IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
CUETools 2.1.4 CDDBId Calculation BUG
greynol
post Sep 11 2013, 00:35
Post #1





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I have a disc I ripped that cannot be verified with CUETools because it cannot create the proper Disc ID.

"CDDBId mismatch: 800A140A vs 7F0A130A"

Is anyone aware if this is a common problem?

A long while back I created a batch script to calculate disc IDs used by freedb and it has always worked. This this particular title my script gives the same result as EAC which is different from CUETools.

To cover the basic questions so you won't have to ask them:
Q: Is there a data track?
A: No. It's a normal disc with 10 audio tracks.

Q: Is there HTOA?
A: Yes. The start location is at 183 frames (33-frame pregap before the first track).

Q: What is the correct AR disc ID?
A: 0010961e-0083c868-800a140a

Q: What is the incorrect AR disc ID reported by CUETools?
A: 001095c6-0083c658-7f0a130a
Track lengths and start positions:
CODE
Absolute Start Position (Frames)    Track Length (mm:ss.ff)    
183                                    4:51.07
22015                                  4:39.10
42950                                  3:56.30
60680                                  4:13.58
79713                                  4:39.05
100643                                 4:07.72
119240                                 4:12.08
138148                                 3:59.70
156143                                 4:15.20
175288                                 4:04.65

Total Length as reported by EAC (mm:ss.ff): 42:59.45

This post has been edited by greynol: Sep 11 2013, 01:34


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wombat
post Sep 11 2013, 01:47
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 977
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



I remember having a similar problem and only guess there was a left out gap that messed everything up.

This post has been edited by Wombat: Sep 11 2013, 01:47
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 11 2013, 01:50
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



The problem is with CUETools, not the cue or rip. Burning the data back to CD-R with the cue using EAC resulted in an exact copy.

Removing all 00 indices from the cue sheet and rearranging the file/track order so that is compliant gives exactly the same results.

The tracks were ripped in the standard way: with gaps appended to the previous track.

All the data necessary to recreate the problem is provided in my initial post. Pre-gap information other than HTOA is neither necessary nor relevant.

There is nothing unusual about this disc other than CUETools having a problem with it.

This post has been edited by greynol: Sep 11 2013, 02:11


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
korth
post Sep 11 2013, 02:22
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 416
Joined: 13-March 11
Member No.: 88969



Is the pregap (HTOA) info missing from the CUE file? The "CDDBId mismatch: 800A140A vs 7F0A130A" message usually means that "REM DISCID 800A140A" is in the CUE file but the audio files calculate to "7F0A130A".

Edit: I just duplicated the message by removing the pregap data so it is a valid question.

Could I see the CUE file? (the first twenty lines would do).

This post has been edited by korth: Sep 11 2013, 02:25


--------------------
korth
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 11 2013, 02:24
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



There is nothing in the CUE that isn't already described in my previous posts, but here you go:
CODE
REM DISCID 800A140A
FILE "01 - Track.wav" WAVE
TRACK 01 AUDIO
PREGAP 00:00:33
INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "02 - Track.wav" WAVE
TRACK 02 AUDIO
INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "03 - Track.wav" WAVE
TRACK 03 AUDIO
INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "04 - Track.wav" WAVE
TRACK 04 AUDIO
INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "05 - Track.wav" WAVE
TRACK 05 AUDIO
INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "06 - Track.wav" WAVE
TRACK 06 AUDIO
INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "07 - Track.wav" WAVE
TRACK 07 AUDIO
INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "08 - Track.wav" WAVE
TRACK 08 AUDIO
INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "09 - Track.wav" WAVE
TRACK 09 AUDIO
INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "10 - Track.wav" WAVE
TRACK 10 AUDIO
INDEX 01 00:00:00

Here's a CUE for a single file image:
CODE
REM DISCID 800A140A
FILE "Range.wav" WAVE
TRACK 01 AUDIO
PREGAP 00:00:33
INDEX 01 00:00:00
TRACK 02 AUDIO
INDEX 01 04:51:07
TRACK 03 AUDIO
INDEX 01 09:30:17
TRACK 04 AUDIO
INDEX 01 13:26:47
TRACK 05 AUDIO
INDEX 01 17:40:30
TRACK 06 AUDIO
INDEX 01 22:19:35
TRACK 07 AUDIO
INDEX 01 26:27:32
TRACK 08 AUDIO
INDEX 01 30:39:40
TRACK 09 AUDIO
INDEX 01 34:39:35
TRACK 10 AUDIO
INDEX 01 38:54:55


This post has been edited by greynol: Sep 11 2013, 02:28


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wombat
post Sep 11 2013, 02:36
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 977
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



Maybe this is of some help http://db.cuetools.net/cd/1381674 Start 2.32

This post has been edited by Wombat: Sep 11 2013, 02:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 11 2013, 02:40
Post #7





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



http://musicbrainz.org/cdtoc/NzatgICVzC56UTIWRl5WgMKMfJI-
http://www.freedb.org/freedb/rock/800a140a

You'll see the first track pregap in the CTDB link you gave is incorrect (track lengths are different as well).

This post has been edited by greynol: Sep 11 2013, 02:42


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wombat
post Sep 11 2013, 02:49
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 977
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



Yeah but Musicbrainz also gives a Total length of 43:02 similar to CTDB while EAC is below 43 min. With a confidence of 1 in CTDB we have no real valid information. Did you play with the first index value in the CUE and let CUEtools try?

This post has been edited by Wombat: Sep 11 2013, 02:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
korth
post Sep 11 2013, 03:08
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 416
Joined: 13-March 11
Member No.: 88969



QUOTE (greynol @ Sep 11 2013, 02:24) *
There is nothing in the CUE that isn't already described in my previous posts, but here you go:

Sorry, what I was looking for wasn't there anyway.

To see what CUETools is using to calculate the ID you could turn on Create TOC files = True.
It with create a text file %filename%.toc in the same location as the accurip file. The TOC in the file is similar to the one in the EAC log (0.99 & newer).
Of course you'd have to add 150 to TOC results to match up with the Absolute Start Positions given in your first message.

This post has been edited by korth: Sep 11 2013, 03:23


--------------------
korth
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 11 2013, 03:31
Post #10





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (Wombat @ Sep 10 2013, 18:49) *
Yeah but Musicbrainz also gives a Total length of 43:02 similar to CTDB while EAC is below 43 min. With a confidence of 1 in CTDB we have no real valid information. Did you play with the first index value in the CUE and let CUEtools try?

EAC doesn't include the pregap when calculating the total time. You will arrive at the same value if you sum the times in my first post. You'll also notice that Musicbrainz doesn't include frames when providing any of the times while EAC does. If you want precision you have to use the sectors (which agree with EAC perfectly).

Altering the pregap value is of no use since some of the track lengths in CTDB's record are also wrong.

There is no way that EAC and AR and freedb and musicbrainz are all wrong on the ID value. wink.gif

This post has been edited by greynol: Sep 11 2013, 03:49


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wombat
post Sep 11 2013, 03:36
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 977
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



At least the title of the album "Perfect Timing" bringing out such a problem is a hit smile.gif Beddy time now, good luck!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 11 2013, 03:41
Post #12





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



The timing isn't so perfect for CUETools.


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gregory S. Chudo...
post Sep 11 2013, 04:56
Post #13





Group: Developer
Posts: 690
Joined: 2-October 08
From: Ottawa
Member No.: 59035



Playing with R:
CODE
arid <- function(toc) { sprintf("%08x-%08x",sum(toc),sum(1:length(toc) * toc)) }
arid(c(183, 22015, 42950, 60680, 79713, 100643, 119240, 138148, 156143, 175288, 193653) - 150)
arid(c(183, 22015, 42950, 60680, 79713, 100643, 119240, 138148, 156143, 175288, 193653) - 150 - 8)

[1] "0010961e-0083c868"
[1] "001095c6-0083c658"

You can play with it here: http://www.compileonline.com/execute_r_online.php
Just paste the code snippet, click "Execute Script" and observe the first part of AccurateRip Id appear on the right.

Looks like CUETools somehow assumed that pregap is 8 frames shorter. I guess it got the wrong impression from a log file or CTDB. This theory can be tested by unchecking CTDB verification and/or moving a log file to a different folder.

33 frames pregap being mistaken for 25 frames pregap is also consistent with mistaking frames for 1/100 of a second: 0.33 of a second is roughly 25 frames. Depending on EAC version (and probably settings), log file can contain gap lengths in either frames or 1/100th of a second, and CUETools can only guess how to interpret that.

This post has been edited by Gregory S. Chudov: Sep 11 2013, 05:27


--------------------
CUETools 2.1.4
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 11 2013, 05:13
Post #14





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



The log file is definitely in frames.

I can check into this further tomorrow.


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 11 2013, 17:39
Post #15





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Removing the log resulted in CUETools getting the right AR and freedb Disc IDs.

The log was created with an older version of EAC that did not include the table of contents, but it did have the pre-gap information which was in frames.

AFAIC, this still reveals a problem with CUETools, especially since the cue sheet was present with all the necessary information to create proper Disc IDs (even ignoring the DISCID comment line).

This post has been edited by greynol: Sep 11 2013, 17:41


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 18:04