the whole library).

Related to my previous post I'll have to add that Squeezebox server will prevent clipping in case of Replay Gain usage by checking the peak level and adjusting the replay gain based on that.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NappyHead
post Sep 11 2013, 05:29
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 8281



Ran it from USB and loaded fine, want to install it and see if it can handle 300,000 flac files as well at Vortexbox.

Thanks for the great work

NH

This post has been edited by NappyHead: Sep 11 2013, 05:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Oct 4 2013, 09:56
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



New version available!

CHANGES on October 4th 2013:
  • CD ripping supports AccurateRip™ verification (see: www.accuraterip.com)
  • CD drive offset calibration added to Settings – CD Ripping (required for AccurateRip™)
  • Improvements and bug fixes for Wireless configuration and initialization
  • Bug fixes for network drive mounting and RW-mode
  • Some package updates (eg. LMS-7.8.0-1380278780)
  • Other minor changes and bug fixes

Update via your Daphile web UI or download from www.daphile.com.

Any feedback is warmly welcomed!

This post has been edited by kipeta: Oct 4 2013, 10:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Oct 18 2013, 14:50
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



New version available!

CHANGES on October 18th 2013:
  • First 32bit x86 release for i486 and above
  • Composer (available only for classical music) and Label tags for ripping
  • Shutdown and restart button to main menu
  • TRIM support for ext4 SSD partitions
  • WLAN HW switch detection (RFKILL; "Connect Wi-Fi: HW switch disabled")
  • Bug fixes (eg. some DSF playback fixes) and minor changes

Update via your Daphile web UI or download from www.daphile.com.

Any feedback is warmly welcomed!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Oct 24 2013, 20:45
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



New version available!
CHANGES on October 24th 2013:
  • Fix the playback of music with sample rate not support by audio device
  • Include the staging WLAN drivers
  • Kernel minor level upgrade
  • Bug fixes and minor changes
Update via your Daphile web UI or download from www.daphile.com.

Any feedback is warmly welcomed!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Oct 31 2013, 11:53
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



New version available!
CHANGES on October 31st 2013
  • WLAN bug fix (WPA2+TKIP and WPA+AES/CCMP AP cases fixed)
  • Warm restart speed-up with kexec (default; option for BIOS boot)
  • Minor changes and bug fixes
Update via your Daphile web UI or download from www.daphile.com.

Any feedback is warmly welcomed!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Nov 9 2013, 19:58
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



Update available!

CHANGES on November 9th 2013:

  • Bug fixes for CD ripping, multitrack FLAC+CUE problem & NFS mounting
  • Multitrack FLAC+CUE problem fix requires "Clear library and rescan everything" rescan (Info tab)
  • CD ripping FLAC compression level setting added (default:5)
Update via your Daphile web UI or download from www.daphile.com.

Any feedback is warmly welcomed!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Nov 10 2013, 09:40
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



IMPORTANT bug fix for CD ripping (bug in previous 13.11-b091420 build).

Update via your Daphile web UI or download from www.daphile.com.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yay101
post Nov 12 2013, 04:15
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 25-September 13
Member No.: 110355



I was just about to make this exact operating system.... And then i stumbled across this thread and couldnt be happier! Thanks for this, it works as expected. The ONLY feature i want that i can't seem to find is a "library cache" option. As i have a 1tb drive in my netbook running this on my desk, i would love to have the option to slowly copy my library to the netbook automatically when not playing. We have a very patchy wifi connection in our house, im not sure whats in the paint they used but it seems to block damn near everything at about 15 meters / 2 walls. We use network over power and get a few mb/s but for obvious reasons i would like to keep those few MB/s free for my desktop.

Cheers.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Nov 12 2013, 09:42
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



QUOTE (yay101 @ Nov 12 2013, 06:15) *
I was just about to make this exact operating system.... And then i stumbled across this thread and couldnt be happier! Thanks for this, it works as expected. The ONLY feature i want that i can't seem to find is a "library cache" option. As i have a 1tb drive in my netbook running this on my desk, i would love to have the option to slowly copy my library to the netbook automatically when not playing. We have a very patchy wifi connection in our house, im not sure whats in the paint they used but it seems to block damn near everything at about 15 meters / 2 walls. We use network over power and get a few mb/s but for obvious reasons i would like to keep those few MB/s free for my desktop.

Cheers.

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback.

I'm not 100% sure if I understood the "library cache" idea. Do you mean that you want keep your music files in two locations (Daphile PC and another PC) and you want to keep those synchronized? Or something else?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yay101
post Nov 12 2013, 14:55
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 25-September 13
Member No.: 110355



QUOTE (kipeta @ Nov 12 2013, 10:42) *
I'm not 100% sure if I understood the "library cache" idea. Do you mean that you want keep your music files in two locations (Daphile PC and another PC) and you want to keep those synchronized? Or something else?


Yeah sorry, i meant for the music files to be in both locations, like google music's caching system. I know i can just use rsync or any number of other methods to just "push" my music collection, but i would like to have automatic tag comparisons etc to detect changed tracks and for only those i listen to to take priority and songs that were never played to just be removed and flagged as unplayed or whatever is easiest. (for when i am listening to my flac collection that wont even come close to a 1tb limit).

I have more requests as well... lol.

I haven't looked at the project much (have been busy enjoying music) but if there is a way for me to help development please do let me know.

Here are my other requests:

Adjustable buffer in kb (ram buffer aka foobar whole file buffer) OR Adjustable buffer in songs eg. buffer next X songs in playlist for seamless gapless playback/ in case my wifi drops out for a famous 10 minute stint again.

Easy way to install google music, or just the repo and dependencies added by default, i don't want to touch anything until i know how your specific setup works. I have never touched a squeezebox before.

Gapless playback. Not sure if it should work or if it is even implememnted, but it doesn't seem to on my netbook.

Thanks!

PS. Free bump over on head-fi, this project deserves it. Feel free to reply over there with a copy paste.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Nov 12 2013, 22:02
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



QUOTE (yay101 @ Nov 12 2013, 16:55) *
QUOTE (kipeta @ Nov 12 2013, 10:42) *
I'm not 100% sure if I understood the "library cache" idea. Do you mean that you want keep your music files in two locations (Daphile PC and another PC) and you want to keep those synchronized? Or something else?


Yeah sorry, i meant for the music files to be in both locations, like google music's caching system. I know i can just use rsync or any number of other methods to just "push" my music collection, but i would like to have automatic tag comparisons etc to detect changed tracks and for only those i listen to to take priority and songs that were never played to just be removed and flagged as unplayed or whatever is easiest. (for when i am listening to my flac collection that wont even come close to a 1tb limit).

I have more requests as well... lol.

I haven't looked at the project much (have been busy enjoying music) but if there is a way for me to help development please do let me know.

Here are my other requests:

Adjustable buffer in kb (ram buffer aka foobar whole file buffer) OR Adjustable buffer in songs eg. buffer next X songs in playlist for seamless gapless playback/ in case my wifi drops out for a famous 10 minute stint again.

Easy way to install google music, or just the repo and dependencies added by default, i don't want to touch anything until i know how your specific setup works. I have never touched a squeezebox before.

Gapless playback. Not sure if it should work or if it is even implememnted, but it doesn't seem to on my netbook.

Thanks!

PS. Free bump over on head-fi, this project deserves it. Feel free to reply over there with a copy paste.

Hi, nice feature requests ;-) I'll consider and comment them later.

About gapless playback. It should work and I haven't had any problems nor heard about such before. Could you please elaborate.

Cheers
Kimmo
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yay101
post Nov 13 2013, 02:05
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 25-September 13
Member No.: 110355



Replay gain doesn't seem to work at all at least between same album tracks that I know are gapless in foobar. Does it not work on mp3? Or should I just try flac?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Nov 13 2013, 08:38
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



QUOTE (yay101 @ Nov 13 2013, 04:05) *
Replay gain doesn't seem to work at all at least between same album tracks that I know are gapless in foobar. Does it not work on mp3? Or should I just try flac?

I haven't tested mp3 by myself. I use mostly FLACs.

What replay gain setting did you use?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yay101
post Nov 15 2013, 03:36
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 25-September 13
Member No.: 110355



Turns out it was just the files with gain tags, I tried other mp3's and flac and it worked fine. I used foobar to strip the tags and a day later they all work fine.

My only issue right now is the gapless.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NappyHead
post Nov 19 2013, 15:48
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 8281



Working great, loads fast and my radio seems to be responding really nice after I started using this. Would like to have the option to remove devices not being used from the Music Folder.

Thanks or a great product.

NH
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
4season
post Nov 19 2013, 23:42
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 18-September 13
Member No.: 110164



Daphile looks pretty slick!

Question: If I wipe my hard drive and let the software create the DaphileData partition, is that partition going to remain untouched through future software updates?

The OS only seemed to find USB volumes during the boot process, else I was being too impatient and not waiting long enough.

Initially, I seemed to have problems playing via my Benchmark DAC 2 HGC, though the software recognizes it correctly. I got it playing after a couple of reboots. But I previously found that this DAC is iffy with pre 3.10 kernels, and only seems to work as a UAC 2 device on Linux systems.

One of my radio stations (at Ottava.jp) doesn't work. It seems to use Windows Media.

No luck with my Realtek RTL8191 wifi.

What's your reference PC hardware BTW? Maybe easier if I just buy exactly the same thing as you?

Thanks for doing this, keep up the good work.



Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Nov 20 2013, 21:52
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



QUOTE (NappyHead @ Nov 19 2013, 17:48) *
Working great, loads fast and my radio seems to be responding really nice after I started using this. Would like to have the option to remove devices not being used from the Music Folder.

Thanks or a great product.

NH

Thanks for your feedback.

I could not quite understand what did you mean with "Would like to have the option to remove devices not being used from the Music Folder"?

Have tried the "Settings -> Storages" configurations? The "Root Prefix" is such that you can limit usage of the disk/partition to one particular directory.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NappyHead
post Nov 20 2013, 22:03
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 8281



QUOTE (kipeta @ Nov 20 2013, 13:52) *
QUOTE (NappyHead @ Nov 19 2013, 17:48) *
Working great, loads fast and my radio seems to be responding really nice after I started using this. Would like to have the option to remove devices not being used from the Music Folder.

Thanks or a great product.

NH

Thanks for your feedback.

I could not quite understand what did you mean with "Would like to have the option to remove devices not being used from the Music Folder"?

Have tried the "Settings -> Storages" configurations? The "Root Prefix" is such that you can limit usage of the disk/partition to one particular directory.


OK, thanks.

How do I set static IP

NH
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Nov 20 2013, 22:04
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



QUOTE (4season @ Nov 20 2013, 01:42) *
Daphile looks pretty slick!

Question: If I wipe my hard drive and let the software create the DaphileData partition, is that partition going to remain untouched through future software updates?

The OS only seemed to find USB volumes during the boot process, else I was being too impatient and not waiting long enough.

Initially, I seemed to have problems playing via my Benchmark DAC 2 HGC, though the software recognizes it correctly. I got it playing after a couple of reboots. But I previously found that this DAC is iffy with pre 3.10 kernels, and only seems to work as a UAC 2 device on Linux systems.

One of my radio stations (at Ottava.jp) doesn't work. It seems to use Windows Media.

No luck with my Realtek RTL8191 wifi.

What's your reference PC hardware BTW? Maybe easier if I just buy exactly the same thing as you?

Thanks for doing this, keep up the good work.

Hi,

All the settings and user data should remain untouched during the updates. User data will be untouched even if you choose "Reset setting to firmware default".

Could you please send the details of the problems, eg. url of the Ottava.jp radio station, what kind of volumes are undetected, exact mode of wifi adapter, etc...
I would prefer if you would sed that information via the contact form on www.daphile.com and we could continue with email exchange.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Nov 20 2013, 22:07
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



QUOTE (NappyHead @ Nov 21 2013, 00:03) *
How do I set static IP

NH


I have not implemented "Static IP" setting because I don't have proper recovery mechanism for faulty configuration yet.

Could you achieve it with proper router configuration "Static Leases" under DHCP Server configuration.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NappyHead
post Nov 20 2013, 23:51
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 8281



QUOTE (kipeta @ Nov 20 2013, 14:07) *
QUOTE (NappyHead @ Nov 21 2013, 00:03) *
How do I set static IP

NH


I have not implemented "Static IP" setting because I don't have proper recovery mechanism for faulty configuration yet.

Could you achieve it with proper router configuration "Static Leases" under DHCP Server configuration.

Thank you. done as suggested

NH
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NappyHead
post Nov 22 2013, 03:47
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 10-August 03
Member No.: 8281



Noticed my squeezebox radio was offline went to connect to server stuck at "Loading the media server"

Looked at monitor and screen at "pnp 00:09: can't evaluate _CRS: 12311"

Any help?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kipeta
post Nov 22 2013, 08:07
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 20-May 12
Member No.: 100013



QUOTE (NappyHead @ Nov 22 2013, 05:47) *
Noticed my squeezebox radio was offline went to connect to server stuck at "Loading the media server"

Looked at monitor and screen at "pnp 00:09: can't evaluate _CRS: 12311"

Any help?

Sorry but this is really difficult. One link that I found from google suggested BIOS upgrade.

I'm planning to upgrade Linux kernel version in the next release and that might help also.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 07:20