IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
searching for
foolver
post Apr 9 2013, 21:10
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 5-October 08
Member No.: 59414



so, basically, sometimes some of my files get tagged with the character instead of ', and that sometimes gets by me, and it irks me. dunno why, i simply don't want the character to be used anywhere since i can always use the '.

now the thing is, i wanted to search my entire library for all files which contain the character in the tags, but when i search it in foobar, foobar immediately searches for ' instead. aka, when i write, or paste, the character in foobar search it's automatically written as ', therefore rendering me unable to search for the character.

so, why is this and how do i avoid, since i would really want to find (and replace) all the characters with '.

thanks in advance biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Apr 9 2013, 23:34
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1337
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Seems to work for me.
Library > Search.


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrew_berge
post Apr 10 2013, 02:52
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 17-November 09
From: Canada
Member No.: 75012



I can't help if you're trying to fix it with Foobar, but i know Mp3Tag can fix it for you easily enough.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foolver
post Apr 10 2013, 18:50
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 5-October 08
Member No.: 59414



QUOTE (Andreasvb @ Apr 9 2013, 17:34) *
Seems to work for me.
Library > Search.


lucky you, but for me it just doesn't want to work. it's always converted to '. however, if i search for ` or , it works. but is simply ignored and converted to '.

QUOTE (andrew_berge @ Apr 9 2013, 20:52) *
I can't help if you're trying to fix it with Foobar, but i know Mp3Tag can fix it for you easily enough.


i know that too, however, loading 80k files into mp3tag is not a desirable option :\
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Apr 10 2013, 20:14
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1337
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Yea, it was not same character, I tried with regular which wasn't the same apparently.

I, too, use Mp3tag for correcting spelling errors.
You can load some at a time and make Replace-actions so it fixes it automatically. At least something.



--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andrew_berge
post Apr 10 2013, 21:18
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 17-November 09
From: Canada
Member No.: 75012



QUOTE (foolver @ Apr 10 2013, 13:50) *
i know that too, however, loading 80k files into mp3tag is not a desirable option :\


I hope you don't mean that all 80k songs have this error tongue.gif
Search for ’ in foobar, select all the files it returns, and drag them into the Mp3Tag window.
That should reduce the number of files quite a bit.

This post has been edited by andrew_berge: Apr 10 2013, 21:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Apr 10 2013, 23:54
Post #7





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4434
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



Have you tried a query like
CODE
NOT "$strcmp(%artist%,$replace(%artist%,,'))" IS 1
which should find all tracks with in the artist field? Unfortunately that scheme only works for one tag (%artist%, %title%, %album%, ...) at a time.

This post has been edited by foosion: Apr 10 2013, 23:54


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
PeteG
post Apr 11 2013, 06:07
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 10-June 12
From: Denmark
Member No.: 100577



foosion, if I understand it correctly, OP wants to replace right single quotation mark () with apostrophe ('). You use acute accent in the example ().
It should look like this:

CODE
NOT "$strcmp(%artist%,$replace(%artist%,,'))" IS 1

... but nothing happens here when testing (I altered of course a couple of tags beforehand for the purpose).

FWIW:
' Unicode Character 'Apostrophe' Alt 39 / Alt 039
Unicode Character 'Right single quotation mark' Alt +2019
Unicode Character 'Acute accent' Alt 0180. Should normally not be used as a "stand alone" char, but only in combination with e.g. a, e, o, i: , , , .

For the moment the suggested solution involving dragging the affected files to Mp3tag and defining a replace action seems to be the way to go.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Apr 11 2013, 14:12
Post #9





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4434
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



Oops, you're right. The goal of my approach was to narrow down the list of affected files.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Apr 11 2013, 16:29
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 4470
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



although library search doesn't treat it differently, normal title formatting does. try creating a new album list view like this...

CODE
$if($strstr(%artist%%album%%title%,),bad,good)|%artist% - %title%
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Apr 11 2013, 17:09
Post #11





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4434
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



Good idea. I think the problem with the query comes from the feature that allows you to leave out diacritics from search terms.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th September 2014 - 02:29