IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
need a wma cli encoder, Where can I download wma8eutil.exe?
tripex
post Jan 19 2007, 05:49
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 39799



I used to convert my music files (wav, mpc, mp3) to other formats with a set of batch files, awk files and cli programs (Win32). Only for wma I haven't found a cli encoder yet. Therefore I have to do it with a Winamp-Plugin, but this method sucks because of missing flexibility and automation. I read something about wma8eutil.exe but could not find it to download. And I'm not sure if it is the last compatible WMA non Pro encoder anyway. But with my understanding it can be only a shell around the installed WMA codec. So I also wonder, how I can manually upgrade my system only to the last WMA non Pro codec without Installing Windows Media Player or something else.

CU
Andy
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TrNSZ
post Jan 19 2007, 06:26
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 717
Joined: 25-September 01
Member No.: 20



Windows Media Encoder/Producer comes with a .VBS script that gives full access to the latest encoders via the CLI using cscript.

It doesn't work with Vista, however.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Jan 19 2007, 07:24
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



Here's a couple of threads on the subject of encoding with Windows Media Encoder on the command line:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=50415

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=47759


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tripex
post Feb 27 2007, 03:28
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 39799



Hmm, now I had time to check it out.

After extracting the files and typing cscript wmcmd.vbs /? I got this message:

WScript.CreateObject: Could not locate automation class named "WMEncEng.WMEncoder".

Obviously you need to install the full WMEncoder package properly before it works at all. But I need/want a portable version. I don't mind to copy some (dll) files from the package somewhere but I don't want touched the registry. I also don't mind to have the last/best wma encoder anymore. The already present one is sufficient.

Any other options I have left?

CU
Andy
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mangix
post Feb 27 2007, 03:54
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 591
Joined: 26-February 06
Member No.: 28077



ffmpeg
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Woodinville
post Feb 27 2007, 04:02
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1414
Joined: 9-January 05
From: In the kitchen
Member No.: 18957



QUOTE (Mangix @ Feb 26 2007, 18:54) *


Better to get the latest XP encoder, which also does more than WMA 8 format.


--------------------
-----
J. D. (jj) Johnston
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mangix
post Feb 27 2007, 04:08
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 591
Joined: 26-February 06
Member No.: 28077



nevertheless, ffmpeg is an option
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tripex
post Mar 1 2007, 22:55
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 39799



Why did nobody point me to Windows Media 8 Encoding Utility from Microsoft?
That's all I need. I just didn't know that this is the same than wm8eutil.exe.

CU
Andy
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Mar 2 2007, 07:47
Post #9





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



I didn't realise that you could use it on the command line.

Perhaps you could share your method?


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zombiewerewolf
post Mar 2 2007, 13:48
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 119
Joined: 27-January 03
From: Perth, AU
Member No.: 4755



QUOTE (tripex @ Mar 2 2007, 04:55) *
Why did nobody point me to Windows Media 8 Encoding Utility from Microsoft?
That's all I need. I just didn't know that this is the same than wm8eutil.exe.

CU
Andy

Windows Media 8 Encoding Utility
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...;DisplayLang=en
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xmixahlx
post Mar 2 2007, 19:16
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1394
Joined: 20-December 01
From: seattle
Member No.: 693



LOL

you are assuming a lot of people here use a CLI WMA encoder which is just silly thing to assume...


later


--------------------
RareWares/Debian :: http://www.rarewares.org/debian.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kwanbis
post Mar 2 2007, 20:54
Post #12





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2390
Joined: 28-June 02
From: Argentina
Member No.: 2425



QUOTE (tripex @ Mar 1 2007, 21:55) *
Why did nobody point me to Windows Media 8 Encoding Utility from Microsoft?
Maybe
1) nobody knew
2) nobody cares
3) both


--------------------
MAREO: http://www.webearce.com.ar
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gameplaya15143
post Mar 2 2007, 21:10
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 484
Joined: 8-January 06
From: Earth
Member No.: 26978



QUOTE (zombiewerewolf @ Mar 2 2007, 07:48) *
QUOTE (tripex @ Mar 2 2007, 04:55) *

Why did nobody point me to Windows Media 8 Encoding Utility from Microsoft?
That's all I need. I just didn't know that this is the same than wm8eutil.exe.

CU
Andy

Windows Media 8 Encoding Utility
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...;DisplayLang=en

Bah.. they have their 'validation' BS going there.

I got the wm8 CLI encoder from the dbpoweramp wma8 plugin, I forget which one of them comes with it (probably the CLI one). http://www.dbpoweramp.com/legacy/codec-central-wma.htm It might take you a bit more effort if you don't have dbpoweramp installed, but it is one non-invasive way to get the encoder.


--------------------
Vorbis-q0-lowpass99
lame3.93.1-q5-V9-k-nspsytune
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Mar 2 2007, 21:14
Post #14





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



biggrin.gif I don't quite see why asking you to prove that your Windows is licensed is "invasive".

I admit that it can be a pain in the butt. I'm not sure I've ever got it to work without having to run the CheckGenuine.exe (or whatever it's called) app.

This post has been edited by Synthetic Soul: Mar 2 2007, 21:15


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spoon
post Mar 2 2007, 21:25
Post #15


dBpowerAMP developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2758
Joined: 24-March 02
Member No.: 1615



I have had laptops, which come with XP Pro - brand new and they fail the WGA, there is no advantage to it, just an irritation (they are not illegal copies as I do not see Panasonic or Sony supplying illegal copies...).


--------------------
Spoon http://www.dbpoweramp.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tripex
post Mar 3 2007, 00:57
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 39799



Well, the most sites or links are outdated, but this one works (no genuine validation).

<http://fileforum.betanews.com/download/Windows_Media_8_Encoding_Utility/976950031/1>

@Synthetic Soul: Basically this tool is only cli based.

If you are interested in my general method, I can post my scripts later.

@xmixahlx: Your assumtion is wrong, like the most...

CU
Andy
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tripex
post Mar 3 2007, 02:47
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 39799



My method is to convert any audio files in a dir via context menu from the dir. Therefore I need a registry entry like this:

REGEDIT4
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell\audio\command]
@="cmd /c cd \"%1\" && audio \"%1\""

Then you need the audio.bat in the PATH so it is accessible from everywhere:

@echo off

:2wma
jnfrage -w 10 convert to wma?
if errorlevel 1 goto 2mp3mono
dir /b /o *.mp3 *.mpc *.wav > filelist.tmp
awk -f C:\archive\dos\2wma.awk filelist.tmp > filelist.bat
del filelist.tmp
call filelist.bat
del filelist.bat
goto end

:2mp3mono
jnfrage -w 10 convert to mp3 (mono)?
if errorlevel 1 goto 2mp3low
dir /b /o *.ac3 *.mp3 *.mpc *.wav > filelist.tmp
awk -f C:\archive\dos\2mp3mono.awk filelist.tmp > filelist.bat
del filelist.tmp
call filelist.bat
del filelist.bat
goto end

:2mp3low
jnfrage -w 10 convert to mp3 (low quality)?
if errorlevel 1 goto 2mp3high
dir /b /o *.ac3 *.mp3 *.mpc *.wav > filelist.tmp
awk -f C:\archive\dos\2mp3low.awk filelist.tmp > filelist.bat
del filelist.tmp
call filelist.bat
del filelist.bat
goto end

:2mp3high
jnfrage -w 10 convert to mp3 (high quality)?
if errorlevel 1 goto 2mpc
dir /b /o *.ac3 *.mp3 *.mpc *.wav > filelist.tmp
awk -f C:\archive\dos\2mp3high.awk filelist.tmp > filelist.bat
del filelist.tmp
call filelist.bat
del filelist.bat
if exist crc.txt del crc.txt
goto end

:2mpc
jnfrage -w 10 convert to mpc?
if errorlevel 1 goto 2wav
dir /b /o *.wav > filelist.tmp
awk -f C:\archive\dos\2mpc.awk filelist.tmp > filelist.bat
del filelist.tmp
call filelist.bat
del filelist.bat
if exist crc.txt del crc.txt
goto end

:2wav
jnfrage -w 10 convert to wav?
if errorlevel 1 goto end
dir /b /o *.mp3 *.mpc > filelist.tmp
awk -f C:\archive\dos\2wav.awk filelist.tmp > filelist.bat
del filelist.tmp
call filelist.bat
del filelist.bat
if exist crc.txt del crc.txt
goto end

:end

In addition you would need all the tools I use within the audio.bat and other bat scripts in the PATH as well, like jnfrage, lame, wm8eutil.exe...
But the most important tool is awk (Berkeley utilities), which allows me to "convert" the filelist created by dir to a new batch script.

Finally I have for each conversation type (2wma, 2mp3mono, 2mp3low, ...) one awk and one bat script, which are quite similar to each other. Here is the example of 2mp3high.

2mp3high.awk:

BEGIN {OFS=""} {print "call 2mp3high \"", substr($0,0,length($0)-4), "\""}

2mp3high.bat:

@echo off

if exist %1.ac3 goto decode_ac3
if exist %1.mp3 goto decode_mp3
if exist %1.mpc goto decode_mpc
if exist %1.wav goto encode_mp3_high
goto end

:decode_ac3
azid --maximize -cnormal -L-3db %1.ac3 %1.wav
if errorlevel 0 del %1.ac3
goto encode_mp3_high

:decode_mp3
lame --decode %1.mp3 %1.wav
if errorlevel 0 del %1.mp3
goto encode_mp3_high

:decode_mpc
mppdec %1.mpc %1.wav
if errorlevel 0 del %1.mpc
goto encode_mp3_high

:encode_mp3_high
lame --r3mix %1.wav tmp.mp3
if errorlevel 0 del %1.wav
ren tmp.mp3 %1.mp3
goto end

:end

That's all. Maybe there is a generally much simpler method, but it works for me and is highly editable and portable as well. It works with WinXP and Win2k and I don't need to install anything but the registry entry for the context menu.

CU
Andy
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Mar 3 2007, 07:58
Post #18





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



Thanks for sharing.

In retrospect I suppose the VBS script is normally recommended to make use of the later codec. WM8EUTIL.exe is really outdated - it's coming up for its six birthday, and that's a long time in audio development. The VBS script also works with both Win2K and XP (and I don't have a problem using it).

xmixahlx is certainly correct for this board, and I suspect the general populous. Windows Media is not popular here, and most WMA users will use WMP or other GUIs to encode, not a CLI application.

At least we now have another thread to point users to, if this question is asked again. Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Synthetic Soul: Mar 3 2007, 07:59


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tripex
post Mar 3 2007, 22:23
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 19-January 07
Member No.: 39799



Because I use wma only to accommodate more music on my mp3/wma stick (for conservation I use mpc) I don't care too much about the quality advantages of the newest wma codec around 48kbps (32kHz). I assume they are minimal and probably not worth too mess up my system(s) more than necessary. And it makes no difference in quality compared to my former method via Winamp plugin. Both are only shells, regardless how old they are.

CU
Andy
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
The_Doctor
post Jun 6 2010, 17:42
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 31-January 03
Member No.: 4812



QUOTE (tripex @ Mar 2 2007, 17:47) *
.
.
.
:decode_mp3
lame --decode %1.mp3 %1.wav
if errorlevel 0 del %1.mp3
goto encode_mp3_high
.
.
.


That errorlevel bit won't work in W98 (yes, I use it, never mind..), and possibly only appears to work right even in WNT or WXP. The way ERRORLEVEL works, (or worked) is such that if error level 4 was set, any test for a lower value will return true! That includes testing for level 0, which LAME returns on success. Which in turn means you can lose a file that way even if there was an error with that code above; in W98 and maybe the later OS's, you'll still lose that file even though you likely want it safe to try something else with.

The way round that is to use IF NOT ERRORLEVEL 1 DEL %1.MP3 because an error code of => 1 returns true, so negating that returned state makes sure than ONLY a value less than 1, i.e. 0, returns true, so that LAME's success can allow deleting of the old file. DOS is weird but there is method in the madness.

I still use batch scripts, they let me see and sort stuff more easily. But I use Lua to build them now, if they're for large tasks. Lua could bypass them outright but I still prefer the console reporting and the chance to review the prepared script.

This post has been edited by The_Doctor: Jun 6 2010, 17:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 03:37