IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Updated foo_midi to v1.150; lost use of Hyper Canvas VST, EDIROL HQ SS, Was: foo_midi v1.150 and VST instruments (TOS #6)
adamjk
post Jan 15 2012, 07:46
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 116



I used foobar2000 v.1.1.10 and foo_midi configured for using Hyper Canvas VST to play midi files. Result was perfect for me. Unfortunately, updating foo_midi to v1.150 I lost possibility to use Hyper Canvas VST. In Advanced section of Preferences I set path to C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VstPlugins\Edirol where in my case is located Hyper Canvas.dll, but in regular MIDI decoder configuration page I can only choose between Emu de MIDI, BASSMIDI and MUNT. Before updating there was also EDIROL HQ Software Synthesizer.
Any ideas where is the problem and how can be solved?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 15 2012, 15:16
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



If you are running a 64-bit operating system, you need to make that:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\VstPlugins\Edirol
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adamjk
post Jan 15 2012, 17:37
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 116



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 15 2012, 16:16) *
If you are running a 64-bit operating system, you need to make that:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\VstPlugins\Edirol

No, I'm running good old XP SP3 32-bit.

This post has been edited by adamjk: Jan 15 2012, 17:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 16 2012, 08:00
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Can anyone else running Windows XP verify that the VSTi support is or is not working?

You could also try running Process Monitor to see what happens when the vsthost.exe process is loaded.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adamjk
post Jan 16 2012, 09:20
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 116



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 16 2012, 08:00) *
You could also try running Process Monitor to see what happens when the vsthost.exe process is loaded.

It was done. Filtered view after manual starting vsthost.exe saved as logfile.csv and compressed with Rar is available for upload too.
Attachment is available here: Logfile from Process Monitor after starting vsthost.exe

This post has been edited by adamjk: Jan 16 2012, 09:36
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 16 2012, 10:00
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I have sent you a message containing a link to an alternate download of foo_midi.zip which contains another vsthost.exe. This one should reveal more about the failure through the exit code in the Process Monitor log.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adamjk
post Jan 16 2012, 11:49
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 116



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 16 2012, 10:00) *
I have sent you a message containing a link to an alternate download of foo_midi.zip which contains another vsthost.exe. This one should reveal more about the failure through the exit code in the Process Monitor log.

I've tested new version vsthost.exe. Logfiles with brief descriptions are in Uploads - (fb2k).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 16 2012, 22:16
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I'm acquiring the latest version of Hyper Canvas to see if it even works under Windows 7.

Yeah, it looks like Hyper Canvas doesn't like my new VST host loader. Too bad, find another VST instrument to use. S-YXG50 and S-YXG2006LE are rather nice.

Hyper Canvas doesn't even want to work with DXi mode, so I guess that's off the table as well.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Jan 17 2012, 02:44
Post #9





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 818
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



And from my debugging, seems Edirol products are just buggy, even the Edirol VSC is pathetic.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 17 2012, 03:48
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Yeah, mudlord is looking into the issue for me, so it may be fixable.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adamjk
post Jan 17 2012, 12:13
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 116



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 17 2012, 03:48) *
Yeah, mudlord is looking into the issue for me, so it may be fixable.


Many, many thanks for your efforts and I hope that you and mudlord will succeed. I tried S-YXG50. It's not so bad, but for me Hyper Canvas is better.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 17 2012, 17:24
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I tried Hyper Canvas again with the VSTi system driver, and was reminded why I liked and also disliked it. It has some nice instrument presets, but damn, I hate that synthetic sounding snare drum.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foo_lover
post Feb 21 2012, 08:06
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 20-February 08
From: St.Petersburg
Member No.: 51457



Yamaha S-YXG2006LE sounds amazing. Thanks for the hint! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordOfOrder
post Jul 14 2012, 16:24
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81477



Hello! Downloaded MIDI decoder v.1.156, but couldn't launch EDIROL Hyper Canvas. win7 x64. foobar2000 v.1.1.13. Whether it will be repaired? The same problem that is described at the beginning of a topic.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Aug 3 2012, 04:15
Post #15





Group: Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Sorry about that, I fixed the problem. Hyper Canvas VSTi now works.

It was broken because my new external VST host binary uses stdin and stdout to communicate with foo_midi, but Hyper Canvas emits debug notices to stdout, breaking communications. I've changed the output path to use stderr instead. If some other VSTi manages to break that as well, I'll just pass the names of the two named pipes straight to the VST host and let it open them directly, instead of bothering with standard handles.

EDIT: Okay, I'm not taking any more chances. Now I pass the pipe names directly to the VST host module and let it connect to them directly. No more potential problems from VST plug-ins touching the standard handles.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordOfOrder
post Apr 26 2013, 12:45
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81477



Hi, kode54! MIDI plug-in together with EDIROL Hyper Canvas generates a set of processes and doesn't kill them. (Win7 x64, Foobar2000 v.1.2.5, foo_midi v.1.199). I start Foobar. Everything is ok. I start *.mid the file, and two processes "vsthost32.exe * 32" are created. Now I start other *.mid the file. One more process is created. Now them 3. And so indefinitely. Are killed only by handles. Each process about 30 Mb occupies memories - terrible leak: (
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Apr 26 2013, 13:20
Post #17





Group: Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



The component is already designed to terminate non-responsive vsthost processes, if it can't, it's beyond my control.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordOfOrder
post May 12 2013, 17:18
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81477



QUOTE (kode54 @ Apr 26 2013, 14:20) *
The component is already designed to terminate non-responsive vsthost processes, if it can't, it's beyond my control.


I reinstalled foobar2000 v.1.2.6 with foo_midi v.1.209. Everything works perfectly, processes don't propagate! ! ! Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post May 14 2013, 01:14
Post #19





Group: Admin
Posts: 4693
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Yeah, that was a leak from when I introduced per-file presets.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 01:48