IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
WAV 24bit stereo 44.1khz to WMA Lossless 24bit stereo 44.1khz, Moved from General Audio. Please don't litter in the wrong forum.
yourma2000
post Jun 28 2013, 02:28
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 28-June 13
Member No.: 108849



So I have a WAV 24bit stereo 44.1khz file that I want to convert to WMA Lossless 24bit stereo 44.1khz (basically just change the format, no change to quality or anything), the problem is when I finish converting the file the new WMA Lossless file is only 16bit even though I specifically ask for 24bit in the encoder settings of various sound converters, does anyone have any idea what's going on?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gregory S. Chudo...
post Jun 28 2013, 03:25
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 689
Joined: 2-October 08
From: Ottawa
Member No.: 59035



What encoder are you using? CUETools.Converter seems to work fine for 24-bit stereo.


--------------------
CUETools 2.1.4
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yourma2000
post Jun 28 2013, 03:52
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 28-June 13
Member No.: 108849



I'm not sure, the converters I've used such as Switch Sound File Converter and Mediamonkey which actually manage to output a WMA Lossless file don't say what encoders they use, only allow you to change the settings in them and other converters are too complicated for me to configure or don't have support for WMA lossless. I'm currently using audiocoder which looks promising although I can't seem to work out how to configure it to output WMA lossless, not even sure if it can.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Jun 28 2013, 04:09
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3369
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



Does it have to be WMA lossless?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yourma2000
post Jun 28 2013, 04:37
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 28-June 13
Member No.: 108849



QUOTE (pdq @ Jun 28 2013, 04:09) *
Does it have to be WMA lossless?


I use WMA lossless as I only use Windows Media Player as my music player, I'm not into 3rd party media players as far as building a music library is concerned. I know this topic is going to hear the word FLAC so many times and if Microsoft supported it then I would convert my entire library to FLAC, but since I've used WMP since way before admiring lossless audio and pretty much know my way around it then I don't mind having my lossless material in WMA Lossless, it also makes it easier when it comes to tagging through Windows explorer.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TomasPin
post Jun 28 2013, 06:51
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 5-June 13
From: Argentina
Member No.: 108508



QUOTE (yourma2000 @ Jun 28 2013, 00:37) *
I use WMA lossless as I only use Windows Media Player as my music player, I'm not into 3rd party media players as far as building a music library is concerned. I know this topic is going to hear the word FLAC so many times and if Microsoft supported it then I would convert my entire library to FLAC, but since I've used WMP since way before admiring lossless audio and pretty much know my way around it then I don't mind having my lossless material in WMA Lossless, it also makes it easier when it comes to tagging through Windows explorer.


Well, you can install this in order to make Windows natively support FLAC, OGG and others. And for tagging and sorting your library within Windows Media Player, have a look at WMP Tag Plus. smile.gif



--------------------
A man and his music: http://tubular.net/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Jun 28 2013, 15:34
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 473
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 10915



Have you tried Windows Expression Encoder?
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/research/archive/2...-wma-files.aspx
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/de...s.aspx?id=27870
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jun 28 2013, 16:04
Post #8





Group: Developer
Posts: 3325
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Winamp is able to encode to WMAL.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yourma2000
post Jun 28 2013, 16:56
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 28-June 13
Member No.: 108849



QUOTE (TomasPin @ Jun 28 2013, 06:51) *
QUOTE (yourma2000 @ Jun 28 2013, 00:37) *
I use WMA lossless as I only use Windows Media Player as my music player, I'm not into 3rd party media players as far as building a music library is concerned. I know this topic is going to hear the word FLAC so many times and if Microsoft supported it then I would convert my entire library to FLAC, but since I've used WMP since way before admiring lossless audio and pretty much know my way around it then I don't mind having my lossless material in WMA Lossless, it also makes it easier when it comes to tagging through Windows explorer.


Well, you can install this in order to make Windows natively support FLAC, OGG and others. And for tagging and sorting your library within Windows Media Player, have a look at WMP Tag Plus. smile.gif



I've had problems using FLAC codecs and tag support messing up my explorer.exe and bogging my system down in the past, it's one of the reasons I frown upon FLAC, like I said though, if Microsoft would integrated official support then I would use the format.



QUOTE (Apesbrain @ Jun 28 2013, 15:34) *



Sweet! That worked fine, thanks for the suggestion, the file is finally being output at 24bit Stereo 44.1khz and are the right file size.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Jul 20 2013, 16:42
Post #10


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 393
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



QUOTE (yourma2000 @ Jun 28 2013, 16:56) *
I've had problems using FLAC codecs and tag support messing up my explorer.exe and bogging my system down in the past, it's one of the reasons I frown upon FLAC, like I said though, if Microsoft would integrated official support then I would use the format.

Neither the Xiph.org codecs or WMP Tag Plus integrate into Explorer, so you definitely shouldn't see any issues there. If you see any other issues then please let me know smile.gif (I'm the author of WMP Tag Plus).

I also think that you shouldn't just drop the FLAC format altogether because of some (old?) instable codecs/plug-ins.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jul 20 2013, 16:54
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



FLAC files with ID3v1?


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Jul 20 2013, 21:45
Post #12


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 393
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



What about them? I don't understand what you're getting at.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jul 20 2013, 21:48
Post #13





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (yourma2000 @ Jun 28 2013, 16:56) *
I've had problems using FLAC codecs and tag support messing up my explorer.exe and bogging my system down


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
N8N
post Jul 30 2013, 23:17
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 8-May 12
From: Sterling, VA
Member No.: 99594



QUOTE (Apesbrain @ Jun 28 2013, 09:34) *


I was looking into this for other reasons, when I try to install it it asks for an activation code but on MS's web site it appears to be free w/ no indication of how to get activation code or what it costs... what am I doing wrong? (or is M$ screwed up again?)

to the OP - making WMP work with FLAC is the easier way by far, two downloads and Bob's your uncle.

Unfortunately making the stock in-car entertainment in a recent model BMW recognize a lossless format other than WMA is more difficult which is why I'm asking the questions that I am.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Jul 31 2013, 10:25
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1191
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



QUOTE (Tim De Baets @ Jul 20 2013, 21:45) *
What about them? I don't understand what you're getting at.


I thought FLAC used Vorbis not ID3?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jul 31 2013, 13:04
Post #16





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Yes, and tolerance of ID3 by parsing programs is a bonus when it does exist and should not be expected.
What kinds of tags does FLAC support?

FLAC has it's own native tagging system which is identical to that of Vorbis. They are called alternately "FLAC tags" and "Vorbis comments". It is the only tagging system required and guaranteed to be supported by FLAC implementations.

Out of convenience, the reference decoder knows how to skip ID3 tags so that they don't interfere with decoding. But you should not expect any tags beside FLAC tags to be supported in applications; some implementations may not even be able to decode a FLAC file with ID3 tags.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jul 31 2013, 14:55
Post #17





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (probedb @ Jul 31 2013, 02:25) *
I thought FLAC used Vorbis not ID3?

...yet EAC and dBpoweramp will happily write ID3 to them anyway.


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 04:32