IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

TouchRemote DACP and Windows RT app‏, foo_touchremote
sealight
post May 7 2013, 14:25
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-October 09
Member No.: 74087



I was trying to use rtRemote, a Windows 8 app, to control my mediacenter running Foobar 2000 TouchRemote DACP plugin.
(I already do that on Windows Phone with this other great app - http://wp7remoteapp.com/ )

I used the rtRemote Pairing Helper Tool to pair with TouchRemote DACP but I had no success.

I enter the pairing PIN 0000 as the rtRemote Pairing Helper specifies but I receive a "Device didn't return a valid pair code" error.

TouchRemote: Looking for device...
TouchRemote: Found device "" (rtRemote) @ 169.xx.xx.xx:44936
TouchRemote: trying to pair with "" (rtRemote)
TouchRemote: Pairing failed: Device didn't return a valid pair code
TouchRemote: Pairing cancelled

Any clue?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 4)
leland
post May 12 2013, 07:44
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 17-March 03
Member No.: 5549



+1 - trying to accomplish the same task.


--------------------
Guinness for strength!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sealight
post May 15 2013, 14:38
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-October 09
Member No.: 74087



QUOTE (leland @ May 12 2013, 07:44) *
+1 - trying to accomplish the same task.

I contacted the footouchremote author (the foobar add-in which implements DACP) and he explained me how to manually pair a device by adding the pairing-guid on windows registry.

After I added the rtRemote device this way (on foobar remote machine) I was able to use the win8 app to remotely control foobar!

The rtRemote team is also analyzing the pairing procedure.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
danryd
post Jun 16 2013, 14:51
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 16-June 13
Member No.: 108684



QUOTE (sealight @ May 15 2013, 14:38) *
QUOTE (leland @ May 12 2013, 07:44) *
+1 - trying to accomplish the same task.

I contacted the footouchremote author (the foobar add-in which implements DACP) and he explained me how to manually pair a device by adding the pairing-guid on windows registry.

After I added the rtRemote device this way (on foobar remote machine) I was able to use the win8 app to remotely control foobar!

The rtRemote team is also analyzing the pairing procedure.

How did you find the pairing guid? And what about the cookie-value?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pieceofsummer
post Aug 21 2013, 03:13
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 19-February 09
Member No.: 67159



I've just wasted a few hours to install Win8 into a virtual machine and test foobar with rtRemote. There are a few crucial points here:

1) rtRemote uses a hardcoded port 3689, so you need to set it in plugin settings.
This won't allow you run both iTunes and foobar at the same time (in case you'd like to).
I tried to add host like <host>:7000, but rtRemote failed to recognize it.

2) Pairing Helper tool just doesn't work as expected.
Its TXT record is announced empty, so there's neither device name nor pairing guid present, and pairing fails with the error above.

3) The rtRemote itself succeeded to pair with foobar though.
But I had to kill the process and restart it before pairing (probably because I forgot to install Bonjour in the beginning).


So it basically works, but the experience seems to be somewhat poor.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 07:43