Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: mp3gain (Read 3196 times) previous topic - next topic

mp3gain

well, i've downloaded the 1.2.5 version of mp3gain. I've also read many posts about mp3gain in this site and also have made a research of my own. The thing is that i still haven't understood what are the features of this prog.
Ok, there are 2-3 guides in HA but they cover only a little. Google also hasn't come up with strightforward results. Pex, what is the main difference between album gain and track gain??

Can anyone give me a complete guide?

I'm terribly sorry if i offended anyone but i'm a newbie to this prog and i think mp3gain will help me a lot since i have my entire collection to mp3 format.

thanks in advance
Heavy Metal Is the Law!!!
---Let 'Em Eat Metal---

mp3gain

Reply #1
trackgain ~ modifies all songs so they sound equally loud, disregarding the dynamics of an album.

albumgain ~ modifies all songs to bring them nearer to set dB, keeping the dynamics of an album.

the MP3Gain help inside the app covers all this.
Nothing but a Heartache - Since I found my Baby ;)

mp3gain

Reply #2
Actually yes, it was pretty straightforward. Thanks mate.

If I have understood well, someone can use trackgain if they want to put mp3s to portable while albumgain for their ripped mp3s at the pc.

Of course this is my assumption and i think i will stick to it. Anyway, i have figured out how exactly this prog works.
---Let 'Em Eat Metal---

mp3gain

Reply #3
If I have understood well, someone can use trackgain if they want to put mp3s to portable while albumgain for their ripped mp3s at the pc.