IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
WMPCDText - CD-Text plug-in for Windows Media Player
Tim De Baets
post Jul 21 2011, 21:30
Post #51


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 394
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



If the title has been actually written to the CD as "CD Text Test Disc", then that indeed sounds like an issue with WMPCDText.

Is the 'convert caps' option still unchecked in WMPCDText's settings?

Which program did you use to burn the CD?

In CDex, please open the CDDB menu and choose Read CD-Text to make sure that it's the actual CD-Text that you're seeing. What's the exact title that is shown there?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dbminter
post Jul 21 2011, 21:41
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 20-July 11
Member No.: 92415



Convert caps option is still enabled right now. I changed it back to being checked after one of the last replies.

The CD was created by, and the CD Text inserted by, ImgBurn. (I'm a beta tester for that software. smile.gif )

CDex returns the Track name as "CD Text Test Performer Track: Village People / Cd Text Test Title Track 1: In The Navy"

Ah, ha! Perhaps, I made a typo when typing in the text and that it really is "Cd Text Test" on the disc instead of "CD Text Test." I will recreate the test disc and make sure I type it in correctly this time.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jul 21 2011, 22:02
Reason for edit: Removing redundant quote and line breaks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dbminter
post Jul 21 2011, 21:52
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 20-July 11
Member No.: 92415



QUOTE (Tim De Baets @ Jul 21 2011, 14:30) *
In CDex, please open the CDDB menu and choose Read CD-Text to make sure that it's the actual CD-Text that you're seeing. What's the exact title that is shown there?



I MUST have made a typo before. I recreated the disc making sure the necessary capitals were capitals. CDex returned the CD Text I was expecting. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Jul 22 2011, 16:43
Post #54


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 394
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Aha, that explains a lot smile.gif

Just to be sure, does WMPCDText also show the expected CD-Text now? (you may have to use the Read CD-Text context menu option again to force a re-read).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dbminter
post Jul 22 2011, 16:56
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 20-July 11
Member No.: 92415



QUOTE (Tim De Baets @ Jul 22 2011, 09:43) *
Just to be sure, does WMPCDText also show the expected CD-Text now? (you may have to use the Read CD-Text context menu option again to force a re-read).



Yes, it shows the correct text. I can't get the garbage text anymore, no matter how many times I use the context menu option. My guess is it maybe returns this garbage text the first time the plugin is used? Or the first time a disc is read? I don't know. smile.gif I can't get a repeat of the junk text anymore, so, I can't test it anymore.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Jul 23 2011, 15:58
Post #56


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 394
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



I did some more tests on my Windows 7 system, but never got any garbage text either, not even on first plug-in use or the first disc read. Oh well smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dbminter
post Jul 23 2011, 17:49
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 20-July 11
Member No.: 92415



QUOTE (Tim De Baets @ Jul 23 2011, 08:58) *
I did some more tests on my Windows 7 system, but never got any garbage text either, not even on first plug-in use or the first disc read. Oh well smile.gif



Yeah, it's weird as I got garbage text when I first tried the plugin on 2 computers. A custom built one from 2009 and a new Dell XPS 8300 that I got last week. As long as the plugin works with Read CD-Text context menu, that's all that matters, anyway. smile.gif Besides, neither of us can replicate a similar result, so, there's no way to test anything.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dbminter
post Sep 26 2011, 02:42
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 20-July 11
Member No.: 92415



One thing I have noticed with the plugin installed. Whenever I open video files, like AVI, WMP opens with a sub window opened for displaying the options for the WMPCDText plugin along with the window displaying the video.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Sep 27 2011, 20:31
Post #59


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 394
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Are you using the 64-bit version of Windows 7? If so, then this is probably a known bug in WMP that you're seeing. My Windows Media Player Plus! plug-in already includes a fix for this bug, so I suggest that you try installing that. You can uninstall the plug-in again afterwards if you don't need it - the fix will stay on your system.

This post has been edited by Tim De Baets: Sep 27 2011, 20:32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dbminter
post Sep 27 2011, 20:53
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 20-July 11
Member No.: 92415



QUOTE (Tim De Baets @ Sep 27 2011, 13:31) *
Are you using the 64-bit version of Windows 7? If so, then this is probably a known bug in WMP that you're seeing. My Windows Media Player Plus! plug-in already includes a fix for this bug, so I suggest that you try installing that. You can uninstall the plug-in again afterwards if you don't need it - the fix will stay on your system.



Yes, I am using the 64 bit version of Windows 7. I was not aware of this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
preservationist
post Oct 17 2011, 05:04
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-October 11
Member No.: 94443



Minor enhancement I'd like to suggest: Ability to read Composer (or Songwriter, if Composer is blank). While WMP doesn't display Composer in the list pane, it can be accessed by right-clicking on a track and selecting Properties - Content when CD media information has been obtained from online database, or when playing an MP3 disc with ID3 tags.

I don't yet know if WMPCDText can read Genre because my burning software has no provision for adding that, but that's also desirable.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Oct 18 2011, 21:12
Post #62


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 394
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



WMPCDText should already read Composer from CD-Text, doesn't it do that for you? It also reads Songwriter and tries to fill this into WMP's Writer field, but this probably fails because that field isn't available for CD tracks. Using Songwriter if Composer is blank is a decent suggestion, although they're technically a different thing.

WMPCDText should already read Genre correctly as well.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
preservationist
post Oct 19 2011, 02:03
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-October 11
Member No.: 94443



Thanks for responding. It was a glitch with Cyberlink Power2Go burning software all along. I like your plug-in even better now! :)

This post has been edited by preservationist: Oct 19 2011, 02:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
preservationist
post Nov 2 2011, 01:23
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-October 11
Member No.: 94443



Burning software I'm using allows Comments, presumably equivalent to keyword MESSAGE described in Wikipedia article on CD Text. I just found that this plug-in allows such comments to be displayed as captions, if you set "Lyrics, Captions, and Subtitles" to "On if Available" (in WMP 11 under Play menu, which is only visible if you select View Classic Menus). Cool! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gabrus
post Jan 12 2012, 15:32
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 8-January 12
Member No.: 96300



Hi, i have just now installed WMPCDText, but in my system seems to be that doesn't work.
The installer says that all is ok, but i can't see "Read Cd-Text" in any submenu of Media Player and in Media Player options i see that the plug-in is installed.

My system is Windows 7 Service Pack 1, and Windows Media Player 12.0.7601.17514.

This post has been edited by gabrus: Jan 12 2012, 15:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Jan 12 2012, 23:32
Post #66


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 394
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Did you install the latest version of WMPCDText (1.2)?

The Read CD-Text menu item should appear when right-clicking a CD track in WMP's Play pane on the right. See this screenshot:



The menu item should also be available when right-clicking a CD track in WMP's Now Playing mode.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gabrus
post Jan 12 2012, 23:47
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 8-January 12
Member No.: 96300



Yes, software is 1.2 version, and i can't see the text menu as the screenshot: it appear as normal, when WMPCDText is not installed, but in options say that is installed crying.gif

The software needs some particular service to be running? I have disabled some services in autostart...

This post has been edited by gabrus: Jan 13 2012, 00:20
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Jan 13 2012, 13:16
Post #68


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 394
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Please check if WMPCDText is loaded in WMP - it should be listed in WMP's Tools - Plug-ins menu, and should have a checkmark next to it (press Ctrl+M if you don't see the Tools menu).

Are you sure that you're right-clicking the track of an actual audio CD (and not, for example, the track of a data CD containing MP3 files)?

If you use Windows Explorer to go to WMP's Program Files folder (the same folder where wmplayer.exe is located), do you also see a wmp.dll file there?

QUOTE (gabrus @ Jan 13 2012, 00:47) *
The software needs some particular service to be running? I have disabled some services in autostart...

No, disabled services shouldn't be causing this problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gabrus
post Jan 13 2012, 13:57
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 8-January 12
Member No.: 96300



Yes, i have WMPCDText loaded in Options > Plug-in and also in right click > Tools > Plug-in with checkmark enabled. Also in have the wmp.dll in "C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player". It's really strange, i have formatted just from one week my pc from Xp to Seven, and when i have XP in the past no problems with the plugin: it was working perfectly unsure.gif

Just one small thing: Media Player is in Italian, but i think this is not a problem...

This post has been edited by db1989: Jan 13 2012, 22:11
Reason for edit: removing pointless full quote of above post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Jan 13 2012, 20:58
Post #70


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 394
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Weird. An Italian WMP shouldn't be a problem either.

I will prepare a special debug version of WMPCDText for you to try. When it's ready (somewhere later this weekend), I'll PM you the download link. Or if you prefer e-mail, PM me your e-mail address first.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gabrus
post Jan 13 2012, 21:36
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 8-January 12
Member No.: 96300



Very thanks, i really appreciate your work, and also i loved this plugin: i seriously hope that i can use again with windows 7... u can pm when the debug version is ready, i will answer soon wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gabrus
post Jan 16 2012, 17:08
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 8-January 12
Member No.: 96300



I'm really glad to say that the plugin works now for me also. Very thanks for it and for the support also. beer.gif

This post has been edited by gabrus: Jan 16 2012, 17:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Jan 17 2012, 19:45
Post #73


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 394
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



You're welcome smile.gif

gabrus's issue turned out to be a problem with non-English versions of WMP 12 after all: in those versions, the Read CD-Text menu item is never shown (my mistake for only testing in an English WMP 12). I am planning to release an updated version of WMPCDText in the coming months.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
schmoeckwitzer
post Mar 27 2012, 08:45
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 27-March 12
Member No.: 98096



Just a short question: Does this nice plug-in also works with Windows 7 Starter?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Mar 27 2012, 13:27
Post #75


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 394
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Yes, as long as you have Windows Media Player, WMPCDText should work fine.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th September 2014 - 20:11