IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

31 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Foo_uie_albumart, Very simple album art panel
rexy
post Nov 15 2004, 14:39
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 28-February 04
Member No.: 12351



QUOTE (foosion @ Nov 15 2004, 12:27 AM)
QUOTE (rexy @ Nov 15 2004, 02:27 AM)
Right now, I'm trying to fix the special characters thing. It seems that even with a literal with special characters, _tfopen fails. Anyone know of a practical alternative that would work with special characters and would just return a FILE*?
*
QUOTE (reader.h @ foobar2000 SDK)
static FILE * streamio_open(const char * path,const char * flags); // if for some bloody reason you ever need stream io compatibility, use this, INSTEAD of calling fopen() on the path string you've got; will only work with file:// (and not with http://, unpack:// or whatever)
If you can get around the limitation of needing a FILE *, you can also use the regular foobar2000 file/reader API, which would enable reading from inside archives, if foo_unpack or a similar component is installed.

QUOTE (badrad @ Nov 15 2004, 08:58 AM)
I thought of what plugins I have recently installed, and removing them one by one, narrowed it down to yours.
*
rexy, you should release any used metadb_handle in your initquit::on_quit/on_system_shutdown handlers. If you do it later, foobar2000 will report a metadb_handle leak.
*

Thanks. Special characters work now and no more handle leaks... I also forgot to destroy my background brush object last time. tongue.gif

QUOTE (syrek @ Nov 15 2004, 02:45 AM)
I want to give in fixed with and hight and maybe add an visual frame (or border how you want to call it) is this hard to code into?

Also would it be possible with the current panels structure to make an auto hiding function in the panel, because no album art in the folder, it leaves an ugly space in my sidebar.

I'm just thinking of ways to make it look better, next to that I give you 2 thumbs up and a hug for this great panel smile.gif
*

I guess I can add a border selection. As for auto-hiding, does any ui_extension master coder (foosion?) know if there's a message I can send to columns_ui telling it to hide the sidebar? I guess I can tell my component to go to the menu and execute the hide thing, but I was wondering if there was a "proper" way. Anywho, you can set a default image to take up the sapce if you want to.


QUOTE (metal_termite @ Nov 15 2004, 02:51 AM)
Yes, finally! Very nice!

Pretty please add the option: "fit image to panel". So it takes the dimensions of the panel, regardless if its not the aspect ratio of the original jpeg smile.gif
*

Thanks. I was pretty sure everyone would want to keep aspect ratio so I didn't bother making it optional, but I guess I was wrong. Prolly get implemented in next version as it's pretty easy to add.

QUOTE (upNorth @ Nov 15 2004, 03:10 AM)
I really like the way the list of sources work. But, wildcard support would make it perfect, and save me alot of work as well. I have always just dragged and dropped images from e.g. Walmart and Amazon and they are named e.g. "0082876511082_500X500.jpg". Hence they would all need to be renamed.

Up until now I've been using foo_looks for albumart, and it's wildcard support made the drag'n'drop above, work just fine, and it also made it pretty easy to always pick the front cover when there were several to choose from (e.g.: *front*.jpg).

Keep up the good work!  smile.gif

Edit: grammar
*

Thanks. I'll try adding the whole wild card/genral expression thing soon. For getting covers, however, you can use this tool Tomacco_Boy posted. It is exactly what I've been using and it simply adds covers as folder.jpg if you tell it to set up covers for WMP.

This post has been edited by rexy: Nov 15 2004, 14:42
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Nov 15 2004, 14:54
Post #52





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4431
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (rexy @ Nov 15 2004, 02:39 PM)
As for auto-hiding, does any ui_extension master coder (foosion?) know if there's a message I can send to columns_ui telling it to hide the sidebar? I guess I can tell my component to go to the menu and execute the hide thing, but I was wondering if there was a "proper" way. Anywho, you can set a default image to take up the sapce if you want to.
*
The upcoming revision of the UI extension API will allow this. For more information on this, please see the discussion about the ui_extension API in the dev forum.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
free
post Nov 15 2004, 15:02
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 28-August 04
Member No.: 16587



thx now it's correctly work for me


--------------------
Russian foobar2000 site: www.foobar2000.h12.ru
---
Splinter
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
upNorth
post Nov 15 2004, 15:25
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 1099
Joined: 18-March 03
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 5569



@rexy: There is a bug in the sources list. From time to time names gets mixed up when they are moved around, and you get two entries with the same name. Meaning name doesn't correspond to value for one of them. It can be corrected again by moving them around some more

I don't know how to explain it any better, but my guess is that you copied this from one of the plugins that comes with the SDK. At least I did that myself, and got the same bug (don't remember how much I modified it though).


Btw: I have tried the "album cover downloader", and it was pretty good. Only major problem is that it doesn't recognise the presence of covers, unless they are named "folder.jpg". In my case that means I'll end up downloading cover for albums that has already got one, just not with the right name. But, I guess I will start using it for albums where covers are actually missing. Would be nice if it could use Walmart though, as they've got high quality images.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kalmark
post Nov 15 2004, 15:45
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 599
Joined: 9-October 03
From: ZZ 9 Plural Z Alpha
Member No.: 9230



QUOTE (upNorth @ Nov 15 2004, 04:25 PM)
@rexy: There is a bug in the sources list. From time to time names gets mixed up when they are moved around, and you get two entries with the same name. Meaning  name doesn't correspond to value for one of them. It can be corrected again by moving them around some more
*

I wanted to report this too but my net was dead for a while crying.gif

Good job rexy, nice plugin!!! smile.gif


--------------------
Life is Real...
(But not in audio :) )
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EZ-man
post Nov 15 2004, 15:45
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 22-October 04
Member No.: 17780



I have put this plugin in components folder.
When I run fb2k, it doesn't show any errors.
But it also doesn' work...

I'm using Windows XP SP1 Chinese Traditional version.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
esa372
post Nov 15 2004, 16:02
Post #57





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 429
Joined: 5-September 04
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 16796



QUOTE (EZ-man @ Nov 15 2004, 07:45 AM)
I have put this plugin in components folder.
When I run fb2k, it doesn't show any errors.
But it also doesn' work...
Same here.
(XP-SP2, P4-2.8GHz)


--------------------
Clowns love haircuts; so should Lee Marvin's valet.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
desigrid
post Nov 15 2004, 16:06
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 7-January 04
Member No.: 11009



Great UIE rexy! smile.gif

Though I've a similar request for foo_uie_albumart as I had for foo_uie_trackinfo tongue.gif. Besides have the option to either follow cursor or not, could you add a somewhat intermediary option that will turn off follow cursor when a track is currently playing and to turn it on when no track is playing? i.e. if a track is playing, album art of currently playing track is displayed and it is not affected by the playlist focus; if no track is playing, album art of currently selected track is displayed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Nov 15 2004, 16:07
Post #59





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4431
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



Problem 1 (crash): Transfering the album art panel from one host to another crashes foobar2000.

How to reproduce: add album art panel to regular sidebar, then try to add it to a panel stack instance.

Examples of how to do this correctly can be found in my foo_history/foosion_helpers source and in Phi's foo_uie_trackinfo (perhaps also in one of musicmusic's examples).

Problem 2 (glitch): The labels in the sources list are displayed wrong after adding one or more entries, like some entries appearing twice or being displayed in the wrong order. Double-clicking opens the expected entry.

Both tested with foo_uie_albumart 0.033.

This post has been edited by foosion: Nov 15 2004, 16:12


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
koach
post Nov 15 2004, 16:55
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 12413



QUOTE (EZ-man @ Nov 15 2004, 11:45 PM)
I have put this plugin in components folder.
When I run fb2k, it doesn't show any errors.
But it also doesn' work...

I'm using Windows XP SP1 Chinese Traditional version.
*

Maybe because of doublebyte character such as Chinese or Japanese.

Default setting doesn't seem to consider such a character, so you might need to change $len() function to $len2() in the string in the top of "Sources for album art images" config.

Sorry for my bad English, I hope it helps.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sleepyboy
post Nov 15 2004, 17:07
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18147



I found another method to solve this problem:
preferences->Display->Double-width characters in title formatting
->chose "ignore" then it will be ok smile.gif
Another question: My foobar has crashed 2 times since I used this plug-in, and each time all playlists bihind the active playlist would been destroyed after I restarted foobar, so strange thing crying.gif

Sorry for my bad English too tongue.gif

QUOTE (koach @ Nov 15 2004, 11:55 PM)
QUOTE (EZ-man @ Nov 15 2004, 11:45 PM)
I have put this plugin in components folder.
When I run fb2k, it doesn't show any errors.
But it also doesn' work...

I'm using Windows XP SP1 Chinese Traditional version.
*

Maybe because of doublebyte character such as Chinese or Japanese.

Default setting doesn't seem to consider such a character, so you might need to change $len() function to $len2() in the string in the top of "Sources for album art images" config.

Sorry for my bad English, I hope it helps.
*


This post has been edited by sleepyboy: Nov 15 2004, 17:10
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
upNorth
post Nov 15 2004, 17:18
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 1099
Joined: 18-March 03
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 5569



Feature request:
Option to refresh image for the playing track, to avoid the current need to start it over.

With foo_looks I used a simple "pause then play" to update it, so maybe it could be triggered by a on_playback_starting() callback or something.

Alternatively you could just add a "refresh" entry to the context menu.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EZ-man
post Nov 15 2004, 17:58
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 22-October 04
Member No.: 17780



Finally, I found a problem from component libaries list.
CODE
File name:
foo_uie_albumart.dll

Reason:
Unable to load DLL.

Maybe I need to find the DLL by myself sad.gif

My English is no good,either sweat.gif

This post has been edited by EZ-man: Nov 15 2004, 17:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
reardon
post Nov 15 2004, 18:05
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Seattle
Member No.: 12494



QUOTE (rexy @ Nov 14 2004, 05:27 PM)
Version 0.03a added.

@reardon: How exactly does it store the cover? Is it a tag that has the file's adress? If so, then it is now supported with the new version. Otherwise, is it simply binary data within a tag?... do you know where I may find specifications about the standart use of covers in tags? I may consider implementing this (I might not implement it though).


Check here: http://louhi.kempele.fi/~skyostil/projects/albumart/

It seems to be in the APIC tag for MP3 (ID3v2) or in COVR tag for AAC. I don't know the exact format from there, but I believe you can dig it out of the python sources.

I know a lot of people here simply want file-based referals, but I believe that embedded images are de facto more popular (if you use more than a PC to play music, it is basically the only option). And iTunes is just making even more popular method.

+Reardon
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EZ-man
post Nov 15 2004, 18:14
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 22-October 04
Member No.: 17780



Yeah! Finally I solve my problem!
Now it work perfect! laugh.gif
And it's very nice!
Thanx a lot wub.gif


This post has been edited by EZ-man: Nov 15 2004, 20:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Duble0Syx
post Nov 15 2004, 18:34
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 465
Joined: 2-May 04
Member No.: 13847



I've run into a problem. If my covers are all in one place with a %artist% - %album%.jpg naming and an album has a '?' in the name how would I allow the cover to be shown since windows can't have question marks in filenames? Example: The album "Hello? Is This Thing On?" by !!!. The tags has question marks, but a .jpg of the cover cannot be named like that. Is there a workaround? Other than that I'm loving this. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krazy
post Nov 15 2004, 18:50
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 493
Joined: 3-June 03
Member No.: 6981



QUOTE (Tomacco_Boy @ Nov 15 2004, 07:44 PM)
Just thought this would compliment your work rexy.

http://louhi.kempele.fi/~skyostil/projects/albumart/

Its an album cover downloader, and i know im not the only one who'll find this very useful indeed. smile.gif
*

Cheers! I wasn't really into the whole album art thing, but this tool is great and it's cool to have some pretty pictures to look at when playing with foobar smile.gif

Thanks for the plugin rexy!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
upNorth
post Nov 15 2004, 19:06
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 1099
Joined: 18-March 03
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 5569



QUOTE (krazy @ Nov 15 2004, 07:50 PM)
I wasn't really into the whole album art thing, but this tool is great and it's cool to have some pretty pictures to look at when playing with foobar smile.gif
*
I think its nice to be able to relate a cover to each album. At least that's what I started to miss after years using my computer for playback.

@EZ-man: Have you had a look at this panels config in preferences? There are some resize options there.


@Duble0Syx: You can try replacing such characters (e.g. '?') with $replace().
If foobar has named your files, you probably need:
CODE
$replace(%artist% - %album%,?,_).jpg

If not, maybe this will work:
CODE
$replace(%artist% - %album%,?,).jpg
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post Nov 15 2004, 19:14
Post #69





Group: Developer
Posts: 815
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



Nice plugin ! Congratulations.

Some users of this plugin might be interested with this "default" cover.

This post has been edited by NEMO7538: Nov 15 2004, 19:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EZ-man
post Nov 15 2004, 20:24
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 22-October 04
Member No.: 17780




Here's a wrong word in default setting.

"deafult.jpg" should be "default.jpg"

This post has been edited by EZ-man: Nov 15 2004, 20:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zurman
post Nov 15 2004, 22:00
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 238
Joined: 22-February 04
Member No.: 12193



QUOTE (NEMO7538 @ Nov 15 2004, 10:14 AM)
Nice plugin ! Congratulations.

Some users of this plugin might be interested with this "default" cover.
*

Adopted ! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheGreekGeek
post Nov 15 2004, 22:18
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18152



hi,

I'm using foobar with columnsUI 1.2 beta 3 (with azrael config). I tried your plugin, but I can't find a switch or button or whatever to switch on the panel. I can configure the plugIn, but I see no panel. A 'folder.jpg' is existing.

any ideas?

thx!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Moonwhaler
post Nov 15 2004, 22:19
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 10-May 04
From: Heidelberg, Germany
Member No.: 14010



Hi!

How about this crazy idea: Use some sort of "Get cover using XYZ" as context menu when clicking on a songs name. This will initiate a web search (amazon.whatever / configuration) and extracts the cover image and saves it to the appropriate folder... Something similar like foo_freedb already does. The next step would be "mass"-downloading covers for all selected albums / songs in the playlist (like masstagging), but with some intelligence: If there already is a folder.jpg / png jump to the next song etc.

The advantage within foobar would be using tags instead of the filename > higher accuracy...

This would be VERY nice. The "Album Cover Art Downloader" is a cool program, but if this functionality would be part of foobar (uie_albumart) that would rock - big time.


Anyways: I love your component!
Moon


--------------------
"If there 's no soul in the computer's music, it's because nobody put it there." - Björk.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kalmark
post Nov 15 2004, 22:36
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 599
Joined: 9-October 03
From: ZZ 9 Plural Z Alpha
Member No.: 9230



QUOTE (Moonwhaler @ Nov 15 2004, 11:19 PM)
The "Album Cover Art Downloader" is a cool program
*

Well yeah...but neither my favourite musical style nor my directory naming scheme is "popular" enough to let the program do stuff on it's own...Surprisingly, amarok from kde.org (I linked to their project page before in this thread) can DL the correct album art, and from amazon... blink.gif Though they use tags information to "guess" the album name.
(Sadly, amarok is for linux only, and Linux can't write NTFS so the covers won't come here from there)
(They store images locally cached with "strange" filenames too)

This post has been edited by kalmark: Nov 15 2004, 22:40


--------------------
Life is Real...
(But not in audio :) )
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Duble0Syx
post Nov 15 2004, 22:47
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 465
Joined: 2-May 04
Member No.: 13847



QUOTE (kalmark @ Nov 15 2004, 01:36 PM)
(Sadly, amarok is for linux only, and Linux can't write NTFS so the covers won't come here from there)
(They store images locally cached with "strange" filenames too)
*

Well, you could always set up some kind of FTP/NFS/SMB server to transfer the files. Samba is easy enough, i mirror all my music on a read-only partition on my linux box. Copied via smbfs.
Amarok pissed me off when I was tyring to compile it. I probably should have checked for a binary. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

31 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 09:01