IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
how to convert video to something useful with a mac
riegal
post Dec 11 2009, 10:02
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 1-September 07
Member No.: 46684



I've really beat this one up. Looked up on this forum how to do it, with no luck. Did Google search as well, no joy. Anyway . . .

I have a DVD video with VOB format files (educational training video we made.)

Trying to convert to something we can publish on the web.

Used MPEG StreamClip which worked except the files went from 1.5GB to 9GBs. Converted to both DV and AVI.

So had the bright idea to convert to XVID . . . seems to be a fairly alien idea to Mac (although I really like my Mac, find the video, photo, music, etc handling side of it to be not quite up to the hype.) And haven't been able to find a way to do that (yea, tried ffmpeg, but that's a trial by fire.)

Anyway, bottom-line, want to convert our video VOB files to AVI or XVID or whatever is the most useable.

Anyone with any ideas is much appreciated.

Thank you.

(By the way, this forum was extraordinarily helpful when I was learning to convert audio files for my minidisc and flash player.)

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Dec 11 2009, 10:14
Post #2


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1727
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



i'am currently using handbrake to convert stuff to h.264/mp4 (x264 and faac) which can also be used on web via quicktime and/or flash.

http://handbrake.fr/downloads.php

(from what i hear it has great dvd-input support as well)

This post has been edited by smok3: Dec 11 2009, 12:42


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Maggi
post Dec 21 2009, 15:59
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 31-May 07
Member No.: 43892



I'm using MediaCoder for transcoding about every AV stream
http://www.mediacoderhq.com/index.htm

and with a bit of fiddling, it seems to be running on MacOS as well:
http://forum.mediacoderhq.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2764

Cheers,
Maggi
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Dec 23 2009, 11:06
Post #4


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1727
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



Maggi, you serious? i wouldn't even run that on windows 95...., and to emulate that..., cough, cough

cheers,
Smokey

p.s. http://roundup.ffmpeg.org/roundup/ffmpeg/issue1162

This post has been edited by smok3: Dec 23 2009, 11:06


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Maggi
post Jan 7 2010, 11:43
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 31-May 07
Member No.: 43892



whoa ... thanx for the heads-up, Smokey !

I never heard about that issue before ... huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 06:12