IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

21 Pages V  « < 14 15 16 17 18 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Nero Releases FREE Reference Quality MPEG-4 Audio Encoder, Nero Releases Command Line MPEG-4 & 3GPP AAC Solution
adamjk
post May 12 2006, 11:21
Post #376





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 116



QUOTE (Garf @ May 12 2006, 07:37) *
QUOTE (kwanbis @ May 12 2006, 00:17) *
QUOTE (Ivan Dimkovic @ May 11 2006, 13:38) *

Currently with Foobar - but command line tagging will come very soon.

one question, maybe allready asked, why is it that it does nothing and then it suddenly finishes? would be better to see a sinning simbol, or something. or at least one:

"Working, please wait ..."


I already added a nice progress display a few days ago tongue.gif

Many thanks, but where this version is available?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 12 2006, 15:36
Post #377


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4886
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (adamjk @ May 12 2006, 12:21) *
QUOTE (Garf @ May 12 2006, 07:37) *


I already added a nice progress display a few days ago tongue.gif

Many thanks, but where this version is available?


Available on the next update.

This post has been edited by Garf: May 12 2006, 15:36
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sven_Bent
post May 12 2006, 19:28
Post #378





Group: Members
Posts: 691
Joined: 15-December 01
From: Denmark
Member No.: 655



QUOTE (gaekwad2 @ May 11 2006, 19:33) *
QUOTE (sven_Bent @ May 11 2006, 18:33) *

Found te bug. is has nothing to due with the encoder.
If i extract the .wav and run the commandline myself, the files playbacks perfectly.

What version of CDex did you use?

I tried 1.60 from rarewares with different bitrates but couldn't get Winamp to barf.


my version is 1.51 but my bug was caused by the ID3 tag that CDex adds to the file.
Disable the id3 tag and the files should playback perfectly.


--------------------
Sven Bent - Denmark
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Axon
post May 12 2006, 20:41
Post #379





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1985
Joined: 4-January 04
From: Austin, TX
Member No.: 10933



Super high level question:

Is there a set of test results to compare this encoder against LAME, in particular at high bitrates? Can we safely use the last published set of results for Nero's encoder?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 12 2006, 20:56
Post #380


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4886
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (Axon @ May 12 2006, 21:41) *
Super high level question:

Is there a set of test results to compare this encoder against LAME, in particular at high bitrates? Can we safely use the last published set of results for Nero's encoder?


It has had several important bugfixes as well as quality improvements[1] since then. I know we always say this but it's true! smile.gif

[1] <nitpick>TOS 8 violation!</nitpick>
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Daijoubu
post May 12 2006, 23:01
Post #381





Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 22-February 03
From: Quebec, Montreal
Member No.: 5117



On a P3 933Mhz, the nero encoder acheived 5.4x (36 secs) while CT+dimzon CLI (25 secs) one encoded at 7.8x (timed with a stop watch...)

3:16 song, CBR 64kbps HE-AAC

Gonna try with a longer track on my A64 3200+ (SSE2) later
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
manuelator
post May 13 2006, 03:49
Post #382





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 21-January 04
Member No.: 11426



If you want to reconvert yo aac (or m4a or mp4) audio to wav mono use ffmpeg with the aac codec and do:

ffmpeg.exe -i 2.mp4 -ac 1 test.wav biggrin.gif easy
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jevinsweval
post May 13 2006, 22:45
Post #383





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Indiana
Member No.: 18274



How do we add album art?


--------------------
[url=http://www.jevinskie.com]jevinskie.com[/url]
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sofronis
post May 14 2006, 02:16
Post #384





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 17-March 04
From: Athens, Greece
Member No.: 12807



I found an interesting sample (it’s an artificial sound of a vehicle) taken from the Star Wars Episode III movie. I was able to ABX it all the way up to Q 1 (~420kbps) using some cheap Philips speakers (didn’t have my headphones around). The problem is located in the left channel, at the beginning of the track (0 - 0.4 sec), where there is some sort of distortion on those high frequency (~12khz) short “clicks”. If you find it hard to ABX, try a lower quality setting (for example Q 0.4) which will accentuate the problem, making it easier to spot.

You can find the 48khz stereo track which I used for the encodings (downmixed from a 5.1 channel, ac3 track) here.

CODE
foo_abx 1.3 report
foobar2000 v0.9.1
2006/05/14 03:15:21

File A: E:\New Folder\audio test\q 1.mp4
File B: E:\New Folder\audio test\Utapau_chase.wv

03:15:21 : Test started.
03:16:58 : 01/01  50.0%
03:18:02 : 02/02  25.0%
03:19:35 : 03/03  12.5%
03:21:47 : 04/04  6.3%
03:23:13 : 05/05  3.1%
03:26:13 : 06/06  1.6%
03:28:58 : 06/07  6.3%
03:30:17 : 07/08  3.5%
03:32:13 : 08/09  2.0%
03:37:31 : 09/10  1.1%
03:42:17 : 10/11  0.6%
03:48:36 : 11/12  0.3%
03:51:36 : 12/13  0.2%
03:53:02 : 13/14  0.1%
03:55:17 : 14/15  0.0%
03:55:22 : Test finished.

----------
Total: 14/15 (0.0%)


--------------------
Let us so live that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry. -Mark Twain
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
torok
post May 14 2006, 02:38
Post #385





Group: Members
Posts: 391
Joined: 24-December 02
From: Eugene, OR
Member No.: 4224



QUOTE (Sofronis @ May 13 2006, 18:16) *
I found an interesting sample (it’s an artificial sound of a vehicle) taken from the Star Wars Episode III movie. I was able to ABX it all the way up to Q 1 (~420kbps) using some cheap Philips speakers (didn’t have my headphones around). The problem is located in the left channel, at the beginning of the track (0 - 0.4 sec), where there is some sort of distortion on those high frequency (~12khz) short “clicks”. If you find it hard to ABX, try a lower quality setting (for example Q 0.4) which will accentuate the problem, making it easier to spot.

You can find the 48khz stereo track which I used for the encodings (downmixed from a 5.1 channel, ac3 track) here.

CODE
foo_abx 1.3 report
foobar2000 v0.9.1
2006/05/14 03:15:21

File A: E:\New Folder\audio test\q 1.mp4
File B: E:\New Folder\audio test\Utapau_chase.wv

03:15:21 : Test started.
03:16:58 : 01/01  50.0%
03:18:02 : 02/02  25.0%
03:19:35 : 03/03  12.5%
03:21:47 : 04/04  6.3%
03:23:13 : 05/05  3.1%
03:26:13 : 06/06  1.6%
03:28:58 : 06/07  6.3%
03:30:17 : 07/08  3.5%
03:32:13 : 08/09  2.0%
03:37:31 : 09/10  1.1%
03:42:17 : 10/11  0.6%
03:48:36 : 11/12  0.3%
03:51:36 : 12/13  0.2%
03:53:02 : 13/14  0.1%
03:55:17 : 14/15  0.0%
03:55:22 : Test finished.

----------
Total: 14/15 (0.0%)


Would the fact that it's coming from AC3 be an issue?


--------------------
http://www.pkulak.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
auldyin
post May 16 2006, 10:43
Post #386





Group: Members
Posts: 252
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 48



I am about to try using Foobar 0.9.1 to transcode some wv files to m4a using the new Nero codec. Trouble is I have no idea about command line stuff.

Can any of you chaps tell me the command line for Foobar to transcde my wv files to ~ 128 m4a files.

Sorry to be a bof (boring old fart)

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 16 2006, 10:45
Post #387


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4886
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (auldyin @ May 16 2006, 11:43) *
I am about to try using Foobar 0.9.1 to transcode some wv files to m4a using the new Nero codec. Trouble is I have no idea about command line stuff.

Can any of you chaps tell me the command line for Foobar to transcde my wv files to ~ 128 m4a files.

Sorry to be a bof (boring old fart)

Cheers


http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=44310

This post has been edited by Garf: May 16 2006, 10:46
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
auldyin
post May 16 2006, 11:46
Post #388





Group: Members
Posts: 252
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 48



QUOTE

Thanks Garf.
I saw that
QUOTE
-ignorelength -q 0.5 -if - -of %d

but didn't know what this bit meant
QUOTE
-if - -of


In my ignorance I thought that "something" had to be placed between the "if" and the "of"

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 16 2006, 12:06
Post #389


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4886
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (auldyin @ May 16 2006, 12:46) *
QUOTE

Thanks Garf.
I saw that
QUOTE
-ignorelength -q 0.5 -if - -of %d

but didn't know what this bit meant
QUOTE
-if - -of


In my ignorance I thought that "something" had to be placed between the "if" and the "of"

Cheers


if = input file
of = output file

you'll notice there's an "-" inbetween, which means "standard input". This system avoids writing a temporary file and is supported by foobar2000.

So, it means, take input from standard input, output to %d (filled in by fb2k)

This post has been edited by Garf: May 16 2006, 12:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
auldyin
post May 16 2006, 13:54
Post #390





Group: Members
Posts: 252
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 48



Cheers Garf!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
euphonic
post May 16 2006, 16:08
Post #391





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 12-February 06
Member No.: 27711



Just a little suggestion, to have minimum OS requirements listed on http://www.nero.com/nerodigital/eng/Nero_Digital_Audio.html
Specifically, so that folks like myself and others earlier in the thread who likewise downloaded the programme will know a unicode-capable OS is required. Looking at http://www.nero.com/nerodigital/eng/Nero_D...quirements.html gives a misleading impression.

Cheers.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
towolf
post May 23 2006, 13:06
Post #392





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 2-April 03
Member No.: 5795



QUOTE (Garf @ May 5 2006, 01:28) *
QUOTE (emtee @ May 5 2006, 01:16 AM) *
Sounds really promising, wish I could give it a try. How long till the UNIX version? Can you elaborate on that?
Thanks a lot for the generous offer.

Either

1 Nero Month.

or

When it's done smile.gif


Just wondering, compared to the moon-related one, is the Nero Month longer or shorter?
Or are we even in the second conditional already?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LaserSokrates
post May 23 2006, 15:18
Post #393





Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 9-March 06
From: NRW, Germany
Member No.: 28371



I think that "1 Nero Month" and "When it's done" is pretty much the same, at least for the customer.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
torok
post May 24 2006, 16:58
Post #394





Group: Members
Posts: 391
Joined: 24-December 02
From: Eugene, OR
Member No.: 4224



I was wondering if a dev could take a look at a tagging problem that I've been having:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=44454

Basicaly, if I take a Nero-encoded file and tag it with AtomicParsley Foobar can't read it, but if I encode the same wav with iTunes then tag with AP, all is well.

Of course, if tagging gets bundled into the executable, this problem goes away and I won't have to try to rely on programs that try to "douche" foobar2000 tags. biggrin.gif


--------------------
http://www.pkulak.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ivan Dimkovic
post May 24 2006, 17:00
Post #395


Nero MPEG4 developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1466
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 8



We will issue a new update in the few days, which will among other things also include a command line tagger.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alfa156
post May 24 2006, 17:09
Post #396





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 19-December 02
From: Athens, Greece
Member No.: 4152



sorry for the perhaps lame question but is there a free frontend we could use?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kwanbis
post May 24 2006, 17:35
Post #397





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2362
Joined: 28-June 02
From: Argentina
Member No.: 2425



QUOTE (alfa156 @ May 24 2006, 16:09) *
sorry for the perhaps lame question but is there a free frontend we could use?

its called command prompt wink.gif


--------------------
MAREO: http://www.webearce.com.ar
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jarsonic
post May 24 2006, 18:03
Post #398





Group: Members
Posts: 200
Joined: 30-September 01
From: C-ville, VA
Member No.: 83



QUOTE (alfa156 @ May 24 2006, 16:09) *
sorry for the perhaps lame question but is there a free frontend we could use?


dbPowerAmp, Foobar2000, and apparently one is in development over at doom9.org. Look upward in this thread for more info.

This post has been edited by jarsonic: May 24 2006, 18:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Maurits
post May 25 2006, 13:02
Post #399





Group: Members
Posts: 392
Joined: 30-September 05
From: London, Europe
Member No.: 24805



QUOTE (Ivan Dimkovic @ May 24 2006, 17:00) *
We will issue a new update in the few days, which will among other things also include a command line tagger.

Will this solve all the 'non-compliant tagging' disputes that several developers in the AAC/M4A world seem to blame eachother for?

And is it true Nero writes the tag at the end of a file? blink.gif

This post has been edited by Maurits: May 25 2006, 13:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wylistener
post May 25 2006, 13:24
Post #400





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31002



QUOTE (Ivan Dimkovic @ May 24 2006, 11:00) *
We will issue a new update in the few days, which will among other things also include a command line tagger.


Will that commandline tagger enable the single mp4 feature such as CUE sheet, album art, etc? The feature stated in the first post of this thread is:

"* Store Entire Audio Album in a Single .mp4 File with all the Features of an Audio CD embedded inside, but at a fraction of the space!"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

21 Pages V  « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st November 2014 - 08:43